We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, but poor customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Landings St. Lucia
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, but poor customer service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

My husband and I have just spent one week at the Landings. When we arrived they tried to assign us a different room for one night, since they got our arrival date wrong! In the end we managed to get the accommodation we had originally booked for from day one.
We stayed in one of the two-bedroom beachfront villas. The accommodation is beautiful and the view from the balcony amazing. Food quality is overall good and staff at the restaurant relatively friendly. Coffe machine was down for two days, so no espresso and/or cappuccino available. They run out of green tea after three days and I was asked to drink Earl Grey instead!!!
Beach service is practically non-existent. The deckchairs are not properly cleaned overnight and every morning you can find dried sand on them...
The beach towels can be obtained by presenting a token to the usually un-staffed beach hut in front of the main restaurant by the beach. This service does not really fit in into a 5 star property.
The all-inclusive option is very good value, although no-one has been able to clearly explain how it works during our stay and what drinks were included and what were not, so we ended up asking for clarification most of the time. Another annoying thing is that you are expected to sign each bill, even on an all inclusive package. At check out the front desk will then make the necessary adjustments to reflect the package you are on.
Lucia at the Concierge desk was very helpful and took care of arranging a couple of excursions for us. Staff at the SPA are very friendly and welcoming.
Unfortunately the same cannot be said for staff at the front desk. We are due to fly out tonight with British Airways, but due to air controller system glitch our flight is delayed by more than three hours. The rep we booked the transfer with apparently called the hotel to advise about a delayed pick up time and left a message with someone at the reception, who did not pass on the message, so my husband and I were left waiting and arguing with the local travel agent's about the culprit for this mis-arrangement. No compensation offered from hotel side for the mess up as NO manager was prepared to take responsibility. I would recommend the property for its location and rooms, but not for the service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sbiscix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us. Thank you for your nice comments about our associates at our spa and also for mentioning the help from Lucia at Reception. Sorry for the frustration caused about your flight. We have shared your comments with our team and we are trying to connect with the travel partner who booked you. If there is any more information you could give us, we would be pleased to hear it at info@landingsstlucia.com Best regards from all of us at The Landings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    179
    49
    10
    14
See reviews for
394
279
10
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

My husband, father and I recently returned from a week at The Landings, St Lucia. What a magical week it was. The island of St Lucia is beautiful with its dark green forests full of interesting birds and animals, white sandy beaches and aqua marine seas full of amazing tropical fish. The Landings was a superb hotel with extremely friendly and obliging staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious and beautifully prepared. Even good for vegetarians with an incredible choice of salads and vegetables. The apartment we had was stunning and immaculately clean. All in all, we have just experienced one of the best holidays ever and can't wait to go back. We would highly recommend it. Emma from Oxfordshire

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Myself and my husband have just returned from an 8 night stay at The Landings. We have had the most perfect time there, mainly enhanced by the superb friendly staff there to mention but a few - Petra, Sylvia, Richard, Sheryl and Embert - all wonderfully friendly and so helpful and pleasant.

We stayed in a 3 bedroomed condo overlooking the harbour - it was beautifully furnished, so spacious and clean with a stunning outlook. Although we were all inclusive it had every facility and more you could need for self catering. It was about a 5 minute walk to the beach and main beach bar/restaurant but it was beautiful walking alongside the marina each day.

The beach itself was lovely, so calm with outstanding views. The sunbeds were very comfortable and plentiful and the beach towels could be exchanged for fresh ones whenever necessary throughout the day. There was never any worry about getting a sunbed any time of day. There are also several pools which all looked nice with outdoor Jacuzzi's but we preferred the beach. There was an array of beach apparel free to use - foam floats, snorkelling equipment, buckets and spades for children etc which was really nice. There are hobbie cats available at the hotel which was really good and also jet skis, banana boat, water skiing etc available on the beach locally which we felt confident paying for as the people were so nice and also friendly with the hotel.

It was lovely everyday to see the 'fruitman' arriving on his boat which every kind of fresh fruit you could wish for and people would dash across the beach to buy the fruit from him.

We did the Ziplining trip in the rainforest which the hotel arranged for us, about a 30 mins drive - this was such an experience and well worth doing, we felt completely safe at all times and the people who ran the tours were so friendly, funny but safety conscious. The best trip however was a speed boat trip - from Charlie's Tours (he walks along the beach at the hotel). We sped through the sea down the coast calling at Marigot Bay and Soufriere where a taxi takes you too the volcanic springs and mud baths (which are a little smelly as sulphuric but well worth the experience), then to his Aunts house for a local creole lunch before returning to the speed boat and seeing the beautiful Pitons and a spot of snorkelling.

The only thing we really found for an improvement at the hotel was you could only get drinks at the beach bar during the day, the other bar (near reception) didn't open until evening so if you weren't near the beach and wanted a drink it was a little walk and in the heat the drinks obviously don't stay cold long. Also perhaps the menu choices weren't as vast as previous places we have been - the menu was only changed every 3 days and this rotated. However Rodney Bay was only a short drive away and there was a large choice of restaurants there which was nice for a night out.

All in all a beautiful hotel in a fabulous location, spotlessly clean with wonderful staff. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone and would definitely like to return in the near future. Also, it's the most beautiful and lush Caribbean island we have been to so far.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leerach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We have just returned from 10 days in a beach view apartment at The Landings.
It is a high quality environment with friendly staff and excellent location.

If you want a hotel, fine, but we wanted the benefit of our own space and hotel facilities. The apartment was sea view, upgraded to top floor and glorious views.
The Beach restaurant provides good value at lunch time but a bit pricey for dinner. Suited us as we often spent the evening on our balcony with a salad and rum and cokes.
The Hobie cats provided by The Landings were a bit worn but very quick across Rodney Bay and we used them regularly.
The walk to Pigeon island is easy and enjoyable. Lunch at the Jambe de Bois (wooden leg) on Pigeon Island was good with great location.
Segway 2 hours was great fun even for a 70 year old.

Rather than go on a regular tour, we hired a taxi and driver for a day. The hotel estimated 250USD but the rep organised one for 180USD when we told her we weren't going on an organised tour.

Overall, St Lucia is a lovely island with charming people and a great destination for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepsi012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Went with high expectations. And researched I thought well. Hotel - well, more apartment time share accomodation. A huge complex. Nothing wrong with this if it was what you were expecting. And rooms apartments large and well equipped with towels (apart from beach towels), kitchenware etc. Very clean also. But, no shop on site (for milk, cooldrinks, etc) so if not prepared, an expensive taxi ride - $30 - to Rodney Bay Mall supermarket for supplies. No room service. Reception suggested we phone out for "pizza", ie: send a taxi - yes, another $30! The Rodney Bay Marina, and Mall & outside restaurants $30 taxi ride away. The travel books and hotel website misleading in that you think these facilities are nearer. Hotel only has two eating options, both OK but not a huge choice, although a la carte, (and did we really want to eat Welsh Lamb in St Lucia!) , and by day four we had to leave for other choices. The beach is also smaller than you think - 5 minutes walk from end to end. But, the staff all unfailingly lovely - nothing too much trouble. The pools (3) all sparkly and when we went (mid-November) not over populated. Beach cleaned every day, and sea beautiful. Sundowners by the Beach Bar a must. So mixed feelings on this one, although staff lovely and we have no criticism of them, but for atmosphere and eating options only a 5 out of 10.

Room Tip: Two bed, two bath apartments lovely, try to get room numbers in the 800's as they are very close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJM079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

My family and I have just returned from a 10 night stay at the landings, can i just say what a place this is, the hotel is very well maintained, the rooms huge, the restaurants served great food (although limited to only 2 places to eat and one of those was closed on monday and tuesday) and every member of staff you met was as friendly as the last.

We stayed on an all inclusive basis and boy did we get value for money, although a little disappointed the drinks selection was not as advertised, only a very small issue in what was a truely memorable holiday

Thanks the landings

Room Tip: Room 203 on the beach front couldnt have been placed any better for all the ameneties
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your great comments about our all-inclusive option. we hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards from all of us at The Landings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have just had our fourth visit to The Landings to coincide with the first St Lucia Triathlon event.
As usual the resort is in great shape with the rooms, grounds and facilities all wonderful.
This is a sophisticated place to stay, where you will be sure of a great welcome and a peaceful rest.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matineeidol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyle P, General Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
WOW. Thank you for staying with us AGAIN. We are so pleased that you were with us for the Triathlon too. We are making it an annual November event here in St. Lucia and are looking forward to welcoming you back then TOO!. Thank you sincerely, from all of us at The Landings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
17.4 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
9.7 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
0.9 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.6 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landings St. Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landings St. Lucia

Property: The Landings St. Lucia
Address: Pigeon Island Causeway | Rodney Bay, Gros Islet CP5984, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Landings St. Lucia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landings is St. Lucia's premiere beach resort featuring one, two and three-bedroom all suite villas. Accomodations include full kitches, state-of-the-art amenities, private terraces and personal plunge pools. The resort offers, beachfront dining, a full array of water activities, 80-slip yacht harbor and Soleil Spa. Free Internet Beach Largest Suites north of St. Lucia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Landings St. Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landings St. Lucia, a Rock Hotel Castries
The Landings St. Lucia Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing