We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ladera in Soufriere, St Lucia”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ladera Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ladera Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ladera in Soufriere, St Lucia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

My wife and I were very excited to spend 4 nights at Ladera in Dec 2012 for our honeymoon (we got married in Jamaica!). The private car from the airport in Vieux Fort to Ladera was worth it. About a 45 minute drive to the resort. We were put into a different room than we actually reserved (which was ok with us as it was an upgrade) - Room G. This was a multi-level villa with 2 bedrooms plus a third sleeping area (loft) and 2 bathrooms. Very spacious balcony and living area. The pool was both on the main level inside and extended outside to the front of the villa. The positives: You won't find a better view on the planet. The villa was very comfortable and setup nicely. The restaurant on site (Dasheene) also had great views, the staff was very friendly and the food was good. We took a guided tour into the rainforest that was awesome. If you want to do this, make sure you ask for Tony. He is the BEST!! A native St Lucian, very friendly, knowledgeable and cares about your experience. The negatives: One of the biggest in-room ammenities we looked forward to (the pool), we didn't use at all. When it wasn't dirty (pool guy came every other day), it was freezing cold. Even in a tropical environment, you want the pool to be comfortable. Also, the lower level of our villa is used as a storage area for the grounds, so every day, multiple times a day the staff would congregate outside of our villa and actually inside the ground room of our villa to chat. This really took away from the private, romantic mood we were looking for. Ladera is supposed to restock your in room fridge daily with complimentary water, sodas and ice. We literally had to call to ask for this every day, sometimes multiple times. The fridge was more of a container as well as it did not make or keep anything cold. All in all I would recommend Ladera but I think they could tweak a couple of minor things to really put this resort into a class of its own.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Ladera. We are following up on your recommendations and will share your kind comments with Tony!
Shermael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    184
    60
    39
    33
See reviews for
33
950
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

We travel very often. We have never stayed at a hotel quite like this. It is truly an amazing experience, I would highly recommend. It is definitely a "luxury camping" type of experience. The view during the day is one in a million. At night things get a little bit more interesting - yes there are bugs, bats, and lizards. I found it difficult to sleep at night and did not fully relax. But waking up to that magical view made it all worth it. We thoroughly enjoyed our pool and hanging out in our room. The hotel has a rustic natural feel to it. The staff is pleasant and accomodating. I agree with other reviews here, it is a great place to check out for 1-3 nights but I would not recommend making it your entire stay. We stayed here 3 nights and then stayed at Sugar Beach which is also gorgeous.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VACATI0NG0D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Ladera!
Shermael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC / London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

Just spent the back end of our trip to St Lucia here. We toured around with our own car from Discovery at the start of the week and ended the trip here and am VERY glad we did. I'm glad we had a car as we didn't want to rely on buses and taxis to go anywhere. We did pop to the sulphur baths which were literally down the road and snorkeling at Anse Chastanet which is 10 minutes drive - excellent beach near Jade Mountain!

First off the room. Don't expect some contemporary posh hotel room (go to Jade if you want that), Instead, this is a very eco-lodge feel with STUNNING views (the best I've EVER seen). I can't see any other hotel having such views simply as it's slap bang in the middle of the two pitons. We had a plunge pool in our room which was fantastic and relaxing too. We worked out there was a tap hidden in the bush to make it warmer!). Bed was great for us and the room was stocked with lots of complimentary water/soda. They give you joss sticks to detract flies which I thought wasn't a big deal.

Food is excellent. Dinner for us was out of this world (especially local Friday) and made better with the friendly service we received from the staff. They cared what you thought and didn't just go through the motions. We got complimentary champagne (we weren't celebrating anything other than getting away), which was unexpected after we both dived into the pool within seconds. Wireless was excellent speed and worked very well.

If I was to pick on something (and it really didn't bother us) it would be that our room was below another room and they had a circular stair case. For about 20 minutes early one morning it sounded like they were wearing cement blocks on their feet but that's the only negative. We were far from the road so that we certainly didn't hear.

Overall this is a romantic, quiet, relaxing hotel. If you want somewhere romantic to chill out with your loved one I'd HIGHLY recommend this. It's not cheap so don't expect it to be. We had heavy rain over one night which was loud being outside and could see how others may be bothered. Use the ear plugs they give you though if it does!

I'd recommend staying here for the views, romanticism and food. Like I said, don't expect mod cons and a flat screen tv, you'll miss the point if you do.

Room Tip: I'd ask for middle to the opposite end of the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_-_-_-HIM-_-_-_-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
We appreciate your kind comments and wish you a wonderful holiday season!
Shermael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

We have reserved Ladera Room ($700.00 a night with taxes) based purely on the view and unusual concept as well as high hopes for impeccable service and quality of the resort. This price gave us a possibility to stay at Ritz Carlton in Hawaii and other similar high quality hotels. This resort just does not cut it. The view from the room is stunning and that's about it. We did not mind wilderness, that was the idea to be close to nature,and occasional bugs and geckos did not bother us, just the opposite it was very unusual to be that close to rain forest. But honestly every one goes to the Caribbean in the middle of December for beach time, swim and sun. When you will take shuttle to the beach, pay for lounges $15.00 and finally arrive looking on the stunning white lounges, you will quickly discover that you not allowed there and have to be in the segregated area of Ladera Resort guests, smelly, scorching sun, no shade, very rundown disgusting lounges. We get acquainted with guests at Viceroy Sugar Beach resort, the lucky ones that were treated like guests of a 5-star resort and discovered that they pay much less for the stay. I do not understand why I see same complaints from years ago, here on the trip advisor and management does nothing. How much investment do they really need in order to build few beach Huts and buy lounges similar to ones of Sugar bay resort have? Here is an idea: buy same lounges from the same source and customize them with the Ladera's colors and logos. Ladera's guests will be happy! Also, if you are imagining to make a skinny dips at your room's plunge pool with your hubby, it is not the case here. Those great looking plunge pools in the room are purely decorational. We tried to plunge in at different times of the day etc, it is always freezing cold and to plunge in it is just like swimming in a freezing lake Ontario in December. Bed is very uncomfortable, furniture is dated,there is no real privacy as you can hear everything, even people sneezing in the adjacent room, staff is nice, but again room service came 1 hour later, meal was all cold (just a waste of money and time) and restaurant is just average, there are much better dining choices around the island. In conclusion, if you want a great view, it is place for you, if you are looking for quality according to monies paid it is not there. We will come St Lucia again, love the island and people, not to Ladera though. Now sugar Bay beach resort comes to mind...ps if you are nice to staff at Sugar Bay's beach they may let you rent their lounges (if there is availability) for $20;00 per person, best moneys we spend there! Hope it will help to make an informant decision and spend your hard earned money wisely!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank creativemadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
We are sorry to hear about your experience at Sugar Beach. As previously mentioned on trip advisor, Ladera provides complimentary access to the beach at this resort daily. We do not own the chairs or any of the facilities on the beach. We do however; facilitate the purchase of chair vouchers through our concierge (same as we do with tours or any offsite attraction). Guests are also free to pay Sugar Beach directly for use of the beach facilities or prepay in advance by purchasing a voucher through our concierge. We offer a choice of heated or non heated pools at the resort depending on personal preferences. Our furniture is built on site and what can be perceived as dated is actually locally hand crafted furniture which earned Ladera accolades. Overall, Ladera offers an authentic and unique luxury experience which we acknowledge may not be suitable for everyone. Thank you for your comments. Have a happy holiday season!
Shermael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

My wife and I (both 28) stayed a week at Ladera in November for our anniversary. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom villa, room G, and initially I was disappointed as this room does not have the private pool on the balcony. It wasn’t long before you realize that the two bedroom is at least twice as wide as the honeymoon villas, providing twice the width of view. This is not an overstatement as we has 3 other couples over one night after the bar shut down for drinks, all of them staying in the honeymoon villas and all felt they had made the wrong choice compared to our huge living room, balcony and view. Not to mention our indoor pool was huge. The two bedroom unit we were in had a loft style master bedroom with a shower facing outside, providing an outdoor shower feel from high up on the mountain. The second bedroom was also nice and airy but provided no view. Our villa also had a small third bedroom which was tucked away with a single bed for who knows what. The view from our unit was worth every penny we paid, literally breathtaking no matter how long you stare at it. You spend your mornings and nights in the room enjoying the romance and uniqueness of the location. Weather is fantastic at night & morning. We found the food to be excellent and reasonably priced for this level of a resort. A few nights we stayed at the bar area and enjoyed the small bites which are a bargain considering how delicious they are. Don’t pass on the fish of the day sticks on the bar menu as they are usually snapper or mahi and excellent. We also did the trek to the market & cooking class with the chef which I recommend.
It is true you are stuck on the resort at night. But if you make an effort to meet other couples either down at the beach or at the bar, you can have plenty of socializing, we met some awesome couples. The other complaint was the bar shut down very early every night. Even if half the resort was at the bar drinking, the relatively rude bar tender would shut it down. One of the basic things a resort should have is an outgoing, fun bartender. One night the resort had a DJ; about 5 couples were dancing and enjoying it when he shut down the music at 9pm. I went over and paid the kid to keep playing for another hour and a half to continue the fun. I understand you must respect the other visitors but when half the resort is at the bar, you shouldn’t shut it down so early.
A tip is to stop on the way to the resort and pick up liquor and snacks for the room...something we always do and are surprised few other couples do.
The beach the resort shuttles you to is beautiful and not a bad shuttle in the least. We walked the beach and met a guy with a ~24’ panga to organize snorkeling trips or booze cruises instead of using the resort cutting the prices in half. One night I had him taxi us to Marigot Bay (where a lot of celebrities own houses overlooking the bay) to dine at the Rainforest Hideaway. Easily one of the coolest/most romantic things we did on the trip, excellent food, tarpon swimming under lights directly below you. Completely alone being shuttled to and from the restaurant is highly recommended. The volcano was OK, its imploded so not that amazing visually but still cool…can be done with a taxi driver round trip in under an hour from the resort. It is literally ~2 miles from the resort. Get your own taxi driver as the resort upcharges considerably.
The resort and the experience were top notch.
Side note about the island itself, the Soufriere portion of the island is the best part to stay on. We ended our trip with 2 nights in Castries and regretted leaving Ladera. We felt Soufriere was a bit quiet and wanted to see a livelier scene but discovered Castries has primarily the big resorts where the crowds are as the bars were empty at night in town. Also, nearly all the tourist trips from Castries go up to Soufriere so it was pointless for us to leave the part of the island where the tourist attractions were. Did a catamaran sunset cruise from here and it was crap, never raised the sails (plenty of wind) and showed up after sundown. Also the landscape in Castries is not nearly as beautiful as the Soufriere area, where the Pitons are clearly, by far, the highlight of the entire island.
We also took a day trip to a Sandals resort ($100 pp all day all inclusive) to see what all the fuss was about. You can see my review there as well but we hated it and in a nutshell was 3 star all inclusive mexico…literally no difference.

Room Tip: Stop en route to hotel and pick up liquor, beer, snacks to cut costs. 2 bedroom was amazingly romant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gnordin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
Thank you for such a great review! We are glad that you were able to experience Ladera during your stay in November. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Shermael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

We did the Peak to Beach package (in reverse...we stayed at Cap Maison first). This worked out well because we did a sailboat transfer downwind with "Jus Sail" that was amazing. Much better than a half day in a taxi. We loved Ladera to wrap up our trip by relaxing and it is closer to the airport so easier to maximize your final day before flying out. Our room was right next to the restaurant and had amazing view. I have never hung out in my hotel room as much as we did at Ladera! It was hard to resist sunset or reading in the plunge pool. I think all of the rooms are different and have been renovated at different times, we think ours is a bit on the older side compared to the others but it was still really nice, unique and what we expected. We got to peek at a 2 bedroom suite because we booked a couples massage and they set up in that suite...massage with a view... which was amazing and relaxing. That suite was a bit more luxurious and recently finished than ours. But it was also larger and more expensive! We loved the staff and would like to praise the wine sommelier who was very helpful in helping us choose glasses of wine (included in our package). We also hiked the Gros Piton, strenuous but worth it if you feel you should get moving! Stay here is you like unique resorts, views and outdoors. Romantic and perfect for our first trip as couple without our son (not a child friendly resort for a toddler...no wall!). Yes I had ants crawling on my toothbrush but that is what you get in the jungle. So make sure you have clear expectations. Amazing!

Room Tip: They are all different! Read reviews. Decide on budget what is most important. view? or recently r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susies098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
We are delighted to hear about your experience at the resort, especially at Dasheene Restaurant. We will share your comments with the entire team including our Head Sommelier Karim. Season’s Greetings!
Shermael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
19.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
16.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladera Resort

Property: Ladera Resort
Address: Rabot Estate, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ladera Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ladera is the pioneer of the open air three-walled concept in St. Lucia and has since been distinguished by a wide range of international publications, awards and accolades from Conde Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure, Forbes Life Caribbean Travel and Life, Brides Magazine and countless others. Ladera was once part of Rabot Estate, one of Soufriere's oldest plantations, which still borders the resort. In the late 1960's a parcel of land was sold and developed into a small cluster of condominiums and christened Dasheene, named after the thousands of large, glossy-leafed dasheen plants (also known as elephant ears) harvested on the site. In 1982 it was transformed into a unique resort and changed hands a number of times before emerging as Ladera under the current private ownership. The mission has always been to offer an unparalleled guest experience that is quintessentially Saint Lucian, one that embraces the magnificent views and offers harmony with the surrounding natural beauty and rich bounty of the island. Today, that commitment to sumptuous authenticity is evident in everything from the innovative renderings of fresh local dishes at Dasheene restaurant, to the use of Caribbean timbers, stone and tile work used in the guestrooms and public areas. Yet it shines through most effectively with warm and welcoming Saint Lucian staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ladera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ladera Hotel Soufrière
Ladera Resort Soufrière
Ladera St Lucia
Ladera Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing