We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“curious to try”

Blue Olive Restaurant and Wine Bar
Ranked #17 of 83 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Price range: US$0 - US$60
Cuisines: Caribbean, French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Only Mediterranean Cuisine on Island with a Creole Touch. The Best Selection of Seafood, Meat and Authentic Fresh Pasta.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“curious to try”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Having seen the restaurant while shopping in Bay Walk we were curious to see what it was like for dinner.Quite a nice atmosphere very good service .Food good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosemary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    179
    74
    26
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bit like Fawlty Towers & not in a funny way”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

A few feelings about Xavier

1) if you have a cocktail menu, I think the waiting staff should know what the cocktails are and the bar staff should be capable of making them. Previously we had Q as offering worst cocktails in Rodney bay, how wrong we were.... Making a Caipirinha isn't rocket science.
2) Sat at our table on the balcony jealously looking at the splendidly laid tables inside and wondering whether we would ever receive cutlery to eat our food.
3) 10 minutes later, following point 2, we received complimentary bread and butter, but had to wait five minutes before knife and plate were provided.
4) The tuna fish was of an excellent quality but absolutely caked in salt. Sure fish live in the sea, but they shouldn't taste as salty.
5) considering there were only 5 groups of diners (one member of staff per group) we ought to have received the correct bill

Some general observations.
6) A good restaurant should provide good food first and foremost; decor, fancy cutlery (shovel shaped dessert spoons) and location are distant seconds in comparison; it feels like Xavier has these priories back to front.
7) Service and staff are the face of your business, whilst charming they certainly weren't the slickest of crews.
8) A menu should have some sort of logical flow to it, deciphering the options shouldn't be difficult.

Underneath this shambles, there is potential in this place. I won't ever go back to see if it is realised.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_David_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“what a cool chef/owner”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Thank God he popped out to help get us some service. The 2 waitresses seemed like they were on their first day on the job.
Anyways he was super cool, warm and inviting. Lunch was ok. I don't think we'd go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FJEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh lobster”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

On a two week holiday here in Rodney Bay we had walked past this restaurant but dismissed it at it's on the top floor of a shopping precinct. Don't make the same mistake! It has a great view. We went last evening and had superb food and gentile attentive service. We started with mussels and stuffed crab, both excellent flavours. The waiter recommended the fresh lobster with creole garlic dressing for main, marvellous flavour. My wife had jumbo prawns with the same dressing, really good. Dessert was passion fruit pie which we shared being fairly full. Give this restaurant a visit!

Helpful?
Thank Marvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent French food with a Creole twist”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Very enjoyable evening spent at Xavier's starting with huge cocktails and superb food. Coquilles St Jacques were fabulous as was the pumpkin and sweet potato soup. We followed with dorado and red snapper which were both excellent. The service was prompt and attentive with very good conversations and the owner visited all the tables to see how the customers were enjoying things. Overall a must try stop in any St Lucian holiday!

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Olive Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Rodney Bay, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Blue Olive Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing