We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't get much better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ladera Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ladera Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't get much better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Ladera for our honeymoon in one of the Hiltop suites. Other than the restaurant, we were very happy with the resort. The room was incredible and beyond our expectations. It's hard to describe the beauty of the views from the room and we really enjoyed the island feel of the whole resort as opposed to a more American feel. The staff were helpful in many ways and really took care of us. I would highly recommend visiting this resort for any occasion.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Choprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    183
    57
    39
    33
See reviews for
32
937
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Yes this is a beautiful resort with beautiful views and the staff are very nice, but after you look at your view for the first few hours, there really is nothing to do there. Tiny pool with a tiny deck, ok restaurant, tiny gym, didnt use the spa. If it were not for the 15 minute shuttle down to the Sugar Beach resort on the water, you would be bored. The resort is overpriced for what it offers.
There should be activities at the resort to choose from: yoga, pilates, hiking, water excursions included in the rate of the room. The Sugar Beach resort is fabulous, with a great beach, water activities, spacious pools and restaurants/bars. It may be pricey, but it is probably worth it. If you do choose to stay at Ladera, you can rent beach chairs at Sugar Beach which at $50 a day is worth it, but you cannot use the pool.
It rains almost every day, so its not always warm there, and again, you need to think about this vacation and line up things to do outside of your room. The heated plunge pool was extra and we did not think we would need it, but at least you could have sat in the pool during the rain. There are no lounge chairs on the deck portion of the room, so there is no place to hang out. Just upright chairs.....not very comfortable for lounging. There was no incentive to stay in our room and nothing to do at the resort....
If I were to go to this area again, I would be sure to stay at a resort with its own beach.

Room Tip: Get a heated pool and ask for lounge chairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank OK805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at Ladera for four nights and it exceeded our expectations. There were a few touches that were so thoughtful: upon arrival you are offered a cool drink and taken to your room (leaving you free to check in at your convenience). The design of the rooms is breathtaking - photos truly do not do the view justice - and the third wall concept is excellently executed. We were staying in a Hilltop Dream Suite with a heated plunge pool (we were SO glad we opted for the heated pool.) The first day the water seemed a bit cool but within a few hours of asking, maintenance had restarted the solar heater and it was perfect for the rest of our stay. Similarly, the temperature and water pressure in the shower was a bit off and as soon as we mentioned it, the problem was fixed. We had an emergency at home and Holly, the owner, let us borrow her personal blackberry until it was resolved and then checked in with us numerous times to make sure things were ok.

Staff was friendly and attentive but not cloyingly so and it's a great place to just relax. This was a perfect vacation for us: relaxing, private, comfortable and a bit unique.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We came to Ladera for the first half of our honeymoon and truly enjoyed our stay. The three wall style room was just plain cool. The second we walked into the room we ripped off our clothes and jumped into the plunge pool. The room itself had everything you'd expect from a hotel plus the fridge had free non-alcoholic drinks and 6 free Piton beers (local brew). It was a nice touch, especially for the price of the room.

The best part of this whole place was the staff. The women at reception could not have been more sweet and they genuinely cared about us and wanted to make sure that we had the best trip possible.

The only con would be the hotel, like most of the hotels, is far away from everything so there is not really an option to walk anywhere nearby.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pattypancakes181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

This resort is absolutely beautiful. It is literally paradise, heaven on earth. The rooms are open to the view of the pitons and the Caribbean sea, a view that just never gets old. We enjoyed the beautiful rainfall every night creating a sound that was so peaceful to sleep to. You are open to nature so expect harmless moths, frogs or small lizards but they truly are harmless and do not take away from the wonderful experience of the resort. The staff is all so wonderful and accommodating. Definitely a wonderful, fabulous, stupendous, relaxing, and rejuvenating vacation. We also tried the Swedish massages at the spa which was a wonderful experience as well. Nothing bad to say about this resort. A true slice of heaven on earth in the tropical rainforest!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MarMaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, Berks
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Ladera for a few nights at the start of our honeymoon. The views are even better than everyone descibes on here and literally have to be seen to be believed.

Our room was lovely and comfortable with everything you could need. The open air concept was something totally new and for us and we both loved it although the first night I was woken up a few time by the rain - not really a problem since the hotel provides ear plugs for everyone. We had some wildlife come into our room but to be honest that's what you sign up for when you choose this type of hotel and we enjoyed it immensely.

The bed and sofa and all furnishings were really comfortable - you will be able to really relax and unwind at Ladera for sure.
There were a few negative points but nothing serious. We found service in the restaurant incredibly slow - not the waiters - but the food just seems to take an age to come out of the kitchen! The portions are VERY small and the food way overpriced in my opinion. My husband is the head chef of a five star property in France and even he was shocked by how small the portions were but, that said, the food was tasty. The shower in our room was sometimes hot and sometimes luke warm which was annoying too, but again, not a deal breaker.

All in all I would thoroughly recommend Ladera, there are never too many people around - it really is a place of true peace and tranquility. Oh and the cocktails were the best we had on the island!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank restaurantlover52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

The Ladera Resort is nothing less than AMAZING!!! My husband and I chose Ladera to spend our 15 year anniversary. Although I was concerned about the open-room concept, it was the best decision I ever made. You feel like you're the only ones on the hilltop and the whole island is yours. There was never a bad meal, the staff is awesome, the rooms and the views were breathtaking.... I could go on and on about Ladera... but I'm going to stop so that you can go see for yourself. You won't be disappointed!!! We're already planning another trip to Ladera!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike106399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.2 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.2 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
19.9 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
17.0 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladera Resort

Property: Ladera Resort
Address: Rabot Estate, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ladera Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ladera is the pioneer of the open air three-walled concept in St. Lucia and has since been distinguished by a wide range of international publications, awards and accolades from Conde Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure, Forbes Life Caribbean Travel and Life, Brides Magazine and countless others. Ladera was once part of Rabot Estate, one of Soufriere's oldest plantations, which still borders the resort. In the late 1960's a parcel of land was sold and developed into a small cluster of condominiums and christened Dasheene, named after the thousands of large, glossy-leafed dasheen plants (also known as elephant ears) harvested on the site. In 1982 it was transformed into a unique resort and changed hands a number of times before emerging as Ladera under the current private ownership. The mission has always been to offer an unparalleled guest experience that is quintessentially Saint Lucian, one that embraces the magnificent views and offers harmony with the surrounding natural beauty and rich bounty of the island. Today, that commitment to sumptuous authenticity is evident in everything from the innovative renderings of fresh local dishes at Dasheene restaurant, to the use of Caribbean timbers, stone and tile work used in the guestrooms and public areas. Yet it shines through most effectively with warm and welcoming Saint Lucian staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Holiday Gems and Odigeo so you can book your Ladera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ladera Hotel Soufrière
Ladera Resort Soufrière
Ladera St Lucia
Ladera Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing