We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
Review of Tapas On The Bay

Tapas On The Bay
Reserve with OpenTable
Tapas On The Bay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 83 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: With its Spanish-inspired decor and menu of 'little dishes from around the world', Tapas On The Bay is tucked into a breezy corner of Rodney Bay marina lagoon, where a steady breeze blows across the calm waters and cools its spacious covered deck. The long, Soufriere stone clad bar is perfect for enjoying a quick lunch or dinner, and the secluded location makes Tapas On The Bay a great place to relax and chill out. Taking traditional tapas as a base, Chef Rosie incorporates Caribbean and international influences, creating innovative new bite-sized dishes with local ingredients and flavours, serving them on sharing platters for a very social eating experience. There are also plenty of delicious entrees and yummy desserts to round out the menu. Throw in some excellent wines, three different types of sangria and boozy cocktails by the jug, and Tapas On The Bay could be your next favourite dining spot in Saint Lucia. Open for brunch from 10am to 3pm, happy hour from 4pm to 6pm and dinner from 6pm to 10pm (11pm Saturday and Sunday). Closed Tuesdays.
manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Love tapas so looking forward to this new find. Food not what I would call authentic but has a Caribbean twist. Great location on the waters edge and very pleasant to dine on the decking. Bar looks fabulous but lacking some atmosphere; would benefit from some good background music. Food really good and value for money, good service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traceyg27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas On The Bay, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
We're glad to know you had a great experience at Tapas, and enjoyed the best breezes in Rodney Bay. Our 'little dishes from around the world' concept allows the Chef to play with the tapas concept, so you'll often find our special creations are Caribbean-themed and make use of local ingredients. Thanks for taking time out to post your kind comments, and hope to welcome you again in future. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    205
    84
    26
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy tapas right on the water”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This place is a gem. Good variety of tapas, with helpful menu options for sharing with a group; very friendly service; and beautiful setting on Rodney Bay. The only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars is because I have had amazing tapas in Spain and the U.S., so my standards for tapas are really high. Nonetheless, the tapas at Tapas on the Bay are reliably good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank joraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas On The Bay, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thanks for your positive review of Tapas on the Bay. We try to keep our menu as authentic as possible, but sometimes it's difficult to source specific ingredients, so we're happy to know you rate our tapas highly. Look forward to seeing you again on the deck in future. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Food Good View”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Good food for our first night on St Lucia. We really enjoyed the food and there was something for everyone in our group of seven.
Service was slow but after a few days you realise this is the norm on St Lucia, as a tourist venue meal here was our most expensive of our 10 day stay at about £25 each but at the time we where happy with this.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas On The Bay, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
We're so glad you found Tapas on the Bay on your first night and happy to know that your group enjoyed the food. Thanks for taking time out to post your review, and we hope to welcome you again in future if you are in St Lucia. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great view and food to match”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Enjoyed the waterside views and a comprehensive tapas meal to go with it. So much food that we ended up taking away a doggy bag as we could not eat it all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KevSuzSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas On The Bay, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for the short and sweet review of Tapas on the Bay! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope we'll see you on the waterfront deck again in the near future. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbury
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Potential to be excellent”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

great ambiance, decor and setting. Tapas should be ad hoc, served when prepared and be reasobably quick. Our food was very slow to be served, more in the traditional sense of bringing a whole meal to the table. The kitchen need to be a little quicker and more flexible here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank yorkiejules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Tapas On The Bay, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thanks for your honest review of Tapas on the Bay and we're glad you enjoyed the food. We have recently been training new staff, and continue to work with our team on achieving that authentic ad-hoc tapas experience for all our guests. Hope we will welcome you back to see the improvements for yourself! Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tapas On The Bay also viewed

 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Tapas On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing