We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
171 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very good for the value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The scenic southwestern corner of St Lucia is well-served by upper-end resorts, charging handsomely for the chance to withdraw within the fences and be isolated in pretty high comfort.
For a fraction of the cost, our five-day stay at the Hummingbird, on the edge of the village of Soufriere, was much simpler, giving us exposure to the local atmosphere with its appeals and drawbacks.
Positives: the room are wood and stucco -- adequate for a couple -- with comfortable four-poster beds under the mosquito netting that is most likely vital later in the summer than our March visit. The terrace restaurant looks out over extensive greenery and flowers and the eponymous hummingbirds, across the small but adequate pool and over the bay. The included breakfast is very simple -- in particular, baked goods seem not to be high on the skills of the island chefs generally -- while dinners were straight-forward and tasty. Salads were furnished from the owner's organic garden across the road.
The adjacent dive shop is not formally a part of the hotel, but is well-furnished for boating, scuba and excellent snorkeling.
Service through the week was uniformly friendly and accessible, if timed to the casual pace that pervades the entire island -- service in our room was missed one entire day, for example, and water pressure and temperature were occasionally chancy. Car service is essential -- the quality of the roads is third-world dismal, complicated by left-side driving -- but seriously expensive.
In context of the need to calibrate expectations.
One explicit warning is that the hotel adjoins a parking lot and fronts on a public beach -- which meant traffic and work noise through the day, and one night a large beach party with ear-pounding noise until a frustratingly late hour. And "colorful" would be a generous way to describe the village; on our walks into town, the ratio of pan-handlers to friendly locals ran about four-to-one.
One small alert: the hotel uses British plugs for electrical appliances, not European. And bring plenty of sun protection.

Room Tip: Lower-level rooms have small gardens -- upper level have small balconies. Choose accordingly. Sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    88
    44
    19
    6
See reviews for
40
151
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on a whim for some lunch. Had such a warm welcome by the staff. Great views from the dining room of the Pitons and the sea. Fish cakes for starters were like little curried fish and corn fritters, wonderful. Good value too. Loved the batik, wished I'd bought some!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CandyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed in a standard room with air-con (4). Nice sized room with plenty of wardrobes and bathroom. A little sparse for furniture and no kettle, but when we asked we were given a kettle, tea-pot and a couple of chairs. So just ask if you are missing anything. The air-con was very useful but don't know if a ventilated room upstairs would have been just as good. We were on the ground floor and didn't have a view or windows. I did sit on the porch which was nice as it was in the garden. The food was BRILLIANT. 5 stars for the chef. We thought we'd eat in different places but ate an evening meal there 2/3 of the time. I thought the general standard of St Lucia cooking was great with fabulous fruit, veg and fish, we didnt have a disappointing meal anywhere. The local low key restaurants are also great. The swimming pool area is nice with loungers, and also chairs and umbrellas which is great. The garden was gorgeous and full of hummingbirds. The hotel has direct beach access but also has a secure door at night. At first the beach seems small but you soon come to appreciate that Soufriere is probably one of the nicest, most authentic and prettiest parts of the island and the little bit of beach is quiet and peaceful. would have been nice to access a plastic chair on the beach. There are some loungers which you can take onto the beach. A word of warning, no one prepared me for the midges. Perhaps the garden makes it worse? No repellent seemed to work and therefore go PREPARED. I think this is a problem all over the island but where there is a breeze it might be a bit better. There are midge coils and sprays in the local supermarket. Anyway I was bitten everyday!! I would go again but with 50% deet which I didn't take thinking an expensive eco friendly alternative would do. It doesn't.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had a standard room (#9) for 4 nights at $118 including taxes per day. Very nice room with wood louver windows along most of two sides affording great ventilation and partial view over pool and across the bay to Petite Piton. Very friendly and efficient service. Elpedia ("Pidi") of the restaurant staff brought us two payaya from her home as none was available during our stay for breakfast. Jovan, the young bartender, was great to talk with and has a great future in the hospitality (or any other) business. David, the chef, does a great job with dinners. Usually we'd tend to sample other local restaurants, but in this case found no need to. The adjacent beach has a stunning view of the bay and Petite Piton, and was pleasant to use. We had a wonderful encounter with some local young kids who (as is typical of the Caribbean) were among the majority who can't swim. We showed them how to float on their backs, much to their amazement. More than seeing the sights, moments like this are why we travel.

We also met two women at the bar who were staying elsewhere but who invited us along on an early morning birdwatching trek they had arranged with a local government naturalist. We hiked up a steep, rocky trail to the top of Mount Tabac above Soufrierre. Again, something totally unplanned but something we've almost gotten to expect by being open to people around us.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed at the Hummingbird in early December. Our room was simple yet clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The grounds have abundant blooming plants and hummingbirds. It was relaxing to sit by the pool and enjoy the view. And local attractions like the Tet Paul Trail are short drive away. We particularly enjoyed the food - Chef David knows how to prepare seafood! This resort is in a good location and the staff is outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmville, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at the Hummingbird for the second half of our honeymoon. The feel of the resort is of a bed and breakfast. The view of the Petit Piton was beautiful. The staff was, for the most part, very friendly and helpful. The food there was very good. (Also try Orlando's right down the road for dinner!) The rooms were sparse and not very updated, but for the price, I think our stay was very nice. The only problem we had was that on Friday night, dance music was blasted from the Hummingbird's beach for several hours. We had to get up early the next day, and there was no way to sleep through the music (it sounded like it was IN our room). It would have been nice if the staff had let us know that this would be happening. Overall though, a very nice place for the money!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbuchert75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Loved the hummingbird hotel. dont' have pics yet but all the pics that are already there (the good ones) are just. It is the perfect place to stay for your stay in Soufriere; if you want to stay local for a couple of days and do tours locally or just lay on the beach and the dinners are cooked by someone that knows how to cook! I love fish and it was always very good whether it be you wanted their good sauces or blackened it was fantastic. As you know the views are beautiful and we recommend taking a water taxi (talk to "Baby Shaq" shouldn't cost more than $20 US for the water taxi RT) over to Anse Chastenet for the day and renting a lounger on the beach and walk to snorkel on the north end of the beach. Don't bother snorkeling where the tour boats tell you to. Anyway back to the hummingbird . . .our first room was #9 the small one it is well worth to stay in #7 more breezy don't worry about the view from your room too much, just walk outside and the views are good from anywhere. The pool is very refreshing and relaxing. I recommend this to people that like self accommodating, adventurous, and happy to be there. After writing this review i don't like how tripadvisor makes you choose what short of trip this was i just chose couples because that was the closest to our situation bit it is suitable for all. . . trip advisor don't make ppl choose from something that does'nt apply to certain situations.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tangerine3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
1.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
16.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
1.9 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hummingbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird Beach Resort

Property: Hummingbird Beach Resort
Address: Anse Chastanet Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Soufriere
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#9 Family Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hummingbird Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hummingbird Beach Resort is a small, intimate resort, located in the scenic town of Soufriere on the south western part of St. Lucia, home to the famous pitons – a world heritage site. Hummingbird Beach Resort has eight (8) beautifully decorated rooms, most of which offer magnificent views of the ocean and the pitons. We also have a Country Cottage which accommodates a family of four (4) comfortably, it is fully furnished and offers breathtaking views of the pitons. We are world renowned for our French Creole Cuisine, award winning cocktails and beautiful batik studio. We are located on the beach and also have a fresh water swimming pool. We do arrange a wide range of tours and excursions. Spa treatments can be made available on request. Let us host your dream wedding or wedding reception dinner. Our tropical island setting and renowned hospitality combine to make your Caribbean wedding and honeymoon an unforgettable experience. Make the charming Hummingbird Beach Resort your choice of accommodation in Soufriere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hummingbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hummingbird Beach Hotel
Hummingbird Beach Soufrière
Hummingbird Beach Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing