We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Magical Experience”
Review of Ladera Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ladera Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We did a TON of online research before choosing Ladera for our St Lucia resort. There is a lot of hype and marketing on the internet about the options in southern St Lucia. It can be difficult to know what is real and what is advertising. We couldn't be happier with our choice. During our vacation, we visited all of the other competing resorts and there simply is no comparison to what we had with Ladera. By far, this is the premier "view" on the island. There are other beautiful views of the Pitons out there, but none of those experiences enter your living quarters like they do here. You are right there, in nature, dominated by the ever-changing Pitons. The view was our favorite part of the entire trip. Every morning we watched rainbows pop out of the rainforest. At night, the moonlight lit the mountainsides. Truly, there was something new to see all through the day and you can't get that unless you stay close by. It was an amazing experience.
Ladera staff were all amazing. They got to know us personally and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The rooms were island-boutique, with authentic details. Plus, you are seriously close to all of the best activities on St Lucia. The prettiest beach is just down the hillside.
Thank you Ladera. We plan on returning in the future.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

This resort is truly one of a kind! My wife and I dreamed of traveling here for our honeymoon and 7 and a half years later, finally made it! Holly Scott, the owner, greeted us with Ladera Punch and a chilled towel after our arrival from Hewanorra Airport. She said we were staying in her favorite room, Hilltop Dream Suite X1, and from the moment we walked in the door, we could see why. The view of the Pitons and the swing over our heated pool was breathtaking. The front door and window in the bathroom had shutters that would open and let the trade winds in to cool the room. I never thought sleeping "outside" could be so luxurious.

We purchased the all-inclusive plan and so we never tried any of the other restaurants in the area (though we would have liked to try Chocolat across the main road...chocolate in every dish!). We thought we might not enjoy eating at the same restaurant for every meal but we were blown away by the cuisine Nigel, the executive chef, provided. He changed up the menu with different specials and different fish depending on what was fresh that day! If anything has breadfruit, you must eat it!! The all-inclusive includes all tax and service charges but we would give a bit extra from time to time since the servers were amazing! They would warmly greet us by name and started remembering what kind of water we liked and types of wine we enjoyed and they always tried their best giving us the best seats they could.

We were able to talk with Holly on occasion and once while we were enjoying some snacks and drinks in the lounge, I sneezed and she jumped up from a meeting and asked if I was sick. I told her I was probably fine but she insisted that her staff make me some ginger root tea which took 30 minutes to brew. I'm not sure if I was getting sick, but that was certainly the last time I sneezed. Another time she was telling me how great the local rum was and gave me a glass for free so I could tell her if I liked it or not.

We went with one excursion planned because we didn't know what to expect but ended up planning 3 more as well as some spa treatments. Gabby was so delightful to spend time with in the spa and the excursions were awesome. We did not climb the Gros Piton due to time but we did the Soufriere Experience given by Michael our taxi driver, got in the sulfur bath and covered ourselves in mud, tried the Hotwire Zipline tour, tried Snuba (my absolute favorite) and took advantage of the free shuttle to spend time down at Sugar Beach.

St Lucia certainly blew us away and we cannot wait to go back as soon as we possibly can!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a heated pool. We heard from people we met that their pools were too cold to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Jojoma283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We visited Ladera in June 2014. The staff is AMAZING. They leave no detail unattended. Anything you want or need, they will happily help you. The restaurant is wonderful and the lava cake is a must. The resort is remote and very quite (except for the evening when the frogs and crickets start chirping). We did not have a problem with bugs. If you are looking for a lot of togetherness, then this is the resort for you. If you are looking for nightlife and socializing, then this may not be your place as the bar and music shut down at 9:30. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Go to Sugar Beach and do the Gros Piton hike.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank riley127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed in Paradise Ridge and loved every minute of our time at Ladera. We had a good breeze the days we were there so the bugs were few, and the breeze helped with the heat. Floating in the pool, reading a book, and admiring the view was a perfect way to spend the afternoon. The staff are top notch and regularly went out of their way to try to exceed expectations. They gave us very late check out and even moved us to a different room for our departure morning so we would have a private pool to enjoy. We did the peak to beach package which included meals and drinks. I liked that the whole menu was open to the package (no supplements like there are at Cap Maison). There are a dozen wines by the glass and several were exceptionally good. The seafood eggs benedict was outstanding - big chunks of lobster, conch and shrimp.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem to have knock out views - but paradise ridge was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank poolpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The Laderra is unbelievable ..... There are only 3 walls and the fresh feeling of he rain forest in your room is amazing ...... We were on honeymoon and couldn't wish got anything else . We had 2 floors and our own plunge pool .... There is a free shuttle to sugar beach which is fabulous to have a drink and watch the world go by .....

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol_ann_price
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My newly wedded wife and visited Ladera as one of our two resort destinations for our honeymoon. Overall, this place is amazingly beautiful, with great views of the island, especially from your room which has the open 4th wall. The food was also excellent and spa very relaxing. The negative? The heat and the bugs!

The higher end rooms I am told have bedrooms all enclosed with AC units, so if you can spring the money for that, do it. If you get another room, bring or ask for a fan to help. Our trip was in July, and while there was a breeze, it wasn't enough at night. Also, because the night starts early there (I assume b/c of the time zone it is in) you find your self getting ready in the dark, b/c as soon as you put a light on, the bugs come in full force! We learned the first night by accidentally leaving our bathroom light on before going to dinner!

Ultimately, for a few night's stay, it isn't too bad. Just be prepared!

Room Tip: higher-end rooms have enclosed bedrooms with window unit AC's and are much more comfortable at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alarose20 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our stay at Ladera was magical from the second we arrived. This resort is truly a gem. From the people (especially Keisher & Scool), to the rooms and the food, everything was spectacular. We stayed in the Paradise Ridge section, more expensive but totally worth it. You have your own heated plunge pool, which was refreshing; a frig stocked with soda, water and beer; chilled champagne waiting for us in our room when we arrived; free breakfast with this room; a butler to help you with whatever you may need; and a view to die for! Not having the 4th wall not only gave you a gorgeous view, but the between the sound of our pool waterfall and the tree frogs and crickets at night, my husband and I slept like babies, the sounds lulled you to sleep! We never had a problem with any bugs like some other reviewers. This is definitely the place to go if you just want to relax and spend quality time with your significant other. We have NOTHING negative to say about this resort whatsoever! And will definitely come back and stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
963 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
0.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
743 reviews
9.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladera Resort

Address: Rabot Estate, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: £412 - £1,095 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ladera Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ladera is the pioneer of the open air three-walled concept in St. Lucia and has since been distinguished by a wide range of international publications, awards and accolades from Conde Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure, Forbes Life Caribbean Travel and Life, Brides Magazine and countless others. Ladera was once part of Rabot Estate, one of Soufriere's oldest plantations, which still borders the resort. In the late 1960's a parcel of land was sold and developed into a small cluster of condominiums and christened Dasheene, named after the thousands of large, glossy-leafed dasheen plants (also known as elephant ears) harvested on the site. In 1982 it was transformed into a unique resort and changed hands a number of times before emerging as Ladera under the current private ownership. The mission has always been to offer an unparalleled guest experience that is quintessentially Saint Lucian, one that embraces the magnificent views and offers harmony with the surrounding natural beauty and rich bounty of the island. Today, that commitment to sumptuous authenticity is evident in everything from the innovative renderings of fresh local dishes at Dasheene restaurant, to the use of Caribbean timbers, stone and tile work used in the guestrooms and public areas. Yet it shines through most effectively with warm and welcoming Saint Lucian staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ladera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ladera Hotel Soufrière
Ladera Resort Soufrière
Ladera St Lucia
Ladera Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing