We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing stay, lovely people.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay, lovely people.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

My Fiancé and I stayed here for 11 nights in May. It's a very laid back relaxed resort which suits us fine. It's not all glitzy, its very natural and casual and exactly what we thought it would be like. Just to explain why I think some reviews have been negative about some of the staff- the staff inside at the reception and booking area are very proffesional in their manor , which I found to be appropriate for their role within the hotel. The st lucians are very genuine people and are not putting on some big cheesy act like you'd expect in butlins. They are there to do a job. The bar staff are always happy and dancing and so friendly- as they should be in their role. There was a big difference in the two different staff but I was only impressed by this and thought they'd got it spot on! The food was very good throughout the hotel , although we didn't try le jardin. It was a lovely beach and our room was very nice and st lucian with white wicker furniture throughout. Our view was stunning and the best view we have ever had of the rain forest and the sea in the bay next to us. We could watch thousands of birds flocking back to the rainforest at about 6pm, it was a beautiful site! We went into castries and rodney bay on the local buses and went to reduit beach which must be seen and had a beer in spinnakers. We did joys cruise which is the best way to see the island , so I do recommend. It's a well run family business.
Now for the few negatives -
There were cats roaming
around in the buffet that looked unwell, I appreciate that wild cats out there are inevitable but I found on a couple of occasions it put me off my food. If the hotel could feed them of an evening in an area away from the guests this would stop them pestering us.
There was no where to get food after 9.30 and my Fiancé is a late eater and would have liked at least a hot dog or pizza at about 11. That being said the Italian restaurant did let him get a takeaway pizza to have in his room later. The no food late evening was a problem for us but possibly didn't bother others.
The glasses were all plastic at the bar of an evening and after you'd gone back to your room and got ready it would have been just spot on to have a lovely cocktail in a nice glass and not a plastic beaker! Again, no one else complained about this but I think they do this as the bar is at the pool area and breakages could result in cut feet the next day. They need another bar somewhere in the resort for adults wanting a decent glass.
Overall, it is a lovely hotel and a decent 4 star. Don't let my negatives put you off please. I've only put them as its important that the hotel has the correct feedback from the guests , so they can take note, and make improvements where needed and of course,where possible. We had a lovely relaxing stay and do recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rae-Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,920
    2,204
    630
    248
    176
See reviews for
1,808
2,948
95
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We spent our birthday here 6-28-14. This resort is a solid 4 star establishment. Very family friendly, lots of activities in and out of the water. The palms buffet restaurant has many choices and everything is good. Make your ala carte reservations early b/c the restaurants do fill up quickly. Bartenders know how to make excellent drinks and keep your glasses full. Staff is very attentive and well kept. I found over the top assistance from several and tipped them accordingly. Cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Higher rooms get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniondale, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just got back from St. James club Morgan Bay. Wish we were still there or at least could bring some of the staff home with us! The property is beautiful and the staff is wonderful. The food was good and there were plenty of activities day round. Our rooms were nice but we did have an issue with water magically appearing on our bathroom floor every afternoon. The staff tried sincerely to fix it but could not figure it out. Evening entertainment was fun and relaxed. You can be as busy as you want or as relaxed as you want. It is a hilly location but worth the walks. The ride from the airport was an hour and a half. Next time we will take the helicopter back to airport. The location and the staff make St. James Club wonderful. Would go back for sure!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Familyoffour1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We were here June 27th -July 2nd, 2014. We were two couples traveling together for vacation. We had a great time. The food is good. We especially enjoyed the tree tops pizza and pasta restaurant, although, the other restaurants were great as well. Be sure to try the berry flavored champagne. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. One staff member, Sheldon, guided us around downtown because he saw us trying to catch a bus from the resort. He offered to to show us to our stop since it was on the way to his. Upon conversation on the bus, he got off with us and spent 2+ hours showing us the market and some shopping in Castries. He spent his own money to buy us some local fruit because the vendor would not make american change. We gave him a tip for his time and generosity, which we were later informed made it possible for him to take his son to a park that he had been wanting to visit.

We also did the Joy cruise to the Piton volcanoes. This was the best excursion we've ever been on. The mud baths were fun, the waterfalls were beautiful, and the snorkeling was incredible. The lunch was authentic and very tasty. Our tour guide and boat driver went out of their way to show us some dolphins that we're moving through the area. It was amazing. Vaughn was our guide. He was very knowledgable about our trip and very charming/funny to boot. Highly recommend that cruise.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

If you stay here u must go on a trip with joys tour we went and had an amazing day the sites were amazing an the food and hospitality were the best ever :):):) also the watersport staff were really helpfull and especially steffan made my time there very comfy

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 123georgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A la carte restaurants were not great, buffet surprisingly good, staff mostly excellent. Room tatty, dated and paper thin walls, hearing next door couples sex noises was hilarious! Long way to go for this standard, sadly not the dream holiday we had hoped for. Drinks machine by swimming pool constantly out of syrups. Bars well stocked though. Kids pool has tiles missing! Childrens play area dangerous, rusty sharp edged screws on the slides and biting ants near the toy house. Tennis courts, immaculate. Shower in the room, feeble! As you can tell, very mixed pot.....and that is the problem, lack of consistency.
Not 5 star. Would not return.

Realistically if we had stayed in the new block it may have seemed better. But this is a very fair and honest review.
I suppose if you have never been anywhere better, you do not know what to expect but we shall be returning to the Far East as a preference.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a newly built room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 5-star-expected
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was our first time to this resort and we could not have been happier, whilst the room was a little tired it was clean and well appointed. The staff were fantastic in all areas always with a willing smile. Food in all the restaurants was plentiful and well cooked, all complemented with friendly and attentive service. Amenities and facilities were excellent from the aqua aerobics, a must after a large breakfast, to the brilliant watersports facilities. A very memorable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
945 reviews
1.3 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
20.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,141 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
924 reviews
15.9 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club Morgan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Property: St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Address: Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club Morgan Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from reality at the four-star St. James's Club Morgan Bay, Saint Lucia - A fun, relaxing, and casually elegant Caribbean beach resort famous for its friendly staff, amazing tropical gardens and great service. St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice for couples, families, weddings, honeymoons, family reunions and more. This resort has 345 rooms in total for its Caribbean vacationers to choose from. Guests can relax and enjoy terrific garden view, beachfront, ocean view and suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your St. James's Club Morgan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Bay Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Almond Morgan Bay Beach Hotel
Almond Morgan Bay St Lucia
Almond Bay St Lucia
St. James's Club Morgan Bay St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing