We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People return to this place....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“People return to this place....”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Us- Family of 4. Aged 40,39,7 & 6.

Location - Very Good, not surrounded by tourist traps and walking distance to a bank and shops, I heard of one person being mugged but not sure whether that was here or else where. Usual precautions would suffice and could happen anywhere.
Being west facing there are amazing sunsets. The beach is yellow/white sand and a pleasure to play / sunbathe on. The sea water is good & warm though not as clear as other parts of the island so it's harder to see when snorkeling.
Resort surrounded by bush covered hills and not overlooked.

Food & Drink - Good / Very good. The buffet food was of a high standard and the other 5 restaurants covered most palates and of the same standard. Sometimes the waitresses / waiter would be too attentive which created a rush feeling but it wasn't too bad. The drinks on offer were fair / good and the cocktails are worth a try.

Staff - Very friendly. You're bound to connect with at least one of the staff members who make you feel like a friend. One (Catherine) even bought each of the children a little leaving present which was very thoughtful. The friendly staff are definitely one of St James's strong point.

Room - Fairly basic and starting to look a little tired but not enough that you would be concerned about it. TV's with multiple Sky channels, coffee machines, phones, hair dryers, etc. A small balcony but it was where you could find me as the beach side rooms had amazing views. Worth the extra cost. The block 500 & 600 I would consider the best as they had the best views, they were a little way from the pool / entertainment (aka - noise) but close enough to not have a long walk back to your room. The new blocks are up a hill and furthest away which would bother me eventually. Our room could sleep 4 and consisted of 2 double beds, when we asked if we could have a camp bed so our children could sleep apart they wanted to charge a high rental rate which I thought unreasonable.

Activities - Very good. The water sports were great fun and included water skiing with the all inclusive. Jet skiing was the only extra. They would teach you to sail, wind surf and water ski if you've not done it before and kept an eye on you while on the water. I felt safe and they know how to enjoy the sea. The Hobie Cats are in need of upgrading though.
5 pools are enough with one for adults and another for the kids which is the same depth throughout which means a 5yr + should be able to stand up in it. 2 small slides seem to satisfy our children and to be honest, give them water to play in and they are happy. Plenty of sun beds and a No towel hogging policy makes it fair for everyone.
Kids club was good and kids wanted to go back (a good sign). It's open from 8am to 10pm, Nice!!!
'Joy's Cruise' operates from the beach and is well worth it. Everybody (including ourselves) loved it and the power boat ride was lots of fun.
Going to Pigeon Island is cheaper by arranging your own taxi to take you there and is worth a look. Tranquil and relaxing is how I would describe it.

Entertainment - Poor. The evening entertainment wasn't aimed for the kids in any way and often seemed to consist club style music. One evening with the limbo dancers and steel drum band was good but that's about it.
We didn't try the spa. The shop (as you may expect) was heavily over priced but worth a look.

Overall - Great holiday resort with a few 'let downs' but overall a great location, wonderful people, lots of activities and a good time had by all. We did meet several people who had returned from previous trips which I think says it all.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for a beach room, amazing views and awoken by the sound of the waves. Block 500...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,866
    2,168
    614
    246
    172
See reviews for
1,762
2,904
93
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was our honeymoon and was booked by my parents fir me and my Husband. it was the most perfect place ever. Every one who worked at St james Morgan Bay, went way and beyond to make our stay the most perfect holiday we could ever have had. They are extremely happy and polite. Me and my Husband had a massage in the resort and it was so relaxing. The food was perfectly presented and mouth watering. Best place ever. They are right when they say it is paradise, but its the people that work there that make it paradise. The gardens are kept to perfection.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Resnotyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Such a relaxing holiday, with water sports and activities to do if you want to! The kids club was far enough away to separate the small children (a stage I'm now past). Great standard of food with enough a la carte to keep the mix of where to eat (for a week) and the buffet was varied too. Afternoon tea watching the ocean with a good book, lovely. The key thing I noticed was the friendliness of the staff which rubbed off on everyone else, a true delight! It may be an hour and a half journey from the airport but well worth it! It never felt busy although a fair amount if people were there and no rush to get sun beds as always plenty when we there (half term!). The garden room we had was lovely, always clean and fresh with a beautiful view. Joys excursion from the beach to the Pitons was a great day out and would recommend. BA flights were great too!

Room Tip: We had the lowest room rate and we were really happy as it was much better than we were expecting. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank me_suz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I wanted to go on our Honeymoon to St. Lucia. We had just got married in the Dominican only a few months before so we had to be somewhat frugal on the price of the trip. This was our first all inclusive experience at a family friendly resort. All the other resorts we stayed at were adults only and so I was nervous that we might be disappointed by the decision but it was much cheaper to book at a family resort.

The ride to the resort was long but beautiful. I get car sick very easily and was prepared for a bad ride but I didn't get too bothered by it. Sit at the front of the shuttle and try to look out the front instead of the side windows. We were blown away by this islands beauty and all the lush green. Its not a very big island so its easy to see most of it even if your only there for a short trip such as 7 or 8 days.

We arrived at the hotel and got checked in easily and we had upgraded to ocean view so our room was in the newer 1200 block right by the adults only pool and up the hill. We loved the location and the view was insane. Had a great ocean view and beautiful night view of Castries and you could see the cruise ships coming in and out. Just breathtaking. The room was pretty standard but very nice and well kept. We slept comfortably and we were not bothered by the loud entertainment being so far away but you can hear it when outside the balcony.

The first night we had to eat at the buffet because we didn't have a reservation. My husband did not enjoy it and compared the food to our previous adults only stays. The rest of the week was better. We mainly booked reservations for supper and our favorite places were Morgan's Pier and Treetops. The breakfast buffet was good and we enjoyed the lunch buffet. I liked going over to the kids pool and ordering the mac and cheese and my husband loves popcorn and they had that there too. We did not try the fancy restaurant so I cannot comment. Overall the food was ok but we expected this being at a family resort.

We loved the watersports although booking was kind of a pain. I tried waterskiing for the first time and my husband went out as an advanced skier. We took the kayaks out and wanted to try the sailing lessons but ran out of time. Overall lots to do and great that its free!

St. Lucia is a beautiful place and very friendly people and felt very safe. We took the bus just outside the resort many times to go into Castries and Rodney bay. We even took it to go as far as we could to Pigeon Island. It costs like 1 dollar US or even cheaper in their currency. Just ask the tours desk lady and she will help you to know how much it cost and the front desk can exchange some US money for you. Castries markets were the best for buying souvenirs and the locals were great to negotiate with. They also were not too pushy like we have seen on other Caribbean islands. The land and sea island adventure tour is well worth it and do the volcano mud bath. We just did the volcano tour and it wasn't much more that what you already see and had we known this we would have done the mud bath because really you get to do both! Just wear older clothes and a bathing suit that wont stain like a black one maybe because I was afraid of ruining my bathing suit.

Overall St. James club was a great place to stay and really you go more for the island. We enjoyed every part of our trip to St. Lucia and if you are looking for a safe, friendly island with lots to do and see then I would recommend going here. Happy travels!

Room Tip: 1200 block and upgrade to ocean view. Well worth the upgrade. Yes there is the hill to climb but thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole8539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Fantastic holiday very relaxed and chilled. Loved the informal dress code in many restaurants. Staff were very friendly and we loved the one bedroom suite well worth the extra money.would definitely return

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I see many fantastic reviews for this resort but am here to tell you that if you're expecting luxury and creature comforts, you'll be greatly disappointed. First, make sure you set up reliable transportation to hotel in advance. It takes over an hour to get from the airport to the resort and the drive is not a pleasant nor is it visually pleasing due to the amount of poverty on the island. The St. James Morgan Bay Resort is mediocre at best. I reserved a "Ocean View Deluxe" but there was nothing "deluxe about it. Just a basic room with a nice view. I could not imagine what the standard "Ocean View" room looks like if mine was a "deluxe". The room was fine, clean and adequate, just not "deluxe". The water pressure was horrible, the inside A/C unit in the room was layered in black mold. Additionally, although they do have 110 volt electricity, bring an extension cord because the outlet is under the desk and the mirror is on the opposite end of the room. The beach was a let down when compared to the gorgeous pictures on hotel website. Very small and dark sands. The water not Caribbean blue but rather Atlantic gray. The food was decent but reservation for something other than the buffet must be made days in advance. The drinks were as weak as could be, eight to ten pina colada's a day and not even a buzz. All in all, we had a nice relaxing time but will not be going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank case b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club Morgan Bay, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Der Valued Guest,

Thank you for yoru comments about your recent stay at the St. James's Club. We appreciate the time to share your feedback with us.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. St. James's Club Morgan Bay is a vibrant, colorful, beachfront resort distinguished by its romantic setting. It is set amidst 25 acres of beautiful tropical gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea, minutes from Gros Islet, Rodney Bay, and the capitol city of Castries. We hosts hundreds of very happy guests each week, and we consistently earn excellent reviews amongst our guests. This is because we work very diligently to deliver a relaxing, stress free vacation in a beautiful setting, with some of the friendliest staff in the Caribbean.

Here at St. James's Club Morgan Bay we believe in 100% guest satisfaction is what we strive for and we always try to achieve this standard by all means possible. If you are looking for a fantastic Caribbean get away in St. Lucia; than St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice and we stand by that. St. James's Club Morgan Bay embodies the true Caribbean beach experience and it is all just steps from your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
braintree
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We chose St. James Club through an offer for our honeymoon on Travel Zoo.Beautiful country and resort. When we arrived we were greeted by the hotel management with an complimentry upgraded room and a cocktail. When we arrived in our room they had decorated our room with petals everywhere and made a swan out of a towel on our bed, which was beautiful and made us feel very welcome. Within 20 minutes there was a knock at the door and a bottle of Champagne was sent up on ice from the Management to say happy honeymoon, totally overwhelmed by now (and a little bit drunk before dinner ;-)!
Long story short, excellent food (and so much to choose from for breakfast,lunch and dinner) in all restaurants (there are 5 to choose from). You have to book the restaurants in advance and all I can say is book early as they soon get booked up. All the staff and there was a lot of them to tend to all your needs, were superb. The place is very clean everywhere, with great pools and gardens, loads of bars to top up your drinks, loads of free watersports and entertainment all through the day to suit all age groups, the lost goes on....
Our honeymoon was made magical. Choose this place and you won't be disappointed, we are certainly going back one day.
Definitely go on one of the boat trips down the west coast to the Pitons and visit the mudbaths, volcano, waterfall and gardens and then watch the sun set before your eyes drnking champagne. We booked this through the British Airways rep. It was few pounds but totally worth it.

Room Tip: Go for the apartments that i think are number 1000-3000... they are on the hill side. Superb views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank matthew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
929 reviews
20.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,097 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
883 reviews
6.3 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club Morgan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Property: St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Address: Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club Morgan Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from reality at the four-star St. James's Club Morgan Bay, Saint Lucia - A fun, relaxing, and casually elegant Caribbean beach resort famous for its friendly staff, amazing tropical gardens and great service. St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice for couples, families, weddings, honeymoons, family reunions and more. This resort has 345 rooms in total for its Caribbean vacationers to choose from. Guests can relax and enjoy terrific garden view, beachfront, ocean view and suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. James's Club Morgan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Bay Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Almond Morgan Bay Beach Hotel
Almond Morgan Bay St Lucia
Almond Bay St Lucia
St. James's Club Morgan Bay St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing