We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude staff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Lucian by Rex Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Lucian by Rex Resorts
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed at the Rex for Jazz, lovely location, shame about the treatment received by a lot of the staff. Difficult to get seved at the bar, bar staff chatting amongst themselves, and seemed to be oblivious to the fact guest were waiting to be served. Very surly staff, no smiles were forth coming. Staff at breakfast was a joke, every morning we had to ask for tea or coffee, go hunting to other tables for salt and pepper. Our breakfast plates and knife and forks were whisked away if we dared to stop for a few seconds, then we had to go hunting again for ANOTHER set of cutlery!! They ran out of food for breakfast, everyone complaining asking where is the food???

Turned up for breakfast the next morning to be told we were "late" 9.45am? I explained that breakfast was still going on yesterday at 10.30am, her reply was "thats because you turned up late"!!! Excuse me, I was not late, but arrived at 9.15am and still has not received any food by 10.20am!! Tea was cold when you did eventually get a cup! and if you dared to ask for a HOT cup of tea, the repsone would be a roll of the eyes and a kmt!!!
On the whole we felt mosy unwelcome, obviously the staff are not happy working here, may be it is a management issue?? Certainly heard lots of people complaing about the attitude of the staff!
Such a shame as a really good location on a beautiful beach!! The staff need more training in customer service skills for sure. We got to the stage were we dreaded going into the restaurant, and eat out quite a few nights instead!! No snacks available during the day, I asked for a sandwich one after noon to be told "not at the moment"....I mean what is the supposed to mean? what come back in 10 mins?, or half an hour? or you just cant be bothered to organise one??
When I questioned this further, I was told "oh ok we can make you a sandwich and some fries"
But really why does everthing feel like such hard work when trying to order food, or drinks???
There are much better hotels in the same area, who do not make you feel like your an inconvience.
Bay gardens hotel is much better!!!

Room Tip: Bay gardens hotel is much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suesalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rexmanager2014, General Manager at St. Lucian by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize we did not provide you with the best stay possible. Exceptional service is something we aim to provide to all guests and we regret you did not experience this. Also guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments very seriously. I've shared your comments to our Management team to ensure this does not happen again as we are consistently continuing training our staff to improve our level of service.

Here at the St. Lucian by Rex Resorts we take great deal of hard work and pride to deliver our promise of ensuring our guests feel cared for, valued and respected.
I sincerely thank you for providing us with the opportunity to be of service.

Kind regards,

Jorge G Dickerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    625
    298
    157
    112
See reviews for
290
746
41
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I did not stay here but I just used the beach area for a day trip. We only had to pay a small fee to use the chairs and umbrellas. They were pretty crowded together but it didn't take away from anything. It wasn't a large area.

The beach was perfect. Clean, we could see small fish at our feet in the clear water. The one thing I did notice was the sand was particularly hot in this area for some reason.

The beautiful boats out in the distance and setting makes this feel like paradise. I didn't want to leave.

This resort has shops and eating areas. It appeared to be very clean. I would definitely come back again to use the beach. We taxied over from our cruise ship, round trip we were charged about $30.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cora7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rexmanager2014, General Manager at St. Lucian by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Cora,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for selecting the St.Lucian by Rex Resorts for your day use stay during your trip to Beautiful St.Lucia.

It was a pleasure to be of service and we look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Warm wishes,

Jorge G Dickerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have stayed at Rex Hotels around the Caribbean and they never disappoint. Always good food, good clean accommodation, and the staff are brilliant.

Rex hotels always seem to have the best locations and beaches, not 5 star but authentic Caribbean. We've always had a good holiday a these hotels.

And by the way if you're ever in Rodney Bay St Lucia take an island trip with EXODUS Adventure we have just had an amazing day on a speedboat with SHYAN and SLY seen all the hot spots and had a great party experience on board!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rexmanager2014, General Manager at St. Lucian by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Pleasant and comfortable service is what we want for our guest. I am glad you received the service and comfort expected.

I want to thank you for your loyalty on behalf of the Rex Resort over the years for recognizing our efforts in providing excellent service within the industry, I also want to thank you for your business, and also for your feedback about the hotel and our wonderful staff. Hope to have you back soon,

Thank you.

Kind regards,

Jorge G Dickerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

everything was great, friendly staf, fantastic food lovely beach.Highly recommend, we definitely go back there:):):)for us it was really paradise:)even for family with children it is more then 3 stars hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rexmanager2014, General Manager at St. Lucian by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your Great comments. It was indeed a pleasure to be of service to you and we hope to welcome you soon again to our side of paradise.

Warm and sunny wishes from St.Lucia,

Sincerely yours,

Jorge G Dickerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Crystal bay 3 said most of the things I was going to.The rooms,food,and staff are good,remember its a 3 star,but I would rate it more on the whole,
If you enjoy lovely beaches,unreal sunsets,must be watched sipping rum cocktails by the way.
the Lucian people love their island are only too happy to help you in any way.Travel around,go pigeon Island,the rain forest,the pitons,botanical gardens,mud baths...Denny,Castries,Dr Doolittle place I can't remember name of.......and yes the Friday night jump ups. Happy people,dancing,loud music.
the other thing that made our holiday complete was meeting other lovely holiday makers and not just from the uk.
My biggest sadness is that I lost the e mail of two lovely girls from Vienna I promised to go and visit,if there is any chance you read this please contact me on alwyn193@aol.com.
would I go back, most definitely.Age groups 40 plus most suited to I think.

Room Tip: Not the far end nearest beach as disco behind hotel on road sometimes noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanmarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rexmanager2014, General Manager at St. Lucian by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your review, we greatly appreciate your comments. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with your friends! I will be sharing your comments with our management staff as we are always actively listening to all of our guest’s feedback. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Should travel bring you back to our lovely island please feel free to contact us.

At your service,

Kind regards,

Jorge G Dickerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here for a family holiday. Wonderful location. Fantastic sea views. Good, clean accommodation. In places the hotel could undergo a little refurbishment - would suggest investment in some better sunbeds and the provision of umbrellas for the beach. Good buffet meals. Final night the hotel hosted a great beach bbq with entertainment - steel drums, fire eaters and music. The staff are always very attentive and genuinely take an interest and care for the guests. The hotel has a informal feel - which was perfect for us with four children of varying ages in our party.

Room Tip: A sea view room with terrace is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoellyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rexmanager2014, General Manager at St. Lucian by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you choosing the St. Lucian by Rex Resort for your holiday and thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am very content to read that your received outstanding service and the care that our staff took at you to make it a memorable one !! Thank you for your candid review, and for providing us an opportunity to serve you and your family.

We truly value your comments as they are imperative in helping us improve our services and amenities provided to all of our beloved guests, so thank you for your suggestion.

Please know that we are at your disposition should you wish to visit us in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jorge G Dickerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We loved this hotel! It is right on the edge of the beach with stunning views over the bay. The beach is absolutely breathtaking with soft white sand and crystal clear water. The pool is cleaned every day and there are plenty of sunbeds and sunshades.

The rooms are large with comfortable beds and the maid service is very good. We even had petals on the bed on arrival . We had a beautiful view from our balcony of the pool and sea and the staff are the friendliest we have ever met - they always greet you with a smile and stop to chat and genuinely want you to enjoy your stay.

The restaurant is right by the beach. The food is good - always hot and there is plenty of it. The menu is changed every day. The bar is also right by the sea. There is a sunshade and table and chairs to the left of the bar which is a very popular place to sit with a drink and enjoy the fantastic view and the sunsets. If I were to suggest any improvement to this lovely hotel it would be to have some more sunshades and tables as this spot is so popular and sometimes already occupied. One guest suggested the patio the other side of the restaurant right by the sea as an excellent spot for more sunshades and tables , and this seemed like a good idea as this lovely area is hardly used. I don't think this would be too expensive and I think it would be very popular as so many people like to sit under the sunshade looking at the view.

In the evenings there is some very enjoyable music including bands and an excellent steel band. This was on 5 nights a week when we were there.

We have visited this hotel many times and love its beautiful surroundings, relaxed atmosphere and welcoming staff. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crystalbay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rexmanager2014, General Manager at St. Lucian by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear valued Guest,

It is great to know that you were very satisfied with the product, services we provided to you and your family to ensure you had a great holiday.

Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to mention our friendly staff. We will be sure to pass along your kind compliments to them.
Your suggestion has been noted and it will be discussed with the rest of our Management team.

It would be wonderful to welcome you soon again! If there is anything we can do to assist with your next visit please do not hesitate to let us know.

We remain at your service.

Kind regards,

Jorge G Dickerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.3 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
2.5 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
23.0 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
1.6 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Lucian by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lucian by Rex Resorts

Property: St. Lucian by Rex Resorts
Address: Rodney Bay, Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Lucian by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronted by one of the most popular beaches in St Lucia and backed by charismatic Rodney Bay, the St Lucian by Rex Resorts has an unrivalled location on the Caribbean shore of this beautiful island. By day, the focus is on the stunning sandy beach where the glistening Caribbean waters tempt paddlers, swimmers and sporting enthusiasts from their sun-loungers. Enjoy international cuisine at the Mariners Restaurant which affords spectacular views across the sea. After dinner, experience the unique mix of local and cosmopolitan nightlife at a choice of atmospheric bars in Rodney Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TravelUp, West Indies and Booking.com so you can book your St. Lucian by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Lucian By Rex Hotel Castries
St Lucian Rex Resorts
Rex St Lucian
St. Lucian By Rex Resorts St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing