We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, unique lodging experience”
Review of Ladera Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ladera Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is unquestionably a fabulous place to stay with a lot to offer. The views of the Caribbean, the Pitons and the lush surroundings are amazing. The landscaping staff has done an outstanding job of making the resort grounds equally as beautiful. Staff members throughout the facility are friendly and consistently greet guests. Many staff will know you by name as of day 2! The hotel owner, Holly, clearly runs a tight ship. She is out and about, ensuring everyone's satisfaction. The rooms are nicely decorated with handmade, solid wood furniture. The open air concept is a sensory treat beyond belief. The views, day and night, are wonderful. Ear plugs are provided for sleeping, but we didn't use them -- we rather enjoyed the sound of the breezes, crickets and rain. The bathroom had two sinks and a HUGE shower. Some additional lighting is needed in the living room area to allow for nighttime reading, but this was a minor issue.

Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was very good. A continental style breakfast is included but you can opt for something more substantial for a nominal upcharge. We only had dinner at Dasheene one night - typical of how we vacation. The service was spotty (waited about 45 minutes before any food at all arrived). We thought the food quality was okay but nothing spectacular -- and the portions were EXCEPTIONALLY SMALL, particularly given the prices. Best dinner we had was at the Great Room (Sugar Beach Resort). Very expensive but worth it.

Floaters for the pool would be great. Hot tub should be hot, not barely luke warm. Last shuttle from Sugar Beach should be later than 4:45 pm.

Beautiful location but not on the beach. Volcano and spa are very close by... Anse Chastanet Beach is about 30 minutes and worth the trip.

Room Tip: All of the rooms, at all levels, have the plunge pool. I don't think you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toddski1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have visited a lot of the Caribbean and all have breathtaking natural wonders to see. But I believe what separates the Ladera is there unmatched service. My daughter was married in the resort and Caroline and Obie made everything perfect with no detail missed. A beautiful ceremony, any need or want was promptly taken care of. While at the resort Shaun attended to anything we needed as quit as it was asked for. All the staff were friendly, accommodating, professional and helpful. We all felt as if we were with family and treated as such. For my part I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chuck s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I went with a friend to the resort and was hesitant because of all the reviews on here from couples and because of the wildlife that we would share our room with.

However, one look at the room and all those worries were out the window. The room we stayed in was absolutely stunning! We booked a Gros Piton suite and it was large enough for 2 girls! The bathroom design was a bit odd only because the door was a shutter door and you could see the toilet and sink area with them closed, but aside from that, it was perfect. Extremely clean and we had very few encounters with the wildlife.

The entire resort was gorgeous and the hot tubs were the best part of the resort. We used them daily at all hours and met other couples/friends there as well. Although this resort does cater to couples, we found that there were other sets of friends there as well, so we did not feel as out of place as we imagined we would.

The dinner we has at the restaurant was really good and we founds service to be at par with the Caribbean lifestyle. Prices were also what we expected of St Lucia and the drinks were actually fairly priced given we were in a 5 star resort. As did most others, we did buy our own alcohol as well to drink in the room and take with us to the beach. They offer 3 shuttles a day going to the beach and back, and cabs cost about $20 if you want to make your own way.

Service from all staff was amazing and there was not a person there who did not go out of their way to accommodate our needs.

Local Dining: We ate at a few palces around the area that were suggested to us by staff and other tourists. I strongly suggest going to Boucan at the hotel across - great food. We also had a great lunch at Fedo's - eat their beef and chicken. If you get time, go to Castries and eat at anyone of the beach bars there - you will love the food.

Sugar Beach: Gorgeous beach. We went daily and took full advantage of the beach restaurants and bars. We were allowed to use their washroom, contrary to what a review above suggests. The only paid option was the lounge chair, which is normal for any beach. You have to pay to get a chair and this applies to the hotel guests as well as Ladera's guests. You honestly don't need a lounge chair, there is plenty of room for you to lie down with a towel or to grab a chair int he beach bar and still get sun on you.

We were lucky to not have it rain on us except at nights. It does get windy so take a jacket with you.

Room Tip: Book away from the restaurant and only splurge on the hilltop if you want a bigger suite. The heated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank soaddictive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The caribbean is full of wonderful places to stay, but there is nothing as exotic as the Ladera. We were bowled over by the feeling that we were in our own tree house with open air views of the two Pitons and down over the jungle to an unspoiled bay 1,000 feet below; not another building in sight. The hotel is set on its own in the jungle, on the edge of the ridge which joins the two iconic, cone shaped Pitons - a world heritage site. The rooms are all built of polished wood and stone giving a feel of rustic luxury. Our Gros Piton Suite had two levels, one with bathroom, sitting area and plunge pool and, up a set of open wooden stairs, the bedroom "platform" with netted four poster bed. It is hard to believe that a room with one wall missing works, but it does - even when it is windy outside. Imagine waking in the morning with a view of the mountains and sea unobstructed by walls or windows, or sitting in your own plunge pool in the sunshine, a Piton beer and no-one except your other half to disturb you. There are also some great walks in the rain forest right from the door - look for the Old French Road. If you feel like lazing at the ocean, and good lunchtime food, a complimentary minibus runs several times a day down to the Sugar Beach- luxury by the bay. Look at the photos on the Ladera web site. They are true! If we have anything negative to say, which seems churlish, the food was good but not quite 5 star. We would recommend the Ladera to anyone wanting something unique.

Room Tip: We had a Gros Piton Suite, which we thought was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheBeagleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We checked in to the Ladera Resort after spending 4 nights at Sandals Grande in Gros Islet. My initial reaction upon walking into the room was tears...I cried tears of joy at the magnificence of this room!! It was the most amazing thing I have ever seen in my entire life! The staff was wonderful, the hot tubs were so unique. We ate at Dasheens on our first night and thought it was just OK, my steak was fatty and mashed potatoes were cold. However, the waitress was incredible and the views were to die for, so I really can't complain. We spent the next day at Sugar Beach. I sort of felt like a second class citizen, we would have had to pay $50/per chair to use the resorts lounges or $20/per chair to stay in a lounge off their property. We ended up getting a lounge on the public side of the beach for no charge, but it was very rocky and used primarily for snorkeling trips. After spending about $70 on lunch at Sugar Beach resort, I was told I could not use their bathrooms and was shown to the public washroom. I'm not sure if the Ladera knows how their guests are treated by this resort, but it isn't good! The next night we ate at Boucon in Hotel Chocolate. It was a 5 minute walk from Ladera, and the food was excellent. All the items on the menu incorporated chocolate or cocoa into their recipes. They squeezed us in without a reservation which was very nice of them. I also have to mention a driver we met on a tour named Heavy D!! I can't say enough good things about this man. He was punctual, courteous, honest, reasonable, trustworthy, polite, knowledgeable and patient. I felt like he was my personal chauffeur throughout our stay in St. Lucia. He even picked us up from the beach when the Laderas' beach shuttle schedule didn't suit us, and took us to some local waterfalls. He drove us from Sandals to Ladera, we stopped for some sightseeing and shopping and I never once worried about my luggage in the car. He made the usual anxiety of getting around in the Caribbean disappear. His real name is Darrain and he is reached via email heavydtx161@hotmail.com or phone 1(758)488-7014. Do not hesitate to contact him, he is based out of Sugar Beach Resort and is very accommodating (Tell him Skinny T from Philadelphia sent you, lol!). In conclusion, Ladera was an absolutely amazing resort, I felt like royalty and can not wait to go back!! I highly recommend room 1X, it was exquisite!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tricianeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Wow. This was an amazing, unique experience! The suite is built with wood and stone. It feels very rustic but polished and clean at the same time. It was two levels with the bedroom and bath in the loft and a bar/sitting area on the lower level with the plunge pool and the swing as well. The suite looks over the two Pitons and the bay/valley between them... with no wall separating you from the view, scents and sounds. It is very private and we couldn't hear or sense the neighbours on either side of us. Absolutely stunning! As mentioned in other reviews the restaurant service is very slow, but we were very happy with the meal when it arrived. All other service was great. We stayed 3 nights and as gorgeous as it is, we were ready to move on as we started to crave more activity. Warning: There was a lot of rain at night (it is the rainforest, but it has been unseasonably wet) and it was so loud it disturbed our sleep. They do provide earplugs, which we ended up using. They are actually intended to be used if the tiny frogs (sound like squeaky swing sets) disrupt your sleep. I actually enjoyed their contribution to the ambiance. Over all... I am still in awe of the experience.

Room Tip: There is some variance in the accommodation but every suite provides the open air experience, views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daynaok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

If you are looking for something different than all of the "all-inclusive" resorts then I highly recommend Ladera. Doesn't get much better than sipping in a Piton beer in your private plunge pool, overlooking the ocean from a ridge in the Piton mtns. Best sleep of my life in the open air suite with the gentle breeze & frogs singing. Breakfast in the open air restaurant with fresh breads & banana jam was a great way to start each day. I cannot wait to get back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TJStephens21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
963 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
0.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
743 reviews
9.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladera Resort

Address: Rabot Estate, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: £412 - £1,095 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ladera Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ladera is the pioneer of the open air three-walled concept in St. Lucia and has since been distinguished by a wide range of international publications, awards and accolades from Conde Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure, Forbes Life Caribbean Travel and Life, Brides Magazine and countless others. Ladera was once part of Rabot Estate, one of Soufriere's oldest plantations, which still borders the resort. In the late 1960's a parcel of land was sold and developed into a small cluster of condominiums and christened Dasheene, named after the thousands of large, glossy-leafed dasheen plants (also known as elephant ears) harvested on the site. In 1982 it was transformed into a unique resort and changed hands a number of times before emerging as Ladera under the current private ownership. The mission has always been to offer an unparalleled guest experience that is quintessentially Saint Lucian, one that embraces the magnificent views and offers harmony with the surrounding natural beauty and rich bounty of the island. Today, that commitment to sumptuous authenticity is evident in everything from the innovative renderings of fresh local dishes at Dasheene restaurant, to the use of Caribbean timbers, stone and tile work used in the guestrooms and public areas. Yet it shines through most effectively with warm and welcoming Saint Lucian staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ladera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ladera Hotel Soufrière
Ladera Resort Soufrière
Ladera St Lucia
Ladera Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing