We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous resort!”
Review of Anse Chastanet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anse Chastanet
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fabulous resort!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I loved this place! The rooms were great, the food even better, and the staff were perfection.
We were able to be upgraded to the Deluxe Beach rooms with air conditioning. There really is no view from these lower rooms but you make it up in size of the rooms and location. It is only a few steps to the beach and scuba shop. 10c was our room and it had an extra large patio. The hillside rooms have stunning views and that cannot be beat. If you need the air conditioning I would recommend getting the lower beach rooms.
All the restaurants have a great menu and absolutely the best food I have ever had at a resort. Emeralds is their vegetarian spot but we could order off their menu while dining in the Treehouse. My favorite was Apsara, the Indian themed restaurant. Others in the group (10) liked the Trou Au Diable (beach grill) but all agreed that the Treehouse was the most tongue tingling! We did get a chance to go to lunch up at Jade as well as enjoy a sunset happy hour....what a beautiful place. The rooms are to die for, the staff exquisite and the food beyond compare. Jade Mountain is certainly a piece of art that just happens to be a 5 star hotel.
Thank you to Caroline and all your staff for making our stay so memorable! Special thanks to Octavia, the house cleaner, Janelle and Marilyn the waitresses and all the staff that were always so friendly, warm and helpful!
Make sure you know exactly what your meal plan includes. We initially thought we had beverages but then told we did not, then we were told we did, and then later in the day told we that was a mistake and that we did not. Of course they comped us the beverages we did already have but it was rather confusing going back and forth explaining the the group what the latest was.

Room Tip: Hillside for views, beachside for convenience and air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kt10518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    197
    60
    44
    39
See reviews for
119
717
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is a fabulous resort and well worth a return trip in the future! I brought a group of ten down for diving and we were upgraded to the Beach rooms with air conditioning. Caroline made it a point to see that we were all doing well and comfortable. The Beach side rooms are, obviously close to the beach and dive shop so are convenient for that. They do not have a view at all so be willing to give up that for air conditioning. Friends that were staying in the rooms with a view said they would have gladly given up the view for the air.
We were able to enjoy a happy hour up at Jade Mountain resort with the group and timed it around sunset so we could have the best possible photo ops. What a beautiful place. If you have the opportunity to stay there, even for a night, I would recommend it.
The food at all four restaurants at Anse Chastanet was beyond belief. 5 star dining while on a dive trip was amazing. The one complaint I had was the confusion about the meal plan we were on. I was under the impression we were on the plan that included beverages but found out we were not. We were then told that was a mistake and that we were on the plan. Then we were told we were not. The confusion was more upsetting than anything else and going back and forth was sorting to get annoying as I had to keep updating 9 others in the group as to the latest decision. Beverages are rather pricey (5$ for a can of pop and 16$ for a glass of wine).
The staff are all fabulous and some stand out. Marilyn the waitress was great and entertaining. Octavia, providing our housekeeping was friendly and helpful, and Janell, also a waitress was splendid.
Scott, the manager of the dive shop and all activities was great! He was always available and did everything to make our diving easy and fun. The dive shop staff are all friendly and extremely helpful. Fabian, one of the captains even repaired my mask for me! Of course, the dive masters are what make the trip so great. Dave and Keither are the best. Thank you to you all!

Room Tip: Beach rooms have air conditioning but no view. We had room 10C and it was big with an extra large pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kt10518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The rooms are huge and wonderful, as long as you appreciate hand made everything, including all the furnature. The views over the bay are stunning, each morning we awoke at 05.00 just to watch the sun rise, cup of tea in hand.
Absolutely stunning! The fact there are no windows, just openings some with shuuters for privacy meant that you actually feel that you are living right in the flora and fauna of this beautiful island.
The staff are increadible, so chilled but so helpful.
The food quality was also excellent, just be careful of over zealous birds trying to join in.
While we where there, we did have an occassion where our daughter chose to have cereal, although she had to swap boxes as when emptied out it was also full of red ants. However, this was all part of living in the middle of such beauty and did not trouble us what so ever.
We have a policy of never going the same place twice, so that we see as much of the world as possible. However, Anse Chastanet may just see us again some time....

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Anse Chastanet! It is very beautiful and everyone was extremely kind. We stayed during the first week in September.

ROOMS: Unfortunately, the power went out in our first room (a standard room). That night they moved us over to a Hillside - these didn't have as much privacy. But then we were upgraded to a Premium Hillside suite, and that room was incredible and easily made up for it. The staff worked hard to minimize the impact on us. We had already planned to go on one of the walks in the following morning. Afterwards, we packed up our stuff and then headed to the beach. They moved our things to the new room while we were enjoying the beach. It really could not have been a smoother process! The owners even emailed me when we returned to apologize for any inconveniece.

The premium hillside room (7E) had views of both the ocean and the Pitons - each view had it's own sitting area. The shower was about 100sq ft with views of the Pitons. Beware it is open concept! This room was larger than most of the apartments I had as a young adult. Words can't do it justice, check out the pictures!

With the fan on, I was never hot. In fact, I was cold and had to get the extra blanket out of the closet - yes, in all 3 of the rooms I stayed in. Also, someone mentioned a converter below - and it was located in the closet.

ACTIVITIES: Sailing was absolutely awesome! We sailed towards the Pitons and snorkeled in front of Sugar Beach hotel. I highly recommend this of all of the activities there! The guided walk with Meno was also excellent - he told us a lot about the local plants and animals. Yoga on the beach was great too - we took 5 classes!

ANSE MAMIN BEACH: This resort has an incredibly beautiful second beach! And the best part is WE WERE THE ONLY ONES THERE! There was a grill and bar, and the staff was very friendly. But for the better part of 2 days - we were the only guests!! I guess the others either didn't know about it or were too lazy to walk over to it. The food was better at this beach grill than at the main beach. The beach lounges didn't have the thick cushions like at the other beach, but who cares when you have it all to yourself! It was the perfect place to relax and recuperate! My husband enjoyed the hammock. Also, the shore is less rocky and steep here than at the main beach - which makes it easier to get in and out of the water.

THE FOOD: was good not anymore expensive than any other island hotel restuarant. We enjoyed the Tree House restaurant, but it's nice to have a wider selection, especially for those of us who choose to eat all of our meals there. Even then, the beach grill staff accommodated my request to add chicken to the penne pasta :)

Lastly, someone previously mentioned it being difficult to have charges removed. They gave us our bill the night before to review and asked us to let them know in advance if anything was wrong. It was correct and we did not require any modifications - even though we charged to mulitple rooms during our stay.

Overall they are very accommodating and go above and beyond to ensure that you are enjoying your stay there. This is definitely not your 4Seasons or Hilton type hotel - it's so much better! If you want a butler (and tons of people) go to Sandals. This is your peace and quite, back to nature, just want to be left alone resort.

Room Tip: The deluxe hillside (octagon) rooms have the least privacy. Premium Hillside are the best if you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Location, location, location! The luxury cottages are spread on the hill overlooking the bay, top chefs offer fine dining and staff is friendly and free snorkling and sailing gear to discover the beautiful nature of the bay. Still remember the beach staff who served me with complimentary fresh fruits, lemon grass cold towel and eucalyptus spray. Top!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DutchAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Went in July can't remember if I did a review but have been looking at some of the negative comments and find it hard to agree. Yes some steps which can cause a problem for some people BUT it does tell you. The rooms are not slick boutique hotel rooms, but rooms which fit the surroundings, more colonial. We have a room up the hill (not at the top) with fantastic views and a great balcony which was used mostly in the evening. After an evening out you will come back to the beds turned back and incense burning to stop any Mosquitos. We found the staff really friendly and helpful. If you want phones, T.V and wifi in your room don't go. The resturants were all good, plenty of choice and beautifully cooked. What people need to do is read about the hotel, see what they offer, do the research. If I go back to St Lucia this is where I will stay. Thank you all at Anse Chastanet

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

1. The food is as good as many fine restaurants.
2. Service is spotty. For the most part all the staff are very friendly. They seemed to warm as the week went by. My main issue was the reception staff. We asked twice for a transformer which was never delivered. Asked about reservations to Jade for dinner which were basically ignored. A bill discrepancy took 30 minutes to finally resolve.
3. Room 2A had a great view when standing on the balcony. Room is virtually unusable from 10 am to 7pm., even with extra fan in room, due to the heat. And view could only be appreciated when standing as two chairs were below rail and not that comfortable anyway.
4. If I return it will be in a month with less humidity and only in a deluxe hillside room.
5. As I reread what I have just written it sounds as if I hated the trip. This is really not true. The beach is fantastic and the people who were staying there were delightful. I am sad that AC could be so much more with just a little work.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the setting sun are really hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lpierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
0.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.8 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
18.4 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anse Chastanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anse Chastanet

Property: Anse Chastanet
Address: 1000 Anse Chastanet Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Anse Chastanet 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility, Romance, Adventure: What were Caribbean hotels like when you sat watching the sunset instead of cable TV? You can still find that Classic Caribbean at Anse Chastanet on St. Lucia’s quiet southwestern coast where two magical peaks, the Pitons, leap from the sea and the mountains are covered with luminous greenery.Architect owner Nick Troubetzkoy believes passionately in nature. So he created a hotel that makes the foliage and the flowers, the perfumes and the peaks, the sea and the bird song an integral part of your vacation experience. The estate encompasses 600 lush tropical acres bordering two soft sand beaches. The resort’s two crystal-clear bays are part of a designated marine reserve protecting miles of colorful coral reefs teeming with tropical fish.With such a unique setting as his canvas, Nick Troubetzkoy was inspired to design a one -of-a-kind resort. A dozen rooms are tucked in behind the coconut palms that line the beach and the remainder tip toe up a flower decked hillside, taking advantage of the captivating scenery all around. Anse Chastanet’s ever growing art collection provides a visual feast of its own. There are impressive wooden sculptures and plaques, earthy burlap compositions, painted “sky ceilings” and vibrant acrylic paintings invoking memories of Matisse and Picasso.And while the sensuous seclusion of the rooms provides some guests with the perfect excuse for lolling away the day on the balcony, others head out to partake in the many activities on offer; yoga, snorkeling, scuba diving, tennis, sunset sailing, sea kayaking or jungle biking, hiking and bird-watching among the ruins of an 18th century colonial plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelbag, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Anse Chastanet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anse Chastanet Hotel Soufrière
Anse Chastanet St. Lucia/Soufriere
Anse Chastenet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing