We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not worth the price”
Review of Palm Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Haven Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Gros Islet
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Definitely not worth the price”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Let's start with the positives: the pool is adequate (if small) and the rooms are okay--- generally spacious and the air conditioning worked well (although avoid using the room safe--- they are all broken and sound huge alarms).

But generally, there are a lot of issues with this hotel, some of which are not under their control, and others that the hotel really should have under control. The location, for example, is pretty bad, but there is not much they can do about that. Be prepared to be very far from the beach.

However, in terms of things under their control and unacceptable standards of service, the restaurant is really a huge problem. The food is adequate at best (and get downstairs for breakfast VERY early, as food runs out), but more importantly, we would regularly wait 2 hours for a standard lunch or dinner order--- seriously. Two hours for soup. Or a hamburger from the freezer. The kitchen is a nightmare, and the management really needs to take control of the situation. Add on to this a staff that varies between disinterested, unhelpful or downright rude, and there is no way i would ever recommend this place based on the prices being charged.

As a final consideration, we were there for meetings, and the conference staff were also really challenging--- they are not used to dealing with large groups, or providing basic services in a timely way commensurate with the prices they were charging.

So, in short, give this place a pass. If you are going to travel all the way to lovely Saint Lucia, you can easily find a much better place to stay for the same money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    35
    10
    7
    7
See reviews for
13
21
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Now hotels all over Caribbean under $150 are sad and disappointing due to lack of big brand business hotels. Great Resorts of course are there but they are grossly expensive always. So location is something what you book these hotels for. This hotel was also exactly what I just described, over $120, plaid furnishings, no lobby as such, and an okish small pool. The hotel sits right opposite the Rodney Bay Marina which besides having the dockings for your boat has 6-7 nice restaurants and cafes which is a great place to hang around.
However, upon discovering the area more, I found out the main Rodney Bay Village area, had 100s of other hotels right next to 100s of restaurants as well and besides being right next to a beach and were in the same range too. Thus it will make all the more sense to book those hotels rather than this one of Palm Haven which leaves with nothing but those 6 restaurants at the Marina. The Village area is a good 20 minute walk or a 5 minute ride on the local shared taxis which are cheap and not that bad for this short ride.
Thus if you want to be in thick and thin of things, book a hotel in the Rodney Bay village area and not near it.

Do visit the Piton peaks once you are in St. Lucia. Beaches next to the airport are nice and serene too. Drive-in Volcano is a sham so can give it a miss but it has the Sulphur Springs so if you intend to take a mud bath, you may visit that area else avoid it.

Room Tip: Opt for a room facing the Rodney Bay Marina. Marina lights at night are pleansant to look from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewanderer-nammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gros Islet hotels

Greenacres, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My family and I stayed @ Palm Haven for 10 days and had a wonderful time. The staff was extremely accomodating, the restuarant provided excellent food. Rates were less that Hotels near the beach. This Hotel is situated near the main road where transportation is readily available and the beach is only a mile and a half away. A quick trip by bus (5 mins) will take you to Rodney Bay where you can choose from various local eateries and top restaurants or just to hang out. You will not be disappointed with your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caribbean
Level Contributor
96 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Had a bit of a problem with overbooking first night, but the manager was very gracious and I was given breakfast on the house and a lunch for my friends. Treatment was excellent by all staff workers and they were not just professional but friendly and it was not just because I was a guest. Hotel is opposite the Marina and not near the beach, but transport is efficient. I recommend renting a car. Room was very spacious, large bathroom and balcony overlooking the pool. Mimi fridge, television and air condition worked very well. Food was excellent, breakfast was standard but well done and the lunch was superb. I would highly recommend this hotel. It is not beach front, but compared to some hotels that are beach front, this one is not as expensive and it is a better deal.

Room Tip: Was not in the hotel except to sleep, but rooms facing the Marina got the most sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriniGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castries, St. Lucia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2013

This is about my fourth stay at the Palm Haven Hotel which allows me to provide an informed opinion on this hotel. Its a small but excelent hotel close to local amenities and quite cost effective for its location in Gros Islet which is St. Lucia major tourist area. The cosy and family type atmosphere is complemented by a friendly, helpful and professional staff. Not to far from the main road thus alowing easy connectivity to Castries or the Airport. I unhesitatingly recommend this hotel to all who may wish to visit St. Lucia.
James

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
370 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We happened on this hotel after major problems with our original location (FYI - stay away from Four Springs Villa) and were very pleased. It is a nice little hotel with comfortable, clean rooms and a nice pool at a very attractive rate. But be advised, you are not within walking distance of much apart from Rodney Bay Marina and Gros Islet - i.e., you are on the main road/not the beach. That being said, with the very convenient local bus system, you can go everywhere. There are also 3 car rental places nearby (we would recommend Drive-O-Matic) if you decide to take a longer day journey. The staff is great and willing to facilitate activities and transportation.

Room Tip: Sailors moored at Rodney Bay Marina can get a special rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottawajester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mougins
Level Contributor
302 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

A nice hotel,unpretentious,good value and conveniently situated close to the marina and local amenities. rooms were pleasant and clean ,all with a little balcony and a view of the pool.Very friendly ,helpful staff and seems to be popular with the locals too,often very busy as they also have a conference centre.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.4 mi away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#6 of 12 in Gros Islet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ginger Lily Hotel
The Ginger Lily Hotel
#5 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bay Gardens Hotel
Bay Gardens Hotel
#4 of 6 in Rodney Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#3 of 6 in Rodney Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Haven Hotel

Property: Palm Haven Hotel
Address: PO Box RB2742 | Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palm Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Haven Hotel St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing