We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms and Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Landings St. Lucia
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I have travelled to many great hotels, but the suites are the best I have had. After checking into our suite we had the opportunity to visit with friends in other suites and discovered ours was smaller and less luxurious than others. The rooms are great! The staff is very friendly, but typical of Carribean, slow at times. The Beach was also great, but a long walk from our room. The food that my family and I ate there was very good. We did, however, eat off the resort most nights. My only drawbacks were the resort is a long way from the airport and the ride is miserable. It is not within walking distance to shopping, if that is what you are looking for. I would also say the pools are nothing special. The service on the beach is slow, very slow. You sometimes have to just go to the Beachclub to get service. The resort is very quiet and the bars close at 11pm, so if you are looking for a lively place, I would not suggest this one. If you are looking to get away and relax, you will like this place.
I want to give a special thanks to staff members that were extra special to my family. Thank you to Adrian, Gavin, and Tim (all bartenders)

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the beach and not the lobby. I also heard to request rooms on the top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hawgwild91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for the review and for mentioning our staff members who contributed to your stay with us. We will be sure to pass on this review, to encourage them. We would like to apologize for the which you may have experienced during your stay with, especially reference the service. We assure that changes are being made, and we are improving on our service in order to meet and exceed guest expectations. We notice you expressed that you were not pleased with the long drive to our resort. May we suggest, that in the future you opt to take the helicopter experience which can cut on the time it takes to the resort significantly. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We visited The Landings recently and I must say, we've been to places all over the world, this is one of the best resorts we've stayed in. We had the 1800 sq ft room with 3 bedrooms and 3 1/2 baths. The room was very well apportioned with comfy beds and plenty of space for our family of 4. The balcony area had a nice jacuzzi tub for our relaxation and the family room was nice with comfy couches and TV. The full kitchen was perfect for cooking a full meal if we had wanted to. We did order food to be delivered to our room before our arrival and it was there just like we asked. The restaurants on property are adequate, maybe a bit pricey, but good food. The spa is wonderful and they offered several nice deals for us with a good percentage off the price of different spa treatments. Beach was wonderful, lot of things for the kids to do and the staff was very accommodating for our group. We loved this place have recommended it to several of our friends. The rooms are first class, as is the staff! Highly Recommended!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank bd4vols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your review, and your recommendation of our lovely resort. We appreciate you taking the time out to do this and to share your wonderful vacation experience with us. We are pleased to know that you also took the time out to enjoy our facilities hereby giving you a total Landings experience. Looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Booked a one-bed apartment but were allocated a two-bed one on arrival. It was ground floor apartment with its own separate entrance. The apartment was spacious and decorated to a high standard. Both bedrooms were en suite and there was a separate toilet with a washing machine and tumble drier. The was a large open plan area with the lounge, dining area and kitchen. The lounge had patio doors out to a private patio area, jacuzzi.and garden which was a few footsteps from the beach and sea. There were plenty of sun loungers, umbrellas and tables for use on the beach and clean towels were available from the beach hut outside the beach bar. There was a beach bar menu with snacks and drinks and times could be ordered from beach staff who delivered the snacks to your sun lounger. A fruit boat sails past the beach twice a day but we didn't buy anything. The watersports staff are very helpful and we went out on a two-person canoe one day past the Sandals resort next door and towards Pigeon island. All watersports are free
apart from those requiring a motor. There are two restaurants on the resort - the beach bar that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and the palms restaurant, which was more formal and never seemed to be open. We ate dinner and lunch in the beach bar a couple of times and the food was good. Most nights we got a taxi into Rodney Bay to have a meal and/or drinks. The taxi cost $15 each way. We also visited the Cap Estate on a few nights to eat in Le Sport Hotel and the Cap Maison. Taxi cost the same as Rodney Bay. Always check the fare with the taxi driver beforehand to keep yourself right. Also check if you are paying in EC or $ for taxis and meals/drinks. Both weeks there was a party of about 100 folk from American Investment Company, Edward Jones, on an incentive holiday. Although the group were generally unobtrusive, the focus was on the group and every time we checked in for anything we were asked if we were with the Edward Jones group. The beach could be busy and noisy when the group were there en masse. The staff were helpful and friendly but there was no welcoming party or a sense of cohesiveness due the different folks staying at the landings - some folk stay there because they own an apartment and a yacht in the marina, some folk were part of the Edward Jones group and some were like ourselves so it is a real challenge to meet everyone's needs and expectations. This hotel suits a more independent traveller as you are very much left to your own devices here.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view if you can. Make sure you are on the beach side of the hotel as it is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have recently returned to reality from 10 wonderful days at The Landings. My wife, two kids (21 and 18) and I stayed in a two bed beachfront suite (room 121) and it was fantastic.

Be warned, it is a bit of a trek to get from the airport to the hotel. We organised the good, but expensive at $150, luxury car service from the airport to the hotel. It took two hours because of the traffic - which was painful after our 8 hour flight from the UK! You do get to see a bit of the lush, tropical (very hilly) island along the way, but it was a long trip on a very curvy road. The trip back to the airport was on a weekend with no traffic and it took just over 90 min.

The resort itself is very large and our fist impressions were a little underwhelming. It is all a little bit bland and "corporate" looking when you first drive in. The marina only has a couple of boats in it which appeared to possibly be owned by the hotel for doing sightseeing and/or fishing trips. Also, one of the buildings is unfinished and it doesn't even look like they are still working on it - kind of had the feeling like they ran out of money and just stopped building. However, after a few days, any misgivings soon fade away. The resort is kept immaculately clean...they even rake the entire beach every morning, and the grounds are actually very nice with loads of flowers, plants, trees, etc. There are three pools spread around the resort, but each pool is quite small and only has a few chairs. We struggled a few days to find seats by the pool.

The location of the room is great. Our balcony was level with the top of the palm trees which blocks the stunning view a little bit, but you do get a great view of Pigeon Island and we had a few stunning sunsets during our stay. It was great to have a table and chairs on the veranda for the mornings and evenings when it was a tiny bit cooler. It is also very close to a pool, the restaurant and the beach - but it is a LONG walk from the reception area. You can call reception and they'll come and pick you up in a golf cart and take you to reception, but any time we went into Rodney Bay/Gros Islet for meals, the taxis would just pick us up in front of our room. The room itself is very large, the beds very comfortable, and importantly the AC works really well and is very quiet. Like a lot of the hotel, it is all a little bland and filled with generic hotel furniture, artwork, etc. - it didn't feel "St Lucian" in any way, but it was still a very nice room with a big kitchen. Because we had a kitchen, we bought food from the supermarket at the beginning of the week and ate breakfast in the room most days. All of the appliances worked well and there was even a washing machine/dryer which isn't listed on the web site.

We found the service to be excellent throughout. The staff were generally very friendly and would happily go out of their way to help you - that goes for housekeeping, the wait staff in the restaurant, the front desk staff, the beach/activity staff...everyone really.

The beach restaurant was very good if a little expensive (no surprise really). We had a couple of breakfasts, pretty much every lunch and 3 or 4 dinners during our 10 days there when we couldn't be bothered to trek into town to eat. The food was very good overall although what you got on your plate didn't always exactly match what was on the menu. This became a little bit of an inside joke for us - you were never quite sure what you were going to get (mainly the side vegetables). The menu had decent choice and they had specials every day. We really didn't have any missteps from the kitchen all week. At dinner they also have a few themed buffet nights to break up the choice a bit - Mexican night, Italian night, etc., but you could still order off the regular menu on these nights. The staff were all really friendly and pretty efficient - you are on island time so nobody is rushing around like in the US, but I quite enjoyed the laid back pace as I was on holiday - expect lunch/dinner to last 1.5-2 hours and just relax. We had a couple of small service mistakes (wrong orders, etc.) over the week but they always dealt with the issue quickly and with a smile. There is also a fine dining restaurant at the hotel but it isn't open every day. We did book to eat there one night it was supposed to be open, but they called us at about 3pm that day and said hat the restaurant wasn't going to be open after all - i'm guessing we were the only ones booked.

The hotel uses a taxi company so there are always taxi's available. They will take you into town and give you a business card with their name and phone number. After you finished your lunch/dinner/shopping, etc. you either just call them (or have your restaurant call them) when you are finished and the taxi driver will come and fetch you. It is only a 10 or 15 min taxi ride into Gros Islet and Rodney Bay respectively. If you are doing this round trip you just pay for the whole thing when you get back to the hotel. I paid with US$ all week and it was $24 for the round trip into Gros Islet and $30 for Rodney Bay. A couple of times when the taxi's didn't have change I would just overpay and they would leave the change with reception later in the day.

No serious negatives during our stay...a few of the minor annoyances were:
1. The lift in our building only worked on the first couple days and the last couple of days. The rest of the week we had to hoof it on the stairs...not the end of the world but not great in the heat after a big lunch.
2. They weren't very good at telling you what was going on at the hotel. You could always get the answer if you asked (some of the staff were more confident in their answers than others), but it wasn't obvious otherwise. For instance, when we checked in they gave us a piece of paper that said what things were going on at the hotel for the rest of the week (3 days), but we didn't get anything saying what was going on the following week.
3. Some things were confusing in the material they gave us. In one place it said there was a shuttle into Rodney Bay that cost $10 per person (which would be more than if we booked a taxi) but we saw somewhere else that the shuttle was free. We decided to try it and since our family was the only one taking it, they actually just put us in a taxi and they didn't charge us anything...I didn't complain.
4. At other hotels when we've had large kitchens, the hotel usually provided an organised shopping service where you could order food for the room. They give you a list and the hotel would arrange to get it purchased and delivered to the room. We asked about this at the front desk and the chap we spoke wasn't sure if they did this. He did check and came back with a poorly photocopied piece of paper saying they did actually do this but he didn't know any details about how it worked, how long it would take, etc. Also, the list of items you could choose from was very small. He basically said we were better off going into town and doing the shopping ourselves. We did this but it was a pain when you don't have a car. We also could have used a top-up shop for the last few days but we couldn't be bothered to schlep back into town to grocery shop. This brings me to my last point...
5. The hotel is not in town and most guests won't have cars so it desperately needs some sort of shop. I've stayed at similar places in the past that had a small shop/deli on premise. The best one was Honua Kai in Maui, it had a fantastic coffee shop/food shop/deli where you could get good coffee, fresh juices, muffins, fresh bread, sandwiches, soup, milk, juice, water, snacks for the room, etc. You could also buy wine/beer and sundries like mosquito repellent, first aid, toothpaste, sun cream, deodorant, etc. The Landings desperately needs something like this and we would have spent a fortune there for the convenience it provided.

A few other facts for those going to be staying here...

1. The beach is very nice with soft sand, lots of beach chairs (all with umbrellas which is really nice), warm water with no surf, and a fantastic view. It really is a beach that takes all your troubles away! It would be the perfect beach for small children. Since it is near the entrance to the marina, the swimming area is cordoned off.
2. All of the non-motorised activities are free - sailing, kayaks, snorkels, etc. The hotel also provides pool/beach towels. They also have a ski boat so you can water ski or be pulled behind on various inflatable things (banana, tubes, sofa, etc), but these cost extra. Also, they aren't run by the hotel but you can organise jet ski rides, parasailing, etc. right next to the hotel beach.
3. You can snorkel in front of the hotel, but there isn't really much coral. There are lots of fish around though so kids will love it. We actually saw a very large eel, some squid and an octopus hiding under a rock. For better snorkeling you can walk 10 minutes down the beach to pigeon island where the snorkeling is much better (go out right in front of the restaurant). The only downside to this is that you have to pay $7 each to enter pigeon island. Oh, and I got stung by a jellyfish which was a bit unlucky.
4. There are no problems with hawkers on the hotel beach...they are not allowed. If you step over the line outside the hotel beach though, there will be locals trying to sell you conch shells, palm hats, necklaces, and even marijuana...although they all seemed very friendly.
5. In Rodney Bay/Gros Islet we ate at Delirius, Buzz, Blue Olive, and Flavors of the Grill. Delirius was v good, Blue Olive was OK, Buzz was disappointing (and expensive). Flavors of the Grill was by far the best and the cheapest place we ate. I would go back there in a second.

Overall a fantastic place and great holiday!

Room Tip: Definitely go for the beachfront rooms. You'll most likely get a little jacuzzi if you stay on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank gthomassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for the very detailed and GREAT review of your time spent with us. We are pleased to know that there were no negative remarks in your review. We are grateful for the kind words expressed referring to our staff and service. Our goal is to ensure that every guest is satisfied and we seem to have achieved this goal with you and your family. In your review you also made mention of some areas where there is need for improvement on our end and we thank you for pointing this out. We assure you that there are plans and changes are being implemented to enhance the service provided, our product and a few of the things that you mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you to our lovely and improved resort in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Landings for 8 days. Our room was spacious, full kitchen, front and back balconies. Decorated very classy, yet simple. AC and fan remotes in each room. We loved the view of the harbor. The beach was beautiful with water sports and floats. A true family getaway. The staff was very helpful. Adrienne George made sure we had everything we needed.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Frances G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in world class resorts around the world, and the landings truly did an excellent job at meeting my expectations. They have great staff, great service, clean condos, all the amenities. It was really fun and relaxing, perfect for a family looking for a beach vacation, every condo has multiple bedrooms with their own master baths, and shares a living/kitchen, plus patios. Some have hot tubs, while ours did not, it did have excellent views. I have nothing negative to say about it.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Thebrokebroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for the positive review highlighting the key things that made your stay with us even more special and memorable. It truly was a pleasure having you stay with us. We are pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I, along with our two daughters, 7 and 10, stayed at the landings for six nights in July. The spacious accommodations were supurb---complete with a full kitchen, washer and dryer (and some detergent) and our own hot tub on the back balcony.we all enjoyed the hot tub after long days at the beach and pools...and the temperature wasn't too hot for the kids.
Before our arrival, we had ordered some grocery items to be sent to our room. They were all there waiting for us on the first day.
The pools were on the smaller side, but nice. The largest pool was steps from our building. The hotel had rafts/floats at the pool to enjoy too.
The beach was beautiful and was never packed. Floats were also available at the beach, along with snorkel gear to borrow and kayaks too. We ordered some drinks on the beach and they came within a reasonable amount of time.
Lunch at the beach club was always delicious and the service was good,except on our last day when it took over an hour for our food to come. But the wait staff was apologetic and picked up the tab for our drinks.
We ordered room service once with some friends and found it to be a good experience. We had a great time here. This vacation was one of our favorite family trips and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Manager at The Landings St. Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us, and we are happy that you and your family loved our resort. Your very descriptive review is nothing short of great. The words expressed about our staff and service will surely go a long way in motivating and ensuring that the service is maintained. We do hope to have you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
17.4 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
968 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
761 reviews
9.7 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
0.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,198 reviews
2.4 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landings St. Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landings St. Lucia

Address: Pigeon Island Causeway | Rodney Bay, Gros Islet CP5984, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: £279 - £1,692 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Landings St. Lucia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landings is St. Lucia's premiere beach resort featuring one, two and three-bedroom all suite villas. Accomodations include full kitches, state-of-the-art amenities, private terraces and personal plunge pools. The resort offers, beachfront dining, a full array of water activities, 80-slip yacht harbor and Soleil Spa. Free Internet Beach Largest Suites north of St. Lucia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your The Landings St. Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landings St. Lucia, a Rock Hotel Castries
The Landings St. Lucia Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing