We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,623)
Filter reviews
1,623 results
Traveller rating
1,215
251
91
41
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,215
251
91
41
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscane barbayside restaurantgreat roomrainforest spasushisugar beachluxury villabutler serviceplunge poolst luciaour honeymoonbeach barmeal plandinner reservationsviceroy resortwater taxisunset cruise
Filter
Updating list...
1,151 - 1,156 of 1,623 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The only bad thing I could possibly say about this place is that you have to eventually say goodbye!
Absolute paradise.
My partner and I spent a glorious 2 weeks at this resort and we were overwhelmed from the moment we stepped out of our taxi from the airport to be welcomed by our own personal butler with two cocktails in hand!
The staff are amazing - gym instructors, the chefs, waiters, golf buggy drivers, maids, our ever attentive butlers where no request is too much. You are made to feel so welcome and everyone remembers your name!
This place is special, it is very special and I really hope I have the opportunity to visit again.
This resort is perfect for couples but would also be lovely to take your family to.
My partner arranged to have a candle lit dinner for us on the jetty to celebrate my birthday and we had the luxury of choosing whatever we wanted for our menu. Wonderful!
You must also visit the spa, have a couples massage and use the outdoor shower afterwards.
If you make the wonderful decision to stay at Sugar beach don't plan too much as you won't want to leave the resort!
I would recommend this hotel firstly for couples as a romantic getaway but it would also make a great place for a family holiday to chill and spend quality time together.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Good day,
On behalf of the entire team I would like to say how happy we are that you enjoyed your stay with us, and to thank you for taking the time to share this review.

We are committed to providing a high level of service to all of our guests and it is truly satisfying that you enjoyed your overall experience.
Again we thank you for your comments and business. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sugar Beach in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed there for one night while sailing down the coastline, it's a great location and fantastic rooms. The food was stunning grilled tuna to perfection however the service was very erratic, every person received their meals at different times to the point that some people had finished their mains and others had not even received their starters?

That aside the rest of the staff were amazing but be prepared to pay 10$ for a bottle of water.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dominic_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our accommodation and food quality, however disappointed that you experienced slow service during meal times. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused. This is an area where we are continually reviewing our service standards to ensure that the best possible service is rendered to our guests at all times.
The price you have quoted is for imported Pana Water. In the pricing of imported items such as this, we are forced to factor in the cost of shipping to St Lucia and the taxes and duties we have to pay to bring them to the hotel. Guests have a choice to have natural spring or house water which we do not charge for.
Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon, hopefully for a longer stay next time.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The staff was so helpful and so kind . The location was perfect. We haven't been treated so nicely , we dare to say that the staff spoiled us. Also because we were honeymooners the hotel upgraded our villa , to one had view to the piton and the sea!!!
The only thing ,that nearly disappointed us, was that because a big group of New York's corporate arrived, the hotel canceled some of the regular events such as the friday's beach barbecue .. But when we expressed our disappointment , they did their best... It was our best holiday experience !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Good day,
Thank you for your glowing comments about your honeymoon stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
I would like to apologize for the disappointment that you have highlighted with the rescheduling of the Friday night barbeque dinner.
We are pleased to hear that apart from the disappointment highlighted, you have a wonderful stay.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We chose Sugar Beach for our 25th anniversary and were not disappointed. We looked at all the room possibilities and decided we would rather be closer to all the restaurants, pool and beach than have to rely on the tuk tuks for transport. Again, we felt we had chosen well, the Superior Luxury Sugar Mill Room had a very comfortable four poster white bed, dressing room with huge closet, bathroom with a pedestal bath and large shower room, gated courtyard garden with jacuzzi plunge pool as well as a shady roof area with loungers, sofa, table and chairs, planes and ceiling fan and lights. The fridge was well-stocked with complimentary free soft drinks and beers (two per day) and the butler brought a bucket of ice each evening. We got into a routine of spending a day out - at the beach, short excursion, etc. - then showering and relaxing here with a rum and coke, made from the complimentary bottle of rum, before dinner.

Breakfast on the Terrace was very good every day with a huge choice, excelling on Easter Sunday with special dishes and chocolate Easter Eggs. The view from here over the gardens and the bay is beautiful.

Two butlers were there for our service but this was perhaps the one area that did not live up to standards. We had some trouble with excursions - for instance reserving the Saturday morning visit to the Soufriere market then no boat turning up - and though our senior butler had said he would check the arrangement, he did not get back to us - this happened on a couple of occasions. Should say we didn't miss out on any of the excursions - for the Soufriere market the hotel organised a water taxi and sent the hotel Sugar Daddy launch to pick us up.

Otherwise service everywhere was excellent.

On our anniversary a bottle of chilled champagne and platter of tropical fruits was waiting for us when we returned from the beach.

Though the beach is not exclusive, very few non-hotel visitors seemed to make their way to it. The only really sensible way to arrive is by boat, the road being very steep and not in the greatest condition.

Beach service was very good - clean towels always available, plus a flag system for attracting an attendant for drinks, snacks, etc.

We couldn't have chosen better for this special occasion.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank herebedragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your 25th anniversary stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
I would like to apologize for the confusion that you experienced with your various tour arrangements. Our butlers are usually on point with making all guest arrangements. It is unfortunate that you did not get to experience our usual high level of service in that area. We are continuing to review our service standards in this area to ensure that there is not a repeat of what you have described.
We are pleased to note that apart from the disappointment you highlighted, your anniversary stay was memorable for all the right reasons.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We are looking forward to your return visit in the not too distant future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Just returned from this property where we enjoyed several days of breathtaking views, a relaxing and quiet beach, outstanding pool area and accommodations many levels above my wildest expectations. Customer service here is no doubt 5 stars . . . very welcoming, wonderful people. Meals, though expensive, were delicious and extremely flavorful. This is one of those places you have to see to appreciate all of its' beauty. It is well worth the travel and expense.

Room Tip: I heard from one of the "tuck-tuck" drivers that the clusters with the best views are the 300s and 500s. "Tuck-tucks" are the mode of transportation for moving from your villa to the main areas of the property (lobby, restaurants, pools, beach, spa, etc).
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Our_Turn103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
Top notch amenities and 5 star service is the perfect recipe for a relaxing and memorable stay. We are very happy to know that we exceeded your expectations in every area.
Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments and business. We are looking forward to your return visit.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews