We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

For a great light lunch and excellent views and service go to the hummingbird restaurant....no complaints. We went twice for lunch after a long day at the beach. The cocktails were amazing the creole fish and the home made cheese cake were exceptional!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank klongville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HummingbirdSt_Lucia, General Manager at Hummingbird Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank you for expressing your thoughts on The Hummingbird Beach Resort and making our restaurant your choice for fine dining. We are very pleased that you had no complaints due to the breathtaking views and superior standard of service. It is uplifting that you chose to dine with us on more than one occasion and we eagerly anticipate another opportunity to serve you.

Warmest Regards,
Joan Alexander Stowe M.B.E.
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

We ended up staying at the Hummingbird recently. Our family had mixed reviews. It is a hotel with lots of promise but perhaps unrealized.

The location is great, right on the beach. Staff are friendly and attentive.

Restaurants was good.

Our main concern was the rooms. The guest rooms, especially the bathrooms, need some updating. Things were beginning to appear a bit worn.

Also of all the five hotels we stayed in during our tour of the island this one seemed to have the highest bug population - mosquitos, ants, beetles, roaches, termites, etc. Yes it is the jungle, etc but the proportion seemed higher here.

All in all an okay budget hotel but several steps away from luxury that it could be with some tender love and care.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite or the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank seoulsoulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HummingbirdSt_Lucia, General Manager at Hummingbird Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Hummingbird Beach Resort. We are pleased that you acknowledged the property's location and our hospitable staff. However, we are disturbed that the rooms in which you stayed did not meet your expectations so your feedback serves as an incentive to undertake some upgrading. We wish to apologize for any inconvenience caused by insects during your stay. Our property is located amidst an active fruit and flower garden so we are currently implementing a rigid extermination plan to eradicate this problem. Your comments are of great importance to us as we strive to maintain a level of service which is paramount. Once more, we wish to thank you staying at The Hummingbird Beach Resort and we welcome an opportunity to serve you better in future.

Warmest Regards,
Joan Alexander Stowe M.B.E.
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Hummingbird Beach resort was a very nice hotel where we stayed several nights in May 2013. View is perfect: you can see the great view to the famous "Piton Mountains". In addition, you have a supermarket in walking distance. It is also relatively close to some great beaches (we recommend to have a car).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Thorsten K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HummingbirdSt_Lucia, Manager at Hummingbird Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you for reviewing The Hummingbird Beach Resort. We are highly appreciative of your candid feedback as it goes a long way in helping us maintain a reputable standard of service. Our team is euphoric that you were captivated by the vivid view of the majestic twin peaks from the resort and you were able to access the supermarket conveniently located in the town of Soufriere. Some of the most picturesque beaches in St.Lucia are near Soufriere and the staff members are pleased that you ventured out to relax on some of them. A vehicle would be an asset, as numerous points of interest are located in the vicinity of the Soufriere basin. Once again, we wish to thank you for staying at The Hummingbird Beach Resort and we eagerly anticipate another opportunity to serve you.

Warmest Regards,
Joan Alexander Stowe M.B.E.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

A true St. Lucian Experience, The name speaks of the for itself, plenty hummingbirds flying so freely. My husband and I enjoyed perfect snorkeling right at the water’s edge 2 feet away from the resort. Chester will ensure that your diving experience is the best. Thanks Chester we truly enjoy reviewing our pictures.
For the best local cuisine the Hummingbird Restaurant is the best. My husband and I tried all the other restaurants and the Hummingbird was the only restaurant that truly exceeded our expectations.
The Mountain is in perfect view of the resort, makes you feel like you are right there.
Chef David we miss St. Lucia and your local food.

Although the resort has not fittness center i enjoyed my morning run on the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms 1,2 and 3 are the best but if you are travelling with your family ask for the country cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhyhid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HummingbirdSt_Lucia, Manager at Hummingbird Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

On behalf of our entire team, I take this opportunity to mention how happy we are that you had a truly St.Lucian experience whilst staying at The Hummingbird Beach Resort. Chester is ecstatic that you had such a memorable dining expedition with him and we are also pleased that you were able to enjoy the snorkeling within such close proximity to the resort. It is gratifying that our restaurant exceeded your expectations and Chef David is elated,as he is highly devoted to embracing our local cuisine and providing guests with an impeccable dining experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed your morning run on the beach as this is a common trend for locals and visitors alike,on a daily basis. Once again, we thank you for sharing such positive feedback of your recent stay with us and we eagerly anticipate an opportunity to welcome you in future.

Warmest Regards
Joan Alexander Stowe MBE
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I have never seen anything as beautiful as the view from the Hummingbird Beach Resort. It is something else before a storm too. My room was comfortable and large and I slept so well to the sounds of the tree frogs, wind, and sea outside. I had a rooster outside who made sure I was up and awake in the morning so I could make the most of my trip. The professionalism and kindness of the staff members was excellent - especially Rashan who patiently helped me in so many ways. There was wi-fi in the bar and restaurant area where I was able to sit and do my work and the food was very good. For breakfast, I had pancakes and a selection of local fruits which were fresh and delicious. For dinner, I had a vegetable pasta that was well seasoned and tasty. I loved the swimming pool - the water was warm and clean. There is also interesting artwork in the bar and restaurant area including batiks and local statues and carvings which are worth seeing. This location is very close to the volcanic mud bath and waterfall, both of which are absolute must-sees during a visit to this island. I also met several friendly locals who gave me a tour and taught me a lot about the people, culture, history, and nature of the island. This is not a place for people who want a resort vacation with other tourists, removed from the rest of the island, but it was perfect for someone like me and I hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank misspuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HummingbirdSt_Lucia, Manager at Hummingbird Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you for sharing such positive feedback of your recent stay at The Hummingbird Beach Resort. A breathtaking view of the majestic Pitons rising from the sparkling Caribbean Sea continues to captivate both locals and visitors alike, upon arrival. Our staff members are elated that you enjoyed the comfort of your room whilst truly appreciating the soothing sounds of our natural environment. Maintaining a reputable sense of customer satisfaction is one of our primary objectives at The Hummingbird Beach Resort and as a result we are devoted to providing a genuine sense of hospitality on a daily basis. Our culinary team is passionate about using fresh organic ingredients to provide a memorable dining experience on every occasion. The artwork displayed throughout the resort is a collection of our island's rich heritage portrayed in its finest art forms. Our resort is located within a twenty minute drive from all the major points of attraction in the Soufriere area and our reliable taxi service makes each point completely accessible. The people of St.Lucia are kind and gentle people who are always willing to welcome visitors who are eager to learn about their heritage and we are glad that you had a chance to interact with some of them. Once more, we wish to thank you for visiting The Hummingbird Beach Resort and we kindly look forward to welcoming you in future.

Warmest Regards
Joan Alexander Stowe MBE
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We just returned from our holiday in Carribean Islands and we found the Hummingbird Resort the best from all hotels we visited /7 together/during our trip.We liked the friendly welcome at reception, with very helpful and carrying staff,who almost tried to read your thoughts to fulfill your wishes.They showed us at least 3 rooms to choose from/each was clean,some with fridge or kettler/ and we chose one at ground floor with terace with Piton view /beautiful views from all the resort/ and direct access to the garden what loved especially our children.The beach is so close,that you can hear the sea in your room.The beach itself is great to relax for few days,with some locals/children made quickly some friends/ and with water taxi to bring you to nearby resort beaches.The food is really worth to come for a lunch or dinner, even if you are not staying at hotel. We loved all fish dishes we tried for dinner and enjoyed the fruits and fresh juices for breakfast /and omellets and pancakes../.We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HummingbirdSt_Lucia, Manager at Hummingbird Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

I wish to express to express the highest level of gratitude to you on behalf of the entire team at The Hummingbird Beach Resort. It is always pleasing to receive such positive feedback implying that our guests were totally satisfied with their stay. Our staff members are very knowledgeable and always eager to maintain a reputable standard of hospitality. We are glad that you were able to unwind on the beach and use the local water taxi to explore the neighboring beaches whilst making some friends in the process. Our local cuisine is uniquely prepared to savor your palate and we take great pride in knowing that you enjoyed all your meals. We are frantic that you are willing to return to the Hummingbird Beach Resort and we look forward to serving you again.

Warmest Regards,
Joan Alexander Stowe MBE
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

When one visit this Resort there left breathless cause of the amazing view that no luxury resort in the north like sandals can only dream of having. I was giving a reminder to comment about my stay.The resort is a beach front property where locals access a lovely volcanic sand beach. Myself and my husband stayed in a Superior Room which has a balcony which over looks the Ocean and the Petite Piton, the room looks like it was recently renovated with lovely floor tiles and beautiful bedding, never have a seen a Caribbean hotel with such a large small refrigerator that can keep you items chilled. The staff at the resort are friendly and very helpful. I was always asked how i was doing during my stay which made my feel cared for. The foods also is amazing i highly recommend you choose the Fish Creole. My room were cleaned daily with fresh towels every day. All i could say is i had a wonderful vacation here at the Hummingbird.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulaforever1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
968 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
0.9 mi away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,202 reviews
16.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,198 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Anse Cochon
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hummingbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird Beach Resort

Address: Anse Chastanet Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Soufriere
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: £100 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hummingbird Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hummingbird Beach Resort is a small, intimate resort, located in the scenic town of Soufriere on the south western part of St. Lucia, home to the famous pitons – a world heritage site. Hummingbird Beach Resort has eight (8) beautifully decorated rooms, most of which offer magnificent views of the ocean and the pitons. We also have a Country Cottage which accommodates a family of four (4) comfortably, it is fully furnished and offers breathtaking views of the pitons. We are world renowned for our French Creole Cuisine, award winning cocktails and beautiful batik studio. We are located on the beach and also have a fresh water swimming pool. We do arrange a wide range of tours and excursions. Spa treatments can be made available on request. Let us host your dream wedding or wedding reception dinner. Our tropical island setting and renowned hospitality combine to make your Caribbean wedding and honeymoon an unforgettable experience. Make the charming Hummingbird Beach Resort your choice of accommodation in Soufriere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hummingbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hummingbird Beach Hotel
Hummingbird Beach Soufrière
Hummingbird Beach Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing