We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vacation - may not be for everyone”
Review of Anse Chastanet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anse Chastanet
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great vacation - may not be for everyone”
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We loved it - it was fantastic - I would go back in a heartbeat. People were super friendly, the place is beatiful and we loved the whole concept. I can see why the reviews are mixed as you need to know what you are getting into. This is not the 4 seasons built into a cliff overlooking the ocean, nor do they pretend to be. If you want plasma TVs and super-polished service / meticulous attention to detail - this is not for you. The food is very good, the atmosphere is relaxed and the staff is friendly. The rooms are designed to blend in with the surroundings - and they do but you have to be prepared to fall asleep with the noise of the jungle around you. The diving was good but not spectacular - plenty of fish but the reef itself has been damaged pretty significantly. We did only 3 dives but in all the sites the coral was not great - overall though was worth diving. Did the spa every day - was great
It's a fantastic place and if you read the reviews plus check out the pix and it sounds excellent - don't hesitate. If the thought of sleeping with jungle noises around you seems annoying and you are diasppointed that there are no tvs - don't go. If you have kids under 5 , I wouldn't recommend either - they would be bored, the food is not "kid friendly" and the beach is not a "sandy" fun-to-play-in-the-sand type of beach (they have lots of pebbles)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank methusala123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    197
    60
    44
    39
See reviews for
119
717
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2010

We chose Anse Chastanet after much research and debate for our honeymoon at the end of March. First we had to decide which island in the Caribbean to go to and then after finally deciding on St. Lucia, which resort to stay at. We were attracted to the area because of the ocean, rainforest, activities and those gorgeous Pitons. We were not at all disappointed by any amenity or lack there of (no phone, tv, or ac and steps to the beach which many TA reviews mentioned as disappointing). It's almost like a simple rustic elegance. The staff was amazing from the moment we arrived. The drive from the airport is at least 45 minutes with the road to Anse Chastanet being very bumpy. We arrived later at night and they had kept the kitchen opened for us later to eat dinner. We got out of the taxi and were directed to the tree house dining room while they had checked us in and brought our luggage to the room.

The bugs were not bad; we did not need any bug spray at night or in the rainforest. Each night the maid staff came in to turn down your bed, light candles, and a mosquito coil. The view from our room was incredible and we were in a lower single one. There was a wrap around porch with a table and chairs. In one direction you looked at the Pitons and the other the ocean. Fantastic for sunset viewing!

The dining and food options at the resort were great. We went to a different one each night. There was the new tree house, old tree house, Indian, and vegetarian options. The casual dining beach party on Tuesday nights was fun.

All inclusive was not worth the extra money unless you plan to drink A LOT. Beverages were not that expensive, but meals could be so the MAP (breakfast buffet and dinner) plan is recommended. The mojitos are the best you'll ever have!

We did some sort of activity or excursion every day in the morning and then hit the beach for relaxing or snorkeling in the afternoon. There are two on site snorkeling areas at each end of the beach and both were amazing. The guided hikes with Meno around the property itself and jungle biking just a short boat ride away were impressive; as was the rainforest. We took a tip into the town of Soufriere one day and actually purchased some bottled water, wine and beer for our room. The total ended up being about $40 so well worth it!

There were no surprises on the bill at check out.

We also spent two nights at Jade Mountain after having been at Anse Chastanet. Jade is truly spectacular! The sanctuaries are absolutely breathtaking. It is definitely much more exclusive feeling than Anse Chastanet and there were never many people around, even while dining. It is hard to want to leave your sanctuary so we are glad we got to stay at Anse Chastanet to experience more of the resort and all it has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wochar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2010

So my partner and I were getting married in 2010 and we didnt know where we wanted to go, so after seeing these beautifull pictures in the travel guide we decided that anse chastenet in St Lucia was where we wanted to stay!!
So we booked it in a two year advance and saved very hard and did a lot of overtime which was well worth it i have to say!!
We arrived and they took our bags and suitcases, gave us a welcome cocktail and sat us down to introduce themselves to us!
We were shown to our room at the delux beachside,(with a/c) and i was blown away by how big it was!! It was immaculate and the beach was 10 seconds away!!
All the resturants were brilliant and the staff were so friendly,we even asked two of the ladies to be our witnesess and they were more than happy to do so!
We went on hikes with Meno who we describe as a mountain goat because he was fab and has so much knowledge, and a great sense of humour!!
We also went on a champagne jazz cruise which was amazin and made some really good friends from aberdeen!!
And as for our wedding,well where do i start??
They organise everything for you down to the flavour of the wedding cake, we sat with the manger for about an hour a week before to organise what we wanted.
The setting was very romantic and couldnt ask for the perfect weather we had too, my mum and friend came too and loved every minute of it as we were all spoiled rotten by all the staff, our favourite people have to be tyrone, richard and felina, but to be honest they are all very welcoming and they do anything for you!!
I would love to go back but it will be an anniversery in prob 2-3 years time!!
Anyway my husband and i have no complaints whatsoever, but if anyone is thinking about getting married in st lucia go to anse chastenet as they will make it a wedding to remember!!
I did get emotional going home but surely thats a good thing as it means i wanted to stay!!!
So thank you to everyone who made our holiday/wedding truly amazing and we wil never forget it!!! xxxx Mr and Mrs Guppy!! xx

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobynEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbia sc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We had one of our most memorable family vacations at Anse Chastanet. The scenery is gorgeous., very much :'Blue Lagoon' in appearance and is the perfect place to take or complete a PADI or SSI course. The water and undersea life are spectacular and the staff took great care of new and young divers. We never left the resort and rarely even got to our rooms between breakfast and dinner. We were so busy playing and being in the water that we rarely wanted to make the climb to the room until it was time to sleep. And we slept SO well, with the ocean and night noises drifting through the open air pavilions. We were high up, with gorgeous views of the Pitons and the ocean. It was a life-saver to have fruit and coffee in the room. We loved our open air quarters and did not miss having AC or television...we were too busy. Jade Mountain is truly out of this world, but the variety of rooms at Anse Chastanet are lovely, just in a more casual way. The food was good but very expensive, and a la carte, rather than all inclusive worked better for us. The hotel was gracious about letting us change from one to the other.
I think Anse Chastanet is ideal for a group of 4 or more...I might have been a little bored with just two of us, but with 4 adults and 2 children, we were always occupied, swimming, reading, exploring the old plantation site next door, taking boat rides different places.Children who have any skills at entertaining themselves will be busy, safe and fairly independent here. This was a peak in terms of memorable and happy vacations.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrslippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We had a week of great accommodation, wonderful food and great SCUBA at Anse Chastanet. The rooms are large and spacious with spectacular views. No phones, TV, or AC in our unit but they were not missed in the least. The cool West Indies night breezes (and multiple fans) were a joy to experience. The open layouts of the accommodations is what one thinks of when wanting an island get away. The quiet serenity of the resort in only one of it's many selling points. Our unit was high off the beach so there were many stairs to the beach. There are some units directly on the beach but we were glad for the elevation and vistas of the Pitons.
The SCUBA was absolutely beautiful. The variety of corals, tropical fish and crustaceans was fabulous. We did two night dives from the beach which really brought out the life within the reef. We tried most of their charted dive sites including one wreck. Diving was typically at 40-60 ft. All the sites were noticeably different so the variety kept us diving every day.
The meals were truly first class with course served perfectly. Hotel, waitress and SCUBA service was friendly and prompt.
Our only regret was that the SCUBA was so spectacular that we did not partake of the other activities like mountain biking, kayaking, and sailing offered at the resort or other St Lucia attractions like the drive in volcano... Guess we'll just have to go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed at Anse Chastanet in September/October 2010 for 14 nights. We had our wedding on the beach which was fantastic. We found almost all the staff to be friendly and helpful. Our room 5D had a massive veranda overlooking the Pitons and the sea, and a 4 poster bed with mosquito netting and fans, so we did not find sleeping a problem at all, unlike some reviewers.

The location of the resort is second to none, the beach is uncrowded and the sea lovely and clean with snorkelling just a few metres from the shore. The best thing about lying on the beach was the butler service, sticking your flag in the sand to be waited on with drinks, cocktails and delicious food at any time. Especially recommend banana coladas.

There are 4 restaurants, all had excellent food and wine, our favourite was Apsara, which is an indian inspired menu. We were all inclusive, which I would thoroughly recommend as meals and drinks are very expensive if paying separately.

The activities at the resort were fun, I especially enjoyed daily yoga classes with Kristen, in the beachside yoga gazebo. The walking tours with Mano are also worthwhile. We thought it a shame that mountain biking was not included in AI package.

There are lots of steps in the resort but we did not find this a problem as we are both fairly fit and the exercise was welcome bearing in mind the amount of food and drink we had!

There is no AC or pool and limited wifi access in resort, which is made clear in the hotel literature, so if you find these things essential, this is not the resort for you.

Overall, this was our best ever holiday and we hope to be able to return one day!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

This resort is very unique. It advertises the "open air concept". I read about it and knew that it did not have air conditioning. I thought that it and the even more exclusive resort within a resort called Jade Mountain would have AC if they needed AC. The concept is good in theory but not in reality. The rooms are built with only three walls and even the restaurants are open air. Jade rooms can go for as much as $2000/night and still no AC. My room was what was called a Hill Side Deluxe ($600+/night) and no AC. No pool.
I have camped in almost every state and lived in Ft. Lauderdale until I was 25 and have never been so hot for so long. During my 7 day stay in late September we were uncomfortably hot about 50% of the time.
The staff was very nice and would do anything for you but there was no AC and no pool. Even though it is a beautiful and unique place, I will never go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flyboxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
0.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.8 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
18.4 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anse Chastanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anse Chastanet

Property: Anse Chastanet
Address: 1000 Anse Chastanet Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Anse Chastanet 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility, Romance, Adventure: What were Caribbean hotels like when you sat watching the sunset instead of cable TV? You can still find that Classic Caribbean at Anse Chastanet on St. Lucia’s quiet southwestern coast where two magical peaks, the Pitons, leap from the sea and the mountains are covered with luminous greenery.Architect owner Nick Troubetzkoy believes passionately in nature. So he created a hotel that makes the foliage and the flowers, the perfumes and the peaks, the sea and the bird song an integral part of your vacation experience. The estate encompasses 600 lush tropical acres bordering two soft sand beaches. The resort’s two crystal-clear bays are part of a designated marine reserve protecting miles of colorful coral reefs teeming with tropical fish.With such a unique setting as his canvas, Nick Troubetzkoy was inspired to design a one -of-a-kind resort. A dozen rooms are tucked in behind the coconut palms that line the beach and the remainder tip toe up a flower decked hillside, taking advantage of the captivating scenery all around. Anse Chastanet’s ever growing art collection provides a visual feast of its own. There are impressive wooden sculptures and plaques, earthy burlap compositions, painted “sky ceilings” and vibrant acrylic paintings invoking memories of Matisse and Picasso.And while the sensuous seclusion of the rooms provides some guests with the perfect excuse for lolling away the day on the balcony, others head out to partake in the many activities on offer; yoga, snorkeling, scuba diving, tennis, sunset sailing, sea kayaking or jungle biking, hiking and bird-watching among the ruins of an 18th century colonial plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Anse Chastanet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anse Chastanet Hotel Soufrière
Anse Chastanet St. Lucia/Soufriere
Anse Chastenet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing