We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, romantic escape with gourmet food!”
Review of Anse Chastanet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anse Chastanet
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you are looking for a nice get-away with amazing food, warm friendly staff and interesting activities nearby, you will love this little boutique resort. If you are looking to be surrounded by other guests and staying in a hotel that could be anywhere, this is not the place for you.
This a wonderful escape and we were shocked on how amazing the food was. We normally do not do "all inclusive:" options. We originally did not. Once we had 2 meals, we knew we would not find better food with out significant effort leaving the resort. We were impressed and surprised by the daily changing selections.

Room Tip: 2A and 2 B have better views that are not obstructed. If you have more cash to go super deluxe, try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELLE_BEE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Anse Chastenet is truly a tropical paradise, and we enjoyed the island vibe. We experienced exceptional service, an overabundance of delicious, gourmet meals, and were treated every day to magnificent views of the resort, ocean, sunsets, sun rise, and the awe inspiring Pitons.

Our room was made up impeccably every day into a romantic place to return to thanks to our "floral designer" housekeeper Berniece. Every staff member we interacted with seemed to enjoy providing service to guests, which was a real change from some places we have been in our travels. There are several hundred variety of birds on the island, and they did wake us up a little early some days.

My husband's dive group went out several days and the dive masters, boat captains and other staff were professional, knowledgeable, and very personable to everyone on their boat. There is good snorkeling right off the beach as well, which I took advantage of as I don't dive.

The beach huts were a perfect way to spend lazing around, and we took advantage of our all-inclusive plan (we didn't include alcohol last time but would in the future) for regular meals as well as time spent at the beach. It was definitely worth the short jaunt to Anse Mamin, which is a little quieter separate beach but with all the same amenities as the main beach area. Very attentive staff there as well.

The food is delicious and there are Indian influences in many of the dishes. Desserts of all kinds, and every tropical drink we could think of were available. With the rough drive into and out of the resort, the all-inclusive plan is really the most efficient way to purchase meals.

Reading about the resort before choosing it is important because all their descriptions are accurate. The resort (and sister property Jade Mountain) is built into a hillside and there are no elevators or escalators. There are a lot of steps down and back from the beach, but plenty of lovely landings to stop and admire the view while you are headed up. For those times when we ate too much dinner, there was a shuttle to drive us up to our rooms which was very nice. The rooms on the hillsides are quaint and spacious but don't have A/C, however we were able to get a second fan which helped.

The plantation mountain bike ride was fun, with plenty of areas to challenge more experienced riders. Our guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining about the history of the plantation.

All in all a gorgeous setting, lots of gourmet food, and gracious staff. We are looking forward to a return trip in the next couple of years!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michellee5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Took off for a long weekend and ended up at this hotel - great choice. Lots of americans staying when we were there, inc plenty of honeymooners.
Delicious food and service - the staff here are exceptionally gracious and friendly - lovely older women serving your meals with a smile and a cheeky gleam in their eye - could not fault them.

Ate very well, plenty of choice - the resort is quiet and peaceful and would probably suit those who are seeking relaxation. On the final day had fully body massages which were superb and made the flight back to UK turn into a brief interlude
.
Some of the nicest staff that I have met in any hotel worldwide - a credit to the place. Would return in a shot

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BullThistleFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

First off, let me say that we had a fantastic time at the Anse Chastanet. The food was fantastic and the hotel staff was just as great as the food. We did the full meal plan, but not inclusive drinks as we don't drink enough to get our money's worth from it.

We stayed in room 7E, which is the highest room on the mountain, and what the staff calls 'The View Room'. The view is incredible. From one side, you look out into the Caribbean, and from the other side you look across and down the coastline and into Soufriere itself. You are at the top of a VERY tall hill (a bit more of that in a minute), and the views are just spectacular. Almost all of the rooms are 'open air' meaning that basically the only thing between you and the rest of the world is a couple of slats of wood. No windows, no walls, no nothing, just open air. We did not have any issues at all with bugs, but there is mosquito netting around your bed that turndown service puts out each night.

We took several of the resort-led trips (one for the hike to the falls, and one to the plantation next door) which were really fun, especially our guide, Meno (sorry if I got the spelling wrong). He was fantastic, and always smiling. We also did the 1-day-a-week zip line which was OK (was nice to kind of cross the island to get there. The zip lining was just fair to good), and spent the other days at the beach. The beach situation was really nice, and the cabanas were some of the best we've seen in the Caribbean.

So, this brings up the 'not for everyone' piece. There is no air conditioning except, I think, in the lowest, beach villas. It was late May when we were there, lows in the mid-70's and highs in the mid-80's (which I think is pretty standard year-round). Coming from Texas was a bit of an adjustment just because we have air conditioning everywhere. All I can say is that for 5 of the 6 days we were there, it was hot, and at times we had to plan our day around finding a cooler spot. In our room the temperature never got below 80 degrees or so. For someone who would prefer it be an ice box to sleep, it was a bit of an adjustment. Light sleepers or late nighters probably won't be fans of the birds chirping and tree frogs croaking starting at about 5am each day. Open air means no air conditioning and no sound barriers to the rest of the world. It is extremely peaceful, relaxing and soothing, but not your typical 'set the thermostat to whatever you want' and 'sleep all day in a tomb' kind of a place. The one day is lightly rained and was overcast was cooler, but most days it was fairly still and you almost had to carry a portable fan around with you when you moved to different places in the room. Again, something you have to get used to.

Also, there is this hill. It's a big hill. It affects how you plan your day, so it's pretty considerable. From the beach to the main dining area/bar was about 180 steps. From the main dining area to our room was another about 170 steps. I am guessing that it is about a 250 foot vertical rise between beach and our room, give or take. That's like climbing the stairs of a 20 story building to go from beach (or beach restaurant) to the room. Or a 10 story building to go from the bar/upper restaurant to your room. One thing is that it keeps you in shape! We felt like we were in better shape going then coming, even though we ate a ton of food during our stay. But, it is something to consider and factor into your choices. They offer a ride up the mountain, but it is usually easier to walk.

Room Tip: 7E is 'the view room'. The most expensive of the rooms. It was fantastic and had plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Fstark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a super day there, starting with my reef dive in the morning with scuba st. Lucia, lunch after and the chicken quesadillas were not only big but very tasty, after my second dive in the afternoon, we hAd a wonderful swim and more pitons, overall a great day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Assuming you can find it, the road up to the hotel is right outside of Soufriere. Just ask a local where to go if you aren't sure. All of the locals I met were very helpful and polite. The road is very rugged and honestly is only wide enough for one car, passing another car is pretty hairy.

The hotel is beautiful, service was great, the food was amazing but everything is in USD. No exchange rate break at this resort. There is a nice view of the Piton(s) from the bar above the hotel reservation desk and down at the beach. Request a room with a great view of the Pitons when booking, so you can enjoy the view. Honestly, it's beautiful no matter where you are in the resort but there wasn't A/C in many of the rooms so be prepared for that. Really though, it wasn't hot at night at all.

Overall the resort was great, but we really didn't leave the resort because the road in/out was a stressful drive and there really weren't any places to ride out to and have a cheap meal. Honestly we really just didn't see anything that looked inviting in Soufriere; which was really disappointing because it would have been nice to have a cheaper, local meal once or twice while there.

Room Tip: Request a room with Air Conditioning and/or a view of the Pitons. Only select rooms have A/C and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rusty3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our views of the Pitons and the Caribbean were spectacular from our room at this superbly run resort. We can't say eneough about the staff, every one was extremely friendly, from Peter the manager to the servers who joined us on the dance floor, without exception couldn't do enough to please you in the friendless way. From relaxing on the beach to the sound of the surf, to scuba to jungle biking to sailing to walking tours to zip lining, there's something for everyone. Our 5 day stay wasn't long enough to take advantage of all the things we wanted to do and see. The Beach Burger was the best I've had in years.
Great resort, great beach, great people, great value!

Room Tip: Great savings to be had with the All Inclusive option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJC108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
0.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
963 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.8 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
743 reviews
7.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
18.4 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anse Chastanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anse Chastanet

Address: 1000 Anse Chastanet Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: £288 - £653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anse Chastanet 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility, Romance, Adventure: What were Caribbean hotels like when you sat watching the sunset instead of cable TV? You can still find that Classic Caribbean at Anse Chastanet on St. Lucia’s quiet southwestern coast where two magical peaks, the Pitons, leap from the sea and the mountains are covered with luminous greenery.Architect owner Nick Troubetzkoy believes passionately in nature. So he created a hotel that makes the foliage and the flowers, the perfumes and the peaks, the sea and the bird song an integral part of your vacation experience. The estate encompasses 600 lush tropical acres bordering two soft sand beaches. The resort’s two crystal-clear bays are part of a designated marine reserve protecting miles of colorful coral reefs teeming with tropical fish.With such a unique setting as his canvas, Nick Troubetzkoy was inspired to design a one -of-a-kind resort. A dozen rooms are tucked in behind the coconut palms that line the beach and the remainder tip toe up a flower decked hillside, taking advantage of the captivating scenery all around. Anse Chastanet’s ever growing art collection provides a visual feast of its own. There are impressive wooden sculptures and plaques, earthy burlap compositions, painted “sky ceilings” and vibrant acrylic paintings invoking memories of Matisse and Picasso.And while the sensuous seclusion of the rooms provides some guests with the perfect excuse for lolling away the day on the balcony, others head out to partake in the many activities on offer; yoga, snorkeling, scuba diving, tennis, sunset sailing, sea kayaking or jungle biking, hiking and bird-watching among the ruins of an 18th century colonial plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anse Chastanet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anse Chastanet Hotel Soufrière
Anse Chastanet St. Lucia/Soufriere
Anse Chastenet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing