We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had an amazing stay at this resort. The expectations were high as I read so many positive things about it and this place was recommended by friends to us as well. We booked to stay at the Superior Luxury Villa and were kindly upgraded to the Grand Luxury Villa. The resort itself couldn't be faulted, it is just so beautiful and the pictures don't do it justice. I find with many resorts, the pictures only tell half a story. You really have to have been there and experienced it because each resort has a certain 'feel' about it and the feel in this resort, is very special, very difficult to convey in pictures. It's cosy, yet it's very spacious, it's luxurious without being stiff. It feels just right and very unique. You don't want to leave. The service is impeccable (I don't understand the comments about staff not smiling enough; it must be a mentality difference but we always found the staff very friendly and not overly/unnaturally friendly.) The food was good and we visited the Ladera resort, just above, for dinner and some cocktails to take in breathtaking views of the Pitons. We did a sunset cruise which was unforgettable and excursions around the island. But to be honest, we could have stayed at the resort itself many more weeks without feeling bored or tired. The only slight worry is that there seem to be constantly new villas built and I sincerely hope the resort won't become overdeveloped. Many thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank myfriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Good day,
Thank you for your valuable comments about your recent stay.
We are delighted to know that your vacation at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resorts exceeded your expectations and that you felt special in our environment. Our team will be delighted with your feedback. We will commend them for a job well done.
Once again, thank you for your glowing review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort in the not too distant future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

902 - 908 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

To start the place I cannot fault it. The staff always greeted us with a smile and were very welcoming. We were greeted with drinks and shown to our villa. It was very clean and modern. The bed was very comfy and the view was lovely! The private pool was not heated and we were shaded so it wasn't ever used! But still lovely. We very rarely spent much time in the villa with the beach being so nice and quiet so it wasn't much of an issue. The beach is very clean and the sea is so warm. The snorkels are free and highly recommended, the bay is stunning to snorkel (bring an underwater camera)... And the waiter service was exceptional. The only con was a) it cost us a little over £7k but it was worth all inclusive if you are not leaving the resort b) the food menu is the same every day (3 things change every 2/3 days) which is ok for a few days but after that you find yourself eating the same stuff.
We really enjoyed it as our main honeymoon holiday and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allsweettreats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Good day,
Thank you for choosing Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort for your honeymoon.
We are glad to hear that everything was fantastic and that the staff provided exceptional service.
I am sorry that you grew tired of our culinary offerings. Had you voiced your concerns in that area, our executive chef would have been more than happy to prepare additional dishes to your satisfaction.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We hope to welcome you back to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort soon.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

A beautiful setting, pool, beach and views etc. Had dinner here and it was fabulous. Fantastic service, delicious food. Great pool area, secluded golden beach cove. Everything is perfect. Wished we could have stayed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are glad that you had the opportunity to experience Sugar Beach and that you enjoyed our facilities, amenities and service.
We hope to welcome you back next time as a resident guest.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a week long trip to Sugar Beach in St Lucia. It was from start to finish just magical. Our holidays are usually fairly active, but in this instance we wanted pure relaxation. No destination could have been better.

On arrival we were taken straight to our villa #705. This was an upgrade from one the luxury Sugar Mill rooms - which was a treat! The views were magnificent. The resort is right between the two pitons and they felt so close you could almost touch them.

The villa was very tastefully done. There was a huge walk-in wardrobe area and a massive bathroom. All the furnishings were to a high standard.

You had to take a shuttle to go to the restaurants and beach. This was never a problem though. They arrived promptly and in any event, there is no need to rush!

The beach is lovely and we relaxed there on most days. While not a fault of the hotel, I was eaten alive by what I suspect was sea lice (or some such thing) in the water. Unfortunately, nothing could be done about that.

We had a couple of massages which were just divine. I would thoroughly recommend them (especially the couple massage).

The service was always friendly, but could be a bit slow. Having said that, the holiday wasn't about rushing so it never bothered us at all. The food was fine. The quality could be better and I was disappointed there were few salad/light options. The Great Room food was by far the best, but this was a more formal setting. My only bad meal was the truffle pasta at the Bayside restaurant which was not pleasant. Everything else was fine.

We asked for a late check-out. We were fortunate to be given this (at a cost), but did have to move villas.

It was just a wonderful holiday and we felt very taken care of by the staff: a big thank you to them for a truly wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa #705 and thought it was the perfect location for a couple. The views were magnif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissWisteria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings about the standards and quality of service provided at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
On behalf of the entire team I would like to say how delighted we are that we met and exceeded your high expectations in all areas.
We are committed to making your holiday experience fulfilling and memorable by providing first class services and amenities.
I will communicate your feedback to the entire team and commend them for a job well done.

Once again, thank you for your very valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We spent five days at this wonderful resort. Our room was gorgeous and very spacious, and our butler Gus was very helpful and attentive. The food at the restaurants was delicious and offered a lot of variety. The only drawback of this resort is that you cannot walk to the beach, the pool, and the restaurants from most of the rooms. With that said, the shuttle service is very efficient. Would definitely recommend this resort to others.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dcpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Good day,

Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to write this very useful review about your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and that the courtesies and services you experienced positively contributed to a relaxing vacation.

Please know that your comments and your business have been greatly appreciated.

On behalf of the entire team, we all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stop reading all the picky reviews and just book it! We read every review and went back and forth over where to spend our 15th anniversary. Sugar Beach is amazing!!!!!! We stayed Sep 2013 for 7 days. Well worth every penny. Quiet, private, lovely, and breathtaking. We stayed in a villa with gorgeous views, private pool, outdoor shower. Our butler was so kind, thoughtful and met our every need. Actually, every person who served us at the resort was exceptional. I thought I would not like the shuttles driving us up and down the mountain but it really was not an issue. The spa is one of the best I have ever visited (and I have been to many all over). The sauna is an experience. Comfortable beds, great food, thoughtful fruit basket, note and champagne on our anniversary. We were going to primarily relax, unwind and unplug. It was perfection. At many points on our trip there were only a few other couples on the beach. We snorkeled each day, hiked the Piton, kayaked and just sat on the beach and enjoyed the sunsets. We ventured out one night to go to dinner at Jade Mountain....big mistake-although the view is stunning, the food was terrible and the decor was low end-we couldn't understand why it's rated so high. We could not get back to Sugar Beach fast enough. Now after 5 days or so you can start knit picking things, that's at any resort. But all in all it was the perfect vacation if your looking for quiet, romantic, chic and relaxing this is the place. We will definitely return as soon as we can. Just book it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katieplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Good day,

We are happy you chose Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort as the destination for your vacation.

It is a real pleasure to learn you had a memorable stay for all the right reasons.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

What a beautiful resort! Nestled in the hillside overlooking beautiful blue waters with the majestic Pitons on either side. The rooms are gorgeous and each come with it's own private pool and your own personal butler. We had Monty and he was awesome! The grounds are immaculate and lush. If you really like exercise you can walk the hills to and from your room, but be warned they are steep. The ever present motorized rickshaws are a good way to get around if walking isn't an option - like when you're dressed up and wearing heels. The beach is pristine and we never had a problem getting chairs under the thatched umbrellas. The one thing you will hear from the minute you arrive on the island though is "now you're on island time". This means things move at a much slower pace. So I won't say service is lacking but consistently slower than what you might be accustomed to in the states. The snorkeling to the right of the beach is nice. Lots of rocks and plenty of diversity and color and so convenient. The restaurants on the property are very pricey for the amount of food you get. Drinks are also very pricey. Glass of Pinot will run you $20 and up. The one aspect that can be a downside or an upside - depending on what you're looking for - is the isolation of this resort. It's great for the first couple of days but then we wanted to explore and see the rest of the island. Taxis are extremely expensive and you are pretty far from everything. Airport is a good hour. Castries where night life and casinos are is about 1 1/2 hours and about $150 cab fare. Roads are twisty and hilly - several in our group were car sick. We did take a couple of planned excursions. One was to the drive through volcano. Not what you think it is. It's more like a caldera and you just see the barren area where the steam vents are. Pretty smelly too. The one thing we like the most was the Tet Paul Nature Trail. Not too far away and really gives you a feel for the plants and farms and an absolutely stunning view of the island interior and Pitons.

The resort has something going on every night. Whether it's a Raggae band at the Beach bar or a Saxophone player serenading you during dinner to black and white dance party at the Cane Bar ( which has some awesome sushi ). The Friday night Beach BBQ is off the hook. There's so much food you could sit there all night and never try it all. It's all super delish!

The spa is fabulous!! It's tucked away among Banyon trees in the rainforest. It's seductive and unique and utterly tranquil.

This island is still relatively undeveloped. There is a tremendous amount of poverty. But the people are warm and welcoming. And Sugar Beach is the cream of the resorts on the island. But bring your wallet because this is not an economy trip.

Room Tip: You either get a room with a view of the Pitons or a view of the ocean - so if you care you might wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merkatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Good Day,
Thank you for making the effort to share your comments about your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are gratified to learn that your overall expectations were met and, in many instances, exceeded and that you had a wonderful holiday.
We genuinely care about each and every guest experience. We work hard to ensure that the services and product we deliver enhance every stay.
Thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to your return visit.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
9.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
0.7 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,184 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
752 reviews
19.5 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: £382 - £1,438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island's scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia's majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort's 96 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Cottages, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. Two stunning white sand beaches, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Holiday Gems, West Indies, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing