We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ginger Lily Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed for four nights at the Ginger Lily as part of a 2 week holiday on the island. As the earlier reviews indicate, this is a good budget hotel. We had specifically asked for an upstairs room and I'm glad we did as the downstairs bedrooms appears to have a lot of vegetation outside. Our room was large and airy, with a huge four poster bed, enormous bathroom and offering both aircon and ceiling fan. The small kitchenette was more than adequate for our needs. The location, right across the road from the beach, was perfect. There are also some excellent restaurants in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Choose one upstairs if you can (we had room 5)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley_Chapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    90
    23
    7
    10
See reviews for
36
132
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

This is a budget-type hotel in a busy and loud area of Rodney Bay. If you are looking for something akin to a beach cottage right across the street from Reduit Beach (and the police station), this is your place. For us, the area was a little too loud (right up until 5:30 or so on Saturday morning following our 1-night stay) and a little too touristy with lots of restaurants and bars nearby. Our room was also at the front of the hotel where we could hear the phone ringing and conversations taking place in the lobby (the windows did not close, but curtains and shutters did cover the screens). We also could hear the grounds crew when they started watering the gardens around 8:30 or so. Might not have been a big deal, but we were tired because the noise from the street had only stopped a couple of hours before they started work. The personnel working at the desk were quite nice, and there was a night guard who came on duty before we went to bed. The hotel has a small bar, and it was nice to be able to get a couple of Piton beers without going to a restaurant. Our unit had a kitchen,and there are two good grocery stores nearby, so if we were staying longer, we could have cooked our meals. The pull-out sofa was extremely uncomfortable -- it would have been difficult to sleep on it for more than one night. All-in-all, it was a fine place to stay if you aren't looking for luxury. Rituals Coffee is good and serves pastries and hot breakfast. Also, Elena's ice-cream is a must visit. We heard that Spinnaker's Restaurant (across the street on the beach) is good, but didn't visit ourselves so I can't confirm.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if it's possible to get one. Don't take room #11 (an executive suite at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavinandkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The Ginger Lily was recommended to us by an acquaintance who lives in St Lucia. It is a very pretty small hotel, just a dozen rooms basically surrounding a nicely designed pool area. It's a block from a nice stretch of Reduit Beach. They have ground floor rooms and upper rooms as well as a couple of suites. The suite we looked at seemed a little dark so we opted for an upper room. It was large and airy with a nearly 20 foot vaulted ceiling above the sleeping area. It also had a sofa bed and table, as well as a small balcony with a hammock, table and chairs. Since the ground floor units had patios by the pool I'd say the upper units, for a few dollars more, were the better value. HOWEVER, if you are even a small part "vampire" - like us, then don't go for the upper units. In the two gable ends of the vaulted roof are triangular windows and - since the ceiling and walls are painted white - the entire room is blindingly bright as soon as the sun rises. On the other hand, if you're an early riser or just not bothered by early morning light then the upper units really are a terrific choice. There is a mini fridge and coffee maker in the room and an enormous bathroom. The maid service - with little touches like flower petals on the towels that had been twisted into pretty shapes - seemed very good. We were there on a weekend and the girls at the front desk were attractive and friendly but not terribly efficient. (I was promised a converter again an again over the course of our weekend stay and it never materialized - hence a dead mobile phone and not getting the message that our early morning departure flight had been delayed several hours...) All in all, though, the hotel was pretty, comfortable, well-designed and conveniently located - at the quiet end of "the strip" - and I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PipsPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

This place is great if you are on a budget, it had everything we needed the perfect location right in the heart of The Rodney Bay area. I would recommend this place if you are looking for a small resort with a relaxed atmosphere, but you can’t expect more for that price, can you? Again I highly recommend it to budget travelers due to its advantageous location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

My wife (English) and I (French) enjoyed our stay at Ginger Lily. We were looking for a cheap place in a nice location in Rodney Bay, not far from the beach, and we found it. The rooms are clean and tidy, and the hotel was very quiet, with a very private atmosphere. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Defre_Ripa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We enjoyed the Ginger Lily. They were very accommodating as we had my elderly mother with us and had special needs. We stayed in the kitchenette which worked well for us. I loved the gardens and the pool. A lovely place to relax. It is close to the beach and to restaurants as well as the mall for shopping. We would go back!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank c0untrychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for six nights after spending 5 nights in another area of the island. I can't rave about this hotel enough. We arrived 3 hours before check in and our room was ready and we were allowed to check in.
The rooms are HUGE and the bathrooms are bigger than my current apartment lol. Plenty of clean towels, a strong free internet connection, and the added benefit of a hairdryer and complimentary shampoo, shower gel and body lotion - perfect when you don't want to carry all those bottles. They also have books at Reception if you want to read something.
This hotel only has 11 rooms which is what I loved about it the most. It felt private. We never ate breakfast at the hotel as Spinnakers on the Beach is a two minute walk. We did get drinks from the bar a couple of times, and one night they had no coke, no vodka, no orange juice! This was a bit weird I thought, but it certainly didn't put me off my stay. The pool was gorgeous and we often had it to ourselves. Staff were pleasant and helpful - but SMILE GIRLS!
I would 100% stay here again. Its so close to everything and the rooms are of a very high quality.
Thank you Ginger Lily from Hilary and Adrian

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandgoldilocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.1 mi away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#7 of 13 in Gros Islet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
9.0 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
0.1 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#3 of 6 in Rodney Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
2.0 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ginger Lily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ginger Lily Hotel

Property: The Ginger Lily Hotel
Address: Rodney Bay | P.O. Box cp 6013, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ginger Lily Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel cushions the seafront of one of the island's most exotic beaches, Reduit Beach located within Rodney Bay Village. The hotel comprises of eleven luxury rooms. Four superior deluxe, four sea view rooms and three executive suites. Each are superbly furnished with fridge, air conditioning, direct dial telephone, ceiling fan and wall-to-wall shower, queen and sofa bed, clock radio and an in room safe. The executive rooms are fully furnished with separate dining and kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ginger Lily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginger Lily Hotel
Ginger Lily Gros Islet
The Ginger Lily Hotel St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing