We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hotel”
Review of Bay Gardens Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Gardens Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Gros Islet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cosy hotel”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We are staying here for two weeks. Hotel rooms are quite basic, but clean, large and have a good AC, all of them have refrigirators and tea maker. Location is ok, shops and restaurants are near. Beach is a bit far but there is a shuttle every hour (but sometimes it misses a round).
Staff are really friendly, they make you feel welcome. There is a pool, unfortunately there is not much shade next to it. A small bar is located in the lobby but it is empty most of the time. I missed the option of having a coffee in the lobby. What I like is that it is quite quiet, which is great if you need a rest.
All in all a nice small hotel, basic but great for the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carribean-fan0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baygardensresorts, Public Relations Manager at Bay Gardens Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for the kind compliments, We do pride our selves in keeping the Inn clean and are proud of the continued efforts taken by our staff in regards to making our guests feel comfortable. With that said, we will look into improving the pool area and bar area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    132
    37
    11
    5
See reviews for
53
140
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed for a week and our room at the ground floor facing the pool was big enough, clean and well equipped. The daily cleaning was absolutely perfect. There is a nice pool but very swallow to swim, in my opinion. The location is close to many restaurants and bars, to supermarkets and shopping malls and also the beach. The option of being able to use all facilities at Bay Gardens Resort, was a plus. The hotel runs a shuttle to the beach every hour, which was always on time ( 5 minutes sooner or later the most ). It is only a 10-15 min walk to beach, if you don’t to wait. The staff was great, everyone was polite and helpful. Regarding the budget of the hotel, the breakfast was satisfactory and was changing a bit every day. Overall good value for the rate.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANTONIOS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camelford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

On arrival was greeted by cheerful and pleasant staff which made for an easy check in. Room was well equipped with everything required from fridge to tea and coffee making facilities,tv and air conditioning.bathroom provided and adequate shower with a bath if required and always plenty of hot water no matter what time of the day.
As for the negative reports about the breakfasts served here as far as my wife and I are concerned there is no problem with a good selection to cover every taste each morning. No doubt the people complaining are looking for 5star treatment if so go somewhere else and pay the full price,value for money you won't beat the bay gardens inn and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffly087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here in March for one night,, prior to going to another resort for the week. This was our second time staying at this hotel and it didn't disappoint. Barbara handled our reservations, including pick up from the airport through Gary's Taxi, where Robinson was our incredible driver. She did a fantastic job, ensuring the time of pick up and our rooms with another couple were conveniently close together. The hotel is well laid out, with a pool at the centre. Close by is duty free shopping, groceries, restaurants all within a two minute walk. Also close by is a taxi station, that will take you to the Friday night street party, which was a great experience. Check in and check out were quick and efficient. We would definitely stay here again for a stop over.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the parking lot rooms, as they can be louder in the morning when the workers arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatewinter14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed here for two weeks during our walking holiday. We visited many parts of the island, and Rodney Bay is certainly the most pleasant for holidaymakers.
Bay Gardens Inn is one of three properties under the same management. The Inn is 3 star, but quite comfortable, with visible, but pleasant, security staff. In fact the staff throughout were friendly and eager to please. The bedrooms were clean, comfortable and large (2 Queen beds), and equipped with a safe (returnable deposit). Air conditioning was efficient and easy to operate.

Breakfast was acceptable, and we took dinner at the Hotel, just across the road. This was usually a themed buffet, offering a good choice of well cooked food.
The pool was too shallow for serious swimming - more of a feature really.
Most people seemed to go to bed at 10.00 pm, and the bar shut at this time - although you could get a drink at the hotel later.
The third property is the nearby Bay Gardens Resort. Situated close to a lovely beach, the inn ran a minibus shuttle every hour, and we got into the habit of going down for happy hour cocktails and watching the sunset. We would have liked to have stayed here, but it was much more expensive. Sun loungers and towels are provided free of charge

Room Tip: Rooms 255 -258 on the first floor. They overlook the pool, and the access corridor overlooks a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ornsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

A small hotel with friendly, helpful and professional staff. I shared a large room with a fellow traveller, which had 2 comfortable kingsized beds, a fridge, kettle, etc and a terrace overlooking the small pool and lovely gardens - all very peaceful. Everywhere was clean and well maintained - we even had a tap and stiff brush to clean our boots after walking! There was a 'Happy Hour' every evening at the BG Inn and at the BG Hotel next door where we had delicious, varied evening meals perfectly prepared by Chef Pat and her team. We also ate at the BG Beach Resort one evening. A free shuttle bus (or a 12 minute walk) goes to the Beach Resort with use of a private beach and facilities.
I would definately recommend any of the 3 'sister' hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind recommendation. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is a mediocre place at best. If you can afford it, go to the Bay Gardens Resort, which is much nicer and is close to the beach.
The rooms were clean and I cannot fault room service. The first TV we had didn't work, but they promptly replaced it with one that did work (after I told them about it). Things could get a little noisy at times as you could hear everything going on outside (annoying car alarms for example, people talking noisily and shouting, traffic, etc.) You never really get the feeling that you are "away from it all" since this inn is close to town (this has its advantages of course). I didn't really find the staff overly friendly, but not to the extent that I would complain about it. One day I entered the breakfast area and said hi to a lady who I believe was the manager of the inn, and all I got back was a dirty look. Not impressed. Speaking of breakfast, I found some of the items so bad as to be inedible (bacon, scrambled eggs). The shuttle bus to the beach operated every hour but was rarely on time. Its about a 20 minute walk to the beach at the resort, which I found to be a bit of an inconvenience, since I was not feeling that great (had a cold at the time); next trip I will definitely go to a resort which is close to the beach. It is pretty safe to walk around town, though, although sometimes you will be approached by panhandlers. On the beach itself, there were a lot of annoying vendors, which I would have preferred not to deal with.
The meals at the Bay Gardens hotel were overall pretty good but the service was very slow. If you are planning on dining out in town, please avoid the "Jade Terrace", which is probably the worst restaurant I've ever been to.
In summary, I would definitely not return to this inn; I am not even sure I would return to St. Lucia, although it a nice island - I found that it rained a lot during our stay, and was cloudy most of the time.

Room Tip: Go to the Bay Gardens resort, not this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.1 mi away
Bay Gardens Hotel
Bay Gardens Hotel
#4 of 6 in Rodney Bay
1,104 reviews
0.6 mi away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#6 of 13 in Gros Islet
457 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#2 of 6 in Rodney Bay
1,638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Papillon by Rex Resorts
Papillon by Rex Resorts
#5 of 6 in Rodney Bay
290 reviews
1.6 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Inn

Property: Bay Gardens Inn
Address: Rodney Bay Village, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Gardens Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cozy, romantic, 33-room hotel is a tropical paradise that offers all of the pleasures of charming island life. Conveniently located in the island epicenter of Rodney Bay, the Bay Gardens Inn offers spacious modern rooms, each with a private terrace, exquisite Saint Lucian cuisine, and a high standard of service that creates an atmosphere for ultimate relaxation. The Bay Gardens Inn is a paradise for the vacationing family, the ideal spot for a conference retreat, or a romantic escape for couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Hotel Gros Islet
Bay Gardens Inn St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing