We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't Be Returning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Won't Be Returning”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

St. Lucia is a beautiful island but so many hills. Our hotel was a little over an hour from airport. Staff were not friendly (except for Theresa at Tommy's pool Bar and Shermaine in housekeeping), O and entire staff at the Tree Top Pizza and Pasta restaurant (also the resort's best food). Resort is sooo big and too much walking. If you are willing to wait 20+ minutes, staff would take you back to your room in a golf cart. Rooms are just OK. It is advertised that you are greated in the hotel lobby with a cold drink and wet towel when you first arrive to the resort, but I guess that only applies to some guests because we definitely did not receive this treatment. You cannot take food back to your room and gift shop is expenisve (I paid $7 for Pringles!!) so I was hungry a lot. Hardly any options for vegetarians. Well, we won't be returning. Barbados was soooooooo much better!!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have ocean views as well as rooms in the 1200 block. We stayed in room 1044- pretty v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brooklynalyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,849
    2,160
    608
    243
    172
See reviews for
1,753
2,886
92
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Best vacation ever....the Service was just great....i celebrated my birthday the day i arrived and the restaurant staff made it so special....overall everyone was so helpful with everything....so friendly. The resort is such a beautiful place....the watersports, the food....the people.... i highly recommend St James Club to all for the vacation you will never forget....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Molly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We spent a wonderful week at the St James Club Morgan Bay in May. We'd told them prior to arrival that we were celebrating our anniversary and when we got there we discovered that our room had been upgraded and there was champagne and rum waiting for us in the room which made us feel super special, especially when we enjoyed a glass of bubbly sat on our balcony overlooking the ocean. The staff are all really attentive and kind and happy to make conversation, we felt really welcome and looked after. People who really stood out for us were Dwight and Cindy at The Palms, and everyone at The Sunset Bar. The beach is small but has everything you could ask for, including fun watersports and plenty of loungers and umbrellas. We went on Joy's tour and had a great time, we would definitely recommend it. We were sad to leave the hotel, it was paradise - we hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mtc2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed for 4 nights, and enjoyed the pool & beach areas daily, and just RELAXED. They have free water sports onsite, as well as optional (paid) excursions that you can book.
There's an 'adults only' pool, and a separate 'family/kids' pool. The adult pool has a swim-up bar which we also enjoyed :) Free Wi-Fi in lobby, and in the outdoor 'pool lounge' areas (It's $10/day extra to have WiFi in your room, but we found we didn't need that).
Resort is all-inclusive food + drinks, and all the restaurants had good food. Best of all, all of the hotel staff was super friendly and truly hospitable; cared for us as if we were family. I would definitely come back to this resort! My only complaint is that the nightly entertainment music is outdoors and it was very loud- we could hear it in our room each night--so if you go to bed before 11pm, bring your earplugs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I highly recommend this resort for many reasons but mostly "service, service, service"!
Upon arrival there was a booking misunderstanding/problem with our room that could have ruined our 4 night trip. Duty manager, Dania Charles was wonderful in her professionalism and kind, calm demeanor as we were upset and quite unhappy. She fixed our problem quickly and to our complete satisfaction. Thank You Dania! The resort and our room was very clean and the staff incredibly nice, friendly and professional. We value a resort that can put the customer first regardless of "who's fault it is" and would return to the St James. Another shout out to Michelles "Ghost" drink at the pool bar and the morning "egg lady" at Bamboo.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avenel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed & days at St. James and enjoyed every minute. Having the water sport included in the stay was such an advantage. Most places you have to pay for these activities: kayak, peddle boat, water ski, hobie wave, sail boat, paddle board, snorkling, and other things. Jet skis are not part of the stay, but they have someone on beach that offers it.
Resturants in order (of the quality of food)Bambou, Tree top and and Morgan pier. The Pier is the best location but the food wasn't as good as the other 2 places. It was good don't get me wrong, but I personally liked the other 2 better. When you do go to the main bar by the pool (swim up) make sure you get Michelle to make your drinks. She is excellent and makes her own drinks that are great.
In the water sports center Ronnie, Kerim, & Taralynn are the BEST. Always helpful and will take all your pics.
There is a coffee bar that just opened and it has great specials and desserts.
Small gym but I still got my work out in, but I always went at 7am There is a grille that is opened when the restuarants are not opened with really good food.
During the night they have live bands and entertainment. Our location is about 10 min from Castries where you can get your shopping done and fresh food.There is also a Duty free shop there where I suggest you buy your liquour etc because the duty free is airport is not great. They don't ofer as many different items as the one in Castries. Its only $1 by bus or $7 for a taxi. The bus was fine. There is also Rodney Bay mall, where you can shop.
Now to be honest the only reason why I did not give the resort a 5 is because its not as modern, but truly it doesn't take away from the people and service that is provided. How long are you in your room anyways? Mostly to change and sleep. You still have a huge King bed that is comfy, a fridge, and flat screen with cable. The water on the beach is sooo calm. No huge waves with pretty clear green-blue water. I did not bring my kids on this trip but I saw many families and I know they have a center for the kids to go to. Make sure to to go the Fri street festival. A big party in the street. Loud music where everyone dances, drinks, & eats. It does get crowded but you still shouldn't miss it.

Room Tip: I chose a king size room with ocean view. Which was beautiful with the sunsets & gazebo every ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I am a bit confused to some of the reviews posted recently, did we go to the same place all these people wrote about?

I was there with some friends bet aug-8th to aug 12th to celebrate my 50th birthday, the resort itself its very nice, however some of the people working there is not very helpful or friendly, it felt like serving the guest was a bother for them.

The manager @ Bambu restaurant Agnis misplaced my birthday cake, and acted like it was no big deal.
The food and the drinks is of very poor quality, for the islands it was a bit harsh to drink mimosa with stale orange juice. and the meals all seem to be generic lt seems as though they add a different sauce to the meat and fish to look a little different daily.

There is a lot of other places for a lot less for so much more.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DB1964811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club Morgan Bay, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to submit your comments regarding your recent stay at St. James's Club Morgan Bay, and also appreciate potential guests taking the time to read our response. We value when our guests share their opinions and concerns with us as we take all guest feedback seriously.

Although it pleases us to know that you found our resort nice, we were disheartened to know that you were left underwhelmed with your experience. We understand that there are a few subjective opinions regarding dining and can only empathize with you for not matching your expectations. We are truly sorry for misplacing your birthday cake and for making you feel as if it was not a concern, but can assure you that our restaurant manager did take it seriously. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and do our best to prevent problems from occurring.

St. James's Club Morgan Bay continues to be named one of the Caribbean’s best and our resort caters to a variety of travelers from all around the world looking to relax in a refined yet unpretentious hideaway.

We encourage potential guests to read through the many other reviews which detail a consistent account of our resort with rave reviews from first-time and loyal guests about our resort, accommodations, dining options and staff, and look forward to welcoming you soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
20.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
6.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club Morgan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club Morgan Bay

Property: St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Address: Choc Bay | St. Lucia, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Formerly Morgan Bay Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club Morgan Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from reality at the four-star St. James's Club Morgan Bay, Saint Lucia - A fun, relaxing, and casually elegant Caribbean beach resort famous for its friendly staff, amazing tropical gardens and great service. St. James's Club Morgan Bay is an excellent choice for couples, families, weddings, honeymoons, family reunions and more. This resort has 345 rooms in total for its Caribbean vacationers to choose from. Guests can relax and enjoy terrific garden view, beachfront, ocean view and suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your St. James's Club Morgan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Bay Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Almond Morgan Bay Beach Hotel
Almond Morgan Bay St Lucia
Almond Bay St Lucia
St. James's Club Morgan Bay St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing