We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One amazing vacation spot”
Review of Anse Chastanet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anse Chastanet
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Anse Chastanet has to be one of the most amazing places I have ever been. The resort is beautiful. The staff were extremely friendly and incredibly accomodating. I brought a wedding group of 20 people to this small resort, hoping for a romantic and fun gettaway. I got just that. Every wish was granted on our 8 day, 7 night vacation.

Yes, this is an open air resort. But it was never an issue for us. We did get hot when dancing to the local entertainment that was provided every night in the Piton Bar. But nothing a frozen pina colada wouldn't help. Yes, there are several steps at the resort (from the beach to the main level over 100). But again not an issue for us. We loved the workout that it provided every day.

If you are looking for a quiet romantic getaway, I would highly recommend looking into Anse Chastanet.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NOLA_RTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

891 - 897 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2009

It has been just a few weeks since returning from our superb 25th wedding anniversary holiday in St Lucia where we stayed at Anse Chastenet for 5 nights and their sister location further up the hill at Jade Mountain for our last 2 nights ( April 3 -April 10 2009).

We have been lucky to travel quite a bit so come away from our time in St Lucia knowing we have had a week which will always be remembered as a particularly happy, restoring, interesting and distinctive time. It was also very delicious with respect to food and wine, which is not always the case in the Caribbean.

Some of the things which we felt shone at Anse Chastenet were :

1. The care to detail and love which you can feel has been poured into this place decade after decade by the same owners, room by room , each which is unique and lovely - particularily those on the hillside with a view of the Pitons and the sea ( we were in 3C which also had a beautiful tree growing through the middle of the room as well as a whole wall of shutters which opened out onto the sea, sky and mountains gilded by flowers and birds which enchantingly flew in and out )
2.The remarkably open and welcoming warmth of all who work at Anse Chastenet. We felt surrounded by a happy, helpful and proud team who seemed gracious by nature but hopefully are also sharing in the benefits of a very successful and heartfelt operation which seems genuinely committed to quality for the guest at the same time as fair labour and ecological practices in the internal running of the business. Many of the staff have been working and helping build Anse Chastenet for decades.
3. The absence of TV’s, telephones, and the whole banana boat/ 24-7 poolside party/eating at the trough kind of mentality made this Caribbean week so special. Anse Chastenet attracts a different kind of person - people who want the thrill of a noiseless sunset; the peaceful chorus of tree frogs to send you to sleep rather than the disco; a perfect cove of palapas beach huts on the most beautiful beach- banked on one side by a marine Nature Reserve where some of the best snorkeling and diving in the Carribean is a step away ; where service of well chosen beverages ( including decent wines !) and interesting beach food is always at hand; where an itinerary of thoughtful and thought provoking excursions led by knowledgeable locals are available and well worth participating in; where carefully chosen Lucian musicians with some remarkable acts unfold under the stars …
4. We are foodies - chefs actually and have our own restaurant, so our time off is not easily found and any travel plans always revolve around food and wine as well as nature and history. We can honestly say that the food at Anse Chastenet was delicious. The menus were gutsy and intelligent and were served knowledgeably with warmth and gusto. This was particularly so on the beach at Aspara, Trou au Diable and a boat ride away at the Jungle Grill on Anse Mamin which is not to be missed. The use of a real tandoor oven ; huge grills made out of old sugar cane boilers ( which speak to the cruel history of slave trade which is delivered in an informative and unalloyed way by the wonderful and forthright excursion leader, Meno ) ; of local produce and of serious chefs in charge of a well honed brigade all contribute to what we found to be a superior culinary experience. The house wines, included in most packages were also much better than expected with choices of Pinot Grigio, Chardonnay or Sauvignon Blanc in the white or Merlot or Cabernet Sauvignon in the red (all from Chili).
5. All these huge plusses before we even mention the extraordinary natural beauty of St Lucia in general or of the location of Anse Chastenet in particular ! Anse Chastenet has been built cottage by cottage up the side of a steep incline a couple of bays from the Pitons and has two beautiful beaches at the foot of a welcome stone staircase which helps keep one fit and ready for the next glorious meal.. There are beachside cottages but it may be worth saving up for the hillside units to be able to have a view of Pitons and sea ..

We were fortunate to be upgraded on request to the relatively new Jade Mountain ( opened 2 years ago) for our last 2 nights. This is a sister hotel to and just further up the hill from Anse Chastenet. Jade Mountain is quite a different experience than the lovely Anse Chastenet.

Jade Mountain is built on top of the hill, and literally straight up. It was daringly designed by architect and Anse Chastenet co-owner, Nick Troubetzkoy. Entering Jade is like walking onto the set of a James Bond movie and we will truly be disappointed and surprised if this extraordinary structure is not featured in JB’s next film. Imagine a 1960’s style multi-level open air roundabout concrete carpark - now make all the edges into Douglas Cardinal-like undulating organic curves; give one side gorgeous panels of hard wood shutters and leave the other side completely open to the heavens above and sea below.

Within this surprisingly beautiful carapace, extraordinary “sanctuaries” have been designed - each different but each including a skywalk entry, all at different elevations on one side and at the other a breathtaking infinity pool instead of an outer wall which meets seamlessly with the endless sky and gives one the feeling of floating, suspended high above the sea below and brow to brow with the Pitons.
Our “sanctuary” (JB2) is handsomely appointed with sustainably harvested hardwood furniture with clean contemporary lines, a huge open bathroom a few steps up from the main living area with a large Jacuzzi type tub with chromatherapy lights (??) beautiful sinks, mirrors and open shower. Every part of the room gives out to the sky, we seem far above the tree line and the sun and moon are our only interlopers- played out in double when mirrored in the perfectly flat surface of the infinity pool. We had rather shuddered at the calling of the rooms in Jade Mountain “sanctuaries” thinking that such a title was a bit OTT. Actually though, this is a space where you do feel a bit in suspended reality and you really do not want to leave - this environment nudges you into a calmness where we find ourselves not seeking outside stimulus except to climb through the strikingly beautiful labyrinth of skywalks up to restaurant where an international style menu is brightened with very special vegetables grown at the resorts’ own Emerald Farm and enjoyed in the open air high above the sea with birds wheeling in the air below. The staff for the most part are more discreet and reserved at Jade than on the beach and actually we miss the spontanaety and warmth of the team at Anse Chastenet ( although Kimberly certainly has this all ) but perhaps this is what is wanted by some of the jetset type guests of Jade who arrive by helicopter to seek refuge from it all. While we will of course never fit into that category the slip of time at Jade was a pure and extraordinary tonic. We had wondered whether it would all strike a too hedonistic and decadent note for us fairly down to earth people. But Jade’s thoughtful attention to detail - from the interesting books left in the room ; to the artwork installations underway ; to the buildings’ very design where you feel the starting point was certainly how to create a living space - a platform almost - from which you can best experience what is outside; and so many other careful touches,large and small, are all homages to beauty in different ways. While the Jade experience is certainly a luxury and quite possibly a once in a lifetime one at that, it is profoundly also a celebration of the beauty of St. Lucia and of the uplifting place of beauty and art in general.

We come home now to work hard and put a bit of money aside each month as we always do to finance our next amazing trip somewhere - we do know however that Anse Chastenet is on our very small and select list of beloved places to return to. A couple of night at Jade if we can afford it is also on that list.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Les F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

We stayed her for a week from 22nd Feb 2009 after staying teh first week at Sandals Regency. We were in a Hillside Deluxe Room No. 15B which was marvelous. We had brilliant view of the ocean from our 'living area' andduring the day would be visited by yellow grass finches who would eat and drink what ever we gave them! At dusk we would have a nightly display of fruit bats flying past our room and the sound of frogs everywhere and some of them were even outside our roo. These frogs were tiny but beuatiful. As we both love wildlife these events made our holiday.
We loved there being enough Cabbanas on the beach for all of the guests and I must say it was great to be able to completely get out of the sun and still stay on the beach.
We had a couple of trips with Mano one to the old plantation which you get to via the Manim beach (Jungle takes you in the resort boat), and one to a waterfall fed by the sulpher springs so the man made pools had varying degrees of warm and hot water in them.
We also went on a trip of the highlights of Southfriere which was OK but not really worth the money.
The problem with this resort (apart for the steps!) is that is a bit cut off and to do various trips needs a minimum number. We wantes ro go zip lining but it needed 6 people (which we didn't get) so unless we wanted to pay a premium (ie for all 6 persons) you may not get on a trip you want.
The food was good but very much 'fine dining' in the evening and we would have liked more basic choice . We did go all inclusive so it wasn't price just the food being quite rich.
We both had a Swedish massage which was very good and the SPA was very professionally run.
The staff at Anse Chastanet were lovely, very helpful and polite at all times. The managers always knew your name. I got bitten twice by a centipede (same one!) and the duty manager couldn't have been more helpful and sent the cleaners to our room to sort out the problem. I would add the centipede must have fallen from a tree or roof onto me and I ended up taking it onto the room - it wasn't there to start with!

We did get a look at a infinity pool suite at Jade Mountian which was superb (but far too expensive for us to swap rooms!).

Overall we had a good holiday at this resort. We had taken a portable DVD player and headphones so we had something to do in the venings. If you get easily bored with no TV you might want to think again about going her. But if you want a relaxing holiday being spoiled this is the place.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koiboysnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2009

My husband and I just returned from our twenty-fifth wedding anniversary trip from Anse Chastanet and overall could not have been happier. I had spent countless hours checking out this site for reviews and I thank all of you who posted and helped me make my decision.
We arrived late on American Airlines due to being diverted for a medical emergency on board. Therefore, our luggage never made it (It took 2 days plus to get it). However, upon checking in at the resort, they were very concerned and promised us they would keep in contact with the airport and get our luggage ASAP. They gave us t- shirts to sleep in. The airline gave us tooth paste etc. Thankfully, I packed our bathing suits and clothes appropriate for dinner in our carry-on!!! We did have to buy sunscreen at the boutique for $21 US (ouch) but no choice there, you must have it on.
We were taken up to our room (12B) after a lovely check-in. We had a deluxe hillside room with a water view. I was somewhat disappointed on not being able to see the pitons. Actually, the only “public” spot that we found at the resort with a view of the pitons was the main bar and the Emerald restaurant directly above it. Otherwise just those in a room with a piton/ocean view could enjoy them. If we ever get to go back, I will request a piton view! Our room was pretty and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was large with double sinks and a huge shower, but I felt that the tile on the floor could have used a good scrubbing. We had no hair dryer in the bathroom, so the next day I asked for one. It was delivered promptly; however, there was no place to plug it in. I mentioned it the next day to one of the manager’s who asked how my room was and by the time we got back to our room after the day at the beach, an electrician had installed a mounted dryer in the bathroom! (Couldn’t understand why there wasn’t one there to begin with)
The food was very good, especially dinners. There are several restaurant choices. Lunches got a little old, the menu never changed. The food was good though. The wait staff was very good and could not have been nicer. We had the “Total Romance” package which was all-inclusive. It was worth every penny! Food is pricey, not unlike any other hotel. A hamburger at the beach bar was $16 US add French fries for $5 US. A glass of house chardonnay was $7 US. Dinner was generally $160 for two (3 courses and a couple glasses of wine each). You get my point; it was nice not worrying about how much we spent on food and drink.
The activities were wonderful! Again, they were included in our “Total Romance” package. We went scuba diving, on a guided snorkel trip at the base of the pitons, jungle biking and a sail on Serenity with Captain Erwin (loved this!). All of the staff was exceptional!
The beach was beautiful but smaller than I expected. The staff taking care of you there was wonderful.
The nightly entertainment in the main bar was fun to watch. The wait staff there added to the entertainment by dancing and occasionally trying to get shy patrons up and dancing too! The bands usually ended by 10:30. This isn't a resort with a lot of nightlife. It's quiet.
Overall, our stay was everything I had hoped for. If you don’t want to stay at a resort that feels like you are on a cruise ship, this is the place for you. Beautifully unique!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TrishCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

Anse Chastanet, (pronounced: "On-sha-sta-nay"), is a beautiful and unique small resort at the southwestern side of St. Lucia, near the town of Soufriere, (most often pronounced: "Sue-fray"). Contrary to all the reports about the bone-jarring road leading up to the resort, my wife and I thought the road wasn't nearly as bad as we heard. It is asphalt patch-work and rocks, but the taxis go slow and it is not a factor.

Like all the resorts in the south end of the island, Anse Chastanet is near the many natural wonders of the St. Lucia, including The Pitons, (pronounced: "pea-tawns"), the volcano, Diamond Falls, and many botanical gardens). For those who desire romantic isolation, adventure, and natural beauty, we recommend Anse Chasanet, Jade Mountain Resort and Ladera Resort. You can't go wrong with any of these three romantic boutique resorts. Of the three, Anse Chasanet is the only one on the beach where you can lie in bed and listen to the waves on the beach. But be aware that all three resorts are an hour and a half or so way away from the shopping and the many restaurants at the north end of St. Lucia near Casteries, Rodney Bay, and Gros Inlet.

Anse Chastanet is located on and above a pictuesque private beach with a second even more beautiful beach just to the north, but on the same 600 acre estate. The rooms are lovely and extremely comfortable with one or two open walls facing the amazing view. Despite the open air room, we never saw a bug of any kind and were not bothered by the occasional bird looking for a hand-out. The rooms are very private and are so nice, you are reluctant to leave them and venture outside! The staff is wonderful and the food at the three on-site restaurants was very good. Our only complaint is there are no bath tubs or whirlpool baths in any of the rooms - only showers.

Be aware that there is a steep climb up several flights of stone steps from the beach to two of the three restaurants and guest rooms on the hillside - although some rooms and one restarant are on the beach. There is a shuttle available if you do not wish to climb the steps.

Anse Chastanet offers a number of activities similar to what you would expect from most beach resorts, but also includes a boat trip to nearby Soufriere or a day trip by boat to Casteries for a shopping. Another unique activity we enjoyed at Anse Chastanet was Jungle Biking through the ruins of a 200+ year old sugar and cocoa plantaion within the same 600 acre estate. Our guide, Tyson, was personable, knowledgeable, and considerate. There are trails for every experience level.

As was recommended by a fellow Trip Advisor member, we splurged and spent one night at the incredible Jade Mountain Resort adjoining Anse Chastanet to celebrate my wife's birthday. Although it was 3 times the price, the photos and memories will last a life-time! We highly recommend at least one night's stay at Jade Mountain.

We plan to return again to St. Lucia next year and we plan to spend 3 days in the south, 2 days in the north, and then take some day trips by air or ferry to some of the other nearby islands of St. Vincent, Martinique, Dominca or The Grenadines. There is much to see in and around this island paradise!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

We had a fantastic time at Anse Chastanet on our Honeymoon. This is a fantastic (St. Lucia in general as well) place to go if you want an active vacation. If you want to just sit on the beach, there are other places to go that will cost you much less. In one week we were able to Scuba Dive, Snorkel, Mountain Bike, visit the Sulfur Springs, climb the Pitons (not easy!), take a boat trip to Soufiere and Castries, sunset cruise on the sailboat, hike in the rain forest, take a day trip to the Grenadines and much more.

Three things I would advise another traveler: 1.) If you are getting a great room at Anse or Jade and have flexible travel dates, go when there is a full moon. We were in 7A and could see the outline of the Pitons at night for most of our visit. It was amazing. 2.) If you have the means ($390/person) I would highly recommend the day trip to the Grenadines. The brochure doesn't do it justice. The boat and captain were great, the water is the clearest, the islands are mostly untouched, and Tabago Kay and swimming with sea turtles was one of the highlights of our trip. 3.) If you haven't stayed at Ladera or don't plan on it, go to dinner at Dashenee there one night. Make sure you get there for sunset. The food and view are unbelievable.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BadgerConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We had a wonderful time at Anse Chastanet! The staff could not have been more friendly, helpful and accomodating. The room was beautiful and comfortable, although one night when it was very hot and humid, I had trouble sleeping. Travelocity, whom I
booked through, had stated we would have a meal plan included in our rate - and I booked a Deluxe Beachfront Room. Upon arrival, the room I had paid for was not
available, and we didn't have the meal plan included in the rate. As compensation for
the room mix-up, the manager gave us the meal plan, which probably saved us the
$160 per day in food charges for 2 meals, and 2 one hour massages.

The setting of the resort is indescribably beautiful. The only complaint we had was that there were 102 stairs from the beach to the hotel lobby and another 102 steps up to our
room - and we could have taken the shuttle, but decided it was good exercise for us, especially given that we couldn't resist the wonderful meals and desserts that we found at the restaurants. We enjoyed watching the hummingbirds feeding as we sat on our porch - and loved the beautiful little birds that hung out with us, waiting for food. What a treat when one of them flew into room, nabbed a macadamia nut that I had been saving to ration out to them on our porch - and then flew out of the room, with a little convincing from my husband.

Overall - I find myself still mentally replaying the experience of our visit - with fond and euphoric memories of the entire stay. I look forward to our next visit to Anse Chastanet,
and will get the meal plan, for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adventuresnfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
0.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
969 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.8 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
746 reviews
18.4 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
762 reviews
7.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anse Chastanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anse Chastanet

Address: 1000 Anse Chastanet Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: £289 - £691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anse Chastanet 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility, Romance, Adventure: What were Caribbean hotels like when you sat watching the sunset instead of cable TV? You can still find that Classic Caribbean at Anse Chastanet on St. Lucia’s quiet southwestern coast where two magical peaks, the Pitons, leap from the sea and the mountains are covered with luminous greenery.Architect owner Nick Troubetzkoy believes passionately in nature. So he created a hotel that makes the foliage and the flowers, the perfumes and the peaks, the sea and the bird song an integral part of your vacation experience. The estate encompasses 600 lush tropical acres bordering two soft sand beaches. The resort’s two crystal-clear bays are part of a designated marine reserve protecting miles of colorful coral reefs teeming with tropical fish.With such a unique setting as his canvas, Nick Troubetzkoy was inspired to design a one -of-a-kind resort. A dozen rooms are tucked in behind the coconut palms that line the beach and the remainder tip toe up a flower decked hillside, taking advantage of the captivating scenery all around. Anse Chastanet’s ever growing art collection provides a visual feast of its own. There are impressive wooden sculptures and plaques, earthy burlap compositions, painted “sky ceilings” and vibrant acrylic paintings invoking memories of Matisse and Picasso.And while the sensuous seclusion of the rooms provides some guests with the perfect excuse for lolling away the day on the balcony, others head out to partake in the many activities on offer; yoga, snorkeling, scuba diving, tennis, sunset sailing, sea kayaking or jungle biking, hiking and bird-watching among the ruins of an 18th century colonial plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anse Chastanet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anse Chastanet Hotel Soufrière
Anse Chastanet St. Lucia/Soufriere
Anse Chastenet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing