We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel”
Review of Bay Gardens Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Gardens Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Gros Islet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 February 2007

The Bay Gardens is a great small hotel, and we fully agree with the previous reviews. We stayed there for a most enjoyable week. Our room was clean, well serviced, perfectly located (just a few steps to the pool), quiet, and comfortable. Everything in the room worked well, including the air conditioner. The service of the staff and management were excellent. They went out of their way to make sure that we were happy.

The only problem we had was with the bed, and once this was corrected we had no complaints. We booked and were confirmed in a king-sized bed in a deluxe room, but when we arrived, we were given a room with 2 double beds. The next day, a queen sized bed was in the room, but it was very soft and spongey, and the mattress cover was dirty. Finally a king-sized bed was moved in, and we were very happy with it.

The location is good and a nice walk to the beach and lots of restaurants. There is even a WONDERFUL gelato shop called Elena's only a few minutes walk away! Don't miss it!

We drove around the island and enjoyed it very much. The beach at Anse Chastenet, near Soufriere, is lovely--don't be put off by the very rough road to get to it. Snorkeling there is very nice too. In the Soufriere area, we also visited Fond d'Or Estate (a working cocoa plantation with a botanical garden) and Diamond Falls, also with a botanical garden.

Reduit Beach (nearest to the Bay Gardens) is OK, but tends to get very crowded with cruise ship passengers. However, they are easily avoided by walking to the south end of the beach where there is a lovely shaded grassy area.

We highly recommend the Bay Gardens Inn and would go back again if we return to St. Lucia.

Stayed: February 2007
4  Thank DonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2006

In November 2006 we stayed for a week at The Bay Gardens Inn (not to be confused with it’s sister hotel The Bay Garden Hotel, next door). The hotel is small and friendly (with, I think, just over 30 rooms on just two floors). However, it has all the facilities of a larger hotel e.g. restaurant, cocktail bar (with a great selection of cocktails at very reasonable prices), outdoor pool, hairdressing salon, separate beauty spa, laundry service, conference facilities. The staff were all very friendly, polite and helpful. During our stay there was some building work being carried out next to the hotel but the noise was only during weekdays and not really loud or intrusive. What ever they were building was almost finished anyway so would not be a bother for very much longer. Can’t really comment on the dinner menu in the restaurant as we ate out each evening but we had lunch there one day and it was fine. Breakfast was sometimes served buffet style and other times to order from a menu and there was plenty of choice. Very close by was a really good shopping mall which we felt was better than the duty-free shopping malls in Castries which seem to just sell high price jewellery and junk souvenirs to the many cruise ships who dropped anchor.

We stayed in room 252 which overlooked the hotel pool and gardens. The room was very large, clean and comfortable. All towels were changed daily. It had a lovely balcony which had a patio table and two chairs and really great for sitting out. The room had air conditioning and its facilities included hairdryer, mini fridge (in which you put your own purchases) coffee/tea making facilities, tv, bedside clock, ironing board (with an iron available on request), room safe. You can also have room service if you wish to eat on your balcony, which we did one evening.

You can use some of the facilities of The Bay Garden Hotel next door but we only had lunch there on our last day (which was very nice) but can’t comments on the rest of this hotel.

If you like shellfish I can heartily recommend the jumbo deep fried shrimps (cooked in a coconut batter and served with a coconut dip) from the beach-bar/restaurant called Spinnakers nearby at Reduit Beach. Their shrimps were the best on the island and must be all of 4” long. They are to die for and we had them three times for either lunch or diner in the week we were in St Lucia. The best Pina Colada was definitely to be found at Scuttlebutts Bar & Grill in Rodney Bay Marina.

Taxis are easy to find on the island and there are taxi ranks outside most hotels and restaurants. They are reliable, safe and cheap and we had no problems getting around day or evening. All registered taxis bear the letters TX in the car registration plate so it was easy to know whether you had a proper taxi. Would certainly recommend Eddie who is based at Rodney Bay Marine taxi rank, close to Scuttlebutts restaurant ([--]). He was a lovely guy and we used him a lot during our stay and he was happy to take us out on a tour of the island for the day.

All in all, the hotel is not exactly posh compared to some on the island but is very comfortable and friendly and a great place to stay. The island is beautiful and the people lovely. A very safe place and at no time did I feel uneasy about anything or anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Annathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2006

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bay Gardens Inn. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left all of the staff were a credit to their Manager (she is so lively, who couldn't be)??

The location of the Inn is great, as it is very close to the bus stop, supermarket and also well within stumbling distance from the bars if you have one two many Pitons or Rum punches.

Having a fridge in the room is a great help, as snacks, drinks and lunches can be bought relatively cheaply from the supermarket, if you don't really fancy going for something formal.

We like many other visitors, prefer the small friendly hotels even if they are not directly on the beach. On one occasion we ventured in to a gift shops of one of the 3 main AI hotels that is based on Reduit Beach, the poor service made me very thankful that we were making the 10 minute walk back to the Bay Gardens.

The reception staff were particularly helpful when our transfer to the airport didn't turn up. Despite having a wedding party arriving at the same time, they still managed to contact our tour operator and organise for them to send another taxi.

We have stayed at many high class hotels across the world, as well as a mixture across 7 Caribbean Islands, and the staff at the BGI were as genuine as we have witnessed.

We are returning to the Inn early 2007 and can't wait to get there.

  • Stayed: December 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank spider03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2006

My sister and I stayed here for one week at the beginning of October and just loved it. If we came back to the island we would without a doubt book here again.
It was just within walking distance of great shops and restaurants and the beach. The staff were so friendly and the food (we tried dinner and breakfast there) was so fresh and tasty. The facilities were immaculate, you could have eaten your dinner of any floor, outside and in! Thank you all for our great holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank scooby_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2006

I just spent three nights at Bay Garden Inn for a meeting. The staff is extremely friendly, the breakfast is excellent, the rooms are spacious and immaculately clean. Most of the balconies overlook the pool which was great for swimming laps. There is also a little Day Spa where I had a pedicure and message. The prices were good and the therapists were pleasant and quite good. BGI is a small, affordable and comfortable property. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank barl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Canada
19
Reviewed 15 July 2006

There is a special charm about Bay Gardens Inn that made my Wedding perfect. I had a few doubts at first when I found it on the internet but those doubts were quickly swept away by the golden treatment I received from the staff upon my arrival. It was simply superb. There was a nice cozy flow to how everything unfolded that just left my guests and me in awe of the wonderful work of the Bay Gardens Inn staff.

Ms. Patrick the super-energized and warm Manager took care of my husband and I very well. It was simply amazing because all of the staff made us feel very comfortable at every turn it is unforgettable. The rooms were well arranged, kept spotlessly clean, decorated and wonderfully maintained for us.

All the stress I had anticipated having just continued to melt away the longer we stayed. It was simply memorable the way they worked hard just to make it happen for us. The way they paid attention to detail and allowed us the time and space to enjoy the event will be something I will never forget.

Our one week stay which included our Wedding and Honey Moon on the 27th May, 2006 was really like a dream - I mean from the pick-up at the airport, to the warm encouragement from everystaff, the beautiful decorations, timing, garden decor and the arrangements for the wedding. Everything just fell right into place. Oh the food, it was simply sumptuous. During the speeches some of our relatives spoke about how the ambience of the intimate Bay Gardens setting and the staff made them feel specially catered to.

I am so happy that I chose Bay Gardens Inn and I encourage anyone of you looking for a great place to wed to head directly to Bay Gardens Inn I must stress again -IT IS THE PERFECT PLACE TO STAY-. You will be overwhelmed by their hospitality and expertise. Ms. Patrick is like a diamond on what is already a golden crown. I wish to offer my heartfelt thanks once again to Ms. Patrick and her staff for giving us an unforgettable wedding experience.I am looking forward to a return vocation in the near future.

Even a handful of sunshine wouldn't be enough to thank the Management and Staff of Bay Gardens Inn

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Southampton, England
120
Reviewed 9 February 2006

We were delighted with our choice of the Bay Gardens Inn for our 1-week holiday in St Lucia. It exactly matched our requirements for a small, quiet, locally owned and run hotel. The manager was a friendly presence every day, and the staff very helpful yet not overbearing. The garden in the courtyard with its small pool was a delightful place to relax and meet other guests. It seemed a good sign that it is patronised by Caribbean people as well as tourists from far away. It is next door to a local mall with a supermarket, close to tourist shops and bars and the beach is 10 minutes walk away. The food was a little limited for us as vegetarians but when a conference party stayed we were treated to an excellent buffet dinner. We would recommend the place - much better than one of those gigantic multinational concerns which hardly benefit the local economy

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.1 mi away
Bay Gardens Hotel
Bay Gardens Hotel
#3 of 6 in Rodney Bay
1,173 reviews
0.6 mi away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#6 of 13 in Gros Islet
473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#2 of 6 in Rodney Bay
1,674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Papillon by Rex Resorts
Papillon by Rex Resorts
#5 of 6 in Rodney Bay
336 reviews
1.6 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Inn

Address: Rodney Bay Village, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Gros Islet
Price Range: £78 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Gardens Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cozy, romantic, 33-room hotel is a tropical paradise that offers all of the pleasures of charming island life. Conveniently located in the island epicenter of Rodney Bay, the Bay Gardens Inn offers spacious modern rooms, each with a private terrace, exquisite Saint Lucian cuisine, and a high standard of service that creates an atmosphere for ultimate relaxation. The Bay Gardens Inn is a paradise for the vacationing family, the ideal spot for a conference retreat, or a romantic escape for couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bay Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Hotel Gros Islet
Bay Gardens Inn St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing