We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anse Chastanet
Nearby Hotels
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$374
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$364
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$331
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$630
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$326
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$480
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hummingbird Beach Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Haut Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calabash Mountain Villa(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$127
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$658
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,939
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,244)
Filter reviews
1,244 results
Traveller rating
869
220
70
46
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
869
220
70
46
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshillside deluxebeach levelair conditioningvegetarian restaurantjade mountaintreehouse restaurantbeach grilljungle bikingmeal planst luciascuba divingpremium roomdive shopdive staffyellow flagour honeymoonopen air
Filter
Updating list...
727 - 732 of 1,244 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I admit to a fair amount of anxiety about the property leading up to my visit. At $800 per night, it is still the 4th or 5th most expensive resort in the area, and ranked only 7th of 12 hotels in Soufrieres on Trip Advisor - I worried it would not be up to standard. Fortunately, I was proven very wrong but not immediately. We had requested a room as high up on the hill as possible to ensure a strenuous workout every time we ventured out, and we got what we asked for - Room 12D. It's a dark treehouse of a room set on the Rainforest side with a huge bathroom and a small view of the Sea below. I wasn't happy but it had been a long travel day so we napped and went down to dinner. On the way, I requested a room change.

Our first meal was at the Indian restaurant on the beach. It's a beautiful setting and the food was about the best on the island. The service was professional and pitch perfect. After dinner, we danced the night away to LM Stone, a great local band. I went to sleep a little happier for the experience.

The next day, Peter, the Property Manager found me on the beach and we were moved to 5D, a room with a large open terrace, expansive beautiful views and a smaller bathroom. A fantastic setting! I was now ready for my vacation.

You can be as active as you choose at Anse. We chose very active: we biked the rainforest (fun but the trails aren't great); hiked Gros Piton (gorgeous and super hard); snorkeled several times a day (beautiful); climbed Tinker's trail in the Rainforest (highly recommend in preparation for Gros Piton); kayaked several times (perfect); played Kadima on the beach (bring your own); and, of course, we walked the 200 odd steps to and from the room several times a day.

In short, it was a great holiday made even more special by the people - staff and guests. It is the kind of friendly environment where people interact freely and authentically.

If I could change something it would be the breakfast buffet - the presentation is not terribly appetizing and the food choices are too conventional in my opinion. Similarly, lunch was heavy and too 'cooked' for my liking. Lighter fare with more raw choices would be more appropriate to the setting.

That said, the staff could not be more accommodating listening constructively to our every comment and suggestion.

I loved this place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MemphisNabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed at Anse Chastanet for four nights recently. It is a really special place that you can't fully appreciate until you're there. Wonderful staff, large, beautiful rooms, and a lot of privacy. We wouldn't hesitate to go back, and we hope to do so someday. The prons and cons for me were:

Pros:
1. It has two great beaches. One is private and the other is technically open to the public, but is mostly populated with resort guests. The beaches are tropical, black sand beaches with lots of thatched huts available to guests. They are great for swimming - moderate waves and soft sand underneath without many rocks or much algae. There is also fantastic snorkeling just off the beach.
2. The food is fantastic (probably the best I've had) and diverse. The resort has five full restaurants - an indian/caribbean fusion restaurant, a more continental restaurant with a small menu that changes every night, a vegetarian restaurant, a grill on the public beach, and a casual lunch spot on the private beach. Dinner was great every night we were there (and we are pretty picky so this is fairly high praise), and the hotel does a very robust breakfast buffet.
3. The rooms are spacious, beautiful, and very private, with great views of the surrounding rain forest.

Cons:
1. It's very hard to get to. Soufriere, where Anse Chastanet and most of the other luxury resorts on the island are located, is not very close to either airport, and the roads weren't great (the road leading up to the resort is particularly rough and takes about 10-15 minutes to traverse). On the way to the hotel from the airport we took a cab, and the ride last almost 2 hours and cost about $120. On the way back, we took a boat, which was shorter (about 70 minutes), but cost $190. Factor that cost in to your trip, unless you plan to rent a car or take a shuttle.
2. The resort is very anti-technology. There is no A/C, no phones (although you can get cell service if you have an international plan), no internet access, except in the lobby, which was very dysfunctional, and no television. I'm ok with most of that, but not having a phone that connects with the lobby (which is a 10 minute walk away) and not having wifi were significant minuses to me.
3. The resort requires a lot of hiking to get around. This probably isn't a problem unless you are elderly or traveling with small children, but to get from the beach or the beach-level restaurants to the rooms on the hill requires climbing the equivalent of maybe 12-15 flights of stairs. If that's too much for you, you can get a shuttle but I don't know how convenient that is.
4. The hotel has a sister resort, Jade Mountain, at the top of the hill. Guests there use the same beaches and eat at the same restaurants (I think), but have much more spectacular rooms and some other amenities for about 3x the price of Anse Chastanet. I list it as a con because at least in a small way it creates a ghettoization of the resort. We paid something like $600 a night for our room, and still felt somewhat lower class because of the existence of Jade Mountain next door. This isn't a big deal, but we just thought it odd that such a luxurious resort felt the need to add an even more audacious complex next door, and to partition it into a separate hotel.

Overall, as I said, we really loved the resort. The main competitors in the area are Ladera and Jalousie Plantation. We didn't go inside either of them, but did see them from the water while we toured the Pitons. Jalousie looked comparable, but more modern/Western versus Anse Chastanet's exoticism. Its beach is white sand, imported from the Grenadines (according to our guide), which I thought was in somewhat poor taste. Ladera also looked very nice, but is quite far from the beach, which would be inconvenient.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Randolph314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Just returned from a weeklong stay. We stayed there three years ago, and were amazed that a resort so good could be even better. The staff seemed better coordinated, food fresher with more choices, and there is now access by footpath to their second 'wild' beach. Of course the setting is still spectacular - Anse Chastanet is a lot more than just a pretty beach.

There are a few things besides location that make this hotel unique. The staff is a deep team and genuinely cares about each guest's eperience. The resort is completely open air, with most rooms having an open fourth wall, and all dining and bar areas open to the beautiful breezes. The range of activities is amazing. Guests can be pampered at the spa and and drink umbrella drinks at the gorgeous beach in complete tranquility one day, and be high gear active the next taking advantage of the hundreds of acres of natural beauty to hike, swim, dive, kayak, or take a yoga or training class. As far as dining, choice ranges from elegant sashimi and rack of lamb, to inspired Indian cuisine, to the best burgers anywhere at a picnic table setting among the coconut palms at Anse Mamin Beach. This is truly a place where every individual can create their own experience. One important note is that the hillside layout is extremely vertical which could create some problems for people with mobility limitations.

I cannot say if there is any resort comparable or similar in the Caribbean, but feel we will be back once again some time - and already can't wait!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank goodlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
High Wycombe
12
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Enjoyed a great holiday in a marvellous setting. From the large private covered terrace (with plenty of comfy seating, coffee machine, fridge etc) of our room (3D) we enjoyed stunning views of the Pitons in one direction and sunset over the Caribbean in the other. You could even look at the Pitons from the shower! This was unlike any other hotel I have stayed in - almost like one of the top end tented camps in Masai Mara in its feel. You need to be fairly fit (or prepared to wait for shuttle buses) to get around the resort - 130 steep steps from reception to beach; 49 from reception to our room. Plenty of excursions available and some fascinating walks with local guides (Meno was a gem!); we don't do scuba, but the snorkelling was pretty good from the resort beach. Food and service were also pretty good, with any lack of speed of service made up for with plenty of smiles. No TV or phone in rooms, which was great, because it meant we read and talked!
Downsides: no swimming pool (I know you've got the sea, but we're fussy and love to swim in a pool and snorkel in the sea); quite a lot of midge bites in the room and on the terrace in spite of all the coils and spraying done by the hotel staff.
We had a fantastic holiday and I know friends who would love the place, but if you just want sanitised modern luxury this is not the place for you. But if it's luxury you are after and you can pay for it, look at the sister hotel further up the mountain - Jade Mountain ....

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

reception, restaurant, dive staff...hard to believe how polite, helpful and accommodating everyone is at this hotel and it starts with Peter the mgr. food surprisingly good. diving is outstanding. warning to type A's: there is wifi and 2 computers for use in the bar/lounge.no tv, no radio, nada with the exception of a few beachfront rooms there is no a/c....also its 132 steps up from beach to breakfast. if you are mobility challenged, you wont be happy.

ACR could serve as hotel school to teach the world how to treat guests.

Room Tip: beach front rooms have a/c but no view. Rooms higher up, have views, some better than others. usually cool, comfortable breeze, and are open to the air. surprisingly few bugs enter, but might take some getting used to.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rokko193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews