We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, ideal location”
Review of blu St Lucia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
blu St Lucia
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Took my husband for his birthday, he was more than happy and grateful. You don't always find staff as polite as those at the Blu. My husband and I couldn't stop speaking about the wonderful kind and helpful people not only at the Blu but St Lucia as a whole. Thanks for a marvelous time and for making us feel at home away from home. Special thanks to Cathy, the massage therapist, the receptionist and everyone else who made our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1wendytnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soraya R, Manager at blu St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Blu S.t Lucia would like to take this opportunity to extend our heartfelt thanks, to all our Guests. We truly endeavor to provide genuine, friendly and professional service.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

Such a shame to be giving this hotel such a bad review.
Me & my partner stayed here for 2 nights after crossing the Atlantic with The Arc. The room is lovely, the bed was SO comfy - it was a US Kingsize - lush!!
The staff were really friendly, the cocktails were great, breakfast was tasty & the pool was lovely & clean.

This hotel would have got 4 stars if it were not for the noise on the last night.

There was a bar just over the fence next to the hotel which played music SO LOUD it was resonating around our hotel room. At midnight we heard the DJ announce the start of Karaoke. I looked at my partner in horror!! Surely not!!!
That is when things got really bad. At 12.30 we rang down to reception asking them to do something about the noise, there was no chance we could sleep through it. They informed us that the bar had a license until 2am & that they couldn't do anything until then - to our horror!!! But fair enough if there is nothing they can do. We tried turning the TV up full blast to drown out the howling of next door - no luck there!!

At 2.15 am when we were pulling our hair out we called down again as it still hadn't stopped. The employee informed us he had rang the police & they would shut the noise down as soon as the police got there. The music finally died down just after 2.30am.

I understand there is only so much the hotel can do - but there should be some sort of warning about the noise on certain nights! To pay $150 for a room & only be able to sleep after 2.30am, when the whole point we booked was for some rest, is unacceptable!! Our room was on the side of the hotel right next to said bar - the hotel is big & was mostly empty, they could have at least tried to place us away from the noise. Our complaint came as no surprise to the staff member so this is clearly not a one off.

Just beware before you book!!!!!!!

Like I said such a shame - everything else was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StephDare-Edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soraya R, General Manager at blu St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Blu St. Lucia, continue to endeavor to meet our guests expectations, by providing,
friendly, genuine, and professional service. The hotel being located in the main touristic environment on the island can be subject to some elements of entertainment noise. We continue work with our neighbors to respect that our guests whom are here for a certain time on vacation and to support the industry by way of being more empathetic by way of reducing the sound pollution. We do communicate regularly and they have shown respect in this time. We do however contribute this time to being one of a more festive time of the year which might have elevated beyond normal levels.

We apologize that your stay was interrupted, and hope that your positive aspects of your stay with us as you expressed will rise to the forefront of your memory.

Sincerely
Blu Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

My wife and I stayed for 7 nights this month.The hotel is located on the main road where you can eat and spend your time.It's a two-minute-walk from Reduit beach, where, with a daily token from the reception,you are entitled to two beach chairs and an umbrella.The rooms are spacious with an excellent coffee machine,a fridge ,a balcony and all the necessary amenities.Satisfactory breakfast, staff helpful and friendly.Yes,there was loud music some nights but we didn't care!Don't forget to rent a car and visit Marigot bay,Pitons(from Ladera hotel) and the Diamond's fall.

Room Tip: Higher floors but beware there are no lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Looked for an alternative to my usual monthly hotel stay in Rodney Bay
Big mistake..
First night Thursday karaoke next door till 2am
Friday morning 6am from across the road loud music..
Friday night loud music from next door till after midnight
Saturday ...finally hoping for a quiet night ...staff decide to hammer nails into the walls for Xmas decorations at 1030PM!
Went downstairs ...complaint fell on deaf ears...hammering went till after 11pm
Although daily noise pollution is not necessarily the fault of the hotel...the surrounding cant change even if I were to return..which will not happen.

Basic room...below average service
Good reason that the hotel is empty in peak season
Will never stay here again.
As for service...well due to total absence of management...it is as aspected ...terrible

Room Tip: Don't....
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank Nomad67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soraya R, Manager at blu St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

It is truly unfortunate that you had this experience with us. At Blu, we have prided ourselves on being one of the most genuinely staff friendly hotels on the strip, and through all our reviews, this is what has stood out the most for us. I do know that during this period of time, there was full management on property and can only apologize that you did not have an opportunity to speak to any one of us whilst you were here.

We can only extend our heartfelt apology for your experience and we will certainly take all your comments into serious account and review.

The noise pollution is unfortunate as we are on the main touristic strip of the island, again we continue to work with our neighbors in this regard.

We appreciate your review.

Sincerely,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The Blu Hotel is generally a nice place (nice rooms and nice pool area) but the service at this hotel completely sucks! To me this mainly seems to be a management problem. During the seven days we stayed here, we experienced a lot of problems and the management did not really care. The major issue was certainly that they had a constant problem supplying hot water to their guests! At only two evenings (out of seven days!) the water temperature was at an acceptable level. Very often the water was completely cold (eg. two days in a row)! And reading the Tripadvisor reviews it seems that previous guests experienced the same. The management constantly provided the same excuses but did neither solve the problem nor offered any kind of compensation. Besides the troubles related to the hot water supply there were much more issues which I will describe in details below. We communicated most of the issues to the management but they only appeased us. Though some people at the hotel are very nice and helpful all the service issues we experienced let me conclude not to recommend this place. I would not stay here again.

ISSUES EXPERIENCED:
1) On arrival we needed change to pay the taxi driver (the ATM had only provided large denominations). The receptionist refused to give us change.
2) We asked the receptionist for information on the ferry to the island of Martinique. He promised to find out. He never did!
3) We asked the receptionist if it was okay to have two bags stored at the hotel while going to Martinique for a couple of days. Even this simple question he was not able to answer. He promised to find out. He never did!
4) As there was no bar of soap in our room we asked for one. The receptionist promised to get one to us. He never did!
5) All rooms have a balcony or patio but most of them have only one chair. What if two people want to relax there at the same time?
6) Service staff at breakfast is generally very nice but the service gets very slow if there are several guests at the same time. You then might wait for your hot breakfast 30 minutes or more. In the beginning of our stay they used to have a breakfast buffet (fruits, toast, jam ...) but suddenly got rid of that. Therefore you had to order everything with the service staff which again extended the waiting time.
7) Even if your breakfast is included in your rate they ask you each morning to sign a bill. The bill shows an amount but they promise that you will not have to pay it. I never saw such a strange process in any other hotel.
8) One afternoon a cleaning lady emptied the dirty cleaning water into the the pool shower while we were sunbathing. As disgusting as this already is she even did not rinse afterwards.
9) One morning at 7am two hotel employees were chatting at the pool and played a radio extremely loud. I woke up because of the noise! As all rooms face the pool everybody was disturbed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trainline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soraya R, Manager at blu St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Blu St. Lucia Management and Staff wish to express our heartfelt apology for the experience you had during your stay with us. I do remember you clearly, and I know that we did endeavor to support all your needs as best we could during your stay, so much so that we provided you with another room, which you seemed to be pleased with. Its unfortunate after touching base with you quite often that you did not seem to share the other incidents which seemed to have caused you to give this review.

We can only at this point take into serious consideration all your comments and adjust where we can to ensure that we do not have other guests experience this.

We are grateful for your review, regardless if positive or negative, as the more we know as management the better we can address any issue which may arise which is within our ability and control to improve.

Again we extend our heartfelt apology to you and yours, and extend our deepest wish for a Blessed and Safe 2014 .

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

When there is a problem it is how you put it right. At the Blu Hotel in St Lucia we were fronted with no hot water on arrival for a few days because of a boiler problem. The part was enroute from USA. For the next few days this was totally forgotten because of the warmth of the staff. If you want somewhere without hassle, no big crowds and good service then I would recommend one of the 70 rooms at this hotel. Located at the end of the road it is a few minutes walk to the beach and about 10-15 walk to the main centre. The food was nice and the bar well stocked. Piton the local brew is served in a chilled glass. Clean rooms, we had a ground floor pool view with terrace which was useful to get out of the sun for a while. Even in late November it was still mid 80's.
To apologise for the lack of hot water the hotel kindly gave us a dinner on the house. It was a kind gesture and as stated it is how you react to an issue. There are many local restaurants within walking distance. Buzz us a great upmarket place and the Red Snapper was excellent. Spinnakers on the beach is a must for cocktails at sunset.

Room Tip: Book a room with a terrace or balcony overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seuke8441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soraya R, Manager at blu St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

The Management and Staff wish to express their sincere thanks and best wishes for the New year to all our guests.

Thank you for your most honest and supportive review.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Been at the blu for 2 weeks all inclusive mid-end of Oct. Very quiet as low season. Everybody waiting for the high season with tourism business to pick up again. - If you are looking for a nice Caribbean beach with lots of options for night life entertainment restaurants and bars, Rodney Bay is the place to go. Beach is in 2 minutes walking distance from the Blu.
The hotel was also very quiet, just a few more couples and me. All food was a la carte and excellent quality - I had no complain. Small menu but with some great local dishes (most of the time I had fish like Mahi-Mahi, Tuna, Green Fig and Salt fish, Fish Cake but also some Beef Pepper-Pot or Duck) but you could also get your steak or burgers and chip if you feeling for it.
Good beers (Piton and Heineken) all included with the full package, good local rum, great table wine - and altough I am not a cocktail fan, but you have to try the brown skin girl, the banana in it even makes it healthy. :-)
Only point of concern is that its canned fruit juice they are using only. You may want to walk across to the beach as next to pinnacles bar you have some local ladies selling fresh homemade juice like Golden Apple for example. All tasted fantastic.
Room is great, bed very comfortable, air condition and fan doing a great job, not too noisy, I had no problem to sleep even with the karaoke bar 2 times a week making some noise its not too bad. Good to have a fridge in the room I could equip with all kind of beverages and snacks.
Bathroom, especially the shower needed some renovation but worked for me.
All in all great value you getting for your money.
And last but not least the stuff is just great, very welcoming, comforting me always with a smile.
Love you all Ladies and missing you. Gentlemen you are doing a great job.
Its a Caribbean experience what do you expect when you go there? - I will definitely go again.
& Many thanks for introducing me to India's Song!
Tuna

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soraya R, Manager at blu St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Blu Management and Staff would like to extend our heartfelt thanks for you review. We hope to receive another opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

We would like to wish all our guests and potential guests a very Prosperous and Safe New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
9.1 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
0.1 mi away
The Ginger Lily Hotel
The Ginger Lily Hotel
#5 of 13 in Gros Islet
253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Gardens Hotel
Bay Gardens Hotel
#3 of 6 in Rodney Bay
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harmony Suites
Harmony Suites
#7 of 12 in Castries
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#2 of 6 in Rodney Bay
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to blu St Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about blu St Lucia

Address: Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: £82 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — blu St Lucia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Rodney Bay in the quieter part of Reduit beach yet close to all the vibrancy of Rodney Bay Village, blu St Lucia is the perfectly placed to offer the very best of this precious Caribbean island for both vacation and business. Just 100 yards walking distance to the beach, furnished to provide beauty,style and comfort, coupled with offering a nice range of facilities, this newly refurbished hotel provides the ideal base from which to discover the riches of St Lucia. We offer from our exceptionally friendly staff to the most comfortable beds on the island, fantastic Coffee and home made cake bar, wonderfully appointed Alia Spa with Espa products, tennis court, business center,fitness center, kids facilities and baby sitting services, prayer room, pool room, tour Desk and rental car service, and to add just an overall special environment, we look forward to welcoming any visitor to our shores with open arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Booking.com, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your blu St Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blu St Lucia St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing