We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Honeyoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Honeyoon!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This place is worth the hype. We did many google searches when it cam to decide where we wanted to go on our honeymoon and Sugar Beach was high on every list. We decided to splurge and book our trip to St. Lucia hoping to have the time of our lives just 3 days after tying the knot. Let me tell you first hand this did not disappoint. Instead we had the best 7 days of our lives and could not be more happy with our choice.

The drive to the resort is beautiful scenery. Very slow and windy roads and takes about an hour from the airport. Ask your driver a lot of questions he will love it the St. Lucian are very friendly and want to share their knowledge of their country. When you finally arrive at the resort your butlers are waiting to greet you with a fresh cold drink and eager to grab your luggage out of your hands and bring it to your closet for you. They then give you a cell phone to call them with anything you may need over the course of the trip. Very nice and very helpful as they are always on call.

The Luxury Villa, we stayed in 501, was incredible. The view was absolutely breathtaking. Morning afternoon and night the views just got better and better. Walk out Patio and double infiniti plunge pool. The room was immaculate. Cleaned for its guests twice a day by the staff. Huge comfy bed. Two bathrooms and two showers and a big soaker tub. What else do you need. Its a home away from home and probably better!

The pool, The beach....WOW, WOW, WOW. enough said.

The food was the best my Wife and I have ever had, let alone at a resort, In saying that this is not a resort, its luxury living for a week thats the way we looked at it. The great room is so fancy and amazing food and privacy. The bayside is ocean side eating at its best. And the sushi in the Cane bar is top notch. Breakfast lunch and dinner have so many great options and you can even have it served right to your room.

The spa is amazing. Watersports such as snorkelling and paddle boarding make for some fun stuff to do in the water right at the resort. We played Tennis. This place has everything never a dull moment unless its spent relaxing.

The resort is so quiet and private it really makes for a romantic feel.

The staff is so friendly always smiling and ready to help and serve or just chat and be a friend.

My wife and I had the most amazing time we will never forget and couldnt have dreamt of a better honeymoon destination then Sugar Beach!

Room Tip: Room 501. Absolutely Stunning views. Great Villa layout. Would request it again myself if I retur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HugoBoss11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review of your honeymoon stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

We are pleased that you chose our resort to celebrate such a special occasion and even happier that you feel that you made the best and right decision.

As you have described, the level of service that we strive to provide to our guests is second to none. We believe in making every experience the best it can be even if it is means going above and beyond our duties in certain cases.

We are truly happy that our team helped to create memories to last a lifetime for all the right reasons.

We will be sure to commend our staff for a job well done.

Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We hope to welcome you back, perhaps for a first wedding anniversary celebration.

Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    948
    204
    65
    29
    17
See reviews for
232
866
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights at the beginning of May celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. The hotel is in a spectacular setting, and we had a villa up in the rain forest which was luxurious, and peaceful. The rooms in the five hundreds seem to benefit from good sea and beach views and the mountains as well.

The staff here are without exception quite outstanding. They learn your names very quickly and service is always good in our experience.

The only slight drawback is the that you have to call for transport to go anywhere on the resort if you are staying in the hills. However a call to your butler brings a tuk tuk to your door in no time. (They do have other buggies that are not as good, but it all seems to work efficiently)

The beach side restaurant is beautifully set and the quality of the food is good as well. Good for lunch or dinner. We had dinner on the terrace a couple of times as wee, and whilst this is a bit more formal the food and service is again very good.

The hotel has a good gym and tennis courts with a residents coach.

You can also snorkel on a beautiful coral cove just off the main beach, and the fish are just amazing.

There is also a suspended walkway through the rain forest which is nice, if a little on the short side.

The rain forest spa is also very good. We had a couple of massages in the beautiful wooden cabins up in the ran forest. Whilst this is fairly pricey, it is a lovely experience.

Will definitely return

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to share your Sugar Beach, experience on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased that you made Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort the destination to celebrate your 20th wedding anniversary.
I understand your comment about having to call the shuttle to get from one point to the other. Like you rightfully said, the shuttles are very quick and efficient and guests usually do not wait any more than five minutes for a ride. We are glad that you enjoyed all our services and facilities.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We hope to welcome be back in the not too distant future.
André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was our first trip to St. Lucia and we are already planning for a return stay at Sugar Beach in a few years! Everything about this resort was perfect, but just a few highlights:

-Most people seem to get upgraded to a large villa. We stayed for 10 nights in the 800's area. The bed, large bathroom, living room, outdoor space- all were large and beyond our needs.

-The location is the best on the entire island- smack between the pitons and lots of great fine dining nearby.

-We were glad we did not do all inclusive. The food on property is a bit expensive, but so are nearby resort restaurants. All were delicious and worth it- and we love good food. There is a lot of delicious seafood, but also pasta, sushi, steaks. Whatever you want! They staff are all friendly and accommodating.

-The beach was great: fantastic snorkeling at the beach , lots of free water sports, and they'll arrange excursions and dives.

-The butler service: You may think you won't use it, but they will make reservations and really help you with any and everything. We forgot a few items and our guys were right on it.

We don't really have a single negative- only that we had to leave. It was paradise. People who complain about shuttles or expense have negative dispositions. The shuttles were fun and if you talk to the drivers, they are happy to share St Lucian culture and history. Yes, it is a bit expensive, but worth every dollar!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndseyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your honeymoon stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
I am very pleased to know that you truly enjoyed everything that we offered and that our butlers did an exceptional job serving you.
We strongly believe in creating experiences to last a lifetime, for all the right reasons. We are glad this was the case for you.
Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments and business. We are looking forward to your return visit, perhaps for your first wedding anniversary.
Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, Kent
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Wow! When we went the spa was getting done in the tree tops and the upgrade to the better 'villas/rooms' is TOTALLY worth it!
The views from the suites where spectacular, at night you could sit in your infinity pool and watch the glow bugs flying around and listen to the abundance of wildlife moving about. There was a big outdoor private area with your own shower overlooking the Pitons!

The rooms/suites are set quite far back up high from the beach and restaurant but you just call a shuttle when you're ready to go down or back and they come and get you.
Food: a few options to choose from but everyone was amazing, the ice bar is good fun and serve snacks there too!

Trips from the beach: we saw a whale with one if the guys on the beach who took us out, loads cheaper, little less luxury but much more fun as they went where they liked looking for the whales and talking to their fisherman friends to locate them, amazing, it was only the two of us!
I wasn't very familiar with whales in St.Lucia but they're there!!

The resort is very well located with all activities/ site seeing near by, there are amazing little birds everywhere.

The saddest thing is, the highlight of the holiday was the room upgrade, it really was spectacular, you don't spend much time in your room I know, but you would here, well, the outdoor space anyway...!
It's gone up in price since we went but it's worth it especially what they have done to it now!!!
Enjoy!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
Based on what you have described, you had an exciting time at Sugar Beach. We are always happy when our guests have positive experiences that they can share with others.
All of our facilities, including our accommodations, are at the same very high standard. We are happy that you appreciated the room upgrade we were able to extend.
Once again, thank you for your positive feedback and business. We hope to welcome you back to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort really soon.
Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Islip, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Amazing Hotel! Great food, drinks and the rooms are amazing. I was here with a group of about 90 and everyone said one of the best places they have ever been. Staff is hard working and everyone is super nice! The Jerk Chicken special was amazing. Recommend for anyone that truly wants to relax.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davismm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Good day,

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort as part of a larger group.

We are thrilled with your comments. It is our aim to ensure we provide memorable experiences to our guests and all the special touches to make each vacation relaxing and enjoyable. Thank you for your glowing comments about our team members and also the jerk chicken you had. I know our culinary team will be delighted.

Once again, thank you for your comments and business, and for recommending Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort to family and friends.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is the best hotel in the area. It has a lovely beach and as close as possible to the Pitons. Visited Jade Mountain which was lovely too but not much of a beach and Ladera which has a rustic look. These two other hotels were further away from the Pitons although with nice views of the Pitons. Guests in Ladera have access to Sugar beach resorts beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rubiah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Good day,
Thank you for your comments about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are happy to know that we are highly favoured by you when compared to the other resorts and hotels in the area.
We try our utmost to ensure that we offer the best service and products to our guests.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and business. We are looking forward to your return visit in the near future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Njurunda, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

we recently returned from our honeymoon at sugar beach. we had an amazing time! we definitely would return, but with that said, here's my pro/con list:

pro:
-the villa was absolutely stunning. we stayed in a luxury villa, and it was beautiful. the plunge pool was a great size, and we did use it! the shower was INCREDIBLE, and it felt like we were in a mini house. really, really nice. we came back to a spotless villa everyday. the housekeeping did a really good job!

-the food: everything we ate was really, really good. we tried every possible location at the resort, and i was never disappointed. for breakfast, the eggs benny and chorizo, for lunch, the fish sandwich, roti, and shrimp bisque! and for dinner, we really liked the sushi cakes at the cane bar, bbq night at the bayside, and everything at the great room was incredible!

-the staff: everyone was REALLY really nice. especially sherman! LOVED HIM!

-the pool: was amazing. there was barely anyone in it, and it was spotless all the time. the service at the pool was great, and we never felt like we were neglected!

-the spa: we had multiple services done, and they were all great! a little pricy, but they had specials running everyday. (don't buy a package beforehand-- we did, and we could've taken advantage of their daily specials, so we kind of felt annoyed by that.)

cons:
-the shuttles: you can't walk to anything, so you have to take a shuttle everywhere. sometimes they came really quickly.. and sometimes they didn't. there were a couple times we were late to spa appointments because they took 15 min to get to our villa. after a while, it's gets to be a hassle to take the shuttles too.. you get barely any exercise and i started to feel ill by the end of the week from being in them. definitely a huge con. i missed being able to just go for a walk, and the roads don't really allow for that there.

-the service was really spotty. when it was good, it was perfect, when it was bad, it was REALLY bad. there was almost always a problem with our order (bringing out fries instead of our salad, forgetting sides, etc.) both times we got room service, our order was missing something. sometimes we waited a looooong time for our food. the great room's service started off well, but then we felt forgotten after a while. we waited 30 min for someone to come refill our glass of wine after buying an expensive bottle.

overall, it was a great vacation, and we truly enjoyed it. the cons were only slight negatives that didn't ruin our trip. i hope to go back someday, but maybe get a beach bungalow next time, so i could be closer to the ground.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lt09013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your honeymoon at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
Your feedback is very important to us. We are pleased to hear that your stay was almost perfect with the exception of the disappointments that you have highlighted in the areas that concerned you.
I have shared your comments with the relevant department heads to ensure that our guests always receive the best possible service. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again, and to share firsthand the improvements made in light of your concerns.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
934 reviews
9.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
0.7 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,160 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
904 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Property: Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island's scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia's majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort's 96 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Cottages, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. Two stunning white sand beaches, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, West Indies, Odigeo, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing