We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad attitude” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad attitude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

We are guests of the Ladera Resort sitting above the Sugar Beach. We were told that we had some guest privileges at the sugar beach. When we got to the beach we were treated like 2nd class citizens. The sugar beach staff were rude and not helpful.
We later tried to dine at the Great Room at sugar beach. The staff at Ladera tried very hard to get us a reservation and had a lot of trouble. They finally got a reservation and when we arrived, the staff told us our reservation was at the more casual restaurant. We persisted and had to wait. Once we were seated, they rushed our meal.
We thought that since these hotels are so close to each other that there would be some mutual respect to each other's guests. We found that Sugar Beach was not a place that we would ever stay at and highly recommend the Ladera Resort.
The view is amazing and the staff are fantastic, compared to the rude and very unhelpful staff at Sugar Beach.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Good day,
Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your visit to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
I am very disturbed to read your review, as we rarely receive comments that outline the situations you have described. We have a long-standing relationship with Ladera resort and do all we can to make their guests feel welcome and looked after them when they visit our beach and food and beverage outlets.
It appears that you did not receive the warm welcome and assistance we are generally known for, and for that I am truly sorry. We will continue to review our service standards with the parties involved to ensure that all guests on our resort, resident or otherwise, enjoy the best service experience possible.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again so that you could see firsthand that changes made in light of your concerns.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    194
    60
    28
    17
See reviews for
213
802
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erdenheim, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Our recent stay exceeded all of our expectations. The staff was great and went above and beyond. The beach was the perfect place to relax, catch some rays and enjoy the amazing scenery. Our villa was very clean and spacious; its deck was the perfect place to watch the sunset each night. We were most impressed with our Butlers who made all of our special requests happen with ease. This was one of the nicest resorts we've been to and the perfect place for our engagement. We highly recommend Sugar Beach; you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 705
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Good day,

Congratulations on your engagement! We are pleased that that you will forever remember Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort as the place where these wonderful memories were created

Our highly trained and professional staff always works hard to provide our guests with the best possible service. I will be sure to compliment them for taking such good care of you.

Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We look forward to your return visit. It would be nice to see you tie the knot at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort and we would be delighted to help you plan a beautiful wedding between the Pitons.

Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon and never wanted to leave - it really is a piece of heaven on earth.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home. The staff our beyond perfect, the rooms are gorgeous and the hotel is stunning. There are really no bad words to be said.

As a fussy eater (veggie no fish) they let me change the menu daily so I could make my own meals and the chef even came to meet me to ask if there was anything more they could do. The staff have a knack of knowing exactly what you want/need and they couldn't do enough.

This really has to be the best hotel in the world - not one fault throughout our 10 day trip. We were meant to leave after 7 days and go to another hotel. Once to got to the other hotel and realized it was nowhere near as described we called the hotel who found us another room and we returned within 5 hours.

From honeymoon couple, to families this hotel caters for everyone. We were there for our honeymoon and even though the hotel was booked and full of kids there was no noise or disturbances as the hotel have activities for kids throughout the day allowing us to simply relax by the pool.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mzdwek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your glowing feedback about your honeymoon at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are elated that you had a wonderful stay with us, full of treasured memories.
It gives me great pleasure that we were able to prepare a wide range of vegetarian dishes for you. We always create dishes to suit all of our guest needs and taste buds and it is gratifying when we read reviews such as yours.
The fact that Sugar Beach is spread out over one hundred acres means we can cater for a number of disparate groups. We have first-class facilities to accommodate families, honeymooners, and business travelers. Because our facilities for our younger guests are so well organized and accommodating, other guests without children will hardly notice their presence.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We look forward to your next visit, perhaps even for a first anniversary stay, and thank you for recommending our resort.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

This is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at. We stayed at Ladera for the first few nights and then arrived at Sugar Beach. We were looking forward to a quiet sleep in a room with 4 walls and some AC. We were not disappointed. The property is absolutely gorgeous. The pool is out of this world. This hotel sits on the best property in St Lucia by far. It is an extremely classy place - the staff, restaurants, bars, room all meet a very high standard. Lots of families and not as quiet and romantic as Ladera but highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VACATI0NG0D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Good day,
Thank you for sharing your glowing feedback following your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
I am gratified that you had the opportunity to experience s our resort and that you were really satisfied and pleased with everything.
Thank you for your wonderful comments and we are looking forward to your return visit.
Regards,

André Boersma
General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

My husband and I were married here, the resort is fantastic. the staff was spectatular. The beach was one of the best we saw, while traveling up the coast via water taxi. snorkeling was supurb. The one draw back is that the resort is so isolated, and there jsut didnt seem to be a lot to do. There was a small insident with a charge at the spa, which took some time and quite a bit of frustration to get resolved. Disappointed on buffet night - was not worth the $75 for the meal.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Good day,
Thank you for your comments about your wedding stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
I am glad that you enjoyed our facilities, especially the beach area. It is puzzling that you think there is not much to do on the resort. We have a number of fitness classes, tours and excursions, motorized and non-motorized water sport activities for our guests to participate in. I am sorry that you felt otherwise.
Since your visit in February 2012, we have made major improvements in the selections offered at our Friday BBQ buffet. We would welcome the opportunity to share these improvements first hand should you decide to make a return visit to the resort, perhaps even for your up-coming first anniversary.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business. Best wishes for your up-coming anniversary.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

In our opinion the best location in the WEST INDIES,best scenery ever ,gin clear sea excellent for snorkelling and diving,superb accommodation and food.Great staff in particular Bronny in the beach side restaurant.

Mary,T.D

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Good day,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and compliments.

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful holiday at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.. I will be sure to share your glowing comments with Bronny. She will be very happy to know she helped to make your stay with us memorable for all the right reasons.

Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We look forward welcoming you back soon.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

My Wife and I recently managed an eight day holiday at the Jalousie Plantation / Sugar Beach Resort.

We have holidayed many times in the Caribbean over the years, visiting St Lucia (Anse Chastanet the last time), Barbados (Cobblers Cove the last time) and Antigua.

This was the best of the properties we have visited in the Caribbean. We were upgraded to a beach bungalow with plunge pool that was right on the beach and also near the facilities and restaurants. The quality and space in our room was excellent.

The restaurants all served very good food - the Great Room was very busy around peak times so booking a time well in advance is a good idea if you want to eat there. In particular, the seafood served in the restaurants was of very high quality. The only area that really needs addressing is the service at breakfast in the beach-side restaurant. This was in contrast with the service at the rest of the property at other times and, unfortunately, was consistently an issue during our eight day stay.

The butler service works well and our assigned butler (Tyson) could not have been more helpful or welcoming.

The hotel gymnasium and classes are also of a very high standard. After too much regular long-haul travel and sitting in meetings, my back (and other body parts) was crying out for some exercise and stretching. Being skeptical of stretching / Pilates / Yoga, I was pleasantly surprised to find that after two 'Sunset Stretch' classes my back pain (which I had suffered for several months) disappeared. The class is also taken on a raised platform overlooking the sea at the top of the resort - the view is breathtaking.

This holiday was a surprise getaway for my Wife's 40th Birthday and we left our children with my parents while we were away. We think that the resort caters well for children too and so will be planning a family holiday here next Summer (we rarely visit the same place twice but it really was that good). I think having the family there will mean that we need a bigger property which are only found further up the hill, away from the beach and facilities which will not be as convenient - the shuttle system does appear to work well though).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WelshCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Good day,

Thank you for sharing your Sugar Beach holiday experience with us.

I am glad that we were able to upgrade you to one of our Luxury Beachfront Bungalows and that you were pleased and satisfied with these accommodations.

Our culinary team will be delighted with your comments about the food and service. I am glad that you enjoyed the dishes that were prepared. I will commend them for a job well done.

All our guests highly recommend Todd and Canice for their professional level of service in the gym and with the wide range of fitness classes we offer. I am pleased that you share the same sentiments.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments. We look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future.
Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#4 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
9.7 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
17.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Property: Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island's scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia's majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort's 78 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. A stunning white sand beach, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Destinology so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing