We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“anse chastanet wonderful location”
Review of Anse Chastanet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anse Chastanet
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 February 2006

Just returned from anse 21st feb to 26th feb. This was our second visit and therefor we were slightly aprehensive as it had been 8 years since our last. But everything was just as good if not better than our last visit. We spent the first 3 nights in a superior room on the hill overlooking the pitons and the sea and the last 2 in a deluxe room on the beach. Both are great but the latter was fabulous with even its own hammock and it also ment we avoided all those steps for a couple of days. We were on half board and the food was good although the chef appeared to have a strange liking to wasabi on his menu!! The beach is great with drink service and food service being brought to you at your beck and call. Snorkelling directly off the beach is a great bonus and the reason for our return. There is building work above the resort but we did not hear anything during our 5 night stay. This will be finished in sept/oct. There are plenty off trips to chose from if you feel like being a bit adventourous, but as this was our 3rd visit to st lucia we just enjoyed the sea sand and sun. I highly recommend a visit and hopefully will return again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank cuttsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,048 - 1,054 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2006

My wife and I just returned from Anse Chastenet (2/2/06-2/9/06) and had a terrific, romantic getaway.

Setting: Unforgettable. Chiseled into a hillside (be prepared to climb many steps). The views from everywhere are magnificent. The island is volcanic and provides many dramatic and lushly forested mountains both on the coast and inland.

Service: Some of the friendliest people I've met. The St. Lucian's are pretty laid-back and that may be misinterpreted as indifferent. Plus, if your traveling expectations profile the demanding "Ugly American," you'll probably be disappointed.

Beach: Great! Although a steep climb via steps cut into the cliffs (unless you opt for the beachfront rooms). Not intimidating (I'm 61) but may leave you briefly out of breath. Don't understand the negative comments. The beach was never crowded; plenty of privacy and a beautiful setting.

Rooms: We had a hillside deluxe room which was as charming and romantic as we could have wished for. Open, cantilevered walls on three sides, spacious deck overlooking the Caribbean and shower, partially open to the forest.

Food: Good to very good, not great. The menu changed every night and, again, the setting was incredible.

Overall: A beatifully set, full-service resort, on a magnificently lush and dramatic island, that's probably not for everyone. Small, invitingly comfortable spa. There's no pool (never missed it) and the steep climb may not be for everyone. Great scuba and snorkeling (right from the beach), sailing and hiking excursions. Not inexpensive and not for those who need to be pampered. We did not find anything in poor repair as some have complained.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2006

We have recently had the pleasure of staying at Anse Chastanet in St.Lucia! What a truly unique - and intriguing! - place. We have found Anse Chastanet to be everything we wanted it to be, with the possible exception of the weather!
There were a number of rainy days which seemed a bit unusual for this time of the year. We had a problem with our luggage and we were very impressed with the efficiency the reception staff took over and followed up on our behalf. There are a number of duty managers who were delightful to speak to, our favorite was Peter John Paul. We try to never compare the various hotels we have stayed in as clearly every hotel usually has its strengths and its weaknesses. The same goes for entire destinations. For us,St.Lucia and Anse Chastanet were a most
satisfactory choice of destination and hotel- and - we might even return once again (which is unusual for us). We enjoyed the food and felt that a great effort was undertaken to produce a good variety. We appreciated the vegetarian choices. There is a British chef and there also is an Indian chef called Hemant whom we happened to meet. He told us that the hotel will soon introduce an Indian theme menu in one of their restaurants for the evenings and it sounded all very enticing. We did not know of the historical connection between India and St.Lucia. Our room was at beach level. Even though these rooms do not have an oceanview, we enjoyed the location so near the beach very much and would choose it over the hillside accommodation even though we heard the views were marvelous. Again, likes and dislikes are a highly individual matter! Our room was very spacious and had interesting works of art. In the mornings, we just sat on the verandah for a while reading. There are various activities on offer but we ended up relaxing mostly. We did go on the sunset cruise which was a very nice diversion. We heard the diving school was excellent. We did not dive but snorkeled the reef right off the beach - very enjoyable. I frequented the spa quite a bit and found every treatment professional and above all relaxing. The spa is near the beach and it has a no frills approach just like the rest of the resort. All in all, the beautiful surroundings, attention to detail and level of service we experienced made this one of the more memorable vacation experiences. We would not hesitate to recommend the island and Anse Chastanet to our friends and have done so already.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Jordan_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2006

This is probably the most beautiful place we have stayed in our extensive travels. The 2 bedroom suite overlooked the Pitons and the Bay, with finches visiting the Open Air living area from the treetops. Absence of A/C not a problem this time of year. Incredible diving, excellent spa service, friendly, gracious, happy (but slow) staff. On the downside, the climb from the beach to the resort will be a challenge to those who aren't fit, and this resort is not for those who like to explore surrounding areas with ease; roads are treacherous for rental cars and cab transport off the resort must be arranged by the hotel. This left few options for dining off-site, and the options on site were delicious, but pricey.

Stayed: January 2006
19  Thank Ticorella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
North Carolina
119
Reviewed 3 February 2006

Visited Anse Chastanet in late January 2006. Given that this resort is supposed to be at the level of Peter Island, Biras Creek and Curtain Bluff, we were very disappointed. The food was mediocre and the service slow and passive. Our room and bathroom really needed renovation - especially the bathroom! We could not believe the condition of that room given the reputation of this hotel.
The common areas were badly in need of repair - a form letter from the manager was distributed, explaining that renovations were under way sometime "soon" but in the meantime we noticed that they were busy building a new wing to the hotel. No pool, no fitness room, one tennis court, small spa... and really average or below average cuisine - all made us feel we had made a terrible mistake picking this all inclusive over the other 3 mentioned above.

19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2006

i've been meaning to write this for a while. my husband and i went this past july for 3 nights. we split our stay with the jalousie. i dont have enough room here to say all the wonderful things about this place. we were upgraded to a villa "LaBatterie" which is just outside of the resort. we were given a jeep for our personal use and a stocked 'fridge and a personal cook for breakfast. This was a 3bed/3bath house w/pool, courtyard and pond on the side of the mountain with the Best view of the pitons. it rained one full day we were their and we didn't even care, thats how fantastic this place was. the staff & management were always very friendly and always asking if we needed anything. the food does get boring & found it better at Jalousie. The steps/hill were not bad at all and if we ever get to go back to St.lucia, we will only stay here and maybe this time stay on the resort. i dont think we'll get that lucky twice. email if you have any questions.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2006

I stated at Anse Chastanet for a week last summer during the middle of June. We thought that we were going at the best possible time but when we got there we found out that this was the beginning of their rainy season. The first 3 days it rained but we were there to scuba dive and going to get wet anyway. The scuba diving was excellent! Our dive masters where wonderful and you couldn't ask for a better friend. Callistus and Montgomery were the best!! The only thing I didn't like about the diving is that you are not allowed, by St. Lucia law, to dive without a local dive master guide. This is a law they put in place to help protect the reef. So there is no open unlimited shore diving like you can find in other places. The food was excellent. The rooms were great but on the 4th day it stopped raining and that is where the trouble came in. We never realized that the rain had not only been keeping down the heat but also keeping the bugs away. It jumped from about 80 to 85 up to 95 in an hour and it stayed there. At night it might have dropped to 90 but not sure if that is true. There is no AC in any of the rooms, NONE so the rooms were built with as many windows as possible. here come the mosquitos! You have a ceiling fan and it helps as long as you are sitting under it but get into the bed under the mosquito net and there is no air movement at all. And don't roll over with your back or arm aginst the netting because the mosquitos will have a field day bitting you through the net. You could not wait to get back in the water to about 80 feet with no wet suit so you were finally able to cool down just a tad. But, if you swim past a vent from the volcano the water temp would jump up 10 degrees and there went the cool enjoyment you were loving. One last note. Anse Chastanet is built on a hillside. A huge hillside so in order to get from your room to the beach or the resturant/bar you have to hike down or climb up. Not just a couple of steps but I think it was 110 steps from the beach to the resturant which is only half way up and it was another 90 steps up the road to our room and the steps are not all the same. One step might be 3 inches high but the next one will be 14 or 15 inches tall and everyone is different. This makes it very difficult in both directions. We did found out that you could have someone at the bar located on the beach to call for Alexander to come and pick you up in the mini van. This added a $5 tip for every trip up back up to your room so he would drive you around the back side of the hill to your room. We learned to walk down and ride up. It cost a few bucks but you were not climbing and frying in the heat. I would love to dive with Callistus and Montgomery again but I don't think that I will ever stay at Anse Chastamet again. Everyone there was really nice and friendly and the was food great but no AC, the bugs and having to climb the moutain every time you wanted to do anything was just not the perfect experience that we paid about $5,000 per person to enjoy and that did not include the bar bill or rides up the hill. A lot to pay for great diving.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank scubadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
0.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
963 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.8 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
743 reviews
7.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
18.4 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anse Chastanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anse Chastanet

Address: 1000 Anse Chastanet Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: £280 - £654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anse Chastanet 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility, Romance, Adventure: What were Caribbean hotels like when you sat watching the sunset instead of cable TV? You can still find that Classic Caribbean at Anse Chastanet on St. Lucia’s quiet southwestern coast where two magical peaks, the Pitons, leap from the sea and the mountains are covered with luminous greenery.Architect owner Nick Troubetzkoy believes passionately in nature. So he created a hotel that makes the foliage and the flowers, the perfumes and the peaks, the sea and the bird song an integral part of your vacation experience. The estate encompasses 600 lush tropical acres bordering two soft sand beaches. The resort’s two crystal-clear bays are part of a designated marine reserve protecting miles of colorful coral reefs teeming with tropical fish.With such a unique setting as his canvas, Nick Troubetzkoy was inspired to design a one -of-a-kind resort. A dozen rooms are tucked in behind the coconut palms that line the beach and the remainder tip toe up a flower decked hillside, taking advantage of the captivating scenery all around. Anse Chastanet’s ever growing art collection provides a visual feast of its own. There are impressive wooden sculptures and plaques, earthy burlap compositions, painted “sky ceilings” and vibrant acrylic paintings invoking memories of Matisse and Picasso.And while the sensuous seclusion of the rooms provides some guests with the perfect excuse for lolling away the day on the balcony, others head out to partake in the many activities on offer; yoga, snorkeling, scuba diving, tennis, sunset sailing, sea kayaking or jungle biking, hiking and bird-watching among the ruins of an 18th century colonial plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anse Chastanet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anse Chastanet Hotel Soufrière
Anse Chastanet St. Lucia/Soufriere
Anse Chastenet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing