We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 06:00 - 18:00
Review Highlights
Very very very hard!!!

I am a 49 year old, 5'10, 220 pound man in decent shape but not phenomenal shape. I have done long... read more

Reviewed 29 December 2023
Krsna T
via mobile
Once in a lifetime experience!

As a family, this was without doubt one of the hardest things we have done. 4 youngsters found it... read more

Reviewed 10 August 2023
spencert71
,
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Read all 41 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around St. Lucia
More Info
More Info
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
28
12
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
28
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tough hike gros piton goat walking stick summit backpack trail guide usd lucia forest
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2020

As two newly weds who are NOT hikers we expected to have nature trails to follow as we hiked the Gros Piton. Although this is not the case, our guide was every bit fantastic to continue to motivate us to make it to the top and down safely! Be prepared to hike over rocks, boulders and steep inclines at times but with wonderful views. It is a true accomplishment we are so thankful we did!

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank Kara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RichardJ3397, Owner at Climb Gros Piton St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2020

Awesome guys. We really love hearing the comments of folks who enjoy all there is on this great trail.
We hope you come back to do it again for your anniversary.
Welcome to the club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2020 via mobile

First, you need to be specifically fit for this, we’re two people in our 50’s who are fit, but had to think again pretty quickly. It was definitely a challenge and you’re rewarded by the achievement of completing it, the views from the various early stopping points and the view from the top. Let’s be clear, it’s a climb not a hike and if you couldn’t do the “stair master” in the gym for 2 hours, with the central heating on max, this isn’t for you!! If you’re fit enough to enjoy it, being in the rain forest and enjoying the peace and the general surroundings are very special. There’s two disappointments- the first is that unbelievably someone has been allowed to build a property on Gros Piton (it’s a UNESCO World Heritage site) how is that even possible?? So you see the construction site as you start off. Also, the ladder is broken at the top of Gros Piton, so you don’t get the view of Petite Piton from the summit, only half way up, still amazing, but top would have been great too.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 456janer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RichardJ3397, Owner at Climb Gros Piton St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2020

Awesome guys. Congratulations on your achievement. It is certainly not an easy climb but doable.
Bring your friends next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2020 via mobile

On the island of St Lucia in the French West Indies is the mountain Gros Piton. To climb Gros Piton you must have a guide and pay a $50 per person fee to enter the park. The climb is very rigorous. No trail to speak of, just rocks and bolders. It takes about 2 hours to reach the summit and another 2 hours to desend back to the bottom. All I can say is you need to be in great physical condition to attempt this.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank Tombeneventi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RichardJ3397, Owner at Climb Gros Piton St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2020

Thank you for your review. It certainly is not for the faint hearted to attempt this climb, but you did it. Congrats.
The trail has been kept as natural as possible. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2019

This adventure is more of a rock climb than a hike. The first part of the trail is relatively easy with some stepping over and on rocks interspersed with some flat trail. As the climb continues the level of difficulty increases with altitude and by the time you get to the "big mango" tree, the path goes straight up and you need to grab anything in site to get over some of the larger steps and rocks. There are a couple of stops along the way with benches for resting and having a snack. The views of Petit Piton and the bay between is quite nice. A great surprise was the little snack bar at the top of the mountain, offering cold drinks and fruit. The view from the top was almost completely obscured by clouds and rain on my particular day but on a clear day the views are probably very good. My guide was pleasant and conversational.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank AnnapolisHiker_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 December 2019

This hike is moderately difficult....not as hard as Machu Picchu Mountain but a bit harder than Hyuana Picchu. Another comparison would be a little tougher than Angels Landing in Zion.

The hike has about 2000+ vertical feet elevation gain over a relatively short distance with a large portion of the hike as a rock scramble.

The hike has quite a few railings and is very safe if you look out for slippery rocks or roots. No drop offs.

The hike for a 51 year old moderately out of shape dude took about about 3.5 hours.

The views are decent but not 360 degrees at the top.

Guide is required and costs $50 US.

I made it, so you should too.

Hike is very manageable and is worth giving it a try!

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank Travis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews