We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you don't get at EastWinds is why we go there!”
Review of East Winds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Winds
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2009

You don't get:- bad self service food cooked from the deep freeze, arm bands, loud music on tannoys or from noisy selfish guests, strangers on the beach trying to sell you hair braiding - or worse!, cheap unknown brand drinks, extra charges for extra services, small cramped rooms where you can hear your neighbour's every move, not enough sun loungers so the inevitable pre-dawn creep to "bag" one, staff who couldn't care less about you, Amy Winehouse!

You do get:- wonderful spacious airy individual cottage-style rooms set among beautifully tended gardens, huge beds, your own terrace, stocked (free) fridge and all you need for tea and coffee all day if you want it. You get individually cooked breakfasts by the legendary Paula, fruit plates to die for and friendly staff, even early in the morning. Lunches are different every day - even if you stay for over a week - and Saturday lunch is extra special, quite apart from the steel band. Dinner is served when you're ready - no reservations needed and no fixed time to arrive - four course plus the "amuse bouche" taster, at least five different wines to choose from, and they's not repeated if you're staying for a week. Entertainment almost every night either from the jazz duo, the brilliant pianist, the local cajun band or, on Mondays the calypso duo who stay on after the arbitrary cocktail welcome night to play at table - but never drowning conversation. And everything is included in the price.

In short, East Winds is total, but total relaxation. We picked it out of the brochure in 1995 as it looked a nice quiet place for our silver wedding anniversary. We have returned about a dozen times since, in February, in December and once in May for the Jazz Festival. There is the instant feeling of home as soon as you enter the gardens, and I'm usually in the sea within 15 minutes. (The swimming by the way. is perfect - a large quiet area protected from outsiders, as well as the pool) It cannot be an accident that most of the staff has been there since we first visited, from the manager to the guy who cleans the pool every morning.

Obviously East Winds isn't for everyone. in February if you're under 60 prepare to be the youngest thereand if it's your first time, be prepared to listen to many other guests (like us!) telling you how many times they've been coming. Read the Trip Advisor comments, read the brochure or the web site and if those words make you want to go - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

738 - 744 of 880 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2009

We have just returned from another fantastic holiday at Eastwinds Inn. 'Perfection' says it all:---------from the delightful, well equipped cottages, to the beautiful, exotic gardens, to the delicious, well presented food and of course to the free flowing wines, cocktails and champagne, but most of all, to the wonderful, professional and very friendly staff. A very special place!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barnesjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

Having just read review by "pestersaurus" 16/4/09 re visit Dec 2008, as I was staying with my wife at East Winds last December I felt another viewpoint appropriate.
We are fortunate to visit many other resorts but this is the only one we consistently return to. In fact this was our 21st visit since 1990, and always consider it excellent.
The basic superior rooms are a delight, being light and airy with louvred windows on 3 sides, surrounded by wonderful tropical flowers.
The restaurant is open on 3 sides and is most romantic at night lit by candles. It offers excellent food, the highlight being a huge variety of fish caught and delivered daily by local fishermen. This is supplemented by a choice of 3 wines which change daily.
At lunch a varied buffet or barbecue is offered - the most memorable on Saturdays with sumptuous food accompnied by Steel Band music.
The staff throughout the hotel are superb, always so friendly, with only one object in mind, to ensure that every guest is looked after and enjoying their holiday to the full. Obviously all well trained by the Manager.
The setting is unique in beautiful green grounds with tropical foliage and flowers in abundance. With a pool including a swim up bar, and plenty of comfotable beach furniture, catering for every need.
The result is an unforgettable holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank youngwarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

When planning our trip to East Winds we haunted this site to see what others had written but confess we have been too lazy up until now to write our own review! In part this is due to the fact that we would only be adding to all the other great reviews and we felt we hadn't much else to add. When we saw the review below though we felt compelled to make our own comments, as we were there at the same time and remembered the reviewer.
East Winds has great charm and character. It is not fancy or glossy - but I don't think it sets out to be. Everyone at the hotel really goes out of their way to make sure you are having a good time and in fact I witnessed their efforts to please the previous reviewer. I am not sure much more could have been done. I suspect the hotel management would welcome constructive criticism but I feel sure they would be justifiably upset to be berated for the fact that maybe someone just chose the wrong type of resort for them.
We stayed in a deluxe room and loved it. It was spacious and had a great terrace.
We found the food and drink to be very good. Breakfast was a lovely relaxing way to start the day. Fresh fruit and home baked bread and pastries constantly being refreshed from the kitchen. Then you served yourself to some delicious hot items with eggs being freshly prepared by the lovely Paula or Lynton.
Lunch was a casual affair, in keeping with the atmosphere in the resort. It was either a hot buffet or a barbecue .The barbecues were our favourite, especially the delicious ribs. I also loved the home made sausages. We also loved the fact that we had invariably seen the fish for that day’s lunch arrive in a fishing boat, at the beach, earlier that morning. Saturday lunch was their “gala buffet” - a delicious paella, smoked fishes and meats, crispy salads. This was accompanied by a steel band.
Occasionally the food in the evenings was a little rich for my taste, as I have some food intolerances, but when I asked for something to be served slightly differently I found the staff to be most accommodating. Everything was always beautifully presented and my only complaint might be that some of the items served as an “amuse bouche” were so delicious I would have liked to have a larger portion!
We found what we were looking for at East Winds Inn, as many have before us and will again. Good food and drink, rest and relaxation and staff who genuinely seem to care about their guests.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BohRap65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

A little late in posting this review. Sorry, this is going to be controversial! Booked 10 nights for the second part of our St Lucia holiday following a one week’s stay at Coco Palm. One of the main reasons we booked the hotel because of its reputation for fine dining and wines. We were so looking forward to East Winds for months.

Checked in Friday. We had room 27, the largest Deluxe Beach View room. A nice room with a real beach house feel. A large balcony overlooking the beach. It is good for having a sunset drink watching the local lads playing volley balls on the beach. But, it is not luxury by the farthest stretch of imagination.

The resort prides itself of their cuisine and their membership to Chaine de Rotisserie Guild. Unfortunately, the poor quality food was the main reason why we checked out early!

The wines are not, in our opinion, good, I recall J.P Chenet rose and Torres Chardonnay on offer.

Breakfast! The worst Eggs Benedict I have ever had. I’d say the worst breakfast buffet I’ve ever come across in any tropical resort I’ve ever stayed at.

In our opinion, the lunches were good and we were particularly impressed with the ice-cream and some local dishes. However, the Sunday barbecue only served tuna, sausages and spare ribs. Considering the price we were paying, it was very poor value for money! I like ribs but these had a nasty smell and had to be abandoned (it was nothing to do with the quality of pork on the island because Coco Palm's ribs were real good). The soups and mains at dinner time were always only lukewarm. We were pretty laid back by then and did not bother to mention to the staff.

But, the straw that broke the camel's back for us was the Sunday dinner. We had :

starter: chicken kebabs - 2 satay sticks of grilled tiny chicken pieces (with a lot of skin and fat).
soup: onion soup - very bland and watery - it was much worse than the onion soup from my office canteen.
main: mine was Dorado with mushroom sauce - the fish was like chewy rubber
my partner's was lamb chops - he left most of it as it was all fat and gristle and well cremated.
dessert: ordered some sort of cake which was more or less a big pile of whipped cream (it looked most uninviting)

We asked to speak with the chef but he didn't bother with us.

On Monday morning, we came to the conclusion that given East Winds offers no spa, gym and hardly any watersports or entertainments, we were paying huge amount of money essentially for just food and accommodation. But then, the food was, shall we say, disappointing and accommodation was nothing special. On top of that, a couple of incidents also upset us. We were actually finding the resort TRYING. East Winds was actually ruining our holiday! So we checked out and went “home” to Coco Palm, which welcomed us back with generous upgrade and warmest hospitality. I must add that that was the first ever time we had abandoned a hotel stay.

Yes, this resort is very relaxing (too relaxing perhaps), if sleeping and eating is all you're after. The setting is peaceful and most staff tries really hard - several of them are real stars. But, that is all. To us, it's outstandingly bad value for money. For that price, you can do a lot better.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank iPicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, President/Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2009

RATING UNFIT FOR TRUE CONTROVERSY

What is the relevance of posting a Management Response to a stay some five months ago, which begins “Sorry, this is going to be a bit controversial!”? Nonetheless, we feel obligated to set the record straight relative to these guests and this review and all our other guests’ experiences at East Winds Inn. Before specifically commenting on the expressed issues by these guests, we would like to point out some of their many positive observations.

As they quoted - “A nice room with a real beach house feel. A large balcony overlooking the beach. It is good for having a sunset drink…” These are all facts, and they are correct. What is also correct, is that these guests had much more than a sunset drink – they were constantly at one of the many “all-inclusive” bars at our hotel for the bulk of their stay, and they most certainly did not typify the usual guests we receive at East Winds Inn – over 50% of whom return year after year. They demanded a hi-fi stereo and played their music at objectionable levels to the detriment of our other guests, who enjoy the lapping of the waves on the beach and the sounds of birds, tree frogs and the breeze through the trees. When asked to turn down the volume of their music by our management, they flatly refused, claiming that if one is in the Caribbean, you should expect to hear Caribbean music!

East Winds Inn has never held itself out to be a “luxury” resort – particularly in terms of what luxury resorts mean to most travelers. We do not have large, marble lined foyers, backlit waterfalls, man-made statues, Jacuzzi tubs, air conditioned gymnasiums, hi–fi stereos with sub woofers and I-pod docking stations, uniformed bellmen with top hats or anything of the sort. We do have 26, gingerbread, open style cottages and African designed rondevilles, as well as four ocean view rooms overlooking a lovely private beach – all on 12 acres of lush, natural Caribbean gardens. If we do have one luxury from a physical perspective, it is the beauty of our gardens and the general feeling of space, peace and privacy that is difficult to portray without an actual visit to the property. The hotel these guests returned to is a 120 unit, multi-level block building which is not even on the beach, backing onto a shopping centre.

The comments regarding the cuisine at East Winds Inn, fortunately, as the writer states, are only an opinion. No other guests during the referenced evening, or any other evenings in the months of either November or December, made any complaints whatsoever about the cuisine. This is most carefully monitored by the hotel at all times. To that end, the opinions of the 111 out of 133 guests who have given East Winds Inn a full five star rating (84%), with a further 14 out of 133 providing a four star rating – yielding an unprecedented total 94 % high satisfaction rating for a full service, all inclusive boutique hotel, are much more meaningful than the opinions of a couple who have indulged heavily in unlimited alcohol. It is clear they have chosen not to mention many of the uniquely exclusive aspects of East Winds Inn, including the serving of high quality, real French champagne, the Friday night all you can eat lobster barbeques (in season), the fact that one can order virtually anything they wish to eat for breakfast directly from a dedicated breakfast chef (with a smile) each and every morning, the bringing in of the catch of the day by local fishermen right on the East Winds beach, our own pastry chef making fresh buns, pastries and deserts daily and much more. All of this is completed under the careful supervision of two French chefs with years of experience around the world and in the Caribbean (who most certainly know how to make French onion soup). Had the guests asked to speak to either of our chefs as they claim, they most certainly would have been given the opportunity to meet them – that is our policy – to ensure that if, for whatever reason a guest is not satisfied with any aspect of their meal, they will be offered a replacement or substitute immediately, without question. Please note their comment “We were pretty laid back by then, and did not bother to mention to the staff.”

In terms of a gym, spa or water sports, we have never advertised anything we did not have on our property. We have recently completed a large yoga centre, an activities pavilion, a walking/jogging track which will soon incorporate a full outdoor gymnasium with over 20 workout stations (summer/fall 2009), and have launched two new hobby cats and pedallos, as well as having our usual assortment of kayaks, water boards, snorkeling equipment, beach shuffleboard and an exceptionally large, roped off swimming area. Message and spa services are available upon request. We also supply live nightly entertainment during the high season, and live entertainment at least three nights a week in the low season. The only Steinway grand piano located in a hotel in the entire Caribbean is situated in our dining room, and is professionally played regularly.

Other comments included – “Yes, this resort is very relaxing (too relaxing perhaps), if sleeping and eating is all you are after. The setting is peaceful and most staff tries really hard – several of them are real stars.”

How comments of this nature can still garner only a one star rating is extremely difficult to comprehend, and tends to undermine the overall validity of this review. We would urge would-be guests of East Winds Inn to focus on the overwhelming number of positive reviews received by our resort, and take comfort in the fact that everyone is entitled to their own opinion, with the pleasing of every single guest being virtually impossible. Clearly, these guests were better suited for another style of hotel in comparison to East Winds Inn - which appeals to a more discerning type traveler seeking an authentic, low key, local experience. And on that basis, we have been recognized, for two consecutive years, as an award winner by this site in three major categories – for which we are extremely gratified and thank all our previous guests who have helped us reach this achievement.

Thank you for the opportunity of responding and your continued interest and support of East Winds Inn.

Sincerely,

George J. Reti
President/Owner,
East Winds Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Our second time at East Winds and it won't be the last. Peaceful, beautiful place with great staff. Set in extensive tropicalgardens. Both times we have stayed in a cheaper 'superior' room which has no air con or tv but we missed neither. The room was large, airy and naturally ventilated and you get none of the shock of going outdoors from air con chill. Food is high quality, wines good. The ownersarevery much in evidence and his comments on these reviews show how attentive they are.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johncrouchend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

A bit late in posting this review, but I can only reiterate what everyone (nearly) has said about this wonderful place. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were completely spoiled.

Starting with our room/cottage - it was adequately large, with one of the most comforatble beds we have ever had in an hotel. The bathroom was an experience too, with its his and hers wash basins, and the walk in shower, all of which has been commented on before. The TV was rubbish - but who wants to watch TV in a place like this, apart from keeping up with the home news. Only other negative comment - if next door had a shower, we were left with cold water for some time - how terrible!!

As for the food - 1st class without any doubt. The fresh lobster was superb, and all the other meals were of a very high standard. Only negative comment - my wife ended up one night with a tree frog on her plate!! Well it IS the Caribbean!!

Drinks - any all-inclusive hotel that stocks single malts in its bar can't be all that bad! I was impressed!

Beach - beautiful, with stacks of shade and sun loungers. Refreshing not to have to get up at 4.30am to beat our Germanic friends to it. One negative - the sand flies were a real pest and brought us out in great bumps evry day. Not a lot management can do about that - we just had to put up with it. No mozzies though which was a good thing.
They fumigated around the hotel once a week to keep the bugs down.

Gardens - beautifully kept and well stocked with exotic trees, shrubs and flowers. As commented on before, there was some noise with building work going on in the distance, but nothing to really complain about - it's probably finished now anyway.

Pool - not wonderful. It never seemed to catch the sun because of all the shade from shrubs and trees, and was quite small.- but with all that beautiful sea....

Entertainment - VERY low key, but the pianist who played several nights during dinner was an extremely accomplished musician.

All in all, we had a fabulous stay here, and will definitely return (when we can afford the new prices!!)

I have been prompted to write this review, because we have just returned from a holiday on the Mayan Riviera, in what we thought would be a similar hotel, but quite frankly it did not live up to its 4 star + description, and I shall now write a review about that, so didn't want people to think I only write negative reports!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
980 reviews
7 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
16.2 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
3.5 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
772 reviews
14.9 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds

Address: La Brellotte Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: £427 - £851 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Winds 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Saint Lucia’s best kept secret and immerse yourself in true Caribbean luxury. East Winds Saint Lucia is a breathtaking garden-by-the-sea, planted on the island's most picturesque sandy bay. Our Island Hideaway is Saint Lucia's original boutique resort featuring 30 cottage style suites, tucked away amongst lush plants, trees and a kaleidoscope of colourful bird-life. East Winds is home to what many consider the finest beach on the island and our guests share it with very few others just like them; travellers looking for personalised care and all-inclusive service in the most authentic of Caribbean experiences. Come experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, West Indies, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your East Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing