We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique location, great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

As a little girl, I grew up at Sugar Beach when it was the then 'Jalousie plantation' in the 1980s (a working plantation). I went to the estate often with my parents and grand parents who were plantation workers there at the time; cleaning the estate and making copra from dried coconuts! I admired being so close to these majestic peaks rising from the deep blue Caribbean waters. Today, visitors can enjoy this great Treasure by staying at the Sugar Beach Resort. The cottages were built between the lush vegetation making it an awesome location for nature lovers. The newly rebuilt cottages look great and although not so close to one another, shuttle bus services are provided at anytime. There are lots of activities for guests to enjoy; including excursions, fitness centre, night life, kids activities amongst others so you will not get bored!!!!!! My memories from twenty six years ago remains and I will always love this place! No where else on earth like it! Strategically located between our world heritage sites! The majestic Pitons!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TreasureToursLtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Good Day,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about your “homecoming” stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, formerly the Jalousie Plantation.

It’s a real pleasure when guests who grew up in St Lucia and who have known the area from childhood, come back to the island to rediscover all of the special memories this place between the Pitons holds for them.

It is a magic location and we work hard as a team to protect everything that is special about Val des Pitons and to ensure any additions are in tune with the local surrounding and designed to enhance the wonders that Mother Nature has already provided.

Once again, thank you for your review. We trust that this latest visit was the first of many more to come.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,046 - 1,052 of 1,339 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

This resort is, no doubt about it, full-on five star. The rooms are beautiful, the beach and pool are perfect, the view drop dead and the food extremely good.

My son (as did all the other kids) absolutely loved the kids club and ran off there every day after breakfast. The spa was fantastic too.

I think the best thing (apart from the view) is the service though. They have an army of staff and, as you would expect of a far star (with five star prices) everything is done efficiently and nothing is too much trouble. You have a butler, who in principal can be at your beck and call - ours unpacked our suitcases, organised our dinner and spa reservations and looked into tours for us.

The only hiccup was that having travelled from another hotel (Windjammer Landing) we arrived at 11am, which we knew was before check-in (3pm) but we had hoped we might get in an hour or two early. We said we'd wait on the beach and they would collect us when our room was ready. As it turns out we only got to our room after the normal check in, which was shame. The problem was that the room we were shown to, whilst considered an 'upgrade' was quite a bit smaller than we had booked. We had booked a Superior Lux Villa, specifically as we like our young son to have his own room and the Sup Villa's come with a lounge. However, the hotel had upgraded us to a Beach Bungalow which whilst they cost £300 per night more and have a fab location on the beach do not have a separate lounge and are a bit small to add an extra bed into. For some reason even though the resort didn't appear full they were unable to move us that night so we had our first night in the Bungalow and then moved the next day which did mean our first 24hrs were quite disrupted. However the hotel came through with a very generous resort credit and the rest of our stay was magical.

I would definitely recommend this resort for young families and also couples.

Room Tip: Our room was in the 700's which whilst it felt very long way away took only minutes to get a shu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen4travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent family holiday at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

I am delighted that overall you really enjoyed your time at the resort. However, I would like to take the opportunity to apologise for the villa allocation issue you encountered on arrival. Usually our guests are grateful for room upgrades when we can give them, especially when we can place them directly on the beach in one of our bungalows. We completely understand why the upgrade was not such a positive for you this time around.

At the time of your stay, the room category you booked was actually fully committed which meant we were unable to move you immediately to this particular villa type. While we were able to turn this around for you on the following day, I would like to apologise for any inconvenience this caused.

Again, thank you for your review and your comments. We hope to see you and your family back again soon.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

To get away from it all St Lucia is a good choice and Sugar Beach fits this bill it's remote nestling between the twin Pitons with soft white sands. We stayed for 12 nights and had a brilliant time the staff are fantastic and will go the extra mile for you. The hotel is all about relaxation with quality the food and choice is great and if you want something special they will arrange that for you.
The beach is a little stones right at the the waters edge although it wasn't changed while we were there. however we were told that plans are in place to remove all the stones and replace with sand
The pool is great very clean and all the sun beds are extremely comfortable. The cocktails in the bar should not be missed
A good book and a long drink for a relaxing and chilled out holiday

Room Tip: Any room is fine and there is transport to pick you up from your room and take you back if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dti-daveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Good Day,

Thank you for your positive review about your holiday at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to completely relax and enjoy our stunning UNESCO World heritage-listed surroundings.

As you point out, there are some areas on the beach that have small stones. We regularly rake these areas at the water’s edge to help keep the sand smooth and easy on the feet.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our restaurants and the quality of the food we serve. I know our culinary team will be happy to hear your comments.

On behalf of my team, thank you for your comments and your business. We hope you will consider a return visit soon.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We recently had our wedding/elopement at the Sugar Beach resort and were thrilled with the property! The staff are all so genuinely nice, the remodel they did is gorgeous, and this location was the most beautiful I've ever seen!!! Don't hesitate - this is where you want to stay, especially if planning a wedding!
Marcus arranged our wedding and he absolutely took care of everything, including keeping a nervous, controlling bride calm :). Planning from afar can be nerve-wracking, but Marcus was so organized, calm, and on top of everything, that I wasn't worried about a thing! He is definitely doing a job he was made for; he is a romantic, kind, and wise soul!
The gym was fantastic, with yoga/pilates on a beautiful deck with the best view on the property - they have free weights, cardio machines, and limited weight machines available - all you could ask for on a vacation. (This beautiful deck is also where we had our wedding - gorgeous!!!)
Anisha - our lead butler - was a highlight. She was so kind and they really anticipate everything you could want/need. They decorated our room the night of our wedding (see pics) and left candles everywhere - it was beautiful.
There's really nothing to complain about at this resort, the views around every corner (and from your room - we were in 702, gorgeous!) were fantastic. The snorkeling is right on the beach, so I expected it to be average, but this reef was beautiful! It had a great variety of fish and reminded me of the reefs off the Keys in Florida....without the long boat ride :).
The sunset cruise was just beautiful scenery and the boating company was professional/kind (like almost everyone else on the island).
The zip-lining was average - nice guys, but views were not spectacular.
The great room restaurant was very nice, but be aware they mean it when they say "only long pants" for men!
The entire property had interesting art, porch "bed" swings, cabanas, comfortable lounging on the beach (with restaurant service) - there were just too many places to sit/relax to even try them all out. It wasn't crowded feeling at all, despite having ~78 rooms on property.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbsh7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to write this glowing review about your wedding celebration and honeymoon at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

It is always a pleasure to receive reviews such as yours and to hear our team members contributed in such a positive way to ensure your special day was just that.

I certainly share your views about our wedding coordinator Marcus. He was truly born to do the job he is doing and genuinely cares about all of the couples he works with. He will be delighted with your comments.

I will also be sure to commend your butler Anisha for a job well done.

Once again, thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at Sugar Beach for our honeymoon in July/August '13. The staff was very helpful and helped out whenever we needed. The beach was outstanding, and the beach staff were absolutely great to us and the other couples that we met while there. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a great, relaxing vacation spot.

Room Tip: The luxury villas are the way to go. Private plunge pool and private balcony. Great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Good day,
Thank you for your wonderful comments.
We are pleased to hear that your honeymoon at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort was amazing. We are also glad that you enjoyed our beautiful beach and everything else that we offered.
Once again, thank you for staying at our resort and recommending us to your friends and family. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We recently had the pleasure of spending five nights at Sugar Beach for our honeymoon. We were incredibly impressed by the staff -- this is an excellent team of people who go above and beyond to make your experience as memorable and comfortable as possible. The service is absolutely perfect and the people are warm and genuine. The property is stunning -- incredibly maintained and beautiful while still managing to be comfortable and unpretentious. This could be the best beach in St. Lucia! We had a luxury villa room, which included a plunge pool (I would highly recommend for those hot days). The room was very private and well-appointed. I would highly recommend Sugar Beach to anyone who is looking for a relaxing and romantic vacation destination! We are dying to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your honeymoon stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

We are committed to making every holiday experience satisfying and memorable by providing first class services and amenities and I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations in all areas.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort in the near future, perhaps for a first anniversary celebration.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

As newlyweds we wanted it all, the view, culinary delights, sensational excursions and of course romance. It was an exotic getaway and we stayed at one of their luxury villas in are 913 equipped with wifi, outdoor and indoor showers, romantic couple's plunge pool right in front of grow Piton(mountain). The informal dining space was near the large pool and the Great Room(formal dining) was on higher level, filled with a scenic view of the sea which you won't see by night.
It is truly a gorgeous hotel full of joyous personnel and succulent dishes, a must try for newlyweds.

Room Tip: Do choose their luxury villas in area 700- as other areas won't give you a beach side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahDavidBlanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

We are pleased that you chose our resort to celebrate your honeymoon and that your experience was exceptional. We aim to provide our guest with memorable experiences and we are glad this was the case for you.

Your feedback will be communicated to the staff, I am sure that they will be pleased.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments. We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
963 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,281 reviews
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
1.2 mi away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
743 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: £385 - £1,840 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island's scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia's majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort's 96 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Cottages, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. Two stunning white sand beaches, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing