We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great menu and staff but the food was a disappointment”

Blue Olive Restaurant and Wine Bar
Ranked #18 of 83 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Price range: US$0 - US$60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Only Mediterranean Cuisine on Island with a Creole Touch. The Best Selection of Seafood, Meat and Authentic Fresh Pasta.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great menu and staff but the food was a disappointment”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We looked forward to eating here based on reviews and the menu. We chose to make a meal of several of the appetizers because they were so appealing and we were not in the mood for a large meal. The wait staff was very good and the dining room was very nice, but the food was not up to par for the price. Overall we were disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jschmoeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    179
    72
    26
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Offensive waiter- total turn off”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The food was not great, just ordinary, not very good value for the money. The added grilled shrimp option amounted to 3 shrimp for $30. The waiter's introductory comments were offensive...what's with the marinating and various cuts of loin. It's not cool. He is so busy being a comedian, he made mistakes with our drink order. Then I heard him repeat the same offensive comment to a new set of diners.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pasta on the island”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is week 2 of our first trip to St Lucia and we have been searching for a great restaurant. There are some good ones in Rodney Bay so the choices and variety provide and excellent opportunity for dining out. We have been looking at the local dining guide "This Menu -St Lucia 12" for menu choices and overall restaurant information and then trying to read the reviews on-line. Chef Xaxier is only a couple years old and chef is well known from his other restaurant "The Coal Pot". Chef Xavier is located upsatirs in the mall accross from the casino. It's a great location to watch the local activity and the setting, breeze and are great. Additional dining inside is available but we are from Boston and enjoy dining outside whenever we visit the islands.
Our meal selection was 4 different pasta dishes and all dishes came out hot, well prepared, tasty and we enjoyed a great meal. I added the chicken to my dish and it was tasty and worked well with the dish. We shared shrimp cocktails as an appetiser and they were very good. They were served warm which was unusual for us as we seem to always get chilled shrimp. Drinks were a combo of rum punch, frozen pina colada and the red wine of the day and all were good. One dissapointment was the "chocolate ravioli" dessert which we explained to our waiter. It was okay but process of putting chocolate and custard on the ravioli seemed to make the raviolis a bit hard and difficult to cut and chew. Might be better served warm, our waiter suggested another dessert which we will try on our return before departing the island as we have choosen this as the place for our final dinner before flying home this week. Prices were very moderate compared to other local restaurants and we highly recommend stopping in for lunch and or dinner!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful food. Very good quality”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Lovely food. Generous portions, excellent quality. A very pleasant experience. Best food in Rodney Bay, but better locations.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliet h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Pasta at Xavier”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Nice dining area, good waiter overall very good service.

My sister and had pasta at Chef Xavier's.

Feeling well prepared and tasty!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 20JaneA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Olive Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Rodney Bay, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Blue Olive Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing