We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not advised!”
Review of MJI St Lucia

MJI St Lucia
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MJI St Lucia
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not advised!”
Reviewed 1 May 2010

Went here a few yrs ago...it was absolutely terrible. The only pluses I good think of was the cleanliness of the room and the relative location of the hotel, in terms of being near a major mall and not to far from the beach (by drive!). Staff was no way friendly, charged exorbitant fees on a phone call...10EC! I remember my room was next to a smokers, and the smell of the smoke was horrible, my room is non-smoking...guess that made no difference.

Breakfast was terrible, runny eggs with ketchup, however the bakes and salt fish were awesome as well as the fresh fruit that they hand pick! That was the plus...I do not advise this place...

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelfreakz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    3
    0
    5
    9
See reviews for
1
2
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2008

Me and my girlfriend spent two nights at the MJI hotel in May 2008. The biggest disappointment was the value for money. We had spent two weeks island hopping and stayed in places in Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago for a third of the cost and the rooms that we stayed in were bigger, better equiped, closer to the beaches and night life and had better views than MJI.

For the prices we paid we were expecting alot more, there were no towels or bins in the room and the room was tiny. We requested 3 times for towels and a bins before we got them. The hotel is definitely not in the heart of Rodney Bay, more like the outskirts.

The hire car was of good quality, but again alot more expensive compared to what we hired in Barbados. The spare wheel had no tread and we had to ask twice before they changed it.

The experience wasn't a total disaster, the staff are polite and always greeted us.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Value for money
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Scrumpy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gros Islet hotels

London Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2008

My wife and I from Canada spent over three months a MJI hotel from November 2007 to February 11/2008. However, I am St Lucian born. Great value.great location. great staff. Moses is a genuine and caring hotelier. Check out my website [--] and you'll know exactly what I mean. MJI had exactly what I needed while doing business and some fun in St Lucia.

Maurice

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank edmunddante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2008

The room I bargained for wasnt wat i got. Rather They had us in a tiny room. a small tv and one shower. that was about it. no stove kettle nothing of that sort. the staff wasnt all that nice and lots of broken stuff... no sea view..
its jus a nono when choosin hotels to stay at in st.lucia.
next time its BAY GARDENS for us

  • Liked — the drinks
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank bbbb094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2007

Hi, I have just finished my stay at the MJI and have to say i thoroughly enjoyed it.
I actually made the booking before reading the other reviews, and after seeing the first review on this site, very nearly cancelled it.
But fortunately i have to say my experience at the hotel was totally different.
The staff done there best to make sure i was comfortable, it has a lovely pool and is only 5 minutes from the beach and 2 minutes from the local shops and mall.
My room was very clean (i stayed in a double room on the ground floor by the garden).
I can't comment on the food because i ate else where, but all in all i would recomend this hotel, it is reasonably priced and does what it says on the tin.
Keep up the good work.

  • Liked — the art deco furniture, really cool.
  • Disliked — It wasn't free......
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank aidey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2007

was there for the cricket world cup march11th -march28th. I would not recommened this hotel to anybody. We had a 2 bed apt s/c. There was no cooker, kettle, toaster, pots pans etc. None of the bedrooms was described on brochure and the outside dinning area had broken chairs and damaged tables. Waste water from kitchen area in appt flowed into an outside uncovered gully where it stayed for a day at a time and smelt. bare wires in room and a bathroom that had a peeling blackening ceiling. After complaing to our rep. we were given kettle and toaster with some crockery. Nothing else altered.
St Lucia is a great place and the people just fantastic, just make sure you pick the right place to stay.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everybody
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Morcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribbean
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2007

ok no beach but the pool makes up for it, its uge!!!!!!! but the beach is like 5 mins away. poolside dinning also you can play pool by the pool lol i love it, great company, frendly staff. the rooms are so cozy

Stayed February 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank salsaqueen81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.4 mi away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#6 of 13 in Gros Islet
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stephanie's Hotel
Stephanie's Hotel
#11 of 13 in Gros Islet
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harmony Suites
Harmony Suites
#7 of 12 in Castries
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palm Haven Hotel
Palm Haven Hotel
#9 of 13 in Gros Islet
80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#2 of 6 in Rodney Bay
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MJI St Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MJI St Lucia

Property: MJI St Lucia
Address: Rodney Heights | Rodney Bay, Gros Islet 00124, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MJI St Lucia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine this. Rousing to your morning call and knowing breakfast is just moments away. Lounging at the pool a few hours later, no concerns as you know whatever your plans are you will be gently reminded. Enjoying a candle light exclusive dinner on our rooftop with yours truly under the moonlight. Can't believe it? At MJI Hotel you can fulfill this experience. We make your comfort our first priority - satisfaction guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your MJI St Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mji St Lucia Hotel Gros Islet
MJI St Lucia St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing