We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great home base for exploring St. Lucia”
Review of Villa Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Capri
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A great home base for exploring St. Lucia”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We rented Villa Capri as one of three families that traveled there together. After a grueling drive over roads of questionable integrity we arrived at Villa Capri a bit early. The manager Kris immediately made us welcome and helped us select rooms. She was always available to answer questions and give advice. She saved us one night as we ran out of tonic water (emergency!) but showed up with three bottles quickly. Her experience with all things St. Lucian helped us make decisions about a number of things that would have been complete guesswork otherwise. The rest of the staff were hard workers and made every effort to see to the needs of this large group. The cooks Fromencha and Koshama (forgive my misspellings) made meals and cleaned up effortlessly for us. Ronnie was a lot of fun and helped out with various things around the house. If you have a large group, this is the place for you. There is a fantastic snorkeling beach just up the hill by Cap Maison where we saw a school of squid (!), a pufferfish and other sea life that is not seen so close to shore, in my experience. There was a fair amount of construction noise but this comes from a hotel that is under renovation which should be completed soon. A nice golf course is close at hand and readily accessible. Rodney Bay is full of shops and restaurants and 10 minutes away by car. We had a great time and I believe you will too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Scott319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
3
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Four couples rented this villa for a 10 day vacation in early February, and we had a great time. Cap Estates is a nice area of St. Lucia to stay. As stated by others, the manager Kris Wagner is wonderful -- she was there every day to help us with our plans and to plan meals. There was a cook there all day who prepared breakfast, and lunch and dinner if we wanted it. (We did the grocery shopping). The food was well prepared and we chose to eat most dinners at the villa on its pleasant open air terrace. We ate most lunches out at nice local restaurants recommended by Kris. The bedrooms were comfortable, although most of them had small double beds or twin beds, rather than queen or king size. There is a television in the main room with a DVD player and VCR, but ony a small selection of older DVDs and videos -- bring your own! The pool is small, but well maintained, with a spacious deck around it. A 5-10 minute walk down a steep hill brings you to a resort where you can access the beach, but you are not supposed to use the resort's lounge chairs and you cannot get any food or drinks there. There were a lot of mosquitos when we stayed (the villa is surrounded by beautiful flowering vegetation), so we slept under mosquito netting provided in each bedroom. Next door there is construction of a new villa going on, which created a lot of noise some days. We have stayed in a number of vacation villas in various places, and this one was nice enough that I would go back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank C1andG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at The wonderful Villa Capri this past week. The manager Kris Wagner is nothing short of amazing. She makes sure all your needs/wants are taken care of during your stay. Everything about our stay was terrific! Villa Capri is absolutely tops in our books! We have been traveling around the world for many years and have to say that Villa Capri is by far one of the nicest places we have stayed. We will definitely return again.

Ben Taylor

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Boot2060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We stayed at the Villa Capri (http://www.capristlucia.com) in April 2010 for a week for our wedding which was also held at the villa. We were a group of 15 family who spent the week at the villa plus 3 friends who attended our wedding.

We have nothing but the highest praise for the villa, Kris Wagner who manages the villa and was present for much of our stay, and all the staff at the villa who ensured that we had an amazing time and that everything ran like clockwork during our stay.

The villa was an ideal location for our group. All the rooms were in very good condition, and there was plenty of space either in the sun or the shade for everyone to stretch out without it ever feeling like we were living on top of each other. The villa has stunning views out to sea and it was a real pleasure to watch the sun set from the terrace area or balcony.

Because we were getting married at the villa we asked Kris to be our wedding co-ordinator and we sent a steady stream of emails to Kris to discuss arrangements at the villa, the wedding, potential excursions etc in the months before our visit. Kris dealt with our requests in a friendly and professional fashion and made sure that everything was dealt with including items that we had not thought of to ensure that everything was ready and that the wedding and stay were a great success.

During our stay, Kris and the rest of the staff worked tirelessly to ensure that we had a great time and Kris seemed to be always at the villa making sure that everything was right for us.

The villa has the option of breakfast, lunch, and dinner through a sign up sheet system which ensured that people could eat out when they wanted and the villa would only charge us for meals we had eaten at the villa. Some of our party had some detailed dietary requirements but Kris and the staff made sure that they were fully catered for and everyone had lots of variety to choose from. The meals that the villa prepared were of the highest order and meant that the majority of people chose to eat at the villa.

There are 2 beaches that are in easy reach of the villa. The beach at Le Sport hotel is less than 5 minutes walk away and the beach at Smugglers Cove is only about 10 minutes walk away. Both are excellent with Smugglers Cove being the quieter of the two. Pigeon Island which is well worth spending time at is about a 10 minute drive away. The rainforest ziptrekking, boat trip on the Brig Unicorn and the Friday night Jump Up were all easy drives away and were great fun.

Our wedding day was truly amazing. For our budget we had expected that we would have a simple affair at the villa with a ceremony and sit down meal with our friends and family. However, Kris made sure that we had 5 star treatment, and every aspect of the day surpassed all our expectations. Kris made sure that everything was organised beforehand and that the day ran like clockwork so we could relax and enjoy the day from start to finish. In the morning of the wedding the men enjoyed the local snorkelling whilst the ladies enjoyed massages, pedicures and manicures from masseuses that Kris had arranged to come to the villa. The florist that Kris set us up with made the most beautiful arrangements of local flowers for the wedding gazebo at the villa and tables and the staff made sure that the villa and gardens looked immaculate.

Special mention must go to Mikael Lamber the photographer that Kris recommended (http://www.mikaellamber.com). We are not naturals in front of the camera but Mikael's approach made us feel relaxed from the go and his photos of the day are really fantastic and we will treasure them. All our friends and family who were not able to travel but could access photos of the wedding within 24 hours of the ceremony on Mikael's website commented on how good they are.

Our wedding dinner was exceptional and we would not expect to receive such a high standard of cooking in a restaurant in the UK for the same price.

In summary, our stay was an unforgettable experience and we feel very lucky that we chose the villa Capri as our wedding location and that Kris was on hand to ensure that our wedding was better than anything that we could have dreamed of.

We booked our flights and accommodation through Simply St Lucia (http://www.simplystluciaholidays.co.uk), and Natasha Griffin's and her staff's knowledge of St Lucia and prompt and professional style meant that all our requirements were catered for and everything ran very smoothly. Simply St Lucia also used their expert knowledge to ensure that family who planned to spend extra days in St Lucia at the end of the wedding week got great deals at hotels that ideally suited what they were looking for.

9 of our party were affected by the volcano that closed UK airports and had to spend an extra 10 days in St Lucia waiting for seats to be available on a return flight. What could have been an incredibly difficult and stressful situation was resolved by Simply St Lucia who negotiated a great deal on accommodation that meant that as soon as we had a problem with the flight cancellations we also had a solution and everyone affected had a really nice hotel to move to (Windjammer Landing). Kris was also fantastic in making sure that our guests were not stranded and we are sure that if we had not already had Simply St Lucia making arrangements on our behalf that Kris would have pulled out all the stops to make sure that we found alternative accommodation for people with cancelled flights.

In summary, we would recommend the Villa Capri and Simply St Lucia to anyone thinking of travelling to St Lucia especially for a wedding, and if anyone is planning to get married in St Lucia, we recommend that they book Mikael Lamber as their wedding photographer.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank C1D1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

The first thing you notice on arrival to the Villa is the steep hill you climb to get to the Entrance and with 11 people in a Mini Bus plus a fortnights worth of luggage, it is quite a nervous moment. The second thing you notice is the size of the Villa and the gorgeous open space which the Ground floor contains.
We were greeted by Kris and staff as we arrived and whilst everyone unloaded the Bus Kris gave me the guided tour. There are four ensuite double bedrooms upstairs on the First floor, the Kitchen area, food serving area, a toilet room, a TV Lounge area and the long Dining table. There is also a balcony with two smaller tables which we used at Breakfast time as it has a stunning view of the Ocean.
The Ground floor contains another five bedrooms, of which we only needed the one. There is a Large decked area with tables and chairs, a Games/Reading area, a Large Bar area, a Large Hammock (accessed via a bridge to the side of the Villa), and the Lovers swing, again with more seating. There is also a large building toward the back of the Villa which can be used for Massage treatments.
The pool is below this level, and is surrounded by plenty of seating and the Gazebo which is lovely to sit in for shade and watch the waves in the Ocean.
All around the Villa are the most gorgeous flowers and birds, small lizards and the sounds at night are fantastic.
Kris was fantastic, before we left she was very helpful with arrangements over email and when we arrived she was always very approachable, happy to book taxis, make restaurant recommendations and bookings, and she even managed to book a last minute Deep Sea Fishing trip for the Men the day after the Wedding as the company we originally booked with cancelled the evening before they were due to go.
The staff at Villa Capri work extremely hard at keeping the Villa immaculately clean and preparing the most delicious foods. There was always plenty to go around and they were happy to prepare different dishes to cater for the differing eating preferences that there were in the group.
We chose to purchase our own food from the local supermarkets and the cooks prepared us three meals per day (unless we were going to be eating out).The food they prepared was excellent, even with the limited number of ingredients we provided.
I would recommend the “pre-stocked” package for arrival. This contained enough food for our evening meal, breakfast and lunch the following day and meant we did not have to worry about doing any shopping when we first arrived.
The Gardener visited several times per week and certainly had his work cut out with maintaining all of the stunning flower and fauna growing around the Villa.
The first night we were there the bedroom was very warm and I did not get much sleep. I mentioned it to Kris the next morning, within an hour she had a maintenance Man in fixing our air conditioning unit.
Rodney bay is approximately ten minutes by car. There is a large well stocked supermarket and plenty of bars and restaurants. We can definitely recommend Spinnakers, a restaurant / bar on the Beach ideally situated for watching the Sunset, Buzz restaurant and the Big Chef Steakhouse (see trip advisor reviews).
There are two Beaches to chose from, both are Hotel Beaches but are open to the Public. The closest is at the bottom of the driveway, between two pillars which is the Entrance to The Body Holiday resort. The second you turn left at the end of the driveway and it is the Beach for the Cap Maison resort. This is the smaller of the two Beaches, it takes approximately fifteen minutes to walk to and is quite rocky and uneven for walking on. The Body Holiday beach is much nicer, though take Water for the climb back up the hill on the way back, it is very steep.
We went out with Cosol for an all day Island tour which was fantastic (see Trip Advisor review), and did the Swim with Horses experience with International Riding Stables in Gros Islet.
We stayed here as a Group of 10 people, and were married on Pigeon Island. It is a beautiful setting, with great walking trails and ruins. We then had our Wedding Reception at the Villa and the Decking was decorated and tables set up for us whilst we were at the Ceremony. We had a local chef prepare us a three course meal which was superb.
We would definitely recommend Villa Capri for Weddings / Family time / Special occasions, everything was perfect, from the planning, to the situation of the Villa, we could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank discoveringtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ct
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

The service was excellent. Chris the property manager helped make our stay the success that it was. Very helpful in setting up meals and extra activities.
The rooms could use a little updating especially the bathrooms but it was great that each room had their own. We found the multiple bed rooms especially nice for the children.
Just a short walk to the beach and a short drive to town for other sailing or scuba diving excursions.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank TexasamCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2008

My family and I went to the Villa Capri in November of 2007. We had an AMAZING stay. Right from the very start, all of the staff were so helpful! Kris was amazing in answering all of our emails with questions.

The original plan was to get married at the Villa Capri however, some medical conditions forced us to change our plans. Instead we got married here in Canada and then headed down with about 17 of us in all. The youngest was about 18 months (a premature baby and he learned to walk while we were down there, awesome!). The oldest was my husband's great grandmother, I won't disclose her age but you can imagine.

The food was FANTASTIC! We did our own groceries throughout the week, the cooks worked with whatever we bought. We had some picky eaters but everybody was stuffed after every meal.

The villa was a palace! It was amazing to have our own pool, our own cooks, our own bar, and our own absolutely gorgeous view of the ocean. Our wedding was Friday at 7pm and our plane took off at 6am on Saturday morning. Needless to say, we didn't get much sleep. We landed in St. Lucia, waited for the rest of our family to get in (3 different flights, all within an hour or so), then loaded up the vans and it was off to the villa. The ride was amazing. The drivers were extremely friendly. We arrived at the villa just past sunset (about 630pm). We all headed to bed relatively early, but not before checking out all of the rooms. We didn't realize what an amazing view we had until the morning. WOW! That's all I have to say. It was better than what I had ever imagined... better than most people's perception of paradise!

The beach is definately within walking distance, but it's straight down the hill. By "hill", I don't mean a slow grade, it's a rough walk. My 7 year old nephew seemed to do okay with it but gramma and great gramma had some problems. I don't blame them, I asked my husband to give me a piggy back ride, haha. The waves are pretty rough as it's not on the Carribean side of the island.

We didn't love the way that the locals would try to push their merchandise on you, that got really annoying.

We did the kayaking trip, which was good, fairly basic though. We also went horseback riding, which was amazing! We even got to go swimming in the ocean with the horses. This part was a little more demanding. You're bareback, and the waves sort of push you off the horse. I had my nephew right behind me on the horse tugging me off so it was interesting, but definately awesome! We also did the catamaran trip with the whole lot of us. This was enjoyed by every single one of us. My nephew got to drive the boat pretty much the whole way. We hung out at the front on the net. Gramma and great gramma took advantage of the rum punch, perhaps not realizing how much of a punch the rum really had, that is until they got off the boat and attempted to walk. The waterfalls were gorgeous, but you don't have very much time there. The drive in volcano was pretty smelly (sulphur), but definately a sight to see. The cocoa plantation was really neat, they give you a tour and let you know how everything works. We went to the zoo which was really neat especially if you have little kids with you. They don't have very many animals at all, maybe 20? But they're very knowledgeable regarding where they come from, how they live, what the eat etc... They also take you for a little tour down the path and explain some flora and fauna along the way.

Pigeon Point was amazing!! It's great for everybody. There is some beautiful scenery, it's very rich in history with plaques to describe the ruins, caves and forts. There are great hiking trails, and from the top you can see the island of dominica. The point actually joins the two seas so the beach on the carribean side is awesome for little ones as the waves are much better. We did some snorkeling here. It's not the island's best, but for first-timers, it was definately amazing!

The market in Castries was really neat, lots of local arts, crafts and fruits. I wouldn't recommend this part for small children, the kids got a little bored and really hot within a few hours. We ended up going to Burger King for lunch because it was air conditioned.

While we were on the catamaran trip, Dominica (only miles away) suffered an earthquake. It was a 7.3 on the rictor scale. We didn't feel a thing. The resort suffered some damage, mostly just things being knocked off walls and tables. Some of the showers had some tiles come off the wall and there was a crack in the side of the building. The staff, once again, were amazing and had it all cleaned up before we even got a chance to see it. In fact, if they wouldn't have said anything, we wouldn't have even known there was an earthquake.

I think I covered just about everything. Please feel free to contact me for any additional info. chantal.leblanc1987@hotmail.com

  • Liked — food, staff, attractions, rooms... everything!
  • Disliked — St. Lucia is mountainous, don't plan on walking anywhere... also the pushy locals (although you get that anywhere in the carribean)
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
20 Thank Chantal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
17.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
944 reviews
19.5 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
0.8 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,137 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
743 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Capri

Property: Villa Capri
Address: Cap Drive | Cap Estate, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Capri 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Capri is a large, private home in the north of St. Lucia and is offering nine-air-conditioned, sea view guest rooms, all with bathroom, A/C and cable TV. Pool, gazebo, two decks, breakfast-terrace. Sleeps 20. The perfect rental house for a family reunion, wedding, yoga group or a vacation with friends or for any other special event. Comes with event coordinator, concierge and fully staffed 7 days a week with cooks for all meals, housekeepers, gardener/ pool cleaner. Located 5 minutes away from 18 hole golf course, the cricket grounds or Pigeon Island for Jazz and Arts Festival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Capri Hotel Gros Islet
Villa Capri St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing