We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Capri
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Simply amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

Had my wedding there; superb place! The pics don't give justice to this great villa. Rooms might be a little small, except for the masters bedroom, but all we did in the bedrooms was use the bed and bathroom, since there are so many other places you would rather be at any time you're not sleeping anyway! Kris Wagner is as great as everyone else says. View is magnificent. Driving on the island is not for people who don't feel secure behind a wheel. Best choice I could have made for my wedding. I didn't regret it one bit, nor did the other 15 people with me. Make sure you verify configuration of rooms/beds before inviting too many people, especially if they are not couples, as some may have to share a room.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Heim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
3
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Went to the villa for my daughter's wedding and had a wonderful family vacation at the same time. The viila is quaint, clean, private,quiet, spacious, and has beautiful ocean views from all rooms. Plenty of room to spread out on 4 huge decks with comfy chairs, hamocks and tables. Great outdoor room with couches and full roof for evening or rainy moments. The meals were excellently prepared by staff and served in a large dining area where we sat 16 to dinner each evening witth candelite and warm caribean breezes. Breakfast for all on the balcony overloking the ocean. Kris the concierge is there several times a day to see all runs smoothly, to arrange weddings, taxi service if needed and to advise on any activities you might be considering.We swam in the ocean at the beach only 5 minn walk away using Villa snorkels and at another beach only 10 min walk away. Of course the pool was a lot of fun for those lazier afternoons. We came home with so many wonderful family memories!!! I wish we could go back again and again!! Everything was just perfect (except the water pressure maybe, but still ok) Don't be alarmed by the 80 min drive in from the airport......Just enjoy the fantastic scenery and know that it will be heaven when you get there. Beverly

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
201 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We rented Villa Capri as one of three families that traveled there together. After a grueling drive over roads of questionable integrity we arrived at Villa Capri a bit early. The manager Kris immediately made us welcome and helped us select rooms. She was always available to answer questions and give advice. She saved us one night as we ran out of tonic water (emergency!) but showed up with three bottles quickly. Her experience with all things St. Lucian helped us make decisions about a number of things that would have been complete guesswork otherwise. The rest of the staff were hard workers and made every effort to see to the needs of this large group. The cooks Fromencha and Koshama (forgive my misspellings) made meals and cleaned up effortlessly for us. Ronnie was a lot of fun and helped out with various things around the house. If you have a large group, this is the place for you. There is a fantastic snorkeling beach just up the hill by Cap Maison where we saw a school of squid (!), a pufferfish and other sea life that is not seen so close to shore, in my experience. There was a fair amount of construction noise but this comes from a hotel that is under renovation which should be completed soon. A nice golf course is close at hand and readily accessible. Rodney Bay is full of shops and restaurants and 10 minutes away by car. We had a great time and I believe you will too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Scott319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, NJ
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

Four couples rented this villa for a 10 day vacation in early February, and we had a great time. Cap Estates is a nice area of St. Lucia to stay. As stated by others, the manager Kris Wagner is wonderful -- she was there every day to help us with our plans and to plan meals. There was a cook there all day who prepared breakfast, and lunch and dinner if we wanted it. (We did the grocery shopping). The food was well prepared and we chose to eat most dinners at the villa on its pleasant open air terrace. We ate most lunches out at nice local restaurants recommended by Kris. The bedrooms were comfortable, although most of them had small double beds or twin beds, rather than queen or king size. There is a television in the main room with a DVD player and VCR, but ony a small selection of older DVDs and videos -- bring your own! The pool is small, but well maintained, with a spacious deck around it. A 5-10 minute walk down a steep hill brings you to a resort where you can access the beach, but you are not supposed to use the resort's lounge chairs and you cannot get any food or drinks there. There were a lot of mosquitos when we stayed (the villa is surrounded by beautiful flowering vegetation), so we slept under mosquito netting provided in each bedroom. Next door there is construction of a new villa going on, which created a lot of noise some days. We have stayed in a number of vacation villas in various places, and this one was nice enough that I would go back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank C1andG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at The wonderful Villa Capri this past week. The manager Kris Wagner is nothing short of amazing. She makes sure all your needs/wants are taken care of during your stay. Everything about our stay was terrific! Villa Capri is absolutely tops in our books! We have been traveling around the world for many years and have to say that Villa Capri is by far one of the nicest places we have stayed. We will definitely return again.

Ben Taylor

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Boot2060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

We stayed at the Villa Capri (http://www.capristlucia.com) in April 2010 for a week for our wedding which was also held at the villa. We were a group of 15 family who spent the week at the villa plus 3 friends who attended our wedding.

We have nothing but the highest praise for the villa, Kris Wagner who manages the villa and was present for much of our stay, and all the staff at the villa who ensured that we had an amazing time and that everything ran like clockwork during our stay.

The villa was an ideal location for our group. All the rooms were in very good condition, and there was plenty of space either in the sun or the shade for everyone to stretch out without it ever feeling like we were living on top of each other. The villa has stunning views out to sea and it was a real pleasure to watch the sun set from the terrace area or balcony.

Because we were getting married at the villa we asked Kris to be our wedding co-ordinator and we sent a steady stream of emails to Kris to discuss arrangements at the villa, the wedding, potential excursions etc in the months before our visit. Kris dealt with our requests in a friendly and professional fashion and made sure that everything was dealt with including items that we had not thought of to ensure that everything was ready and that the wedding and stay were a great success.

During our stay, Kris and the rest of the staff worked tirelessly to ensure that we had a great time and Kris seemed to be always at the villa making sure that everything was right for us.

The villa has the option of breakfast, lunch, and dinner through a sign up sheet system which ensured that people could eat out when they wanted and the villa would only charge us for meals we had eaten at the villa. Some of our party had some detailed dietary requirements but Kris and the staff made sure that they were fully catered for and everyone had lots of variety to choose from. The meals that the villa prepared were of the highest order and meant that the majority of people chose to eat at the villa.

There are 2 beaches that are in easy reach of the villa. The beach at Le Sport hotel is less than 5 minutes walk away and the beach at Smugglers Cove is only about 10 minutes walk away. Both are excellent with Smugglers Cove being the quieter of the two. Pigeon Island which is well worth spending time at is about a 10 minute drive away. The rainforest ziptrekking, boat trip on the Brig Unicorn and the Friday night Jump Up were all easy drives away and were great fun.

Our wedding day was truly amazing. For our budget we had expected that we would have a simple affair at the villa with a ceremony and sit down meal with our friends and family. However, Kris made sure that we had 5 star treatment, and every aspect of the day surpassed all our expectations. Kris made sure that everything was organised beforehand and that the day ran like clockwork so we could relax and enjoy the day from start to finish. In the morning of the wedding the men enjoyed the local snorkelling whilst the ladies enjoyed massages, pedicures and manicures from masseuses that Kris had arranged to come to the villa. The florist that Kris set us up with made the most beautiful arrangements of local flowers for the wedding gazebo at the villa and tables and the staff made sure that the villa and gardens looked immaculate.

Special mention must go to Mikael Lamber the photographer that Kris recommended (http://www.mikaellamber.com). We are not naturals in front of the camera but Mikael's approach made us feel relaxed from the go and his photos of the day are really fantastic and we will treasure them. All our friends and family who were not able to travel but could access photos of the wedding within 24 hours of the ceremony on Mikael's website commented on how good they are.

Our wedding dinner was exceptional and we would not expect to receive such a high standard of cooking in a restaurant in the UK for the same price.

In summary, our stay was an unforgettable experience and we feel very lucky that we chose the villa Capri as our wedding location and that Kris was on hand to ensure that our wedding was better than anything that we could have dreamed of.

We booked our flights and accommodation through Simply St Lucia (http://www.simplystluciaholidays.co.uk), and Natasha Griffin's and her staff's knowledge of St Lucia and prompt and professional style meant that all our requirements were catered for and everything ran very smoothly. Simply St Lucia also used their expert knowledge to ensure that family who planned to spend extra days in St Lucia at the end of the wedding week got great deals at hotels that ideally suited what they were looking for.

9 of our party were affected by the volcano that closed UK airports and had to spend an extra 10 days in St Lucia waiting for seats to be available on a return flight. What could have been an incredibly difficult and stressful situation was resolved by Simply St Lucia who negotiated a great deal on accommodation that meant that as soon as we had a problem with the flight cancellations we also had a solution and everyone affected had a really nice hotel to move to (Windjammer Landing). Kris was also fantastic in making sure that our guests were not stranded and we are sure that if we had not already had Simply St Lucia making arrangements on our behalf that Kris would have pulled out all the stops to make sure that we found alternative accommodation for people with cancelled flights.

In summary, we would recommend the Villa Capri and Simply St Lucia to anyone thinking of travelling to St Lucia especially for a wedding, and if anyone is planning to get married in St Lucia, we recommend that they book Mikael Lamber as their wedding photographer.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank C1D1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

The first thing you notice on arrival to the Villa is the steep hill you climb to get to the Entrance and with 11 people in a Mini Bus plus a fortnights worth of luggage, it is quite a nervous moment. The second thing you notice is the size of the Villa and the gorgeous open space which the Ground floor contains.
We were greeted by Kris and staff as we arrived and whilst everyone unloaded the Bus Kris gave me the guided tour. There are four ensuite double bedrooms upstairs on the First floor, the Kitchen area, food serving area, a toilet room, a TV Lounge area and the long Dining table. There is also a balcony with two smaller tables which we used at Breakfast time as it has a stunning view of the Ocean.
The Ground floor contains another five bedrooms, of which we only needed the one. There is a Large decked area with tables and chairs, a Games/Reading area, a Large Bar area, a Large Hammock (accessed via a bridge to the side of the Villa), and the Lovers swing, again with more seating. There is also a large building toward the back of the Villa which can be used for Massage treatments.
The pool is below this level, and is surrounded by plenty of seating and the Gazebo which is lovely to sit in for shade and watch the waves in the Ocean.
All around the Villa are the most gorgeous flowers and birds, small lizards and the sounds at night are fantastic.
Kris was fantastic, before we left she was very helpful with arrangements over email and when we arrived she was always very approachable, happy to book taxis, make restaurant recommendations and bookings, and she even managed to book a last minute Deep Sea Fishing trip for the Men the day after the Wedding as the company we originally booked with cancelled the evening before they were due to go.
The staff at Villa Capri work extremely hard at keeping the Villa immaculately clean and preparing the most delicious foods. There was always plenty to go around and they were happy to prepare different dishes to cater for the differing eating preferences that there were in the group.
We chose to purchase our own food from the local supermarkets and the cooks prepared us three meals per day (unless we were going to be eating out).The food they prepared was excellent, even with the limited number of ingredients we provided.
I would recommend the “pre-stocked” package for arrival. This contained enough food for our evening meal, breakfast and lunch the following day and meant we did not have to worry about doing any shopping when we first arrived.
The Gardener visited several times per week and certainly had his work cut out with maintaining all of the stunning flower and fauna growing around the Villa.
The first night we were there the bedroom was very warm and I did not get much sleep. I mentioned it to Kris the next morning, within an hour she had a maintenance Man in fixing our air conditioning unit.
Rodney bay is approximately ten minutes by car. There is a large well stocked supermarket and plenty of bars and restaurants. We can definitely recommend Spinnakers, a restaurant / bar on the Beach ideally situated for watching the Sunset, Buzz restaurant and the Big Chef Steakhouse (see trip advisor reviews).
There are two Beaches to chose from, both are Hotel Beaches but are open to the Public. The closest is at the bottom of the driveway, between two pillars which is the Entrance to The Body Holiday resort. The second you turn left at the end of the driveway and it is the Beach for the Cap Maison resort. This is the smaller of the two Beaches, it takes approximately fifteen minutes to walk to and is quite rocky and uneven for walking on. The Body Holiday beach is much nicer, though take Water for the climb back up the hill on the way back, it is very steep.
We went out with Cosol for an all day Island tour which was fantastic (see Trip Advisor review), and did the Swim with Horses experience with International Riding Stables in Gros Islet.
We stayed here as a Group of 10 people, and were married on Pigeon Island. It is a beautiful setting, with great walking trails and ruins. We then had our Wedding Reception at the Villa and the Decking was decorated and tables set up for us whilst we were at the Ceremony. We had a local chef prepare us a three course meal which was superb.
We would definitely recommend Villa Capri for Weddings / Family time / Special occasions, everything was perfect, from the planning, to the situation of the Villa, we could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank discoveringtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
17.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
3.5 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Capri

Property: Villa Capri
Address: Cap Drive | Cap Estate, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Capri 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Capri is a large, private home in the north of St. Lucia and is offering nine-air-conditioned, sea view guest rooms, all with bathroom, A/C and cable TV. Pool, gazebo, two decks, breakfast-terrace. Sleeps 20. The perfect rental house for a family reunion, wedding, yoga group or a vacation with friends or for any other special event. Comes with event coordinator, concierge and fully staffed 7 days a week with cooks for all meals, housekeepers, gardener/ pool cleaner. Located 5 minutes away from 18 hole golf course, the cricket grounds or Pigeon Island for Jazz and Arts Festival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Capri Hotel Gros Islet
Villa Capri St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing