We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Soufriere at the Hummingbird!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We just got back form a week in Soufriere, St Lucia at the Hummingbird resort. The trip was a graduation present for our kids both 21. Joyce and David were incredibly welcoming, as were all the staff. We felt so comfortable and relaxed the entire time. Special thanks to David who befriended my son - not to mention his generosity with the rum tastings :) The Hummingbird is a relaxed, small hotel for people who want to experience the local vibe while still having plenty of opportunity to tour Soufriere's beautiful Pitons, waterfalls and rainforest. The restaurant is lovely and with breakfast included and great fish on the menu it's a lovely way to start and end the day. We found the beach hard to resist most days - incredible views of the Pitons and easy access to other beaches and resorts including Anse Chastenet and Sugar Beach. Note - the pool is small but with warm sea and beach a step away we used it only once. We stayed in room #3 with balcony and full Piton and bay views but no AC (not a big deal for us). Our kids stayed up in the cottage with AC, living room and kitchen and amazing views of Pitons and the bay - easily sleeps 4. If you're looking for a well-priced, locally-owned place to chill Hummingbird is for you!

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3 have balconies with beautiful views. The cottage is also a great option for family or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rzmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

We visited the restaurant at Hummingbird on the second night of our honeymoon in St Lucia. We both left disappointed. We had certainly been spoilt for food the day before (at Orlando's - go there if you get the chance) and were expecting similar quality as this place had been recommnded to us by our hotel. It wasn't up to scratch at all. Everything was just pretty average. Not awful, but definitely not anything special. For the price, we were expecting food that was a little more exciting. There are plenty of other places in Soufriere to eat that offer much better value and much better food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Pigs_On_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HummingbirdSt_Lucia, General Manager at Hummingbird Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Good Day,
Thank you for your feedback about your recent visit to the Hummingbird Beach Restaurant.

Firstly I would like to apologies for the experience you have described as we strive to provide our guest with the highest level of standard.

It is clear that your experience here with us was not memorable however I have discuss with the relevant department to ensure that every client receives a flawless dinning experience here at the Hummingbird Beach Resort.

It is with great pleasure that I welcome you back here in the not to near future asI trust that the issues you experienced have not left an enduring mark. We would welcome the opportunity to share firsthand the improvements made in light of your concerns.

Once again thank you your comments and your business as we look forward to serving you better.

Warmest Regards
Joan A. Stowe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I just stayed here for the first couple days of our honeymoon. We wished we had stayed for longer! The room had a king bed and that was very nice! They do not have AC but there was 2 fans that kept us cool. The view is insanely beautiful. The food here was very good. We had some of our best meals of the trip including: shrimp and garlic sauce, fish tropical and mushroom penne. Our breakfast was included in our room cost and was very good. Note: Local salt fish breakfast is not included. Prices for food were a little on the high side for the island (about USD$ 20-30 for entrees) but the quality was there so we didnt mind. There are TONS of things to do in Soufriere. Later in the trip we went north and were surprised to find that most of the tours available went to Soufriere for day trips which was about an hour and a half distance. We loved the beach just outside the Hummingbird gate. It is a local beach but it was quiet and clean. We swam here a lot and had a great time. We met the owner of the Feel Good water taxi and he took us around the bend to Anse Chastanet to snorkel and then on a short jungle hike to one of the many waterfalls. Loved the location and atmosphere of this hotel and surrounding area. Our first few days in Soufriere were SO much better than our resort experience. If you like a little adventure I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-3 have amazing views on there balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shadow124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was our 4th trip to St. Lucia and the Hummingbird. Joyce let her staff know that we were back for our anniversary and they spelled out 'welcome back' with tropical flowers on our bed surrounded by petals. So very thoughtful. If you are looking for a 'Sandals' type vacation this is not the place for you. But if you want to meet a clientele from across the world give it a try. My husband got to practice his German and I tried to resurrect my rusty French. The view is outstanding.

Room Tip: Definitely choose one of the Superior View rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ltrivett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife and I had dinner here one night whilst staying at Sugar Beach. We were met by very friendly staff who sorted out a nice table for us overlooking what was, however, a rather scruffy pool area. As it was night there was no view but the ambience in the terrace restaurant was charming. Plenty of caribbean delights on the menu and good choices between fish and meat dishes.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Emyr55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

The food was the best we had on the island. The cocktails were exceptional. We had a very knowledgeable and friendly bartender Andre. He was always ready with helpful advice and directions around the island. Andre went above and beyond his duties as a bartender. We looked forward to seeing him when we came out of our room. (Thanks for all of your help Andre! We miss your smiling face!) Jesse our waiter was very kind and friendly. The view from our balcony was stunning. We had a very nice cleaning lady that decorated our room in flowers and flower petals. She brought us a converter so we could charge our laptop, and she also brought us a fan and a hairdryer. Our room was kept very clean. The rooms in the resort are dated and in need of a facelift, but our overall stay was very comfortable. The beach was not very clean and a bit noisy at times with locals as it is a public beach.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

First and foremost if you are visiting St Lucia then eating at this restaurant is an absolute must! Both my husband and I agreed that we had some of the best meals of our lives here!
We stayed at the Hummingbird Beach Resort and ate here every night of our stay (apart from our second night where we regrettably ventured out to Fond Doux Holiday Plantation - the food was cold and left a lot to be desired). 
The restaurant itself has a delightful atmosphere and there is even a live band for entertainment on Wednesday nights. The location is second to none with a spectacular view of the Petit Piton - perfect for a romantic meal. The service was swift and staff are friendly and attentive. The food was colourful, well presented, and never failed to disappoint. The portions are well sized with a variety of vegetables and flavours that enthused all of our taste buds. I highly recommend trying the Salted Cod - this was just absolutely delicious however there are lots of menu options to satisfy ones pallet. The owner is a lovely lady and Chef David is incredibly talented who also did a wonderful job at accommodating to many of my allergies. Overall the best restaurant in Soufriere by far and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabbi_DeLaSoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
981 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
0.9 mi away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,215 reviews
16.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Gros Islet
2,228 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Anse Cochon
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hummingbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird Beach Resort

Address: Anse Chastanet Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: £96 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hummingbird Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hummingbird Beach Resort is a small, intimate resort, located in the scenic town of Soufriere on the south western part of St. Lucia, home to the famous pitons – a world heritage site. Hummingbird Beach Resort has eight (8) beautifully decorated rooms, most of which offer magnificent views of the ocean and the pitons. We also have a Country Cottage which accommodates a family of four (4) comfortably, it is fully furnished and offers breathtaking views of the pitons. We are world renowned for our French Creole Cuisine, award winning cocktails and beautiful batik studio. We are located on the beach and also have a fresh water swimming pool. We do arrange a wide range of tours and excursions. Spa treatments can be made available on request. Let us host your dream wedding or wedding reception dinner. Our tropical island setting and renowned hospitality combine to make your Caribbean wedding and honeymoon an unforgettable experience. Make the charming Hummingbird Beach Resort your choice of accommodation in Soufriere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hummingbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hummingbird Beach Hotel
Hummingbird Beach Soufrière
Hummingbird Beach Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing