We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Local Experience”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed at Jalouise around the first of Dec. The hotel rooms and butler service were great. The whole grounds were paradise. The food was good but not great. Definitely above average but not what you would expect from a world class resort. Service too good but not great. Staff was very friendly but not exactly speedy. The highlight of the trip was definitely meeting a local named Hum and his friend Perry who proceeded to be our guides over the next 3 days. We started with a little spearfishing (they cooked the catch on the beach afterwards) and a tour of the island. The next day they took us on private dive on edge of Pitons. Guys also took us to the local fish fry to top it off. I would definitely recommend getting a guide to get around the island. And to be more specific I would recommend Hum and Perry. Perry's email is perrycharlemagne569@hotmail.com and his number is 7585202940. Hum's number is 7584618557.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bulldog434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Good day,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay however disappointed to know that you thought that our service and food offerings were “just above average”. If that is the case, I would like to apologize for not delivering the best possible service.
I am glad that the friends you met helped to make your holiday memorable with the services that they provided to you.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to serving you in the not too distant future so we can share firsthand the improvements made in light of your concerns.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    948
    204
    65
    29
    17
See reviews for
232
866
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

My husband and I stayed in May 2012 at Jalousie Plantation. We left wondering how we would ever top this vacation! Accommodations: Beautiful cottages, comfortable beds, luxury bathroom. We had glitches with the Internet (perhaps a sign we should unplug!) and didn't care for the plunge pool (filled with leaves and slugs - I am not nature-friendly). Beach: Heaven. The flag service, treats brought to your lounge chair, cabana huts - amazing. The prime huts would fill up around breakfast time but would empty around noon when folks went for afternoon trips. It is a small stretch for walking, but we loved the view so didnt mind. Spa: We had a couples facial at the spa and werent impressed. The multiple mosquito bites during the treatment may have been a factor. I am not a massage person but it seems that is more of their speciality service. Restaurants: Bayside and Great Room were delightful. We preferred the food in the Great Room and consider ourselves "foodies." We were on the MAP plan which was a great deal for us since we aren't big drinkers and didn't find the need to eat lunch most days. Split a flatbread pizza on the beach for the perfect midday bite! Pool: Loved the freshwater pool but didn't choose to lounge in the pool area because the beach was so amazing. Excursions: We tried to do two trips that were both not feasible (glass bottom boat broken, etc). We did go to the Paul tet nature trail which was a lovely easy hike with great views. Overall: You can't find a better location in St Lucia and the food is much higher quality compared to chains like Sandals. The cottages have A/C (yes!), but it isn't a "walkable" resort with the steep winding hills (although we did walk downhill to breakfast a few times). The shuttles are fast and easy. Although I have some negative aspects in my review, my husband and I loved this resort and the service, accommodations and location were excellent...we would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing, romantic resort. You won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PoolLovinFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Good day,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
I am happy that you had a wonderful holiday however disappointed to hear of the mishaps with the internet, pool and spa treatments. These concerns that you have mentioned are rare. With that being said, we are continuing to review our service standards to ensure that the best possible service is provided to our guests at all time and in all areas.
Our culinary team works hard to ensure that the dishes they prepare are of the highest quality. They will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed their offerings.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business and we look forward to your return visit.
Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

A genuinely great hotel. From the location and the rooms, through the staff and service to the food and the views this is a brilliant place to unwind. We went there with our seven month old baby and a bit worried about how very small kids would be received - but the staff couldn't have been more accommodating. We loved the place and hope to go back before long. The owners should be very proud of what they have created.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownNutOnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Good day,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

Our aim is to provide the best possible service to all our guests. Our top-notch amenities, facilities and accommodation are all designed to enhance our guest experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments and we look forward to serving you in the not too distant future.

Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

We are guests of the Ladera Resort sitting above the Sugar Beach. We were told that we had some guest privileges at the sugar beach. When we got to the beach we were treated like 2nd class citizens. The sugar beach staff were rude and not helpful.
We later tried to dine at the Great Room at sugar beach. The staff at Ladera tried very hard to get us a reservation and had a lot of trouble. They finally got a reservation and when we arrived, the staff told us our reservation was at the more casual restaurant. We persisted and had to wait. Once we were seated, they rushed our meal.
We thought that since these hotels are so close to each other that there would be some mutual respect to each other's guests. We found that Sugar Beach was not a place that we would ever stay at and highly recommend the Ladera Resort.
The view is amazing and the staff are fantastic, compared to the rude and very unhelpful staff at Sugar Beach.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Good day,
Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your visit to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
I am very disturbed to read your review, as we rarely receive comments that outline the situations you have described. We have a long-standing relationship with Ladera resort and do all we can to make their guests feel welcome and looked after them when they visit our beach and food and beverage outlets.
It appears that you did not receive the warm welcome and assistance we are generally known for, and for that I am truly sorry. We will continue to review our service standards with the parties involved to ensure that all guests on our resort, resident or otherwise, enjoy the best service experience possible.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again so that you could see firsthand that changes made in light of your concerns.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdenheim, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Our recent stay exceeded all of our expectations. The staff was great and went above and beyond. The beach was the perfect place to relax, catch some rays and enjoy the amazing scenery. Our villa was very clean and spacious; its deck was the perfect place to watch the sunset each night. We were most impressed with our Butlers who made all of our special requests happen with ease. This was one of the nicest resorts we've been to and the perfect place for our engagement. We highly recommend Sugar Beach; you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 705
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Good day,

Congratulations on your engagement! We are pleased that that you will forever remember Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort as the place where these wonderful memories were created

Our highly trained and professional staff always works hard to provide our guests with the best possible service. I will be sure to compliment them for taking such good care of you.

Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We look forward to your return visit. It would be nice to see you tie the knot at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort and we would be delighted to help you plan a beautiful wedding between the Pitons.

Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon and never wanted to leave - it really is a piece of heaven on earth.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home. The staff our beyond perfect, the rooms are gorgeous and the hotel is stunning. There are really no bad words to be said.

As a fussy eater (veggie no fish) they let me change the menu daily so I could make my own meals and the chef even came to meet me to ask if there was anything more they could do. The staff have a knack of knowing exactly what you want/need and they couldn't do enough.

This really has to be the best hotel in the world - not one fault throughout our 10 day trip. We were meant to leave after 7 days and go to another hotel. Once to got to the other hotel and realized it was nowhere near as described we called the hotel who found us another room and we returned within 5 hours.

From honeymoon couple, to families this hotel caters for everyone. We were there for our honeymoon and even though the hotel was booked and full of kids there was no noise or disturbances as the hotel have activities for kids throughout the day allowing us to simply relax by the pool.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mzdwek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your glowing feedback about your honeymoon at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are elated that you had a wonderful stay with us, full of treasured memories.
It gives me great pleasure that we were able to prepare a wide range of vegetarian dishes for you. We always create dishes to suit all of our guest needs and taste buds and it is gratifying when we read reviews such as yours.
The fact that Sugar Beach is spread out over one hundred acres means we can cater for a number of disparate groups. We have first-class facilities to accommodate families, honeymooners, and business travelers. Because our facilities for our younger guests are so well organized and accommodating, other guests without children will hardly notice their presence.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We look forward to your next visit, perhaps even for a first anniversary stay, and thank you for recommending our resort.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

This is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at. We stayed at Ladera for the first few nights and then arrived at Sugar Beach. We were looking forward to a quiet sleep in a room with 4 walls and some AC. We were not disappointed. The property is absolutely gorgeous. The pool is out of this world. This hotel sits on the best property in St Lucia by far. It is an extremely classy place - the staff, restaurants, bars, room all meet a very high standard. Lots of families and not as quiet and romantic as Ladera but highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VACATI0NG0D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Good day,
Thank you for sharing your glowing feedback following your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
I am gratified that you had the opportunity to experience s our resort and that you were really satisfied and pleased with everything.
Thank you for your wonderful comments and we are looking forward to your return visit.
Regards,

André Boersma
General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
934 reviews
9.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
0.7 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,160 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
904 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Property: Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island's scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia's majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort's 96 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Cottages, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. Two stunning white sand beaches, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Booking.com, West Indies, Holiday Gems, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing