We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a cool chef/owner”

Blue Olive Restaurant and Wine Bar
Ranked #19 of 84 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Price range: US$0 - US$60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Only Mediterranean Cuisine on Island with a Creole Touch. The Best Selection of Seafood, Meat and Authentic Fresh Pasta.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“what a cool chef/owner”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Thank God he popped out to help get us some service. The 2 waitresses seemed like they were on their first day on the job.
Anyways he was super cool, warm and inviting. Lunch was ok. I don't think we'd go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FJEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    178
    71
    26
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh lobster”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

On a two week holiday here in Rodney Bay we had walked past this restaurant but dismissed it at it's on the top floor of a shopping precinct. Don't make the same mistake! It has a great view. We went last evening and had superb food and gentile attentive service. We started with mussels and stuffed crab, both excellent flavours. The waiter recommended the fresh lobster with creole garlic dressing for main, marvellous flavour. My wife had jumbo prawns with the same dressing, really good. Dessert was passion fruit pie which we shared being fairly full. Give this restaurant a visit!

Helpful?
Thank Marvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent French food with a Creole twist”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Very enjoyable evening spent at Xavier's starting with huge cocktails and superb food. Coquilles St Jacques were fabulous as was the pumpkin and sweet potato soup. We followed with dorado and red snapper which were both excellent. The service was prompt and attentive with very good conversations and the owner visited all the tables to see how the customers were enjoying things. Overall a must try stop in any St Lucian holiday!

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great menu and staff but the food was a disappointment”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We looked forward to eating here based on reviews and the menu. We chose to make a meal of several of the appetizers because they were so appealing and we were not in the mood for a large meal. The wait staff was very good and the dining room was very nice, but the food was not up to par for the price. Overall we were disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jschmoeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Offensive waiter- total turn off”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The food was not great, just ordinary, not very good value for the money. The added grilled shrimp option amounted to 3 shrimp for $30. The waiter's introductory comments were offensive...what's with the marinating and various cuts of loin. It's not cool. He is so busy being a comedian, he made mistakes with our drink order. Then I heard him repeat the same offensive comment to a new set of diners.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Olive Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Blue Olive Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing