We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bay Gardens Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Gardens Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Gardens Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Gros Islet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bay Gardens Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

A small hotel with friendly, helpful and professional staff. I shared a large room with a fellow traveller, which had 2 comfortable kingsized beds, a fridge, kettle, etc and a terrace overlooking the small pool and lovely gardens - all very peaceful. Everywhere was clean and well maintained - we even had a tap and stiff brush to clean our boots after walking! There was a 'Happy Hour' every evening at the BG Inn and at the BG Hotel next door where we had delicious, varied evening meals perfectly prepared by Chef Pat and her team. We also ate at the BG Beach Resort one evening. A free shuttle bus (or a 12 minute walk) goes to the Beach Resort with use of a private beach and facilities.
I would definately recommend any of the 3 'sister' hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind recommendation. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    128
    37
    11
    5
See reviews for
50
135
34
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is a mediocre place at best. If you can afford it, go to the Bay Gardens Resort, which is much nicer and is close to the beach.
The rooms were clean and I cannot fault room service. The first TV we had didn't work, but they promptly replaced it with one that did work (after I told them about it). Things could get a little noisy at times as you could hear everything going on outside (annoying car alarms for example, people talking noisily and shouting, traffic, etc.) You never really get the feeling that you are "away from it all" since this inn is close to town (this has its advantages of course). I didn't really find the staff overly friendly, but not to the extent that I would complain about it. One day I entered the breakfast area and said hi to a lady who I believe was the manager of the inn, and all I got back was a dirty look. Not impressed. Speaking of breakfast, I found some of the items so bad as to be inedible (bacon, scrambled eggs). The shuttle bus to the beach operated every hour but was rarely on time. Its about a 20 minute walk to the beach at the resort, which I found to be a bit of an inconvenience, since I was not feeling that great (had a cold at the time); next trip I will definitely go to a resort which is close to the beach. It is pretty safe to walk around town, though, although sometimes you will be approached by panhandlers. On the beach itself, there were a lot of annoying vendors, which I would have preferred not to deal with.
The meals at the Bay Gardens hotel were overall pretty good but the service was very slow. If you are planning on dining out in town, please avoid the "Jade Terrace", which is probably the worst restaurant I've ever been to.
In summary, I would definitely not return to this inn; I am not even sure I would return to St. Lucia, although it a nice island - I found that it rained a lot during our stay, and was cloudy most of the time.

Room Tip: Go to the Bay Gardens resort, not this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Friendly and professional staff, clean and comfortable rooms. Quite with a lovely pool and gardens. Excellent cocktails at very good value on the beach for sunset. Meals at the Garden Bay Hotel very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prince100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Lovely big rooms all with own patio area or balcony, surrounding the swimming pool.
Inn set in nice grounds and kept very clean.
Nice and quiet. Breakfast is taken in the hotel, and if staying for dinner it is taken in the Bay Gardens hotel a minutes walk away. Stayed for two weeks and the dinner menu was only repeated on one night, and the food is very good. There is a reception party each week with rum punch.
There is a shuttle bus between the Inn, hotel, and the Bay Gardens Hotel and Spa which is on the beach, and you can use the facilities there,
An excellent place to stay and relax.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank absBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Inn, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
It really is an excellent place to stay and get in some much needed relaxation. We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We love Bay Gardens Inn! Quiet and peaceful, well kept, the grounds are maintained immaculately. Area to lounge around the pool. A great bargain, well priced for a clean, lovely place to return after a day out in the rainforest or snorkeling. Walking distance to terrific restaurants and bars. Try La Terressa - french - and Spice of India. Tapas on the Bay is also great. Watched the Super Bowl at The Bar in Baywalk. Say hi to Dabs, the bartender, for us. And the "Q Bar" is perfect for a drink before and after dinner - small, intimate with great jazz. Camilla told us about what was playing and we bought two CDs of local music before we left. Since the Inn is close to shopping it can be noisy during the day but then you can visit the resort if you want a more quiet place to lounge. Perfect happy hour at the Bay Gardens Resort to watch the sunset. And if you want more activity but still close to shopping you can chose the hotel. These three properties have it all and the the Inn is very well priced. We walked to the grocery store and bought fruit and local bread for our breakfast which we enjoyed every morning on our patio facing the pool. Each room has a refrigerator. The staff was terrific and our room was refreshed daily with great care. And a shower with good water pressure! We loved that! And don't miss the Friday night jump up street party in Gros Islet - only ten minutes from Rodney Bay. The hotel will arrange a taxi to get you there and back. This is THE place to stay in Rodney Bay is you're not high maintenance and require all kinds of pampering.

Room Tip: We preferred a room on the first floor so we could walk off our patio to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We spent a glorious 9 days in rented home in the Soufriere region of St. Lucia. It was the most beautiful view we have ever encountered. We were over looking the Piton and the bay. For the last 2 days we ventured up the coast to Rodney Bay and stayed at the Bay Gardens Inn. One of 3 properties related.
We wanted something reasonable since we we only spending one night there and most places are expensive on the Island. $500-$1000/night is not unusual. For a double room we spent about $200 USD for a double room. It was very clean, spacious and comfortable. No complaints about the building, people or quality.
We had asked if there was a continental breakfast offered and we were told there was a breakfast every morning. That was not uncommon, so the following morning we noticed the room off of the lobby was open an several couples were eating food. We entered and noticed that not only was there coffee, fruit and muffins but a buffet breakfast. We sat down and a young lady stopped and asked us if we wanted coffee etc... we said yes.
We got up had our eggs, juice, bacon etc.. When we were finished she gave us a bill for $23.00 each! There was no menue or mention that there was a charge for anything. It was an ok breakfast but for $23 that was almost as much as the lunch we had the day before. When we asked them about the fact that know-one mentioned a cost they said they should put up a sign. Really you think so!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mksunfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Inn, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We would never intend on misleading you or any of our guests. This was truly a communication error which we will ensure doesn’t happen moving forward. Please accept our apologies for this incident. We hope if you’re in St. Lucia again you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

This quiet, lovely hotel is great - as part of a group we virtually had the place to ourselves with a private pool! You can use the facilities at the Bay Garden Hotel nearby and the Bay Garden Resort on the beach so best of all worlds! Food great, rum punches and cocktails epic and the staff are so friendly and accommodating - nothing too much trouble. Chef Pat at the Bay Garden Hotel (where you have dinner) is fabulous - she will whip you up anything special you want at just a mention. Family run and owned - Mrs P keeps a close eye on everything. Shuttle bus to the beach and resort (although nice 15 minute walk down). Different cocktail evenings with free drinks at all hotels and Happy Hour (2 drinks for the price of 1) seem to be at all times. Free wifi and computer use at all hotels. We felt really at home (but better weather!). Good buffet breakfast. Ramblers walking holidays always use this centre.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor by the pool but all good I think. We had microwave and cutlery etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean551979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.1 mi away
Bay Gardens Hotel
Bay Gardens Hotel
#4 of 6 in Rodney Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.6 mi away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#7 of 13 in Gros Islet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#3 of 6 in Rodney Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
2.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Inn

Property: Bay Gardens Inn
Address: Rodney Bay Village, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Gardens Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cozy, romantic, 33-room hotel is a tropical paradise that offers all of the pleasures of charming island life. Conveniently located in the island epicenter of Rodney Bay, the Bay Gardens Inn offers spacious modern rooms, each with a private terrace, exquisite Saint Lucian cuisine, and a high standard of service that creates an atmosphere for ultimate relaxation. The Bay Gardens Inn is a paradise for the vacationing family, the ideal spot for a conference retreat, or a romantic escape for couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bay Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Hotel Gros Islet
Bay Gardens Inn St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing