We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC HOLIDAY AND BIRTHDAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC HOLIDAY AND BIRTHDAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

My kids and I visited St James Club in St Lucia on July 30th to celebrate they 7th birthday. Mr. Grebby the General Manager, Sharon Guest Relations Manager and the staff were SUPERB from the beginning to the end of our stay.
The very moment we arrived we were greeted with the warmest welcome to the resort, my kids were given welcome gifts from the kids club and we were seated for check in with delicious welcome drinks.  We did our check in with Ron from Guest Services and he was very pleasant and informative. 
We were driven to our room by Bennell the bellman in a cart which was very smooth and exciting for the kids, our room was on a hill. When we entered our room 916 we had a special birthday greeting card and cake from the Manager. Our room was very nice and clean. Air conditioned with a flatscreen tv in the bedroom and sitting area with almost every channel you could think of, extra large, spacious bathroom with Jacuzzi tub, patio entrance from the bedroom and sitting room. King size bed was well made up with a beautiful swan and fresh flowers on it.  Everything you needed was in the room. Coffee maker, refrigerator,  iron and board you name it. 
Sharon the Guest Relations Manager is a star, made our dinner bookings for our entire stay and she arranged a special birthday dinner for my kids at the TreeTop resturant, favorite for pizza and pasta. It was just AMAZING. ....
In the mornings for breakfast they have so many choices, fresh fruit and juces. The lady that makes the omelette. Omg.... best eggs I have tasted. :)
Morgan Pier, Bamboo and Tree Top were our favorite restaurants for dinner. Excellent food and service.
The kids club is an awesome place for the kids with all sorts of activities and great staff. My kids loved it.
Wherever we walked on the property we were greeted with warm smiles and nothing was ever a bother for any of the staff. All were very pleasent and helpful, from housekeeping to the watersports guys.
Mr. Grebby, Sharon, Janice and the staff from the kids club, Winston one of the waiters, Bennell the bellman, the front desk supervisors and staff, the supervisor and staff over at the kids pool area, Thank you all so much, We had a FANTASTIC stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,829
    2,137
    605
    239
    166
See reviews for
1,740
2,853
90
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,088)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Have just. Got. Back from a week at the st james. Lovely hotel with plenty to do. The one bed suite was fab with excellent views across the bay. The food was average but the service was great. The staff were friendly and obliging. Nice beach with excellent water sport facilities.

Room Tip: We had one of the expensive one bed suites, I would have been happy to stay in any of the rooms espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cunupia Village, Caroni, Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed at the resort recently with my entire family. The staff is great and very accommodating, the food was great, pools were always kept clean and the place overall was breathtaking. Took beachside rooms (block 700) which was approx 1 minute away from the main area and had a fantastic view of the pool and beach. Had a lot of fun with the water sports and pool volleyball. There were no complaints. The rooms are perfect! will definitely visit again :D

Room Tip: Beachside rooms (block 700)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Siddiqah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just got back last week and it was our first visit in St Lucia. We travelled just my wife and I and we enjoyed our week at St James Club - Morgan Bay even if the resort is probably better suited for families. We were in the 400 building and we enjoyed a nice view on the bay from our balcony. The beach is quite small and we could not take long walks as we like to do. On the other hand there are plenty of lounge chairs and shady areas and we could use the kayaks everyday at the watersports area.
Food was good and we enjoyed eating by the beach at every meal at either the Bambou or the Morgan's Pier in the evening. The Tree Top restaurant was very disappointing and while the service is good, the dishes were so-so and probably a good option for families with kids who like pizza and pasta. Meals at the buffet were fine with different offerings each day (italian, caribbean, asian, ...) but with limited choice.
We were pleasently surprise to be able to enjoy tea and real coffee (latte, cappucino, ...) at the Choc Bay café where the service was excellent. Special mention to Nadia and her team.
On the negative side, as a couple we would have liked to have a nice bar/lounge where we can enjoy a good cocktail before supper. The bar close to the stage is more a pool bar where drinks are only served in plastic glasses.
Overall a nice vacation at a nice resort where the staff is very pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Claude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was our sixth time to St Lucia over the past 18 years and fifth stay at this hotel. We have stayed all over the Caribbean and this is probably our favourite hotel.

The resort is about the right size. Large enough to have an excellent range of amenities yet quiet and relaxed.

We had the Garden View rooms this time – although with a good view of the sea over the immaculate gardens. Kids are teenagers now so we had two rooms – one for us and one for kids. The rooms were so quiet that we couldn’t hear them next door (and they make a lot of noise!). The rooms were very spacious, clean and light with efficient aircon. Bed was very large and was one of the most comfortable we have ever had at a hotel. Couldn’t fault the rooms.

The location is beautiful with soft sandy beach looking over to a flat sea. There was no shortage of sunbeds or towels.

There is a fantastic selection of all-inclusive watersports including banana rides etc but also free water skiing. They have 2 sessions per day - just wander down to the beach and have a go. This is a big selling point that very few other hotels offer and is certainly a major draw for us! However there can be a bit of a queue for water skiing – you need to get there before the session starts or you can be waiting an hour for your turn. The speedboat also attends to hobie cats etc that need rescuing and so they often have to disappear off which can add a lot of delay. Could really do with another boat on standby.

The food at all the restaurants was of a high standard and well presented. Morgan’s Pier restaurant on the pier has a lovely ambience at sunset and is well worth a visit.

There was entertainment every evening which was OK. The sax player is fantastic.

We arranged a couple of trips with the Virgin rep – horse riding and scuba at the Anse Chastanet dive resort. Both very enjoyable. As we had been to the island a lot, we didn’t do the volcano this time – but that is well worth a visit.

This was probably our best stay yet at this hotel – it seems to have improved in many ways since we were there last. We had a great holiday and will be back again in a few years no doubt.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good. There is quite a steep climb to the newer rooms on the hilltop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnyg225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was my first trip to the Caribbean, and it certainly did not disappoint. On our arrival, we were greeted with cocktails, and the news that (perhaps because it was the girlfriend's birthday) that our room had been upgraded to a pool/ beach view one. A perfect start!
The room itself was great, air-conditioning worked excellently, it was set out beautifully, great bathroom facilities, and kept very clean.
Having never really been on this kind of a holiday before, the opportunity for the Water-Sports facility was perhaps my biggest priority, and so on the first day this was something I was very much looking forward to. The water-sports team itself is a mixed bag, with some staff being less friendly and helpful than others. However, I was fortunate enough to be placed with Stuwart for my first lesson; perhaps the nicest, most encouraging guy imaginable. Under his tuition, I was up first time, and spent the rest of the week going skiing every day, trying to work my way up to the impossibly hard mono-ski. Whilst not achieving this, for me my holiday was very much made already, and cannot recommend Stuwart enough,. Outside of this, you can go sailing, kayaking, paddle-boarding and on the pedalos, all free of charge! In addition, on the beach there are people offering chances to go on their jet-skis, for around $50 for half an hour. For the view you get on the sea, and the chance to go zooming up and down the beautiful coastline (despite being limited to 50mph) this is well worth it. Also, there is also the chance to go for an excursion with Captain Joy and his team for a variety of trips around the island. Whilst quite pricey, we took the chance to go up to the Pitons, snorkelling and had a home-cooked island meal at his daughters. This was a great day out, and well worth the expenditure.
In terms of food, there is a variety of options for you evening dining, with all restaurants being of a good standard, with the premium 'Le Jardin' costing a little extra. Here, you get a beautiful setting, with a pianist and some really excellent food. Again, well wroth it! However, being in a party with coeliacs, food was obviously a concern. With a great variety of food, all with allergy advice, this was not an issue, and at Le Jardin the chef even prepared a special menu for those gluten sufferers, which looked if anything better than the regular menu. The staff here really could not do any more to make our stay any more enjoyable, and were always exceptionally friendly.
The final inevitable noteworthy thing that comes form being on an all-inclusive holiday in paradise was the drink. Being in the Caribbean, Rum is obviously high on this list, and at all bars (including a swim-up pool one) this is out in force. However, there is a variety of delicious cocktails all prepared fresh in front of you, with a special one each day, catering to all needs. A word of warning; stay clear of the 'St Lucian Viagra' at all costs. This is in a distinctive red bottle, with a variety of plants and berries soaking in the liquor. Whilst delicious, it is potent, and resulted in an early night for one of our party!
All in all, I cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Wifi is only available in the main entertainment areas- not on the beach. If available, definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nuckey93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

As far as our visit goes, I can sum it up succinctly; everything took a moment to absorb, then it was lovely.
Our room was 121, closer to the hub of activity than we're used to. Take a minute, and we realized how handy that was, plus we could see the resort and the sea from our balcony. Room was fine, updated and very clean. I had read a review before booking where someone mentioned the wicker furniture was in bad shape, not so here. Having to make reservations for dinner was a bit of a nuisance and having to eat at the buffet the first 2 nights no matter what, seemed unfair. But then there were no other restrictions and we enjoyed the Pier restaurant 3 nights in a row and loved it. We ate at Le Jardin our last night and they were very accommodating to my gluten-free diet. The waiter worried that I couldn't eat this or that but he would check with the chef, and I ate very well! We preferred the restaurants simply because we like being served, but the buffet was quite delicious too. Freshest fruit I've ever had at a resort. The staff are so attentive, friendly and accommodating that they could put out a training video!
The hotel is quite small and easy to get around. The beach is not much, but the water sports more than make up for it. Thank you for a lovely stay, with wonderful people taking such good care of us. We'd be interested to hear how it compares to the property in Antigua, as we've never been to that island.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorkandMindy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
20.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
6.3 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club Morgan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Property: St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Address: Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club Morgan Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from reality at the four-star St. James's Club Morgan Bay, Saint Lucia - A fun, relaxing, and casually elegant Caribbean beach resort famous for its friendly staff, amazing tropical gardens and great service. St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice for couples, families, weddings, honeymoons, family reunions and more. This resort has 345 rooms in total for its Caribbean vacationers to choose from. Guests can relax and enjoy terrific garden view, beachfront, ocean view and suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. James's Club Morgan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Bay Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Almond Morgan Bay Beach Hotel
Almond Morgan Bay St Lucia
Almond Bay St Lucia
St. James's Club Morgan Bay St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing