We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Anse Chasnet”
Review of Anse Chastanet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anse Chastanet
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed at Anse Chasnet June 16-23, 2012. We truly enjoyed this stay. I must admit, I stayed Beachside with AC and used it plus a fan and it was very comfortable. I didn't have the desire to walk the stairs several times a day or have a beautiful view despite the heat and humidity like several others did. We just walked out our door and around a few other rooms and were right on the beach, right near the dive shops and the Beach Cafe and the Indian restaurant. If we felt like doing stairs we did, if not we called for a shuttle (minivan) that would come within a few minutes and the great thing is you get a different person almost every time, and not one person was judgmental or said anything about using the shuttle.

The room was great, clean, with a refrigerator that the resort supplied with free drinking water. The bed was very comfortable, and we found reading lamps in the closet, along with a safe. There was a HUGE private sitting area and hammock for each lower level beachside room. (I didn't see the upper levels, but I heard they were much smaller). The sitting areas were outside but under a roof, with 2 couches and 2 lounge chairs. The bathroom was large.

The food was amazing. Every lunch and dinner was from a menu not a buffet! There was not a bad meal even once. Homemade bread (different every night). There are 4 different restaurants to choose from each evening, 3 require reservations but we always were never had a problem making one.

Don't miss the walk or boat ride (free boat shuttle- ask at the dive shop) to go to the other beach with the Jungle Grill. This restaurant is included in the all inclusive and owned by the resort. It's only open for lunch and has the best burgers you've ever tasted. We enjoyed this beach too, very private feel, but sand is super hot! Take sandals!!

The staff here has had great customer service training. They are all very nice, and go out of their way to make your day great. Dive shop, restaurants, housekeeping, everyone was very nice and remembered us day to day.

Room Tip: We loved the beachside with the AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nancim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

Absolute great staff. We did a dive package of 12 dives and it was excellent. The dive shop staff is top tier. The beach was clean and well kept. The rooms were rustic. No television for a week what to do? Read. Need to buy a full meal plan and enjoy the gourmet dinner dining and good eats for breakfast, lunch and afernoon tea.
The only sad thing was that they did have internet in one area and many, many people would spend hours each day with their laptops. I wanted to scream your on vacation enjoy it.
Yoga classes, hiking, jungle biking and a regular plantation tour are also available. DO NOT MISS THE FREE PLANTATION TOUR...MOST INTERESTING. Great snorkeling on site. All fo the other locations like Sandals come up in their boats with snorkle hordes. Island escursions are available and the concierge will arrange all. We only stayed on resort with so much to do it the seven days when by too quickly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scoopC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The staff, service, and food are outstanding. This is a nature resort, not a chlorinated plastic cup chair factory. If you like getting to know a culture and having top notch service this is your place. Perfect island getaway...

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank edog666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We first stayed at at Anse Chastanet five years ago and thought we had found paradise. A resort with a romantic feel in sight of the spectacular Pitons combining rain forest, beach and on site diving. In June this year we returned hoping to find the same thing, this time we wanted to ensure we had a great view of the Pitons, the staff kindly arranged for us to stay in room 7D, we were not disappointed with the view or the experience.
So why do we (and assumedly the other returning guests) find this place so special, there will be hotels which are more luxurious and maybe even more spectacular views, (Jade Mountain for example) but in our opinion Anse Chastanet gets the balance right with nature.
Built on the hillside the hotel steps gradually down through the rainforest to a lovely beach . It offers a number of white washed rooms which depending on choice have views towards the Pitons, the rainforest or beach . Larger rooms have a lounge to enjoy the views and some rooms are so entwined with nature they have trees running through them. The fittings and decor are rustic and charming. Plasma tv and sound systems are replaced by the noise of the forest wildlife and watching for humming birds in the trees all of which tells me i am far from home.
There are many steps from beach to top hillside but these pass beautiful fauna and have places to rest or enjoy the views (apparently there is a shuttle but we didnt use it). Look hard and you will see small lizards and frogs, and if you are really lucky we got to see a possum cross the path into the trees on our way up during the evening.
The staff (many of whom have been there for years) work hard to make your experience personal without becoming intrusive. Everything is geared to help you relax and have a special time. They even provide beach service just stick your flag in the sand and a smiling member of staff appears to take your food or drink order. The beach and beach bar faced towards sunset so was a great place for a cocktail and to watch the sun go down. For those like me who get restless there is a variety of activities and tours on and off site which they can arrange.
Food & Restaurants - we stayed a week on an all inclusive tariff (having signed bills seemed an excellent deal) and felt spoilt for choice you eat either at the Beach or the Tree House Area, they made these into four differing restaurants with options of vegetarian, spicy, grilled and more traditional types of food. The Food and Drinks options were better than many we have experienced on such tariffs. When i asked what i could eat on the menu they said anything..........and there was a good selection of included cocktails and wine by the glass.
We were told public access is allowed to the beach but most of it is dominated by canopies and beds for exclusive use of guests so it doesn’t feel public. We saw a small number of independant beach traders including Sunshine the wood carving saleman who we knew from our previous trip and two or three guys offering water taxis and trips, those we met liked to talk but werent pushy.
To conclude in our opinion a picturesque romantic resort with excellent customer service and as a bonus for us some nice diving minutes from the resort in the shadow of the spectacular Pitons (See my Scuba St Lucia Review).

Room Tip: Rooms The resort has great views but not all views face the Pitons if you want a Piton view check a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mkdon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My partner and I spent a relaxing week at the Anse Chastenet in May 2012. We loved every moment there. Our room was incredible overlooking the bay.

Don't be worried about the hotel not having a pool (as we were) but honestly you don't miss it as the beach and ocean are amazing. The food was great.

A few downsides...Get the full meal plan!! We had a partial meal plan which meant lunch and drinks weren't included. Not that we are huge drinkers, but drinks are not cheap here!!! We ended up buying a bottle of rum and bottled water outside the resort which cut down the final bill a bit. If you think of it, buy some duty free before you make the journey there.

Speaking of the trip there, the road is rough but don't be concerned as it will all be worth it once you get to the property.... Just be advised there isn't much touring to do once you arrive as it is difficult to get anywhere else. We did go to Castries for the day to go on a helicopter ride but we paid quite a bit of money to get there!

A Great place to stay!! it is SO much better the any all inclusive hotel you might be tempted to book with. Cough Cough...Sandals ;)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The staff was tremendous, always there to make your stay be as enjoyable as possible. The food at the restaurants were really, really good. They have many excursions that leave right from the beach. You can spend countless hours snorkeling, as we did, for free. They have some of the best snorkeling on the entire island as numerous boats drop off residents from other hotels to get a peak. They have 2 beaches, one can be crowded on certain days and you'll get solicited by the locals for their services, but they are friendly as well and appear to offer up excursions at a discount compared to what you would pay through the hotels. If you like to be left alone, you can walk 10 minutes to a private beach where they serve one of the best burgers I have ever had. The location of the hotel is remote, so don't expect to go out at night and party with a bunch of vacationers, this area is for couples or people/families who want to get away from all of that. If you want the more commercialized experience, you can head to the northern tip of the island. We only stayed one night, and I am not sure if I could have made it through an extended stay there. We stayed in June and the temp was 86/80. With no air conditioning and not much of a breeze in our room, it was impossible to get comfortable, especially at night while trying to sleep. The staff did what they could and brought us a big fan but I like my A/C so this place was not for me. If you can handle the heat, it's a great place, with great people, in a great location.

Room Tip: The higher up the room, the better the ocean breeze. Make sure you request an additional fan to help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lincoln222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This is by far one of the best places in the Caribbean to stay. No TV, telephones or radios. Just Nature and the Pitons. The staff are VERY warm and more than helpful. I was overwhelmed by the diversity of wildlife. I was able to handle a baby Python, saw may species of Tree Frogs and many different species of birds. The hummingbirds had jewel-like colors. I was so lucky to have seen the St Lucia Parrot. It was amazing. I attached a photo which was taken by a Conservancy. In the jungle canopy, look above and do not be surprised to see an iguana. I saw a weird little lizard which I found out was a Whiptail. I never did get to see the St Lucia Hippo :( Make sure to visit Soufrière. Geothermic fumaroles, and it does indeed smell like sulphur. The Rainforest was amazing. I had coconut jelly (immature coconut) for the first time. YUMMY! I am ashamed to say, the pictures of the waterfalls, I do not remember their names. If anyone out there recognizes them, PLEASE PM me so I can rename the pictures I wish I could have stayed longer, but I was only there two nights for business. It was wonderful :)

Room Tip: I did not access the fitness center or swimming poo. I was on a business trip and all extras time wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kittykatnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
0.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
969 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.8 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
746 reviews
18.4 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
762 reviews
7.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anse Chastanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anse Chastanet

Address: 1000 Anse Chastanet Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: £289 - £691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anse Chastanet 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility, Romance, Adventure: What were Caribbean hotels like when you sat watching the sunset instead of cable TV? You can still find that Classic Caribbean at Anse Chastanet on St. Lucia’s quiet southwestern coast where two magical peaks, the Pitons, leap from the sea and the mountains are covered with luminous greenery.Architect owner Nick Troubetzkoy believes passionately in nature. So he created a hotel that makes the foliage and the flowers, the perfumes and the peaks, the sea and the bird song an integral part of your vacation experience. The estate encompasses 600 lush tropical acres bordering two soft sand beaches. The resort’s two crystal-clear bays are part of a designated marine reserve protecting miles of colorful coral reefs teeming with tropical fish.With such a unique setting as his canvas, Nick Troubetzkoy was inspired to design a one -of-a-kind resort. A dozen rooms are tucked in behind the coconut palms that line the beach and the remainder tip toe up a flower decked hillside, taking advantage of the captivating scenery all around. Anse Chastanet’s ever growing art collection provides a visual feast of its own. There are impressive wooden sculptures and plaques, earthy burlap compositions, painted “sky ceilings” and vibrant acrylic paintings invoking memories of Matisse and Picasso.And while the sensuous seclusion of the rooms provides some guests with the perfect excuse for lolling away the day on the balcony, others head out to partake in the many activities on offer; yoga, snorkeling, scuba diving, tennis, sunset sailing, sea kayaking or jungle biking, hiking and bird-watching among the ruins of an 18th century colonial plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anse Chastanet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anse Chastanet Hotel Soufrière
Anse Chastanet St. Lucia/Soufriere
Anse Chastenet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing