We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Saint Lucia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Inn & Spa at Rodney Bay
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Fort-de-France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Saint Lucia”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Very nice rooms, especially the ones on the second floor. Really friendly staff.
I enjoyed the swimming pool, the bar located next to it, you can drink very good cocktails, watching golf, tennis, etc. on the bigscreen TV, and enjoy the hamburger.
In the morning, an english breakfast awaits you: sausages, fried bacon, omelettes with chili pepper, if you like it, fruit, toasts...
To summit all up, a really really nice place to spend a relaxing holiday in a stressfree island.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jaimelesrestaurants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    48
    22
    19
    8
See reviews for
17
53
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We hadn't reserved a hotel when we landed in St-Lucia. We briefly checked expedia.ca and this hotel was giving us the best deal on the island (this was the end of November). Rodney Bay is about 1h30 drive from the main airport. We got to the hotel quite late, but the next day were amazed at the beauty surrounding us and the fact the hotel was practically, across a beautiful beach.
We took a standard room with continental breakfast. The rooms are good, spacious, but if you want a fridge to store some food (eating out is very very expensive), you have to pay extra. Also, the hotel hasn't been renovated in a while, so some things might be broken in your room. We had to change at some point because the A/C was not working. In the new room, the shower was constantly leaking. But hotels are super expensive in St-Lucia, so keeping in mind that we were right by the beach, we were quite happy to stay where we were.
Beach towels are provided, cleaning service is great, and we could use the hotel wifi, which was a huge plus.
The hotel itself is about a 10-min walk from the center of the little village, where you'll find a few restaurants, cafes, and a grocery store (life-saver!).
IF you do stay there, don't forget to walk all along the beach and walk up the mountain - the view is spectacular!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank worldtraveller201101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

My husband and I went to St. Lucia for our honeymoon and stayed at the Village Inn. The staff was pleasant, the hotel was in a great location. It didn't offer any of the major luxuries that you can find at other resorts throughout the island but it did offer something those other resorts do not and that's some peace and relaxation.

Rodney Bay is a recommended location to stay as it's near by many restaurants, the beach, and shopping. The drive from the airport though is a little unnerving as the roads are have many turns and they are still recovering from the hurricane that went through there about a year ago.

We had some bug issues in our room, but they made many efforts to correct the issues and you kind of come to expect it at a tropical island. The beds are a little uncomfortable but we stayed in a Junior "suite" which basically gave us a little extra space in our room but that was about it. We met another couple who had issues with there air conditioning but ours worked just fine.

If you book through TAN you are required to pay for the meal plan which only allows you breakfast, lunch, and dinner... it is isn't very "all inclusive" because they do limit how much you can eat but NOT how much you can drink. You have to try there rum punch... it's the best on the island. The food is good... especially the banana crepes! yummm

Say hi to the hotel cat... Mike. He's the orange friendly one :)

I may stay again if the price is right, but maybe try somewhere else just because there are so many options. I wouldn't say it's bad it's just okay.

Advice for the offseason: It is VERY quiet, but you do get the beach to yourself mostly. The locals can tend to be a little more aggressive in "selling" whatever it is they have that day because business for them is so slow. There will be rain... it's a rain forest but enjoy the liquid sunshine.

Advice for things to do: You have to zipline, take a catamaran cruise, go to Soufreire, and check out the views from the fort on Pigeon Island!

Room Tip: go during the off season and request an upgraded room. "Junior Suite"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frick1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This was a wonderful establishment to stay in for my birthday celebration trip (or for any other possible reason!).
From start to departure I found the staff to be absolutely beyond reproach. I am a fairly seasoned traveler, with standards yes, and considerable flexibility because places and cultures are understandably different. My standards were exceeded and done in a quite enjoyable St. Lucian-style. This staff provided personalized service with a smile and consideration - they quickly figured out they should put a pot of coffee on my breakfast table because of my appetite for more than one cup (or two :-) ). Because I rarely meet a 'stranger' I was afforded the opportunity of many short conversations with the staff which just added to my sense of comfort.
The room and grounds were aesthetically pleasing - vibrant colors, well-groomed, clean-very clean. My room was spacious enough for my needs with a really cool expanded sitting room where one could relax (MORE), read, watch the pool and bar area from afar.
The inclusion of medium sized refridgerator, spacious bathroom, sufficient closet space made it a great place to be able to hang your hat or remove the heels.
Nestled in Rodney Bay just made the hotel even better. The sea was just a matter of footsteps away. Walking the main drag would allow you to find many a good-to-great restaurant and lead you to a 'high-end-of-mall' and wonderful super market. For those who might worry about personal security, I felt absolutely safe . . . Luchan style is about a smile in my experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank qtpykg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Guyana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

If you are on a budget and looking for a great place to stay, then you should check with the Village Inn and Spa. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The sheets were clean and so were the pillows and the beds were very comfortable. The rooms were cleaned and towels changed everyday and they also give us beach towels to go horse back riding along the beach without us even asking, we also got towels to use by the pool and for bathing by the beach. Noticed some persons complaining about the noise from the bar next to the hotel, however, this is not true as we stayed in the last room (64) on the ground floor and once we closed our door we couldn't hear anything. The AC worked well so did the television. We had a safe, spacious closet and drawers, iron and ironing board, tea, coffee and hair dryer in the room. They also had free access to the internet 24/7 and guards on duty 24/7 too. I would definitely recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nandulall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I spend four days at this wonderful village Inn &spa i was speechless what was advertise was so true. The room was very spacious and clean all the amenities was great the view of the pool from my room i enjoy, the staff in all areas was wonderful. Breakfast i enjoy every morning ,the location is ideal to the beach,mall etc... It was everything worth paying for i will recommend this Inn & Spa to anyone. To ALL the staff who made our stay a memorable one thanks. BERNICE, Trinidad

Room Tip: The best room are overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank sandy147388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

My boyfriend and I found an internet deal for $70 per night plus the 18% tax, which came to $82.60 per night. The price included a continental breakfast with fresh fruit, toast, cereal, coffee and tea. We stayed one week and were very pleased. We were welcomed with complimentary rum punch. Complimentary rum punch is also served during the manager welcome night on Wednesday evening.

It was relatively quiet and we had views of the pool out off our balcony and the ocean when we opened the door. Our standard room was on the third floor, which was nice because you couldn't hear anyone walking around above you. There isn't an elevator, which we were also fine with because the exercise was good for us.

Maid service came every day and everyone was more than happy to help with anything we asked.

Pool towels were always available at the reception desk for the pool, beach, or any other activity requiring a towel for the day. The pool was clean and did not have a lot of people utilizing it, so we were able to have quite a few quiet moments lounging around. The beach was a short walk across the road.

After driving to other areas and towns on the island I was very happy we chose to stay in Rodney Bay. We were able to walk to the grocery store and restaurants and felt safe. Rodney Bay was much cleaner than other areas and there didn't seem to have as much poverty. We were considering staying in Soufriere, because we thought we would be able to walk to some sites. I was quite shocked at the roads and poverty in Soufriere and very happy we chose not to stay there.

Overall everyone on the island was friendly and helpful though.

Katherine, at the concierge desk, was very helpful coordinating tours around the island for us. We rented a car, so we saved quite a bit on the various tours by driving ourselves there. Katherine would call and ask for a price without transportation. She didn't charge us anything extra and most of the trips we paid the company when we arrived.

We went horseback riding (they let you ride bareback on the horse swimming in the ocean for about 5 minutes), ziplining, mountain biking, scuba diving, and climbed Gross Piton. By driving to most of the locations we saved about $400, which more than covered the rental car from Fox Rental.

If driving keep in mind they drive on the left side of the road - opposite from the States. There is pretty much one main road around the island and if you get off the beaten path, the roads are very narrow, rough, and windy. Some roads are washed out and there are trenches along the sides for drainage that are quite deep.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dive2625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.0 mi away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#6 of 13 in Gros Islet
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
910 reviews
2.8 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
2.1 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn & Spa at Rodney Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn & Spa at Rodney Bay

Property: Village Inn & Spa at Rodney Bay
Address: Reduit Beach | Rodney Bay Village, Gros Islet 3050, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Village Inn & Spa at Rodney Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Formerly The Rainbow Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Village Inn & Spa at Rodney Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn And Spa At Rodney Bay
Village Inn & Spa At Rodney Bay Hotel Gros Islet
Village Hotel Gros Islet
Village Resort Gros Islet
Village Inn Spa St Lucia
Village Inn & Spa At Rodney Bay St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing