We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing could beat this view! Priceless”
Review of Ladera Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ladera Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nothing could beat this view! Priceless”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We spent time at Ladera on our Honeymoon and it was amazing. Everyone knew our name and was excited to see us when we would go to the pool, bar or a meal. The rooms were so beautiful, having a fabulous view of the Pitons. Each room has 3 walls so, one wall is completely open (but it's totally private). The only thing that stopped me from giving Ladera 5/5 was that the rooms were hot at night (no A/C, only a fan).

You need to do the all inclusive package. It's more expensive upfront but, the food at the restaurant is expensive and TOTALLY worth it. You'll save in the long run.

If you can, GO HERE. You'll never ever forget it!

Room Tip: All rooms have their own private pools but, some are bigger than others. Just check the website or c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mackncsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    186
    60
    40
    34
See reviews for
34
980
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We splurged with a two night stay at Ladera for part our 10th anniversary trip. It was worth every penny and far exceeded our expectations! From the moment we arrived, we felt special and wondered aloud to each other if they had us confused with another more prominent couple. Our room was upgraded and there was champagne and a personal note from the manager. We were stunned with the amazing suite, phenomenal views of the Pitons, heated pool with waterfall, and privacy, privacy, privacy! We originally had plans to hit a few beaches and tour around, but once we saw our suite, we knew we didn't need to go anywhere.
The suites are designed for luxurious relaxation, are well thought out, and all needs anticipated. I was originally concerned with bugs, especially at night, but the consistent breezes and ceiling fans kept them away. I was also concerned about privacy, but all we heard was the wind and the frogs. We loved the open air room and had lots of fun watching the lizards and birds come and go, and listen to the sounds of the island at night. Swimming in our private pool under the stars and in a private flower garden was divine! We are nature lovers and it suited us well, although we could understand how others not used to sleeping outdoors might feel a bit exposed.
Holly, co-owner of Ladera, was at the resort and graciously greeted all of the guests at breakfast. She later offered several of us a tour of the resort. Having the insider's scoop made us appreciate Ladera even more--all of the woodwork, furniture, and art are either made on site or are bought from local families. They also have a local seamstress on site that does all of cloth work and netting around the resort. The onsite gardens also help support the restaurant with fresh fruit and produce. Ladera is not only luxurious, but is conscientious and eco-friendly as well. Love it!
The complimentary breakfast was ample and tasty and included fresh squeezed fruit juices and fresh baked pastries. We enjoyed several fabulous several dinners at Dashenee--we chatted with the chef and took his recommendations of the fresh fish and local specials, which did not disappoint. The service was a bit slow, but we were in no hurry. We are picky when we eat out and it met our very high standards.
We did make it down to the beach prior to check in, which I have to say would be the only downside if we had been staying longer. The beach itself was lovely at the base of the Pitons, the snorkeling was excellent, and the water was nice. There were not, however, any dedicated beach chairs for Ladera visitors and the ones that were available were in a crowded area frequented by snorkel tours. The shuttle to the beach was OK, but not optimal.
Overall--we feel lucky to have found Ladera and we will be back! A special place.

Saw some other reviews and feel the need to note that we purchased our stay through an online deal--clearly no second class treatment even though we didn't pay rack rates.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

There's no question Ladera has stunning views, and we definitely suggest taking advantage of them over dinner at the lovely restaurant but make a night of it and don't ruin an entire week! We've travelled to many 5 star resorts and the status needs to be reconsidered for this resort. The staff rarely smile, rooms are dirty and if you need anything from the front desk it seems they'll go out of their way to make it harder. The worst part was the insane prices for everything, not just food and drinks, but a $200 taxi ride to go to Castries (one way!), the lack of a complimentary shuttle from the airport (another $100 each way), $50 beach chairs (per chair!), although you can sit in dirty free chairs in a tiny corner of the beach and made to feel like a second class citizen, and this is only the beginning of the list! It wouldn't be so bad if you could walk anywhere but you can't! We literally felt trapped and wished we had gone anywhere but here, not a great way to spend a vacation, especially one that costs so much! I also wouldn't recommend the rooms if you can't handle geicos, moths, bugs crawling on you all night and the odd tarantula that you'll spot creeping around your room. We really wish someone had written this type of candid review before so we could've avoided this place. The Viceroy hotel is beautiful if you're looking to stay somewhere close and the pool is stunning and not freezing like the main pool or the plunge pools at Ladera! This is the first hotel review we've ever posted, unfortunately we were so disappointed we felt obliged to warn others.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Sunsandsail84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for your comment. We were able to reach out to the Tour Operator and correct the website information. We understand that you reserved one of the smaller suites without the option of transportation. We wish that you had pointed out your other concerns to management during your stay so that we could have provided alternatives for you instead. We are surprised however by your comment about our staff, who are frequently praised for their personalized service and smiles. For the benefit of clarification, Ladera is not a beach property. Sugar Beach, a Viceroy Resort is located on the Jalousie beach, and although we provide a complimentary shuttle for our guests to and from the beach daily, we have no control over the beach chairs or services offered by the hotel there, which is clearly indicated and acknowledged by our guests during our orientation process. We offer this free shuttle as a matter of courtesy. We strive to go above and beyond and sorry that you were not able to enjoy our romantic paradise.
Regards, Shemael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We arrived to Ladera after a stay at an all inclusive resort in Antigua where we were spoiled to a much lower price.
Pros:
- wonderful views. Lovely to have direct access to nature.
- the food in restaurant was extraordinary at times, especially seafood and the chocolate mousse.
- friendly and polite staff

Cons
-the pool area is too small. Only eight sun beds available which meant that occasionally, some guests had to place their towels on the ground. Not ok, especially, considering that you have to take a shuttle to the beach and pay extra for a sun bed.
- the plunge pool in the room is just for decoration. Too cold to dip anything but your feet in.
- no TV in the room, which we really liked. However - they should be a TV room available on the property at a luxury resort. The world cup started while we were there and we had to take a 30 USD taxi to a sportsbar in town to watch the game.
- uncomfortable bed with lumpy mattress
- the last night the room was completely invaded by a bug swarm. We reported this in the reception and the bed was cleaned and sanitized. However, the sofa, chair, pool was not taken care of - there were dead bugs everywhere.
There are some improvements to be made before we can recommend this resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Asa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you appreciated our unique location between the World Heritage Pitons and as well enjoyed the authentic cuisine offered at our Dasheene Restaurant and the friendly customer service provided by our staff.
We have since taken note of your suggestion for more sun loungers and umbrellas at the pool deck.
The shuttle service to the beach is complimentary for all of our guests, granting we have no control over the facilities or the pricing offered by Sugar Beach, the viceroy resort located on the beach.
We remain apologetic that there were bugs in your suite which is a rare occurrence but possible at this time of year. Ladera is at a high altitude, 1100 feet above sea level, which does not make it a preferred haven for bugs in general. Further, our surroundings are proactively misted daily by the best pest control agents on the island as we are mindful of the open concept of our suites.
Lastly, we wish that you were informed of our model which excludes televisions prior to your stay. Alternatively, we do provide complimentary high speed Wi-Fi internet in all of our suites.
We will continue to work tirelessly to ensure the maximum comfort of our discerning guests.
Kind regards,
Shermael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Township, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I'd like to start by saying we spent our Honeymoon between Cap Maison and Ladera as part of a Peak to Beach package. Ladera seemed amazing online and through some videos on you tube. The view from the Pitons on arrival are breath-taking and without a doubt picture worthy. The room we stayed in had lizards roaming around when we got there which wasn't a big deal but you must be prepared for that. Frogs also enter the rooms at night as well so again, make sure you are used to camping and are comfortable with such surroundings. We often felt ourselves getting bitten in the middle of the night in the bed. That part bothered us and kept us up at times. Hence the title of this review. I complained and asked the staff the next day if there was a room with a bedroom that was more closed off than the hillside suite we had. They responded saying an equivalent room to ours was not available.

Yes you stay at a place with an amazing view and a pretty good restaurant. However the rest is a bit below a 5 star standard. I'm sorry but it just is and especially coming from Cap Maison where we felt like we were in paradise. Our bedroom door was broken and didn't get fixed till the last day so we kept it closed with a chair. You have to do this we realized to keep the lizards out during the day. When they did fix the door I came back to the room to see pieces of wood all over the floor from the repair job. Plus our pool was dirty and had a broken floor drain cover. The staff for the most part is friendly but fell short of the level at Cap Maison. We asked for desert to be delivered to our room one night and the local band asked us to dance with them. Lovely we thought! However we told the Ladera staff we would be back at the room in 10-15 minutes. When we did get back and the desert was delivered the lady was rude and said she had to come a couple times. I just shook my head, its our honeymoon..let us enjoy. We must add that Jennifer and Elizabeth are sweethearts and we will always remember how lovely they were to us. We are big wine people and were excited for the wine cellar. It is just a room with wine on the right side with a small table for dining. Dinner in the cellar is all they offered but outside our meal plan so we chose to eat outside at Dasheen every night. Don;t expect wine tasting or anything more. Dasheen for lunch and dinner is superb. The flavors are very eclectic and presentation is top notch. Cap Maison has them beat for breakfast we realized but not a big deal. If you stay here on an all exclusive package make sure you check out right before you step foot off the resorts property. I'm serious. I checked out prior to breakfast to be pro-active being we had a tight schedule to get to the airport. Spot check your bill for items that should be included in your package and furthermore do not order a thing after checking out. My wife and I decided to have a few mimosas while waiting for our car to take us to the airport to fly home which was the end of our honeymoon. Part of our package was all drinks included. When we got up to leave they dropped us a bill and said it must be paid out of pocket. Just shy of $100 for a couple mimosas. That disappointed us but also left us leaving on a sour note. We had just been laughing and talking with the staff and recapping our stay. Ladera still has yet to get back to me on that after our post stay email exchange. In hind sight we wished we stayed at Cap the entire time.

I wrote this review because the amount of money I spent to stay here and wanted to give other honeymooners an honest insight into the value from our perspective. Everyone is different. Don't get us wrong, there is a buzz in the air when you are at Ladera, it just fell short of my expectations with the dollars it cost per day.

Room Tip: Choose a room that has an enclosed bedroom with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maizer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. We are glad that you chose to experience our popular Peak to Beach Package but saddened that you were unable to appreciate our “experiential” and unique concept.
The purpose of this package is to offer two totally distinctive luxury resort experiences on the island. Both Cap Maison and Ladera have been successful for many years offering this package which has been enhanced overtime.
We will be sure to share your lovely comments with Jennifer and Elizabeth. We apologize for any concerns you experienced during your stay and will regard them as opportunities to maximize service levels in the future.
Regards, Shermael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Although Ladera had gorgeous views, if you book through Expedia, you are treated like a second class citizen. You get the worst room(smallest), and are not included in the complimentary breakfast deal. This was not on their website or mentioned through expedia we were told when we arrived. The cost of breakfast was almost 60 dollars a day for a biscuit and some juice, a little ridiculous! When the issue was brought up to the "manager" she was very rude and condescending. The food on the resort was just ok, go across the street to the plantation or to Orlando's for a better experience. Probably will not stay there again and will not recommend to others. Stay at Sugar beach for a better time...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zphyr94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VPMarketingLadera, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your comment. We will follow up with our duty manager and do apologize if she did not make you feel welcome. Your comment is not typical of our service at Ladera and taken seriously. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in one of our superior rooms. You are correct, this room category is our entry room, available on all sites and are smaller than all suites. We do have different suite options available on Expedia that are more spacious depending on your choice at the time of booking. Again I am really sorry that our manager on duty was not able to solve your issues during your stay at your convinience. We will definitly look into the breakfast situation as there are in fact some packages with breakfast included and some without. We will make sure that in the future it is well indicated.
King regards, Shemael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

The entire staff was great. The owner was engaging and very hands on. Shawn did an excellent job taking care of us and he worked very hard so that we could have a great time. Much appreciated all around. Would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
936 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
9.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,163 reviews
16.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
833 reviews
19.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladera Resort

Property: Ladera Resort
Address: Rabot Estate, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ladera Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ladera is the pioneer of the open air three-walled concept in St. Lucia and has since been distinguished by a wide range of international publications, awards and accolades from Conde Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure, Forbes Life Caribbean Travel and Life, Brides Magazine and countless others. Ladera was once part of Rabot Estate, one of Soufriere's oldest plantations, which still borders the resort. In the late 1960's a parcel of land was sold and developed into a small cluster of condominiums and christened Dasheene, named after the thousands of large, glossy-leafed dasheen plants (also known as elephant ears) harvested on the site. In 1982 it was transformed into a unique resort and changed hands a number of times before emerging as Ladera under the current private ownership. The mission has always been to offer an unparalleled guest experience that is quintessentially Saint Lucian, one that embraces the magnificent views and offers harmony with the surrounding natural beauty and rich bounty of the island. Today, that commitment to sumptuous authenticity is evident in everything from the innovative renderings of fresh local dishes at Dasheene restaurant, to the use of Caribbean timbers, stone and tile work used in the guestrooms and public areas. Yet it shines through most effectively with warm and welcoming Saint Lucian staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ladera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ladera Hotel Soufrière
Ladera Resort Soufrière
Ladera St Lucia
Ladera Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing