We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was the holiday of a lifetime”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This was the holiday of a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were really astonished by the courtesy and goodwill of every staff member we met. I have a son with Downs Syndrome and he was treated like a king whilst there. We enjoyed the vast array of food and all services were supplied with a chat and a smile. There are such a range of activities for all ages and both my teenagers and myself were equally happy.
Most of the evening entertainment was great but a couple of times we didn't feel in tune with the music on offer but a lady called Marilyn would see what was happening - and oh boy could she move the masses and get many included! She was so impressive!

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the garden and it was so serene and calming
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,827
    2,136
    605
    239
    166
See reviews for
1,740
2,851
90
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,086)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I travelled to St. James Club Morgan Bay, St. Lucia, for our honeymoon. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay the most enjoyable vacation we've ever had. Although we have never travelled to an all-inclusive resort before (so we had nothing to compare it to), we found the food to be delicious, the staff super accommodating and friendly, and we loved the beach and the swim-up pool bar! During our week, a new cafe opened up on the resort and we spent a lot of time drinking specialty coffees and teas and just hanging out in the cafe. It was a great atmosphere! The only thing that I would want to see change at the resort is the night-time entertainment. We found that it was mostly caribbean music (with the exception of karaoke night). I would've loved to see a performance (like dance or show) or more variety on that front. Other than that, we had a great stay and we are recommending it to our friends and family!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club Morgan Bay, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Congratulations again! Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The St. James's Club Morgan Bay for your honeymoon! We appreciate you for taking the time to submit your amazing review, and for your suggestion on evening entertainment. Our resort management carefully reviews guest feedback and suggestions as an insightful way to continuously improve our guests' experience.

Since we pride ourselves on providing guests with accommodations, activities and services in a genuine, unpretentious environment, we're happy to know that you had a memorable time and a one-of-a-kind Caribbean experience. We are especially proud to have such a dedicated group of service minded individuals working at the resort, so thank you for recognizing their wonderful hospitality, and for recommending our resort to your family and friends.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon, perhaps for your one-year anniversary!

Kind regards,
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaguanas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel is situated on te beach and the actives available are excellent. The pools are very nice and the rooms are clean and just right. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is excellent. Will definitely go back here whenever in st Lucia again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iarmd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed a full week at St James Morgan Bay. From the time we stepped off the shuttle the staff was fantastic!! Always smiling and very helpful. This resort is family friendly. When we arrived after a very long day we were hungry the staff told us that we could get food at the Plum Tree on the hill. At the time we visited the 2 restaurants on the beach were only open every other night which was not a problems for us. You did have to make reservations no earlier than 3 days in advance for each which was not a problem in the off season. We decided we wanted to eat each night at the earliest siting because we wanted to sit close to the water and beach. A special shout out regarding Mallan, our waiter in both of the beach restaurants. We had a large variety of food each day at the buffet. I mentioned my husband's birthday that day and by the time we went in to prepare for dinner we had cake and champagne in our room. A nice surprise!. The rooms were always clean with plenty of room. Although the beach is not large it was spacious enough for everybody. There were water activities (paddle boarding, kayaking, hobicat and peddle boats, where the employees would teach you how to do if you needed instruction. You could sign up for boating activities as well such as knee boarding and skiing. Beginners had a separate time so as to not take away time from the more experienced. Daily water aerobics and water volleyball as well as beach volleyball were available. Lots of fun watching the resort visitors and the workers play together. We did take the boat and snorkeling tour with the local business on the beach. They were always friendly and never pushy. Our only problem is that the resort advertises snorkeling right off the beach. You could do that but you won't see anything as the water is murky. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinggirl1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club Morgan Bay, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The St. James's Club Morgan Bay with your family! We appreciate you for taking the time to submit your fabulous review. It pleases us to know that you had a memorable time celebrating your husband's birthday and glad to know that you fully enjoyed our resort, dining options, and activities.

We are proud to have such a dedicated group of service minded individuals working at the resort, so thank you for recognizing their wonderful hospitality. I will be sure to pass along the praises.

Since we pride ourselves on providing guests with accommodations, activities and services in a genuine, unpretentious environment, we're happy to know that you enjoyed our one-of-a-kind Caribbean experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind regards,
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Before I booked Morgans Bay, I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews, my decision was not based on cost but more on hotel amenities for both kids and adults, I travelled with a party of 6 persons, ranging from ages 1 to 60 yrs. I travelled to a lot of all inclusive's before, in fact been to St. Lucia before as well.
The hotel some may say is a bit dated, but it can compare with other more modern and stylish ones, the rooms were very clean and cleaned every day, the scenery and ambience was exactly what one would look for when getting away from the hustle of everyday life.
There were as many pools as the different areas for accommodations, the beach and water sporting activities were excellent! There was a kids pool close to the Plum Tree restaurant which was perfect for my 18 month old boy and his 7 year old brother, it was never too crowded. There was also a Kids club and a play area which they loved.
As per the food and drinks, this was the best part as there were a variety to choose from and it never got dull and boring as they changed the theme of the menu daily, the Palms Restaurant is the best! This is where you can have breakfast, lunch and dinner and it always had a huge variety of food for any palette, whether you're from the US, Canada, UK or even from the Caribbean. In total there are six restaurants, you can literally get food anytime of the day.
What made is trip very good for us was the staff, they were very pleasant, from the waitresses to the guys cleaning the drains, for a hotel of this size to have such customer service drive, that says a lot.
Our trip was for the celebration of both our anniversary and my son's 7th Birthday, it was indeed a memorable one, with special thanks to Laura and Naasha from the Plams and Mallan from the Morgans Pier.
Will definitely recommend visiting if you need a good all inclusive that caters for any age.
Not to mention that the week we travelled was Carnival in St.Lucia, we even got a taste of such at the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viechell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Had a fantastic time at St James, Morgan Bay. Couldn't fault the rooms, food, cleanliness and the staff were exceptional. Big problem with the ability to pick up wi-fi in the main bar entertainment area, particularly in the evening. There were so many people on phones and IPads that it destroyed any atmosphere. Even when the entertainers and bands were playing all people seemed interested in was their phones. Even people sat around the bar were generally on phones. I suggest moving the facility of wi-fi over to the lobby area in order that those who seem besotted with their phones can go and play on them there and allow the atmosphere to be what it should be at the bar, socially charged and interesting. We have stayed at many resorts of this nature and have always met some very interesting people to talk to. Not in this resort!!!

Room Tip: All rooms seem good but if you struggle with hills then choose a room near to the lobby if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club Morgan Bay, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with us regarding your recent stay at The St. James's Club Morgan Bay. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback and suggestions on our resort's WiFi as we find that to be an insightful way to continuously improve our guests' experience. Please know that our resort’s management team carefully reviews all guests' comments and will take any appropriate steps going forward.

Kind regards,
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Spent a week here with 2 other couples and had a great time. Michelle the pool side bartender was fantastic drinks with a smile flowing all week. Food was overall good a couple of misses but that's to be expected. Desert highlights include the "Spotted Dick" and "Mango Bavaris (BAV-WAA)". Dinner staff at Bamboo were also very friendly and service oriented. Would definitely recommend this location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club Morgan Bay, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The St. James's Club Morgan Bay! We appreciate you for taking the time to submit your review and delighted to receive the Pretino Travel stamp of approval!

Since we pride ourselves on providing guests with accommodations, dining options, activities and services in a genuine, unpretentious environment, we're happy to know that you had a memorable time and a one-of-a-kind Caribbean experience. We are especially proud to have such a dedicated group of service minded individuals working at the resort, so thank you for recognizing their wonderful hospitality. We will be sure to pass along the praises to Michelle.

Thank you for recommending our resort, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind regards,
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
20.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
6.3 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club Morgan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Property: St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Address: Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club Morgan Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from reality at the four-star St. James's Club Morgan Bay, Saint Lucia - A fun, relaxing, and casually elegant Caribbean beach resort famous for its friendly staff, amazing tropical gardens and great service. St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice for couples, families, weddings, honeymoons, family reunions and more. This resort has 345 rooms in total for its Caribbean vacationers to choose from. Guests can relax and enjoy terrific garden view, beachfront, ocean view and suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. James's Club Morgan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Bay Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Almond Morgan Bay Beach Hotel
Almond Morgan Bay St Lucia
Almond Bay St Lucia
St. James's Club Morgan Bay St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing