We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place for a family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just returned from a great holiday at St James Club Morgan Bay. Our group of 15 (including a toddler) had a very good time. This is our first visit to an all-inclusive property, and we found the food a bit repetitive. The choices of activities and excursions was great-don't miss the Segway tour! All of us took an island boat tour with Joy Tours, and were treated to great service and excellent food! The staff were helpful, and always pleasant to work with. Overall, a very good trip and I would recommend it to anyone looking for an affordable get-away!

Room Tip: Oceanview was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,709 - 3,715 of 6,278 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

I was in st Lucia for a one night stop over and chose the st James on someone's,recommendation. I was by myself and therefore an anomaly. most people are couples or larger groups, a few families with kids, a few students. It was crowded, obviously a tourist spot with people of all ages. The staff was friendly and we were greeted with a drink and a cold towel to refresh ourselves. The rooms were large and done in white. Pretty. The tub did look a bit old and the water was disappointingly lukewarm. My biggest beef was the lack of Internet in the rooms...yes, I know they can get away with it by saying they are forcing you to relax etc but come on, we are in 2014 and I would rather Skype in my room then try to do it by the poolside when all I want to do is just look at the waves. The beach is long and a good size though the water is more a brown than that Caribbean blue we think about. But the water was calm and the view great. What was great was that water sports came as part of the all inclusive package. The food (I only got to eat at the palm which is a buffet) was tasty but somewhat limited in variety. Only a few dishes were on offer..adequate but just that. Overall, an okay stay..not top of the line luxury but a decent place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElisabethArXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This was our first vacation to Saint Lucia. The island is truly lush and beautiful! We had Joy's Cruises hook us up with "Manuel" for a more private/intimate tour and a wonderful taxi driver named Elvis picked us up in Soufriere at the dock for the land portion of our tour. Manuel was a wonderful guide on the sea and Elvis excellent on land.
We were quite happy with our room, bathroom, balcony etc. Our room was up on the hill near the adult infinity pool (a bit of a hike, but well worth the view). We certainly enjoyed this trip and will definitely return to St. Lucia and perhaps even to this resort. The room is kept quite clean and the bed is super comfy!
The pools are heavily used and there isn't much swimming done in the ocean due to the water being quite merky. The bar & children's pools seemed to be better maintained. The one on the hill requires more maintenance as far as I'm concerned, as it did look cloudy more often than not.
The staff are the BIGGEST ASSET to this resort! From the dining, bar, housekeeping, golf cart drivers etc. the staff are truly wonderful. To give special commendation to a few: Natasha in housekeeping, such a beautiful smile and SO FRIENDLY to her guests! The bartenders are all fantastic, but Theresa, Kevin & Taneisha really stood out! The girls who work the Tiki bar were great. The dining staff...WOW!!! in EVERY restaurant! To name a few who really made great first impressions: Lu, Stan, Laura & Nichola at the Palms. A big thank you to the Manager that went out of his way to ensure my husband & I received one of our fave desserts (creme brûlée) at Morgan Pier! The food at all restaurants was fantastic. The fresh pineapple delicious!
The fireworks on New Year's Eve were incredible!
If you're a runner, there really isn't anywhere outside on the resort to do so without imposing on other guests on the walkways. The beach area isn't long enough for a run either.
The wifi is free in the lobby & bar and can be obtained scantly around the main pool. Having wifi available in the rooms would certainly be an added bonus.
I've rated the beverage selection as poor because while the bar staff are great, they can only do so much with cheap liquor. I realize that we didn't pay for 5 star luxury, but having some top shelf liquor available (even for a surcharge) would enhance the bar experience. The entertainment was great overall. In particular the saxophone player and the steel drummers.
The gift shop is OVER PRICED! For example: $7 U.S. for a bag of Lay's chips is ridiculous (and it wasn't even the Family Size bag!) the clothing and souvenirs are simply overpriced too. However, just behind the gift shop in a little blue building, you'll find the loveliest lady named Delia and she is more than willing to sell you her wares at a FAIR price. Delia even went out of her way to ensure that she stopped in town to pick up various clothing sizes that she didn't carry in her little shop.

Room Tip: If you have mobility concerns, then request a room near the main pool, bar & restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OneL0veJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We were at St james bay over the New Year and what a disappointment. We booked The Ocean View Suite and Got the Garden View. We did finally get the room we had booked 2 days later but it seemed they did very little to help get the situation fixed. The food here was at best 5 out of 10. Now I realize this is only a 3 star but it sure felt much lower. The Staff in general were not very friendly and the lady who runs the gift shop really needs to find another job. The place was fairly clean and the location was great its just to bad they have so many things wrong with this place including the worst entertainment i've seen in a long time. Just to clarify I have never written a bad review before but thought I should take the time so others are aware of what they are booking.

Room Tip: Travellers beware of this Place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank adancec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club Morgan Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Please know that we appreciate our guest taking the time to provide their feedback on their stay with us, however we do not agree with this guests comments about Morgan Bay

St. James's Club Morgan Bay is a vibrant, colorful, beachfront resort distinguished by its romantic setting. It is set amidst 25 acres of beautiful tropical gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea, minutes from Gros Islet, Rodney Bay, and the capitol city of Castries. We host hundreds of very happy guests each week, and we consistently earn excellent reviews amongst our guests. This is because we work very diligently to deliver a relaxing, stress free vacation in a beautiful setting, with some of the friendliest staff in the Caribbean.

Here at St. James's Club Morgan Bay we believe in 100% guest satisfaction and is what we strive for.. If you are looking for a fantastic Caribbean get away in St. Lucia; than St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice and we stand by that. St. James's Club Morgan Bay embodies the true Caribbean beach experience and it is all just steps from your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We have just returned from 10 days at the St James Club where we had a wonderful time over the New Year holiday. This was our first trip to St Lucia and we found the island had a lot more to offer than we had imagines with many sights, activities and friendly, welcoming people. The resort also exceeded our expectations, with very spacious and comfortable rooms (ocean deluxe looking onto the beach), fantastic facilities - particularly the water sports and flood lit tennis courts - and very good fresh food in the Palms Buffet restaurant and Morgan's Pier. The Bamboo restaurant was the only slight disappointment as the food was a bit dull. However, this was made up for by the lovely and friendly staff and New Years eve celebrations which were spectacular, with great live band, balloons and fireworks on the beach. This is a very attractive and well run resort and my family and would not hesitate to recommend it and will return again. We can also recommend the trips around St Lucia with Joys boat tours a highlight and the Tramopy jungle tour and zip wire experience, along with the volcanic mud bath and waterfall!

Room Tip: Ocean view looking onto pool and beach are very convenient if you have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ISY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Our family of four experienced a great vacation at the resort. Stayed at a suite in the 1100 building on the 4th floor. Great view over the city and bay. Beach was small but beautiful. Great boat trip with Joy tours directly from the beach. Food in restaurants better than expected. Buffet in Palms, great variety and fresh. New Years had special festive food and gifts. Great fireworks! Maybe the music was a bit too loud.. Overall a very good experience and we would like to go back! Staff very friendy - always with a smile!

Room Tip: 1100 and 1200 buildings and 3 or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank TravelistAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My family wanted a getaway from work and stress, and we got just that! Our room was spacious and clean. I only have 2 complaints: one is that there is only one place to plug things in (thankful that my curling iron has very long cord to reach to mirror) and two is that the beds are very firm. Other than that everything was perfect. The beach always had open beach chairs, even if you arrived late... there is something to be said about a smaller resort. They only ran out of towels at the end of the day if it rained too many times throughout the day, can't control the weather. Yes, the water sports are really free! You can water ski, kneeboard, or go on a banana boat ride. There are kayaks, paddle boards, and hobby cats (small sailboats). We did it all. Just make sure to go sign up at 9:00 to get the times you want. This was one of my favourite parts of the resort.
If you want to find even more tranquility take a 5 minute walk up the path by the Bamboo restaurant, north along the shoreline. You will pass a gift shop that sells coconut art on the first beach, keep going... and follow the path up into the bush for about 5 minutes and you will find a secluded beach with a rougher surf. Beautiful scenery and you can also get there with the kayaks if you book them for an hour.
In the evenings there is not much to occupy your time as the entertainment only starts around 10:00. My family went to the tennis court a lot, as it is lit up at night. The best night of entertainment was the steel drum band followed by the fire limbo dancers/fire eaters who were great to watch. All other entertainment was ho hum. New Year's Eve fireworks display on the beach was absolutely amazing.
Meal times are quite rigid. Breakfast ends at 10:00, so don't sleep in too much. Lunch is at 12:30-2:30. The earliest you can go for supper is at 6:30, if you are early you have to wait. Service at The Bamboo was the best and the food there was pretty consistently good. The chicken dish was the best, we had it twice. Morgan's Pier had the best food quality/taste, except for New Year's Eve... same menu wherever you went and they had the strangest menu ever - not very good food that night. They had a hilarious dessert called "spotted dick with custard" that kept my 11 year old laughing every time we went there. Their mud pie was excellent though. Tree Top restaurant had great pasta, but ask for a double order or you will go home hungry. Pizza was not to my son or husbands liking as it had a very thin crust. The ice cream dessert was fantastic! The Palms buffet always had something good to eat for all three meals. The only thing my son and husband would like added is to have oatmeal for breakfast. You do not have to dress up all fancy to go to these places, which we loved because wearing pants in that heat would have killed us since they are all open air establishments. (We did not go to Les Jardin as my son is only 11 and was not allowed in.)
Water was too stirred up to snorkel at this beach, but there was plenty of other things to do. The recent storm probably did not help. (There Dec. 29 to Jan. 5) We went on the Snuba trip to Pigeon Point - excellent; the Segway trip up a mountain in Rodney Bay - wow; and the Soufriere Adventure day on a catamaran - where we had the most terrific mud bath, were in awe with the botanical garden's, had an authentic St. Lucian meal, saw dolphins jump in front of the boat, and enjoyed a very bouncy ride on the catamaran trampoline all the way back to Castries (my son's favourite part of the excursion, as it was like an hour long exhibition ride). I would suggest all three of these and would do them all again if we come back.
We probably will go back to visit one day, as the St. Lucian people we met were all so friendly and "real." Margarita, Cathy and Davina were great to talk to. A huge thank you to the resort for putting up the workers and their families who lost their homes in the storm (the trough) that ravaged the country on Christmas Eve. We enjoyed the company of one worker's son who was the same age as our son. He was a part of our family for the entire week, and if you did not allow them to stay there until they got back on their feet we never would have met him - what a sweet young man. I hope that he will be an e-mail friend of my son's for a lifetime and that the next time we visit we can see him again. One day he wants to come visit us in Canada too, hopefully that comes true.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money to get a room in the 500 or 600 block Beachfront units, so that you can enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
963 reviews
1.3 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
20.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,189 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
4.3 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club Morgan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Address: Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: £198 - £652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club Morgan Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from reality at the four-star St. James's Club Morgan Bay, Saint Lucia - A fun, relaxing, and casually elegant Caribbean beach resort famous for its friendly staff, amazing tropical gardens and great service. St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice for couples, families, weddings, honeymoons, family reunions and more. This resort has 345 rooms in total for its Caribbean vacationers to choose from. Guests can relax and enjoy terrific garden view, beachfront, ocean view and suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. James's Club Morgan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Bay Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Almond Morgan Bay Beach Hotel
Almond Morgan Bay St Lucia
Almond Bay St Lucia
St. James's Club Morgan Bay St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing