We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best guesthouse!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chez Marie Alish

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Chez Marie Alish
Ranked #7 of 14 Gros Islet B&B and Inns
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best guesthouse!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed there the last week in January 2013. We tried a total of four guesthouses around the carribean and this was by far the best of them! Clean, great service and a perfect place to be. At the time all of St Lucia suffered from the rain storm and had no water. There was nothing the owners could do but still they managed to do it! They collected rainwater and carried up to our room and the next day they ordered a truck full of water for us. (i still feel bad about leting her carry it up with her bad back...)

5-10 minutes to a nice beach and just five minutes to the village, which is very nice. Dont miss the friday party in Gros Islet!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nautinaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    23
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
26
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

For much of our 10-day vacation, we stayed with family in the South of the island but decided to spend a few nights in the North to avoid the long mountainous drive around the island. Hotel Chez Marie Alish was recommended to us by Ruby of Endless Summer Cruises as a little gem for lodging on a budget. The owner Mr. Castro accommodated our next day request for a 2-night stay. As other reviews have noted, the efficiency was spacious and very clean and had all of the essentials: a fully stocked kitchenette; working A/C; clean towels and linen; comfy bed and pillows; and cable and wi-fi access. The balcony facing the street, and overlooking the marina in the distance, featured a small patio table with 2 chairs and a dryer rack that came in handy for hanging our wet swimsuits and towels. The property was within walking distance of Gros Islet and a short drive to Rodney Bay. Many thanks to Mr. Castro and his wife for their welcoming hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NattyGalDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voru, Estonia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The room was spacious, very simple (with out-dated furniture) and clean, but the noise from the street bothered us a bit. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The bus-stop was near, but we also walked to Rodney bay and Pigeon island park, they were not very far away. There were problems with the internet, it didn't work properly and only on the balcony.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Itsirk666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kosice, Slovakia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights chez Marie Alish. If you don´t expect too much, you won´t get dissapointed. It is a place for sleeping, not for hanging around. The rooms are quite spacious with balcony /street view and noise, but not disturbing/ and kitchenette to prepare your meals.As for location - the bus stop is "right at the door" and the beach at Rodney Bay is 5-10 min walk down the street /those I would not like to walk around at night/.We met the owner and manager only at our check- out /he kindly arranged us the taxi/, as he and his wife there out of St.Lucia during our stay. But the lady /their daughter in love?/ who was there at our check-in was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed at this place in April 2012 and it can be ok if you don't expect much, just a place to sleep. The room is quite spacious, however, it smelled funny, I think it was some detergent that they use. The village of Gros Islet is an interesting place worth visiting,. There is not much there, but you can see the real St. Lucian life plus have a great meal at the local restaurant Grand Taste. They cook great there.
The hotel /not sure if I can call it a hotel/ is close to the bus stop, so it is easy to get to Rodney Bay. BUT - right opposite the hotel there is a place where the Steel Orchestra rehearses and it is not always very pleasant...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank vikiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stay chez Marie Alish 14 days between december 25th 2011 and january 8th 2012. We had a greayt time at St-Lucia. The manager and owner of the hotel is very friendly and helpful. We arrived on christmas day and he find an open restaurant for us! He also give us a lift to go and come back. His wife is also a person that you can trust. Our room were clean. Just a little few things: pressure in the swower was so-so and the air conditioning can be a little bit strong, but nothing to not go back there one day. You can make your own meal at the hotel and you will save money because restaurants are expensive. Also the hotel is close from the Famous Friday Night Jump Up at Gros Islet. You can walk there from the hotel but you will not here it from your room. The price of the room is quite good also.

The hotel is well located and the local bus pass just in front of the hotel. You can go to Castries in 15 minutes or to the Choc bay beach in 10 minutes. It takes 20 minutes to reduit beach and 15 minutes to Super J(the grocery). it takes 1h30 to go to the hotel from the airport.

St-Lucia is not so easy to travel by road. It is very accidented and you will in mountain with roads who never goes straight.Cars goes on the left side of the road and people drive very fast. It's a little bit dangerous. For example we took a bus from Castrie to Soufriere and it was a rollercoaster for an hour. We do not like and we were almost sick. Take a taxi for ride so long.

Beaches in St.Lucia are nice. The best one we went was Anse Chastanet, next to Soufriere. You will have to take a taxi boat from Soufriere: 120 EC dollars. Marigot Bay is weel to. Take the bus from Castries. You must do a catamaran tour to go to see the Pitons and the volcano!

You will enjoy St-Lucia, people are friendly and don't hesitate to send me an e-mail if you want more informations

Room Tip: The first one upstair was good and have a full kitchenette with micro wave oven, oven and refrigerat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rduchesne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

My husband and I just came back from our one week honeymoon and Chez Marie Alish and I have to say we both enjoyed it very much. I can only agree with all the other reviews, that everything was very clean and the Host and his wife go the extra mile to make their customers happy without a big fuss. Just a true gem, like someone else already mentioned. The creole bakery next door is a wonderful bonus with the fresh goodies. All together we had the time of our life. We are both travelers not tourists who squeeze in with the rest. So for us it was a wonderful experience to be right in Gros Islet with good connections to Rodney Bay and Castries.

Our honeymoon will be in our memories forever.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petrabw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.0 mi away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#7 of 13 in Gros Islet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa del Vega
Casa del Vega
#8 of 12 in Castries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ginger Lily Hotel
The Ginger Lily Hotel
#6 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Gardens Inn
Bay Gardens Inn
#1 of 14 in Gros Islet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chez Marie Alish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chez Marie Alish

Property: Hotel Chez Marie Alish
Address: Massade, Rodney Bay, Gros Islet 1758, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chez Marie Alish 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel chez Marie Alish is intimate, situated in a lushly landscaped setting, with its seven commodious self-catering apartments, complete with the latest amenities, including full kitchen,air condtion, private bath & balcony, telephone, remote cable tv (43 chanels) micro wave oven, electronic safety boxes, iron and ironing board, & coffee maker. Hotel Chez Marie Alish is enchanting, & comfortable, caressed by a gentle steady east wind breezes, with a spectacular vista of the mountains which lie to her south. Our modern and tastefully decorated apartments offer an ideal base from which to explore St. Lucia's unspoilt beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HRS, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Chez Marie Alish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chez Marie Alish St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing