We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but not for everyone”
Review of Anse Chastanet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anse Chastanet
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 June 2014

First off, let me say that we had a fantastic time at the Anse Chastanet. The food was fantastic and the hotel staff was just as great as the food. We did the full meal plan, but not inclusive drinks as we don't drink enough to get our money's worth from it.

We stayed in room 7E, which is the highest room on the mountain, and what the staff calls 'The View Room'. The view is incredible. From one side, you look out into the Caribbean, and from the other side you look across and down the coastline and into Soufriere itself. You are at the top of a VERY tall hill (a bit more of that in a minute), and the views are just spectacular. Almost all of the rooms are 'open air' meaning that basically the only thing between you and the rest of the world is a couple of slats of wood. No windows, no walls, no nothing, just open air. We did not have any issues at all with bugs, but there is mosquito netting around your bed that turndown service puts out each night.

We took several of the resort-led trips (one for the hike to the falls, and one to the plantation next door) which were really fun, especially our guide, Meno (sorry if I got the spelling wrong). He was fantastic, and always smiling. We also did the 1-day-a-week zip line which was OK (was nice to kind of cross the island to get there. The zip lining was just fair to good), and spent the other days at the beach. The beach situation was really nice, and the cabanas were some of the best we've seen in the Caribbean.

So, this brings up the 'not for everyone' piece. There is no air conditioning except, I think, in the lowest, beach villas. It was late May when we were there, lows in the mid-70's and highs in the mid-80's (which I think is pretty standard year-round). Coming from Texas was a bit of an adjustment just because we have air conditioning everywhere. All I can say is that for 5 of the 6 days we were there, it was hot, and at times we had to plan our day around finding a cooler spot. In our room the temperature never got below 80 degrees or so. For someone who would prefer it be an ice box to sleep, it was a bit of an adjustment. Light sleepers or late nighters probably won't be fans of the birds chirping and tree frogs croaking starting at about 5am each day. Open air means no air conditioning and no sound barriers to the rest of the world. It is extremely peaceful, relaxing and soothing, but not your typical 'set the thermostat to whatever you want' and 'sleep all day in a tomb' kind of a place. The one day is lightly rained and was overcast was cooler, but most days it was fairly still and you almost had to carry a portable fan around with you when you moved to different places in the room. Again, something you have to get used to.

Also, there is this hill. It's a big hill. It affects how you plan your day, so it's pretty considerable. From the beach to the main dining area/bar was about 180 steps. From the main dining area to our room was another about 170 steps. I am guessing that it is about a 250 foot vertical rise between beach and our room, give or take. That's like climbing the stairs of a 20 story building to go from beach (or beach restaurant) to the room. Or a 10 story building to go from the bar/upper restaurant to your room. One thing is that it keeps you in shape! We felt like we were in better shape going then coming, even though we ate a ton of food during our stay. But, it is something to consider and factor into your choices. They offer a ride up the mountain, but it is usually easier to walk.

Room Tip: 7E is 'the view room'. The most expensive of the rooms. It was fantastic and had plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Fstark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a super day there, starting with my reef dive in the morning with scuba st. Lucia, lunch after and the chicken quesadillas were not only big but very tasty, after my second dive in the afternoon, we hAd a wonderful swim and more pitons, overall a great day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Assuming you can find it, the road up to the hotel is right outside of Soufriere. Just ask a local where to go if you aren't sure. All of the locals I met were very helpful and polite. The road is very rugged and honestly is only wide enough for one car, passing another car is pretty hairy.

The hotel is beautiful, service was great, the food was amazing but everything is in USD. No exchange rate break at this resort. There is a nice view of the Piton(s) from the bar above the hotel reservation desk and down at the beach. Request a room with a great view of the Pitons when booking, so you can enjoy the view. Honestly, it's beautiful no matter where you are in the resort but there wasn't A/C in many of the rooms so be prepared for that. Really though, it wasn't hot at night at all.

Overall the resort was great, but we really didn't leave the resort because the road in/out was a stressful drive and there really weren't any places to ride out to and have a cheap meal. Honestly we really just didn't see anything that looked inviting in Soufriere; which was really disappointing because it would have been nice to have a cheaper, local meal once or twice while there.

Room Tip: Request a room with Air Conditioning and/or a view of the Pitons. Only select rooms have A/C and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rusty3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our views of the Pitons and the Caribbean were spectacular from our room at this superbly run resort. We can't say eneough about the staff, every one was extremely friendly, from Peter the manager to the servers who joined us on the dance floor, without exception couldn't do enough to please you in the friendless way. From relaxing on the beach to the sound of the surf, to scuba to jungle biking to sailing to walking tours to zip lining, there's something for everyone. Our 5 day stay wasn't long enough to take advantage of all the things we wanted to do and see. The Beach Burger was the best I've had in years.
Great resort, great beach, great people, great value!

Room Tip: Great savings to be had with the All Inclusive option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJC108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Bottom line, this place is nice. Very.

We went All Inclusive. That was 100% the best way to go. Honestly, in other places and on other islands, you can avoid AI, but to not go AI but at this resort is tricky. The road in and out is ‘difficult’ and there are not a lot of nearby restaurants, etc. While we were there a couple who were not on AI but trying to drive in and out rolled their car off the edge of the road – a small tree saved them from a looooooooooooong drop. It just isn’t the place to try to do this. The resort, food and amenities are lovely… enjoy it! :)
Since the reviews have an ongoing debate about AI, thought we’d way in. The food and drinks are costly enough that AI was worth it (put a couple pics of menus) and it is so nice to just walk and get a drink or snack and not have to worry about carrying $ everywhere you go; aside for tipping. As you can see from other people’s posts, it does not make sense to not go AI and then spend a week squealing about the cost of everything. This is a high-end place, and it has the prices to match!
We made this one comment to the resort upon leaving, but a couple of times (in a week) a staff member was serving up a liquor that was not on the AI list that we did not ask for; for example, they will include 4 types of gin but have 2 more brands not included. To us, there is no point in serving this non-included liquor to someone when they ask for a gin + tonic. So that cost us a bit extra on our exit bill that was unwarranted. Something to perhaps keep an eye on.

The staff at the hotel are wonderful. Friendly and try hard to please. Hard workers. We were always impressed with the quality of service in the restaurants, bars, beach and rooms. One worker at Anse Mamin, the other beach, has to be the hardest worker on the planet with the best work ethic ever. Anthony. Wow. He is just working so hard at everything and especially to keep the beach and grounds at this other beach lovely.

We did not get a ‘beach front’ room, but a regular room on the hill and to be honest, we were glad we did because we had a nice view and the main breakfast restaurant/lunch/dinner – the Treehouse- is up where the regular rooms are. So you would have to go up there anyway. Quite beautiful view from the rooms on the hill, we enjoyed the sunset from up there (and on the beach – wow).

We did a lot of swimming and snorkelling and are ‘beach people’. This resort has nice snorkelling – lots of fish and turtles around, and the beach – there are 2 of them. The main one, Anse Chastanet has lovely huge cabanas, I think these are the nicest we ever saw on any Caribbean island. Same as the beach chairs/loungers, just lovely. The second beach, Anse Mamin (included a map in the pics) is also very nice. It is a nice stroll over there along the coast on a road the hotel put in there. Lovely snorkelling and the rocks between the two beaches along the walkway – well… wow. It would keep a geology class busy for a month! Quite fascinating to look at. The beach service is great. You can even order from a menu at your cabana. The staff run when you get to the beach to put towels on your chair and headrest. They are working hard.

One item we found lacking – and this was rare to find anything lacking – were Hobie Cats (small catamaran). We love them, and there isn’t even one at this place. Missed that. There is a small – sail unit/boat but it just isn’t the same. We used the kayak’s, paddleboards - all great, and if you paddle out a way you can get some lovely pics of the Pitons just behind you.

We did some of the hotel activities – they have morning and afternoon walks, which are interesting to go on – around the local area, property, hills and so on. We also did the Saturday morning walk to the little town of Soufriere. That was nice and it is market day. It is nice the hotel has these extras.
The only hotel experience that was a bit 'laughable' was the welcome meeting/orientation/meet-and-greet; the manager doing it just went on and on about nothing and finally walked you around down to the beach, but basically didn't say much of importance. It was a slightly painful 1.5 hours! Had to read the hotel info binder in the room to find out the important stuff anyway. lol!

We did one paid excursion, which was to climb the Gros Piton. It was a lovely experience. The hotel is good in that they send you out at 6:30am as it is about a +30 min taxi ride and then you start the climb. Not that it is a lot cooler in the morning, but it is a hot climb so to start this later is even more difficult. We were the first ones to the top on the day we went. One note – don’t try this excursion if you are not seriously able to march onward and upwards on uneven terrain in the heat. It is not for the faint of heart. But what an amazing experience!

Overall, this is a lovely resort. We did a lunch at Jade Mountain Resort also as part of our AI. Wow, what a view. Just a lovely experience. The Beach BBQ evening was combined with the manager cocktail party - it is so lovely sitting on the beach - lined with torches and the nice evening warm weather.

We were pleased with everything at the resort – just a great great holiday!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J_travelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My friends and I were staying at a villa up the road from the hotel but came down several times during the week to spend some time on the beach (we liked Anse Mamin just a few minutes further quite a bit). We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful - we took out kayaks and paddleboards a couple times. And when we we were going out on a sailboat tour, they offered us their scuba boat to transfer us from the dock to the sailboat without our prompting. The main bar on the beach had delicious cocktails and comparable prices to what we saw around Soufriere in general.

I can't speak to the hotel itself, but the bar, the beach and the staff were wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I just returned from our second visit to Anse Chastanet. We were there five years ago. It was all we remembered and more. From the people, the food, the facilities, the diving, the facilities, the beach, and the other activities, everything was first class. We have been to many places in the Caribbean and Anse Chastanet stands apart from them all due largely to its people and food. The staff members constantly exceeded our expectations. We will not wait another five years to return.

They warn you about all of the steps from the beach (there were 147 from the beach to our room) . We walked them an average of five times per day. While it never got very much easier, it did lessen our guilt when eating all of the good food and desserts.

The views of the sea and the Pitons were fantastic.

We would recommend Anse Chastanet completely.

Room Tip: Decide if you want a Piton or valley view. Both are pretty good. The sea is visible from both sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John-Barbara31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
0.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.8 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
18.4 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
752 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anse Chastanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anse Chastanet

Address: 1000 Anse Chastanet Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: £266 - £620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anse Chastanet 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility, Romance, Adventure: What were Caribbean hotels like when you sat watching the sunset instead of cable TV? You can still find that Classic Caribbean at Anse Chastanet on St. Lucia’s quiet southwestern coast where two magical peaks, the Pitons, leap from the sea and the mountains are covered with luminous greenery.Architect owner Nick Troubetzkoy believes passionately in nature. So he created a hotel that makes the foliage and the flowers, the perfumes and the peaks, the sea and the bird song an integral part of your vacation experience. The estate encompasses 600 lush tropical acres bordering two soft sand beaches. The resort’s two crystal-clear bays are part of a designated marine reserve protecting miles of colorful coral reefs teeming with tropical fish.With such a unique setting as his canvas, Nick Troubetzkoy was inspired to design a one -of-a-kind resort. A dozen rooms are tucked in behind the coconut palms that line the beach and the remainder tip toe up a flower decked hillside, taking advantage of the captivating scenery all around. Anse Chastanet’s ever growing art collection provides a visual feast of its own. There are impressive wooden sculptures and plaques, earthy burlap compositions, painted “sky ceilings” and vibrant acrylic paintings invoking memories of Matisse and Picasso.And while the sensuous seclusion of the rooms provides some guests with the perfect excuse for lolling away the day on the balcony, others head out to partake in the many activities on offer; yoga, snorkeling, scuba diving, tennis, sunset sailing, sea kayaking or jungle biking, hiking and bird-watching among the ruins of an 18th century colonial plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anse Chastanet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anse Chastanet Hotel Soufrière
Anse Chastanet St. Lucia/Soufriere
Anse Chastenet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing