We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
East Winds
Nearby Hotels
Bay Gardens Inn(Gros Islet)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa C'est la Vie(Gros Islet)(Great Value!)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Gardens Beach Resort(Gros Islet)
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
blu St Lucia(Gros Islet)
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ginger Lily Hotel(Gros Islet)(Great Value!)
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Haven Hotel(Gros Islet)
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Habitat Terrace(Gros Islet)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,024
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$671
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$979
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$377
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (912)
Filter reviews
912 results
Traveller rating
816
72
19
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
816
72
19
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfitness trailbamboo loungedeluxe cottagesunken showerother guestsfour coursesyoga pavilionhouse partyhead gardenerpre dinner champagnest lucialocal musicianssunset cruisesteel bandeach eveninghumming birdsbreakfast and lunch
Filter
Updating list...
833 - 838 of 912 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2007

St. Lucia is beautiful in some spots (rainforest), ugly in others (the shanti's along the main roads) , but downright scary still in other areas (the locals in the shanti's).
My wife and I honeymooned at East Winds in St. Lucia for a week in late July. We came upon St. Lucia because we desired a very remote, very quiet, very tranquil beach and secluded island and we thought St. Lucia was it. We were wrong. We also came upon East Winds Inn because we desired one of the best-reviewed yet still secluded and private hotels on the island. We were wrong about that as well.
First off I will say that St. Lucian residents (mainly the banana farmers on the South end of the island) do not seem to like tourists as evidenced by the fact that we were flipped off on 5 separate occasions by pedestrians whilst taking the taxi ride from the airport (on the south end) to East Winds (on the northwest edge). We were also glared at by just about every local we drove by. Basically it was so bad that if the taxi happened to get a flat tire I would hope the driver was armed in some way because the people around were showing us that we were definitely not welcome there.
On the plus side, once we got to East Winds the first thing we came upon was the huge security gate at the entrance and 2 'guards' standing there. And something these other reviewers failed to say is that security guards are constantly walking around the property and just keeping an overall watch. I guess that's the price you pay for having such a luxurious property (in comparison to the rest of the island) be placed on an island like St. Lucia and have it open to a public beach where the locals use the beach regularly. Luckily these locals were nicer than the farmers we encountered on our way in.
Speaking of the beach, it was beautiful. The sand was typical brown, grainy and by no means sugary-soft but still soothing to walk on. The water was the perfect temperature however it was pretty silty and so while snorkeling you could only see about 5 feet in front of you. Also, there is a water runoff canal running through East Winds which brings excess water to the sea from the higher-elevated part of East Winds and we wouldn't have minded it (unlike other reviewers apparently) had it not been worked in by East Winds workers every other day we were there. We understood that the ditch served a good purpose and that it had standing water in it which causes more bugs, but it just kind of takes away from the peaceful/careless ambience when there's a guy working in a ditch with high-water boots on nearby every other day. But still the wife and I wanted to have a good time so we turned a blind eye to this.
We also turned a blind eye to the fact that our ocean view room was very small and had many wood shutters (ie no glass windows). We were told we'd be in an ocean view suite however a booking error put us in the ocean view room; a nice East Winds manager explained it to us and offered to move us to a suite, however we would lose our ocean view. We declined the offer and kept the ocean view along with the small room (which by American standards would be a VERY small room). And as an aside, had we known that the ocean view rooms at East Winds had wood shutters instead of glass windows we probably wouldn't have stayed at East Winds at all. I'm sure the designer's thought was that the occupants would get to hear the ocean at night (which we did 1 night) as well as the plethora of bugs/frogs/birds, however the tradeoff is that anyone outside and near your room can hear pretty much everything going on inside your room (ie there's no privacy). So all you other newlyweds out there might want to steer far away from the ocean view rooms here.
Lastly, 'steer far away' is something we wish we did for this reason: the wait staff at the East Winds were rude, unprofessional, very bitter and sometimes downright mean to my wife and I. Out of the dozen or so wait staff, only 2 of them were consistently nice and smiling and welcoming to my wife and I. The exception was our first night; every one of the waitstaff were helpful, smiling and caitered to our needs the first night and we were very happy to be there. But for some reason by the second day the wait staff turned rude and were no longer helpful. We don't know what turned them around and we're pretty sure we didn't insult them, but suddenly our finished dishes were taking forever to get picked up and the smiles quickly vanished (except for 2 of them) and on one occasion the somelier for the night straight up missed the wineglass on a pour and poured wine on my plate and even though she saw what she did she said and did nothing about it except have a bitter-looking face (luckily I had just finished the dish on the plate).
Anyhow, if not for the 2 waitstaff who were consistently happy to see us and serve us, and if not for the great bartenders (every one of them), who were always happy to make a drink for us, we would have asked East Winds management to move us.

Overall we wish we had gone to a secluded resort in Hawaii (the lack of customs would have made things a lot easier for us), because we do know that there wouldn't have been such a negative stigma hanging over us for being American tourists like there was in St. Lucia. If we can help it we're never going back to St. Lucia nor East Winds Inn and would never recommend the place to friends or family.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank StapletonCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, President/Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2007

Two Too Harsh To Be True

Recognizing that everyone is entitled to their own opinion about a holiday experience, we read this uncharacteristically negative review of our hotel with surprise and disappointment, as there was absolutely no indication that these guests were anything but satisfied with their stay at East Winds Inn. In keeping with our policy of following through on all reviews, we contacted all departments and our General Manager for their input about this couple’s experience, which provided some interesting results.

We discovered that the booking error was on the part of their agent (who readily admitted to their mistake), and while we were not obligated to do so, we offered several alternatives even though the hotel was fully booked. As the review states, “ a nice East Winds manager…offered to move us to a suite. We declined the offer..”

Other positive comments from the review make it difficult for us to understand such a harsh position. Examples include: “a luxurious property (in comparison to the rest of the island)”, “Speaking of the beach, it was beautiful”, ‘The sand was soothing to walk on”, “The water was the perfect temperature” “no glass windows…occupants would get to hear the ocean as well as the plethora of bugs/frogs/birds” “bartenders (every one of them) who were always happy to make a drink for us”

It seems that the majority of their grievance was with the island of St. Lucia itself, and they state that they wished they had gone to Hawaii instead. Clearly, we cannot comment on that, other than to state that anyone who has ever traveled to the Caribbean will be quick to point out that St. Lucia has a reputation of not only being one of the most beautiful islands in the world, but also inhabited by some of the friendliest people. In this regard, our service staff is well known for their hospitality and accommodating attitude, as reported in virtually all reviews of East Winds Inn.

In the end, we would encourage potential guests of East Winds Inn to take comfort in the fact that at the time of this writing, we have a total of 74 posted reviews on our resort…. 64 of which, or over 85% are rated 5 out of 5, and another 6 are rated 4 out of 5. This represents a total of 70 out of 74, or some 95% with a very high customer satisfaction rating. We understand that as much as we are constantly trying and would like to, we cannot make 100% of the people happy all of the time, but in the same light, we should not be unduly criticized and penalized for aspects we have no control over. Perhaps these guests simply lacked travel experience and had unrealistic expectations of an understated, authentic Caribbean resort, which the bulk of our guests clearly enjoy.

Thank you for your support and considering East Winds Inn in your travel plans.

Yours very truly,

George J. Reti
President/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2007

Eastwinds Inn is a very unique and wonderful place to stay. It is quiet, intimate, refined, relaxing, and a perfect getaway destination. We stayed in a deluxe room - your own small semi detached cottage set in beautiful tropical gardens. The room consists of a large bedroom with a ceiling fan and air conditioning, plenty of hanging space and storage. The bathroom is large with his and hers sinks and the most fantastic stone walled shower, some guests were uncomfortable that the showers did not have blinds but there is a degree of privacy as the window area is quite high up. There is a lovely outside seating area with a well stocked fridge. The pool is quiet with a swim up self service bar and there is a lovely quiet beach with plenty of seating areas and shady areas if required. One of the main reasons we chose this hotel were the food reviews and East Winds certainly lives up to its reputation, the food is amazing, first class, freshly cooked and the menus thoughtfully produced. As I wrote before this is a very quiet property and is not for those who are looking for a wild party time, entertainment is very low key but perfect for the hotel. The drink is all premium branded with champagne there for the asking. A special mention should be made about the staff who were wonderful and made you feel like you were at home away from home. Gareth the hotel manager runs the hotel superbly. St Lucia is a gorgeous Caribbean island and we went on many trips. We will definitely return to St Lucia and would only stay in East Winds Inn.

Stayed: July 2007
10  Thank PaulaBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2007

We had read all the reviews before we booked this holiday and they are all accurrate whether glowing or moderate review.

This hotel is unique in it's calm unintrusive style of service.
Simple yet elegant. In a beautiful setting.

Watersports and activities are easily booked/paid for locally at Windjammer resort which is acrross the bay. You can swim , Kayak or walk over there, and at $20 dollar half day which includes one motorised and one sail sport it repesents good vaue. NB Banana boat cannot be booked it is exclusive to Windjammer....

Main points to add to previous comments/reviews:-

Very child friendly but for wholesome family persuits only,
No organised activities of any nature.
Entertainment is only during dinner as background music.
Food is excellently prepared, very fresh and includes French and Caribbean dishes. Good selection of wines that compliment each course of the meal are offered.
Food choice and style is varied over your holiday yet each meal is subtly different. A la carte at most sittings except the BBQ meals.
Saturday lunchtime BBQ with Paella and Steel band is not to be missed.
Food and relaxation would be the main reason to stay here.
Colonial feel ,very clean everywhere, with high quality sunbeds etc.
Beach is NOT the powder soft white sand, it is rough golden sand
Sea is NOT the aqua blue that you might imagine. Clear sometimes but NOT a snorkel paradise.

This hotel is the place to relax, with attentive and mostly friendly Staff .The bar staff are particually friendly and always courtious

Guests are all equally charming and he atmosphere promotes convivial chat and friend making.
We loved our holiday here and would return, with or without the children. Although perhaps away from the rainy season, the sea would be better. Also the nights are quite noisy in the rain, you would think you are in the middle of a rain forest with all the garden noise added in.

The hotel is a good 1.5 hours from the airport and we would recomend the heicopter transfer on arrival. Not necessary perhaps on the journey home as you will be so relaxed !!!
We booked through our operator but next time I would book with confidence direct with St Lucia helicopters, it's sligtly cheaper.

Thank you to all at East Winds for letting us live the caribbean dream.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Coppya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2007

Surely the title of my review says it all...

But for those of you who want to know more, please read on.

Firstly I'd like to say how wonderful all of the staff at East Winds are, they honestly seem like they want to make your say as special as possible, and they certainly did.

Myself and my new hubby have just returned from East Winds after spending a week there for our Honeymoon. I'd like to have gone for longer but we have a little boy who we left with grandparent so didnt want to be away from him for too long. The setting is just paradise, beautiful gardens, beautiful rooms, beautiful views etc. We stayed in a beach front room, which was just perfect.

We stayed in the resort for most of the week enjoying the peace and tranquility it offers, our only outing was on the Brig Unicorn, sail day (on a ship used in the filming of The Pirates of the Caribbean 1 and 2). This was definately worth doing as you get to see a lot of the islands coast line. We enjoyed seeing the Pitons (two pointy mountains that emerge from the sea). Dinner was also good on the ship, and unlimited drinks are included in the price you've paid so thats always good. It was a really good day out, just dont forget to take your suncream and a towel, as you get the chance to have a dip under a waterfall and a swim later in the trip. The resort is only 5 minutes away from the harbour by taxi (which is included in the price of the sail) so that was handy too.

Anyway back to East Winds...If you like lazy days, sipping cocktails, sunbathing, relaxing in the pool (with a cocktail in hand obviously) then this is the place for you. Myself and my hubby both lead quite busy lives, and I cannot believe how relaxed I was during our stay, it was just perfect. The only thing i would say is if you're the sort of person who isnt happy unless you're active, then this may not be for you...it is very quiet. That said there is another resort just around the beach (which you can easily walk to in about 2 minutes along the beach) called the Windjammer, there are water sports like windsurfing, jet ski-ing etc which you are able to hire. We enjoyed the relaxation so didnt enquire about costs for this.

The food at East Winds is amazing. Most of the chef's are French so dinner (at 7.30pm onwards) is a la carte, very posh. We enjoyed trying some things which you normally wouldnt even get to try, not sure what all of it was, but it was all good and lots of it. Dinner was 4 (sometimes 5) courses so most nights we struggled to eat our deserts, which was a shame. Breakfast and lunch were also very tasty too, they were served buffet style so again you could eat all you wanted, there was always lots of fresh fish and meats to try and plenty of salad or pasta etc. Barbeques were very good!

The entertainment during dinner (7.30pm onwards) was daily and consisted of local musicians, pianist, bands, steel drum band etc. The entertainment did however finish at 10pm (the cocktail bar didnt close until 12pm) so there were a couple of hours where there wasnt any entertainment to accompany your late night cocktail drinking. The staff did put on a CD so this didnt bother me at all. I really liked the low key local entertainment, it all added to the relaxed atmosphere at East Winds.

The airport is in the south of St Lucia and East winds is in the North so you have a hour and a half drive through the inner parts of the island to get to the resort. We've never been to the Caribbean before and i was quite suprised by how local people live over there. So just a note to expect to see a lot of run down, very poor villages on the drive to the resort. This didnt put us off being there as the resort was beautiful and so very different to the inner parts of the island. Just suprising thats all, it would not have suprised me had i been expecting it so thats why i've written it in my review. Please dont be put off.

Overall, I think if you're looking for a relaxing, quiet, tropical paradise with good food, fantastic staff and lovely cocktails, this is the place for you...It really was pure Honeymoon heaven!!!

I'd love to go back again

6  Thank Hollymp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2007

Having been to a couple of other hotels in the Caribbean, we felt that East Winds, whilst probably not being the most luxurious hotel on St Lucia, was excellent in terms of the relaxed nature of the resort, the excellent service, and the quality of the food and drink included in the all inclusive package.
This is not a hotel to come to if you want non-stop activities and entertainment - our days consisted of a leisurely breakfast, relaxing on the beach, a swim, lunch, a drink or three, more sunbathing, another swim or snorkel, afternoon tea, relaxing by the pool, a swim, pre-dinner drinks, dinner, and then an early night! There are some non-motorised watersports and we went to the Windjammer resport next door to use their Hobie cats and kneeboarding facilities for a relatively small fee (we were glad we didn't stay there though).
All drinks were included in the package, including champagne before dinner, a large list of cocktails and wine by the glass - we like South American wine and there was usually at least one to choose from.
The food was on the whole very good, particularly the barbeques, the pancakes for breakfast, the ice-cream and the rum baba pudding. There were a few things we didn't like, but in our two week stay there weren't a lot of repeated dishes. We did feel however that the four course dinner was one course too much as the portion sizes were generous.
There were no problems in getting loungers by the pool or beach, the room (superior) was large and good enough for the limited time we spent in it (I think the ocean view rooms weren't worth the extra money), the minibar was restocked daily, the internet access was useful for keeping in touch, and although drinks aren't brought to your lounger, it's a short walk to the bar (or self-serve bar) and bottles of water are always available.
The staff were all really friendly, and I'm sure they outnumbered the guests (I think there were more gardeners than guests alone). The music in the evenings was good without being intrusive, and the Saturday lunch time steel band was fab. The other guests were all very friendly and you can socialise as much or as little as you like. A big plus point was that there were no kids when we were there, not that there is much for them to do anyway.
We went on three trips (conveniently late, rainforest sky ride, and half day jeep tour) and can recommend them all.
The only down-sides were: it would have been nice to have Hobie cats as part of the inclusive watersports; the numbers of crabs around (I'm scared of them but managed to used to them, apart from the huge one I saw at the end of our holiday); the number of courses for dinner as mentioned above; and our welcome to the resort - at other hotels, we've gotten used to being welcomed with a rum punch and a tour of the resort, whereas at East Winds we arrived to find reception shut. When the manager arrived we were shown to our room but not given a drink or a tour, so we felt a bit unsure of where to go etc. We saw other guests being given tours and a drink later on in our holiday so maybe we were just unlucky, but it clouded the beginning of our stay a bit.
To sum up - relaxing, great service, good all inclusive deal and very laid back.

Stayed: June 2007
5  Thank JKDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews