We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful place, world class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place, world class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

My wife and i, spent our delayed (2nd) Honeymoon at whta was then called the Jalouise plantation in November 2012. They were rebranding to Sugar beach whilst we were there. It was world class. We stayed in a beach bungalow which was out of this world. The location was one of the best we have ever stayed and we couldnt have been more relaxed. We looked at otyher resorts in St Lucia and having been there and seen the alternatives, we definatly chose the right place. We ate at the resort every day and the choice of food and variety was amazing. we went alone without our children, but it was very child friendly without being noisy. Tyson was the most amazing butler we have ever experienced, nothing was too much. he was at our beck and call all day long. Georg th eresident manager was an absoluet gentlemen and took professional care over every matter, he was visibly present throughout our whole stay too, if anything ever came up he was on top of it. I would totally reccomend this resort to anyone and evryone at a heartbeat. We will be going back 100%

Room Tip: Beach Bungalow without fail
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonScorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your honeymoon experience at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
Our guests have made universally positive comments about the décor and setting of our Luxury Beachfront Bungalows. We are happy to hear that you really enjoyed this room category.
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort caters for all kinds of travelers, especially as our accommodations and facilities are spread over more than one hundred acres. We know that you travelled without your children this time, but rest assured that should you decide to bring them with you on a future trip, they would thoroughly enjoy our kids club and all of the activities on offer for them. Thank you for your comments about Tyson. He is indeed one of our star team members and is excellent at what he does. Our guests love the manner in which he works. He will be happy to know that you were pleased with the services that he provided.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to sharing the new Sugar Beach experience with you.
Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    197
    60
    28
    17
See reviews for
219
814
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreditch, London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic location set on a beautiful bay. The villas are perched on the hillside behind the bay.

We stayed at the resort in late October / early November and unfortunately the hotel renovations were not finished. The pool was closed and there was a lot of construction work going on which seriously impacted our enjoyment. We were upgraded and compensated but all the same we would not have gone if we had been made aware of the extent of the works at the time of booking, or for that matter how intrusive they would be. There were lorries passing through the resort all day long, noisy works just about everywhere - and this was simply not what we wanted. We could have lived without the pool but it was at the heart of the resort so having it cordoned off and swarming with workmen simply couldn't be ignored. The resort should have closed during this intense period of work.

The food was good but not fantastic. Service was generally good and certainly better than we have experienced elsewhere in the Carribean

I can however see that this resort will be very good when all of the work is completed. The rooms were lovely - none of the usual chintz - really airy with neutral colours - mainly white with natural wood.

The villa had a separate living room with comfy sofa, a freestanding bath and separate shower, four poster bed, lovely plunge pool with wonderful views.

If you are sensitive to mosquitos - then beware - they are everywhere! Take lots of repellant - you will need it.

You need to take a buggy to get around due to the steepness and the way the resort it spread across the hillside - they are very hot and pretty unpleasant, especially if you want to get dressed up to go to dinner.

The butler service doesn't add much in my opinion. If anything it can be quite intrusive with the butler literally just letting himself in.

Despite our issues I would recommend the resort as it is in an exceptional location, the accommodation is beautiful and minus the building work I am sure it will be much better.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzanneShepherdess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Good day,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
Based on what you have described, I would like to apologize for not providing you with the best possible experience. I am disappointed to hear that at the time you were not informed of the extent of the enhancement work that was taking place on the resort and this impacted your stay.
We are truly happy that all of the enhancement works are now complete and have been very well received by our guests. I would welcome the opportunity to share the new Sugar Beach experience with you so you can experience firsthand all of the improvements made.
Regarding your comments about our transportation, we are already working on a plan to ensure that this isn’t an issue anymore. We will be using a different type of transport to move our guests from one point to the other (tuk-tuk style vehicles to be precise) I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy the services provided by our butler team and that you found them to be intrusive. They should be on hand to assist our guests with dinner reservations, spa bookings, tours and excursions, and needs that they may have in the room. We are continuing to review our service standards with the butler team to ensure they are providing the intuitive service required by our guests and not intruding at times which are not appropriate.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to your return visit so that we might have the opportunity to serve you at our best..
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Sugar Beach. The first time it was The Jalousie Plantation and the improvements that have occured in the year since our first visit, are vast and Andre (General Manager) and his team should feel very proud of themselves. The new pool is amazing and really makes the resort. The rooms as usual, were perfect and the finishing touches were well noted. We stayed in room 702 and the view was to die for - literally nothing in front but the view of the sea, with the piton mountains 'cuddling' the resort.

The spa was its usual high standards and the treatments of a premuim quality. The new relaxation area added from last year, was a great improvement and there is nothing better in this world relaxing listening in the waterfall and noises of the rainforest!

The food has definately improved and you can tell they have worked hard at it in the last year. I would say that the Bayside restaurant food has seen the most improvement and we couldnt really fault it. The buffet evening wasnt for us, however we took the opportunity to visit Boucan a neighbouring restaurant - extremely good and a most if you are a chocolate lover!

I have one issue, but I was reassured they were resolving it - the red wine is served freezing cold! Please warm your red wine up! Even in the heat of st.lucia, a glass of red wine still isnt to room temperature by the time you end your meal!

The dive centre is very good and extremely friendly. We found the diving poor - however this is only because we usually dive in the maldives, which is stunningly beautiful.

We would definately recommend this resort, its highly worth the money and we will be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Good day,
Thank you for providing feedback about your second visit to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
Your comments about our amenities, facilities, accommodations and services are greatly appreciated and will be sure to bring a smile to the faces of our staff. We thoroughly agree with you about the quality and uniqueness of the Rainforest Spa. It is nice that you had the opportunity to enjoy a treatment and also the relaxation area. Thank you for recognizing and complimenting us for the changes that we have made in the last year. We are truly proud of the resort and always happy when we receive comments such as yours.
Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back once again.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed at Jalouise around the first of Dec. The hotel rooms and butler service were great. The whole grounds were paradise. The food was good but not great. Definitely above average but not what you would expect from a world class resort. Service too good but not great. Staff was very friendly but not exactly speedy. The highlight of the trip was definitely meeting a local named Hum and his friend Perry who proceeded to be our guides over the next 3 days. We started with a little spearfishing (they cooked the catch on the beach afterwards) and a tour of the island. The next day they took us on private dive on edge of Pitons. Guys also took us to the local fish fry to top it off. I would definitely recommend getting a guide to get around the island. And to be more specific I would recommend Hum and Perry. Perry's email is perrycharlemagne569@hotmail.com and his number is 7585202940. Hum's number is 7584618557.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bulldog434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Good day,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay however disappointed to know that you thought that our service and food offerings were “just above average”. If that is the case, I would like to apologize for not delivering the best possible service.
I am glad that the friends you met helped to make your holiday memorable with the services that they provided to you.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to serving you in the not too distant future so we can share firsthand the improvements made in light of your concerns.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

My husband and I stayed in May 2012 at Jalousie Plantation. We left wondering how we would ever top this vacation! Accommodations: Beautiful cottages, comfortable beds, luxury bathroom. We had glitches with the Internet (perhaps a sign we should unplug!) and didn't care for the plunge pool (filled with leaves and slugs - I am not nature-friendly). Beach: Heaven. The flag service, treats brought to your lounge chair, cabana huts - amazing. The prime huts would fill up around breakfast time but would empty around noon when folks went for afternoon trips. It is a small stretch for walking, but we loved the view so didnt mind. Spa: We had a couples facial at the spa and werent impressed. The multiple mosquito bites during the treatment may have been a factor. I am not a massage person but it seems that is more of their speciality service. Restaurants: Bayside and Great Room were delightful. We preferred the food in the Great Room and consider ourselves "foodies." We were on the MAP plan which was a great deal for us since we aren't big drinkers and didn't find the need to eat lunch most days. Split a flatbread pizza on the beach for the perfect midday bite! Pool: Loved the freshwater pool but didn't choose to lounge in the pool area because the beach was so amazing. Excursions: We tried to do two trips that were both not feasible (glass bottom boat broken, etc). We did go to the Paul tet nature trail which was a lovely easy hike with great views. Overall: You can't find a better location in St Lucia and the food is much higher quality compared to chains like Sandals. The cottages have A/C (yes!), but it isn't a "walkable" resort with the steep winding hills (although we did walk downhill to breakfast a few times). The shuttles are fast and easy. Although I have some negative aspects in my review, my husband and I loved this resort and the service, accommodations and location were excellent...we would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing, romantic resort. You won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PoolLovinFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Good day,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
I am happy that you had a wonderful holiday however disappointed to hear of the mishaps with the internet, pool and spa treatments. These concerns that you have mentioned are rare. With that being said, we are continuing to review our service standards to ensure that the best possible service is provided to our guests at all time and in all areas.
Our culinary team works hard to ensure that the dishes they prepare are of the highest quality. They will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed their offerings.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business and we look forward to your return visit.
Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

A genuinely great hotel. From the location and the rooms, through the staff and service to the food and the views this is a brilliant place to unwind. We went there with our seven month old baby and a bit worried about how very small kids would be received - but the staff couldn't have been more accommodating. We loved the place and hope to go back before long. The owners should be very proud of what they have created.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownNutOnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Good day,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

Our aim is to provide the best possible service to all our guests. Our top-notch amenities, facilities and accommodation are all designed to enhance our guest experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments and we look forward to serving you in the not too distant future.

Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

We are guests of the Ladera Resort sitting above the Sugar Beach. We were told that we had some guest privileges at the sugar beach. When we got to the beach we were treated like 2nd class citizens. The sugar beach staff were rude and not helpful.
We later tried to dine at the Great Room at sugar beach. The staff at Ladera tried very hard to get us a reservation and had a lot of trouble. They finally got a reservation and when we arrived, the staff told us our reservation was at the more casual restaurant. We persisted and had to wait. Once we were seated, they rushed our meal.
We thought that since these hotels are so close to each other that there would be some mutual respect to each other's guests. We found that Sugar Beach was not a place that we would ever stay at and highly recommend the Ladera Resort.
The view is amazing and the staff are fantastic, compared to the rude and very unhelpful staff at Sugar Beach.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Good day,
Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your visit to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
I am very disturbed to read your review, as we rarely receive comments that outline the situations you have described. We have a long-standing relationship with Ladera resort and do all we can to make their guests feel welcome and looked after them when they visit our beach and food and beverage outlets.
It appears that you did not receive the warm welcome and assistance we are generally known for, and for that I am truly sorry. We will continue to review our service standards with the parties involved to ensure that all guests on our resort, resident or otherwise, enjoy the best service experience possible.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again so that you could see firsthand that changes made in light of your concerns.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
9.8 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
19.4 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Property: Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island's scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia's majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort's 78 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. A stunning white sand beach, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Hotels.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, West Indies, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing